Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2001 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 730 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (48) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (5) Traction Control System (14)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (83) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (59) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (226) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (57) Steering (75) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (29) Seat Belts (8) Structure (12) Visibility (17)
Engine (60) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (3) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (123) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (9) Tires (8) Wheels (4)
Equipment (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/13/2019 - LOUISVILLE, KY
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR THE ENGINE SIMPLY SHUTS OFF WHETHER ON THE HIGHWAY AT 70 MPH, ON CITY STREETS AT 40 MPH OR BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY. USUALLY AFTER WAITING A FEW MINUTES IT WILL RESTART. THE PROBLEM BEGAN IN FEBRUARY 2019 AND HAS BEEN ONGOING. MY MECHANIC HAS HAD THE CAR MULTIPLE TIMES AND I HAVE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY MECHANIC 3 TIMES MAKING SURE NOT TO START THE CAR. IT HAS NO CODES STORED TO HELP MY MECHANIC FIND THE PROBLEM. THEY HAVE TRIED SEVERAL DIFFERENT THINGS BUT AS USUALLY EVEN WHEN THEY KEPT IT 2 WEEKS THE CAR FAILED TO STALL ON THEM WHEN THEY TEST DROVE IT. I HAVE SEEN ARTICLES AND EVEN COMPLAINTS ON YOUR WEBSITE OF THIS ISSUE. THIS IS SERIOUS AND DANGEROUS AND I CANNOT BELIEVE A RECALL HAS NOT BEEN ISSUED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/29/2019 - GROSSE POINTE WOODS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V701000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE CONTACT CALLED AN UNKNOWN DEALER LOCATED IN FRENDALE, MICHIGAN AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STEERING

4/18/2019 - LIBERTY, KY
TAKATA RECALL WHEN GOING TO FASTEN SEAT BELT IT WILL NOT FASTEN YOU HAVE TO MESS WITH IT A COUPLE TIMES BEFORE IT WILL LATCH AND SOMETIMES WILL UNLATCH WHILE DRIVING. TAKATA RECALL THE DRIVER FRONT BLINKER BULB HAS BEEN REPLACED MULTIPLE TIMES BUT AFTER BUYING NUMEROUS BULBS IT STILL WILL NOT WORK. TAKATA RECALL WHEN TURNING THE WHEEL LEFT WHEN I SLOW DOWN TO GO AROUND A CURVE IT TIGHTENS UP LIKE THE STEERING PUMP IS GOING OUT BUT IT ONLY DOES IT WHILE SLOWING DOWN TO TURN, ALSO WHILE DRIVING ITS LIKE THE VEHICLE IS ALL OVER THE ROAD SWAYING AROUND.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/18/2019 - LIBERTY, KY
TAKATA RECALL WHEN GOING TO FASTEN SEAT BELT IT WILL NOT FASTEN YOU HAVE TO MESS WITH IT A COUPLE TIMES BEFORE IT WILL LATCH AND SOMETIMES WILL UNLATCH WHILE DRIVING. TAKATA RECALL THE DRIVER FRONT BLINKER BULB HAS BEEN REPLACED MULTIPLE TIMES BUT AFTER BUYING NUMEROUS BULBS IT STILL WILL NOT WORK. TAKATA RECALL WHEN TURNING THE WHEEL LEFT WHEN I SLOW DOWN TO GO AROUND A CURVE IT TIGHTENS UP LIKE THE STEERING PUMP IS GOING OUT BUT IT ONLY DOES IT WHILE SLOWING DOWN TO TURN, ALSO WHILE DRIVING ITS LIKE THE VEHICLE IS ALL OVER THE ROAD SWAYING AROUND.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/18/2019 - LIBERTY, KY
TAKATA RECALL WHEN GOING TO FASTEN SEAT BELT IT WILL NOT FASTEN YOU HAVE TO MESS WITH IT A COUPLE TIMES BEFORE IT WILL LATCH AND SOMETIMES WILL UNLATCH WHILE DRIVING. TAKATA RECALL THE DRIVER FRONT BLINKER BULB HAS BEEN REPLACED MULTIPLE TIMES BUT AFTER BUYING NUMEROUS BULBS IT STILL WILL NOT WORK. TAKATA RECALL WHEN TURNING THE WHEEL LEFT WHEN I SLOW DOWN TO GO AROUND A CURVE IT TIGHTENS UP LIKE THE STEERING PUMP IS GOING OUT BUT IT ONLY DOES IT WHILE SLOWING DOWN TO TURN, ALSO WHILE DRIVING ITS LIKE THE VEHICLE IS ALL OVER THE ROAD SWAYING AROUND.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2019 - CEDAR CREEK, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT. THE CONTACT USUALLY HAD TO WAIT A FEW MINUTES BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD RESTART. THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED DURING THE FAILURE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,632.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2019 - CEDAR CREEK, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT. THE CONTACT USUALLY HAD TO WAIT A FEW MINUTES BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD RESTART. THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED DURING THE FAILURE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,632.

View Details

ENGINE

2/12/2019 - MARSTONS MILLS, MA
MY SONS CHEVY IMPALA WAS IN OUR DRIVEWAY UNTOUCHED FOR TWO DAYS. WHEN HE GOT IN IT AND TURNED THE KEY TO START THE VEHICLE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD EXPLODED AND CAUSED AN ENGINE FIRE. WHILE ONLINE I FOUND THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR YEARS!!! WHY HASN'T THIS BEEN ADDRESSED? HE COULD HAVE DIED. AND IF I WASN'T IN THE YARD TO REACT AND PUT THE FIRE OUT MY HOUSE COULD HAVE GONE UP WITH IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/12/2019 - MARSTONS MILLS, MA
MY SONS CHEVY IMPALA WAS IN OUR DRIVEWAY UNTOUCHED FOR TWO DAYS. WHEN HE GOT IN IT AND TURNED THE KEY TO START THE VEHICLE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD EXPLODED AND CAUSED AN ENGINE FIRE. WHILE ONLINE I FOUND THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR YEARS!!! WHY HASN'T THIS BEEN ADDRESSED? HE COULD HAVE DIED. AND IF I WASN'T IN THE YARD TO REACT AND PUT THE FIRE OUT MY HOUSE COULD HAVE GONE UP WITH IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/12/2019 - MARSTONS MILLS, MA
MY SONS CHEVY IMPALA WAS IN OUR DRIVEWAY UNTOUCHED FOR TWO DAYS. WHEN HE GOT IN IT AND TURNED THE KEY TO START THE VEHICLE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD EXPLODED AND CAUSED AN ENGINE FIRE. WHILE ONLINE I FOUND THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR YEARS!!! WHY HASN'T THIS BEEN ADDRESSED? HE COULD HAVE DIED. AND IF I WASN'T IN THE YARD TO REACT AND PUT THE FIRE OUT MY HOUSE COULD HAVE GONE UP WITH IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds