Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (97) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (47) Seat Belts (24) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (13) Seats (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (31) Tires (29) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/28/2018 - LAWRENCE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE WHEN BRAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO COMMONWEALTH CHEVROLET (155 MARSTON ST, LAWRENCE, MA 01841, (978) 687-3000) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL BEARING ASSEMBLIES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 210,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

11/28/2018 - LAWRENCE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE WHEN BRAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO COMMONWEALTH CHEVROLET (155 MARSTON ST, LAWRENCE, MA 01841, (978) 687-3000) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL BEARING ASSEMBLIES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 210,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/22/2018 - SOCIAL CIRCLE, GA
THE PASSENGER SIDE SECOND SEAT SEAT BELT WILL NOT RETRACT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
EXHAUST AND MANIFOLD COVER BOLTS ARE TOO WEAK AND THE HEADS BREAK OFF. I HAD TO REPLACE ALL OF THEM WITH RACING BOLTS. MUCH BETTER NOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2017 - HAYWARD, CA
ON MARCH 16, 2017, I WAS TRAVELLING ON A MOUNTAIN HIGHWAY IN NORTHERN CALIFORNIA IN MY 2001 SUBURBAN WITH THE DRIVER'S SEAT HEATER ON. I WAS SITTING ON A THIN SEAT CUSHION. TWENTY MINUTES INTO THE 40 MINUTE TRIP, I TURNED MY SEAT HEATER OFF. TEN OR SO MINUTES LATER, I SMELLED A HORRIBLE RUBBER/PLASTIC BURNING SMELL. WHEN I REACHED MY DESTINATION, I LIFTED MY CUSHION AND SAW THAT THE SEAT HAD A BURNED HOLE THROUGH THE LEATHER AND INTO MY SEAT CUSHION. IT WAS WARM, BUT I DID NOT SEE A FLAME. WHEN I GOT HOME IN THE BAY AREA, I CONTACTED GM, AND THEY OPENED A CASE NUMBER AND TOLD ME TO TAKE MY VEHICLE TO A DEALER, AND THEY WOULD INVESTIGATE. I RECEIVED A CALL YESTERDAY FROM THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP., AND SHE TOLD ME THAT THEY WOULD NOT BE COVERING THIS AS MY CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY, IN SO MANY WORDS. I ASKED WHAT THE DEALER HAD FOUND, AND SHE COULDN'T TELL ME. I REITERATED TO HER THAT THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN FOR ME. MY PASSENGER SIDE SEAT HEATER IS NOW GETTING VERY HOT, AND I AM CONCERNED NOW ABOUT THAT. PLEASE NOTE, THE DRIVER'S SEAT HEATER IS STILL WORKING IF YOU ACCIDENTALLY HIT THE BUTTON ON THE DOOR. TODAY, I FOUND OUT FROM THE DEALER THAT THEY WERE NOT INSTRUCTED BY GM TO LOOK INTO THE SEAT TO SEE WHAT CAUSED THIS, ONLY TO TAKE PICTURES, ETC. NOBODY KNOWS WHY IT HAPPENED. HOW CAN THEY DENY ANYTHING WITHOUT DETERMINING THE CAUSE IS MY THOUGHT. AREN'T THEY CONCERNED THEIR SEATS OVERHEAT? SHOULD THEY BE WARNING THE PUBLIC? MY SEATS ARE IN VERY GOOD CONDITION, EVEN THOUGH IT IS AN OLDER VEHICLE. INTERESTING TO NOTE WHEN WE PICKED THE CAR UP FROM THE DEALERSHIP THAT THE SERVICE WRITER SAID I SHOULDN'T WORRY SINCE IT IS NOT WORKING NOW BECAUSE A WIRED PROBABLY BROKE (EVERYTHING IS PROBABLY OR MAYBE). I CORRECTED HIM AND SHOWED HIM THAT IT DOES. HE WAS VERY SURPRISED TO SEE THAT IT STILL DID. SO, THE QUESTION IS WHY DID IT OVERHEAT. PLEASE ADVISE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2016 - GARDEN CITY, KS
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, SMOKE EMITTED UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND EXITED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE, WHICH WAS EXTINGUISHED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2016 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND DISCOVERED THAT THE FRONT END AND FRONT WHEELS WERE ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. FIRE AND POLICE REPORTS WERE FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 204,654.

View Details

WHEELS

10/17/2016 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND DISCOVERED THAT THE FRONT END AND FRONT WHEELS WERE ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. FIRE AND POLICE REPORTS WERE FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 204,654.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/21/2016 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
WHILE THANKFULLY DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, MY BRAKES COMPLETELY FAILED WITH NO WARNING..PEDDLE WENT TO THE FLOOR, I WAS ABLE TO STOP BY SHIFTING THE TRANS DOWN TO 2ND THEN 1ST. MECHANIC SAID KNEW EXACTLY WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS WHEN I EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED AFTER I STOPPED, PUMPED THE BRAKES AND BRAKE FLUID FLOWED FROM UNDER THE TRUCK GENERALLY UNDER WHERE THE DRIVER SITS. MECHANIC EXPLAINED THAT THE BRAKE LINE BROKE AND IS VERY COMMON, AND THAT IT JUST STARTED SHOWING UP A FEW YEARS AGO WHEN THESE "C" BODY TRUCKS AGED. I SPOKE TO ANOTHER MECHANIC AT A CHEVY DEALERSHIP NEAR MY HOME AND HE SAID THE SAME THING THAT IT'S VERY COMMON AND THAT GM NOW SELLS A KIT FOR A COMPETE BRAKE-LINE SYSTEM REPLACEMENT BECAUSE IT HAS BECOME SO COMMON. A FEW DAYS BEFORE I HAD BEEN DRIVING AT HIGH SPEEDS THROUGH THE MOUNTAINS ON I-81 WITH A CARLOAD FULL OF PEOPLE, HAD THIS HAPPENED AT THAT TIME IT COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC. REVIEWING CONSUMER COMPLAINTS ON YOUR SITE I SEE THIS IS A REOCCURRING COMPLIANT AND I CAN'T BELIEVE THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL ON THIS, AS THERE IS NO MORE IMPORTANT SAFETY SYSTEM ON A AUTOMOBILE THAN BRAKES....CHEVY HAD A RECALL ON MY 98' BUICK FOR A VALVE COVER GASKET LEAKING THAT DIDN'T COME CLOSE TO THIS POTENTIAL DANGER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/2/2016 - 601 HAMILTON DR, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES ACTIVATED WITHOUT WARNING, WHICH MADE THE VEHICLE HARD TO STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds