Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (97) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (47) Seat Belts (24) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (13) Seats (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (31) Tires (29) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (15)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2014 - PEMAQUID, ME
BRAKES FAILED ON A RURAL ROAD BUT I WAS ABLE TO STOP. TRIED TO PUSH THE BRAKES LIKE NORMAL, BUT THEY WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. I WAS ABLE TO STOP, BUT WITH MUCH DIFFICULTY. TOOK IT TO THE SHOP AND EVEN THOUGH I JUST HAD NEW BRAKE PADS, ROTORS AND CALIPERS PUT ON, I NEED TO BUT NEW BRAKE LINES IN WHICH IS OVER $1000. SUDDEN BRAKE FAILURE IS THE MOST DANGEROUS THING THAT CAN HAPPEN IN A CAR. I WAS LUCKY TO BE ON A RURAL STRETCH OF ROAD WHERE I WAS ABLE TO STOP WITHOUT HURTING MYSELF OR OTHER PEOPLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/27/2014 - CHEVY CHASE, MD
DRIVING DOWN A HILL ON MY STREET THE BRAKES GAVE WAY. I PUSHED THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND STOP THE VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, THE SERVICE STATION INDICATED THE REAR BRAKE LINES FAILED DUE TO RUSTING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, WHERE THE TWO REAR BRAKE LINES WERE REPLACED AS WELL AS A FROZEN CALIPER. UPDATED 08/27/14

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

6/27/2014 - CHEVY CHASE, MD
DRIVING DOWN A HILL ON MY STREET THE BRAKES GAVE WAY. I PUSHED THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND STOP THE VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, THE SERVICE STATION INDICATED THE REAR BRAKE LINES FAILED DUE TO RUSTING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, WHERE THE TWO REAR BRAKE LINES WERE REPLACED AS WELL AS A FROZEN CALIPER. UPDATED 08/27/14

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/24/2014 - SAINT JAMES, NY
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I HAD TO MAKE AN EMERGENCY STOP BECAUSE OF A RUSTED-THRU BRAKE LINE. THIS TIME, I WAS ENTERING A HIGH-SPEED MERGE FROM ONE FOUR LANE HIGHWAY TO ANOTHER AND TRAFFIC WAS BACKING UP. I HAD TO APPLY THE BRAKES SLIGHTLY HARD TO SLOW DOWN IN TIME. PEDAL WENT COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR WITH ABOUT 20% OF THE NORMAL BRAKING POWER AVAILABLE. WAS NOT GOING TO STOP IN TIME AND WAS FORCED TO DRIVE OFF THE ROAD TO AVOID REAR-ENDING ANOTHER CAR AND ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER AT SPEED. BARELY HAD ENOUGH ROOM BETWEEN A MAJOR HIGHWAY SIGN WHICH WAS NEXT TO THE SHOULDER AND THE CARS IN MY LANE. AFTER REPEATEDLY PUMPING THE BRAKES (WHICH YOU ARE TAUGHT NOT TO DO WITH ANTILOCK BRAKES), THE SUV FINALLY CAME TO A STOP. WITHOUT THE SHOULDER, I WOULD'VE CAUSED A MULTI-CAR ACCIDENT WITH INJURIES. I DROVE THE CAR AT SLOW SPEED DIRECTLY TO MY SHOP WHO RECOMMENDED REPLACING EVERY BRAKE LINE (EVERY BRAKE LINE WAS HORRIBLY RUSTED AND BRITTLE). CUSTOM BRAKE LINES FOR THIS REPAIR COST $1800!! I HAD SPENT $400 ON THE FIRST REPAIR. TRUST ME, EVERY GM SUV FROM THESE YEARS HAS THIS PROBLEM AND ARE GOING TO CAUSE ACCIDENTS AND PEOPLE WILL BE KILLED!!! THIS VEHICLE WEIGHS 5500 POUNDS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2014 - FILLMORE, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON MAY 12 FROM FILLMORE CA TO LAX AIRPORT I WAS ON FREEWAY 5 PASSING VALENCIA BY THE EXIT OF FREEWAY 14 WHEN A WHITE BAN HIT THEIR BRAKES I DID THE SAME THING BUT I THINK THE BRAKE OF MY CAR DID WORK PROPERLY AND I LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR SO I WENT TO THE LEFT LINE AND A GREY CIVIC HIT ME ON MY DRIVER SIDE BY THE FRONT TIRE I HAD MY TWO KIDS WITH ME THEY WERE SO SCARE BECAUSE I WAS BLINDING FROM MY HEAD MY AIR BAGS NEVER CAME ON IF YOU HAVE ANY PLEASE CALL [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/4/2014 - ARLINGTON , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKING IN A RESIDENTIAL DRIVEWAY, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS AND THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/4/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
TIGHT TURN IN DRIVEWAY ABS BRAKES LOCKED UP AND THERE WERE NO BRAKES, VEHICLE KEPT ROLLING ALMOST RUNNING INTO GARAGE DOOR. IF HAD BEEN AT INTERSECTION I WOULD HAVE HIT CAR ON FRONT OF ME! CAR TOWED TO CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP IN ARLINGTON TX

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/31/2014 - BRIDGEVILLE, PA
2001 SUBURBAN - WHEN I APPLIED MY BRAKES COMING TO A STOP SIGN THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALMOST TO THE FLOOR LEAVING ME BARELY ANY BRAKING POWER, BUT FORTUNATELY SINCE I WAS DRIVING AT A SLOW SPEED (25 MPH) I WAS ABLE TO STOP IN TIME. I THEN DROVE TO A GARAGE WHICH WAS VERY CLOSE TO WHERE I WAS AND HAD THEM PUT IT UP ON THE RACK TO LOOK AT IT. THEY INFORMED ME THAT ALL OF MY BRAKES LINES WERE VERY RUSTY AND THE ONE REAR LINE HAD BROKEN, I LEFT IT THERE AND HAD THAT LINE REPLACED BUT AFTER REPLACING THAT LINE ANOTHER 2 LINES BROKE DURING THEIR TESTING AFTER THE FIRST REPAIRS. I ENDED UP HAVING 3 REAR LINES AND THE 2 LINES TO AND FROM THE MASTER CYLINDER REPLACED (3 THAT BROKE AND 2 OTHER ONES THAT LOOKED REALLY BAD) AT A COST OF ABOUT $800, I AM NOW GOING TO GET THE REMAINING 2 FRONT BRAKE LINES REPLACED "BEFORE" THEY BRAKE ON ME ALSO. THESE 2 LINES ARE THE HARDEST TO REPLACE AND I WAS GIVEN AN ESTIMATE OF ABOUT $700-$800 TO REPLACE THEM. THE ONE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT A COUPLE OF YEARS EARLIER HIS BRAKE LINES ALSO BROKE ON HIS SUBURBAN COMING UP TO A RED LIGHT AND HE HAD TO DRIVE ON THE BIRM TO AVOID REAR ENDING THE CAR IN FRONT OF HIM. HE HAD TO REPLACE ALL OF HIS SUBURBANS BRAKE LINES.I LIVE IN WESTERN PA AND HAVE BEEN DRIVING HERE FOR ALMOST 40 YEARS WITH MANY DIFFERENT VEHICLES DURING THAT TIME BUT I HAVE NEVER HAD BRAKE LINES RUST AND BREAK LIKE THIS. FROM WHAT I HAVE BEEN READING, THIS MUST BE FROM FAULTY BRAKE LINE MATERIAL, NONE OF MY MANY OTHER VEHICLES HAVE EVER HAD THIS HAPPEN SO CHEVY CANNOT JUST BLAME IT ON LIVING IN A SNOW/ROAD SALT AREA. *** I PLAN ON GOING WITH A DIFFERENT MANUFACTURER WHEN I GET MY NEXT SUV.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2014 - MORGAN CITY, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE IGNITION WAS ABNORMALLY LOOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/13/2013 - LOMBARD, IL
WHILE DRIVING BRAKE LINE RUPTURED DUE TO EXCESSIVE RUST , VEHICLE TOWED ALL BRAKE LINE RUSTED AND REPLACED ESPECIALLY AT SECURE POINTS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds