Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (97) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (47) Seat Belts (24) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (13) Seats (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (31) Tires (29) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (15)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

8/20/2015 - FULLERTON, CA
I WAS APPLYING THE BRAKES ON MY 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, MODEL 2500, AS I TURNED INTO MY DRIVEWAY. THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE. THIS RESULTED IN THE VEHICLE RUNNING INTO THE FRONT OF THE GARAGE. THE BRAKES NOW APPEAR TO BE WORKING FINE. THE BRAKES HAVE FAILED ON PREVIOUS OCCASIONS, BUT NEVER TO THE POINT OF ALLOWING THE VEHICLE TO HIT ANYTHING. ACCORDING TO THE GM DEALER, THEY CAN'T FIX THE PROBLEM WITHOUT A FAILURE CODE IN THE COMPUTER. AN INDEPENDENT SERVICE GARAGE SAID THE SAME.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

8/17/2015 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN EQUIPPED WITH HERCULES ALL TRAC A/T TIRES, SIZE: 265/70R16 (NA). WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT. THE TIRE WAS REPLACED WITH A SPARE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT TIRE TECHNICIAN WHO REPLACED THE TIRE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000 AND THE APPROXIMATE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 205,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/2/2015 - GRANBY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH UPHILL, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE HYDROPLANED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF A PICK-UP TRUCK. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WAS ONE INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 270,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/2/2015 - GRANBY, MO
MY SON WAS DRIVING AND REAR ENDED A MAN GOING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH. THE FRONT END SUSTAINED A GREAT DEAL OF DAMAGE, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE ENGINE BEING PUSHED BACK SEVERAL INCHES. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. MY SON SUSTAINED MINOR WHIPLASH TYPE INJURIES TO HIS NECK AND BACK.

View Details

STRUCTURE

4/27/2015 - WOODSTOCK, GA
DRIVING AT 65 MPH DOWN THE INTERSTATE, SUDDENLY THE SUNROOF GLASS SEPARATED FROM THE FRAME AND FLEW AWAY INTO THE ROAD BEHIND US. THE INSIDE SUN SHADE WAS ALSO SUCKED OUT. THE SUNROOF WAS CLOSED AT THE TIME. THE FRAME AND MOTOR ARE INTACT AND STILL OPERATE NORMALLY. SUNROOF WAS MADE BY VERMEULEN-HOLLANDIA, MODEL: TVS S/N 461569. THERE IS A RECALL ON 2002-UP MODELS FROM THEM BUT NOT FOR THIS SERIAL NUMBER. COMPANY NAME IS NOW WEBASTO.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

4/27/2015 - WOODSTOCK, GA
DRIVING AT 65 MPH DOWN THE INTERSTATE, SUDDENLY THE SUNROOF GLASS SEPARATED FROM THE FRAME AND FLEW AWAY INTO THE ROAD BEHIND US. THE INSIDE SUN SHADE WAS ALSO SUCKED OUT. THE SUNROOF WAS CLOSED AT THE TIME. THE FRAME AND MOTOR ARE INTACT AND STILL OPERATE NORMALLY. SUNROOF WAS MADE BY VERMEULEN-HOLLANDIA, MODEL: TVS S/N 461569. THERE IS A RECALL ON 2002-UP MODELS FROM THEM BUT NOT FOR THIS SERIAL NUMBER. COMPANY NAME IS NOW WEBASTO.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/16/2015 - KENOSHA, WI
I WAS TRAVELING AROUND 40MPH ON A LOCAL ROAD ON MY WAY FROM DROPPING THE KIDS OFF AT SCHOOL. I TRIED TO SLOW DOWN TO TURN ONTO MY STREET, AND THE SUBURBAN BRAKES DID NOT RESPOND AT ALL. THANKFULLY, THERE WAS NOBODY AHEAD OF ME, AND I SLOWED THE TRUCK GRADUALLY. I THEN IDLED BACK HOME, WITHOUT ANY FUNCTIONALITY IN MY BRAKES. UPON INSPECTION, WE DISCOVERED THE BRAKE LINES HAD RUPTURED. ALL MAINTENANCE IS AND HAD BEEN UP TO DATE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2015 - CAMPBELL , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/20/2014 - BETHESDA, MD
WHILE DRIVING THROUGH DOWNTOWN BETHESDA, BRAKE PEDAL LOST PRESSURE ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR, RESULTING IN EXTENDED STOPPING DISTANCE THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. PULLED OVER AND NOTED FLUID LEAKAGE UNDER FRONT RIGHT SIDE OF CAR. DROVE CAR TO DEALER AT 5MPH; IDENTIFIED EXTENSIVE RUST THROUGH BRAKE LINES. CAR WAS NOT DRIVABLE. I WAS CHARGED $430 FOR PARTS AND $2351 FOR LABOR TO 'COMPLETELY REBUILD BRAKE LINES MANUALLY' BECAUSE GM STOPPED MAKING THE KIT. TOTAL $2808 AND NINE DAYS OUT OF SERVICE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/6/2014 - SPENCERVILLE , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. A LOCAL MECHANIC STATED THAT THE BRAKE LINES WERE RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds