Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (97) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (47) Seat Belts (24) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (13) Seats (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (31) Tires (29) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (15)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: HEATER CORE

12/16/2007 - ST. PAUL, MN
THE 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN WHICH I OWN LEAKS COLD AIR ON THE FRONT PASSENGER FEET. I WAS TOLD BY MY INSURANCE CO. THERE MAY HAVE BEEN A RECALL BY GM ON THIS AS IT IS A DEFECT IN THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE HEATING DUCT, IT EVIDENTLY FALLS APART AND COLD AIR FROM OUTSIDE POURS ONTO THE PASSENGERS FEET.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/14/2007 - SACRAMENTO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. THE ENTIRE VEHICLE LOST POWER. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT EXCEED 55 MPH. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART AND WAS TOWED. THE PURCHASE DATE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 116,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

12/11/2007 - UTICA, NY
I HAVE A 2001 CHEVY SUBURBAN K2500, IT TAKES ME 45 MINUTES TO FILL UP THE GAS TANK, I BELIEVE THE AIR DOES NOT ESCAPE FROM THE GAS TANK AND IT CAUSES IT TO OVERFLOW WHEN FILLING AND MAY CAUSE FIRE IF UNATTENDED SINCE WHEN YOU PRESS THE GAS PUMP TO PUMP FASTER IT OVERFLOWS AND LEAKS ON THE EXHAUST PIPE AND COULD CAUSE FIRE, ALSO GASOLINE MIGHT DO HARM TO ENVIRONMENT WHILE OVERFLOWING, SO, PLEASE HELP, ITS WINTER HERE WHERE WE LIVE AND 45 MINUTES AT THE GAS PUMP IS REALLY SOMETHING, THANK YOU-VALENTIN

View Details

STEERING

10/23/2007 - COLUMBUS, GA
2001 SUBURBAN-STEERING SHAFT POP TURN OVER BUMPS,CAUSE STEERING TO SHAKE/ POP. STEERING SHAFT WAS REPLACED ON 10/23/2007. COMPLAINT HOW MANY OTHER CUSTOMERS OUT THERE THAT DON'T KNOW ABOUT THIS BULLETIN MY TRUCK HAVE 116737 MILES I SHOULD HAVE BEEN INFORMED ABOUT THIS. WHAT IF I WOULD HAVE HAD A ACCIDENT.(2) I HAVE A STEERING GEAR BOX FAILURE AND LIKE THE BULLETIN SAYS NOISE WHEN TURNING TO THE RIGHT AND LEFT. I THINK THE STEERING SHAFT CAUSE THE STEERING GEAR BOX TO GO OUT. HAVING THIS STEERING SHAFT PROBLEM FOR OVER 1,167,37 MILES SOME RELATED PROBLEM SURE TO CAUSE ANOTHER PROBLEM. BILL HEARD CHEVROLET WORKED ON MY VEHICLE. I FOUND THE BULLETIN AND BROUGHT THIS TO THEIR ATTENTION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

10/6/2007 - WOODSTOWN, NJ
THE ABS ON MY 2001 CHEVY SUBURBAN ACTIVATES AT SLOW SPEEDS EXTENDING MY STOPPING DISTANCE. I WAS SUBJECT TO A RECALL IN OCTOBER, 2005 WHEN I HAD NO SYMPTOMS BUT TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHO SAYS THEY COMPLETED THE RECALL REQUIREMENTS. NOW, I AM HAVING THE SYMPTOMS AND GM REFUSES TO TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM. I SPENT $80 AT A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THEY SAY IT IS A FAULTY WHEEL SENSOR(LOW VOLTAGE) AND WANT ANOTHER $330 TO REPAIR. THE RECALL LETTER I WAS SENT SPECIFICALLY STATES THAT "IN SOME CASES, THE FRONT WHEEL SPEED SENSOR MAY REQUIRE REPLACEMENT." GM OFFERED ME A 10% DISCOUNT ON THE REPAIR AFTER I CALLED THEM. I FEEL THEY SHOULD REPAIR IT. NHTSA RECALL # 05V379000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

9/24/2007 - OXON HILL, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE ABS ACTIVATED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE STOPPING DISTANCE INCREASED. AS OF SEPTEMBER 24, 2007, THE DEALER HAD NOT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THAT THE ABS WHEEL SENSOR CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT HIS VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 05V379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK). THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 219,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/4/2007 - WOODSTOCK, VA
OUR 4 YEAR OLD CHILD WAS ABLE TO PUT OUR 2001 CHEVY SUBURBAN IN GEAR WITHOUT STARTING THE CAR OR PRESSING HIS FOOT ON THE BRAKE. THE CAR STARTING ROLLING DOWN THE HILL. FORTUNATELY MY WIFE WAS ABLE TO JUMP IN THE WINDOW AND PRESS THE BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR. WE WERE VERY LUCKY THAT NONE OF THE CHILDREN IN THE AREA WERE HURT AND THAT NO PROPERTY WAS DAMAGED OTHER THAN A SMALL PIECE OF FENCE. APPARENTLY WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AND IN THE FIRST "ACCESSORY" POSITION YOU ARE ABLE TO TAKE THE CAR OUT OF PARK WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. I TRIED THIS ON SEVERAL OTHER CHEVY MODELS THAT HAVE THE GEAR SHIFT ON THE COLUMN AND YOU ARE ABLE TO DO THE SAME THING. I CALLED CHEVY AND THE DEALER AND THEY BOTH SAID THAT THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN AND TO BRING IT IN FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER EVEN WENT TO THE LOT AND DID WHAT I DESCRIBED ON A 2006 SUBURBAN AND AGREED THAT IT DID HAPPEN WHEN HE DID IT. IF THIS IN FACT THE WAY THE CAR IS MANUFACTURED IT WOULD BE NICE IF THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THAT FACT AND PUT IT IN THE OWNERS MANUAL. UPDATED 12/12/2007 THE CONSUMER STATED THE MANUFACTURER IS BEING PHASED OUT, HOWEVER WOULD LIKE TO BE NOTIFIED IF THE OLDER OWNERS WOULD BE NOTIFIED. UPDATED 12/12/07

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: LEVER AND LINKAGE: COLUMN SHIFT

9/4/2007 - WOODSTOCK, VA
OUR 4 YEAR OLD CHILD WAS ABLE TO PUT OUR 2001 CHEVY SUBURBAN IN GEAR WITHOUT STARTING THE CAR OR PRESSING HIS FOOT ON THE BRAKE. THE CAR STARTING ROLLING DOWN THE HILL. FORTUNATELY MY WIFE WAS ABLE TO JUMP IN THE WINDOW AND PRESS THE BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR. WE WERE VERY LUCKY THAT NONE OF THE CHILDREN IN THE AREA WERE HURT AND THAT NO PROPERTY WAS DAMAGED OTHER THAN A SMALL PIECE OF FENCE. APPARENTLY WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AND IN THE FIRST "ACCESSORY" POSITION YOU ARE ABLE TO TAKE THE CAR OUT OF PARK WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. I TRIED THIS ON SEVERAL OTHER CHEVY MODELS THAT HAVE THE GEAR SHIFT ON THE COLUMN AND YOU ARE ABLE TO DO THE SAME THING. I CALLED CHEVY AND THE DEALER AND THEY BOTH SAID THAT THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN AND TO BRING IT IN FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER EVEN WENT TO THE LOT AND DID WHAT I DESCRIBED ON A 2006 SUBURBAN AND AGREED THAT IT DID HAPPEN WHEN HE DID IT. IF THIS IN FACT THE WAY THE CAR IS MANUFACTURED IT WOULD BE NICE IF THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THAT FACT AND PUT IT IN THE OWNERS MANUAL. UPDATED 12/12/2007 THE CONSUMER STATED THE MANUFACTURER IS BEING PHASED OUT, HOWEVER WOULD LIKE TO BE NOTIFIED IF THE OLDER OWNERS WOULD BE NOTIFIED. UPDATED 12/12/07

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/20/2007 - WASHINGTON, DC
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON JANUARY 26, 2007. ON 2/10/07 THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT IT WAS TAKING LONGER THAN EXPECTED TO BRAKE AND HE WAS TOO CLOSE TO OTHER VEHICLES AT LOW SPEEDS. THE CONTACT SAID THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL PUSH UPWARD AND THEN IT WENT DOWN. IT BECAME DIFFICULT TO AVOID OTHER VEHICLES WHEN COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AUTO SALE IN PASADENA MD. THE CONTACT THEN CALLED CHEVROLET, AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS VEHICLE DID NOT FALL UNDER A CURRENT RECALL THAT DESCRIBED THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS IN THE VEHICLE. NHTSA RECALLRECALL 05V379000/GM RECALL 05068 WA SISSUED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76999, AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 77213.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: REAR

1/31/2007 - BUTLER, MO
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 SUBURBAN CHEVROLET. THE CONTACT RECEIVED ASAFETY RECALL 01V159000 CONCERNING SEAT BELTS, RERTRACTOR ON SECOND AND THIRD ROW SEATS. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE SAFETY RECALL DID NOT APPLY TO THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE DUE TO THE VIN. THE CONTACT'S PASSENGER SIDE RETRACTOR DID NOT WORK, AND SHE WOULD LIKE TO HAVE IT REPAIRED UNDER THE SAFETY RECALL. THE DEALER WON'T ACKNOWLEDGE THE SAFETY RECALL EVEN EXISTED

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds