Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (97) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (47) Seat Belts (24) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (13) Seats (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (31) Tires (29) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (15)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

12/23/2012 - SANDY HOOK, CT
ABS SYSTEM ACTIVATED AND PREVENTED THE CAR FROM SLOWING DOWN. LIFTED MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND TRIED AGAIN, IT SEEMED TO WORK. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES AND ABS SYSTEM ACTIVATES INCORRECTLY AT ABOUT 5 MILES PER HOUR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/23/2012 - FLEMINGTON, NJ
PULLING UP TO A STOP SIGN I ATTEMPTED TO BRAKE, BUT THE BRAKE PEDAL DROPPED TO THE FLOOR AND ONLY OFFERED A MINUSCULE AMOUNT OF STOPPING POWER, I LIMPED 1.5 MILES HOME USING DOWNSHIFTING. BRAKE LINES ARE COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT AND APPARENTLY BURST, BRAKE FLUID CONTAINER UNDER HOOD WAS COMPLETELY EMPTY. I CANT EVEN THINK WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF I HAD BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY AND THEY FAILED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/12/2012 - ASHEVILLE , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL STOPPED ILLUMINATING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: SUPPLY: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

3/19/2012 - NOTTINGHAM, NH
I WAS TAKING MY SUBURBAN IN FOR IT'S ANNUAL SAFETY INSPECTION AND WAS NOTIFIED BY MY MECHANIC THAT ONE OF THE VEHICLE'S BRAKE LINES (EXITING THE ABS PUMP) WAS LEAKING AND THAT ALL FIVE OF THE PRIMARY BRAKE LINES ARE EXTERNALLY RUSTED AND NEAR BREAKING. ALL FIVE LINES NEED TO BE REPLACED RESULTING IN VERY COSTLY REPAIRS. I HAVE SIX CHILDREN AND WE REGULARLY TRAVEL AS A FAMILY. THIS POTENTIAL FAILURE HAS JEOPARDIZED MY CHILDREN'S LIVES AND GM SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR SELLING AN INFERIOR PRODUCT. THE VEHICLE HAS 88,000 MILES AND IS REGULARLY MAINTAINED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/18/2012 - RACINE, WI
ABS SYSTEM WAS SERVICED AS PART OF 2006 RECALL CAMPAIGN. SENSORS WERE CLEANED AND RETURNED TO SERVICE. PLEASE NOTE THAT IN 2006 WHEN ISSUE FIRST SURFACED, ONE WEEK PRIOR TO RECALL, CHEVROLET DEALER QUOTED A PRICE OVER $800.00 TO REPLACE HUBS. THEN WHEN RECALL WAS ANNOUNCED, THEY SAID THE HUBS COULD BE CLEANED. IN NOVEMBER 2011 SENSORS FAILED AGAIN AND HUBS (HOUSING SENSORS) WERE REPLACED. THE RECALL CAMPAIGN WAS NOT EFFECTIVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

2/28/2012 - PAINTED POST, NY
VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER RECALL BELOW ON 1/26/2006. ABS SENSOR WAS INSPECTED AND CLEANED, BUT NOT REPLACED. DEFECT COVERED IN RECALL IS NOW BEING DISPLAYED BY VEHICLE (BRAKING DISTANCE IS EXTENDED AT LOW SPEED - CAUSED BY ABS SENSOR MALFUNCTION). VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY NOT DRIVEABLE. APPARENTLY THE SOLUTION IN THE RECALL WAS NOT SUFFICIENT TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM. DEALER AND CHEVROLET REFUSE TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM. RECOMMEND THAT THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE RECALL SOLUTION BE RE-EVALUATED. NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: 05V379000 NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER: PE05020 MAKE: CHEVROLET MODEL: SUBURBAN MANUFACTURER : GENERAL MOTORS LLC MODEL YEAR : 2001 COMPONENT(S) : SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK:CONTROL UNIT/MODULE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/28/2012 - PAINTED POST, NY
VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER RECALL BELOW ON 1/26/2006. ABS SENSOR WAS INSPECTED AND CLEANED, BUT NOT REPLACED. DEFECT COVERED IN RECALL IS NOW BEING DISPLAYED BY VEHICLE (BRAKING DISTANCE IS EXTENDED AT LOW SPEED - CAUSED BY ABS SENSOR MALFUNCTION). VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY NOT DRIVEABLE. APPARENTLY THE SOLUTION IN THE RECALL WAS NOT SUFFICIENT TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM. DEALER AND CHEVROLET REFUSE TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM. RECOMMEND THAT THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE RECALL SOLUTION BE RE-EVALUATED. NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: 05V379000 NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER: PE05020 MAKE: CHEVROLET MODEL: SUBURBAN MANUFACTURER : GENERAL MOTORS LLC MODEL YEAR : 2001 COMPONENT(S) : SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK:CONTROL UNIT/MODULE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/24/2012 - PITTSBURGH, PA
THIS CONCERN HAS BEEN OCCURRING FOR OVER A YEAR NOW. THE ABS LIGHT COMES ON AND WHEN YOU APPLY THE BRAKES THERE IS A LOUD NOISE AND THE VEHICLE DOES NOT STOP RIGHT AWAY BUT CONTINUES TO MOVE. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS I ALMOST HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THE ABS MODULE IS GOING AND THE PRICE TO FIX IT WAS ABSORBENT. TO ME THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN THAT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED BY CHEVROLET AND NHTSA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/23/2011 - RIDGEWOOD , NJ
I WAS DRIVING MY SUBURBAN IN TOWN AT LOW SPEED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AS I TRIED TO STOP THE TRUCK. FORTUNATELY IT WAS NOT A COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE AND I WAS ABLE TO STOP IT AFTER A MUCH LONGER THAN USUAL STOPPING DISTANCE. THE TRUCK WAS BROUGHT TO A LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER AND THE ADVISOR NOTED THAT THE BRAKE LINES WERE VERY RUSTED AND LEAKING FLUID. ALL THE BREAK LINES HAD TO BE REPLACED AT A SIGNIFICANT COST TO ME. I HAVE TAKEN GOOD CARE OF THIS TRUCK AND THE BRAKE LINES SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED DUE TO EXCESSIVE RUST AS THEY DID. CHEVROLET SHOULD HAVE TREATED THE STEEL BRAKE LINES OR USED A DIFFERENT METAL TO MAKE THEM WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED TO AVOID THIS PROBLEM AND POSSIBLE SERIOUS AND FATAL ACCIDENTS DUE TO IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/18/2011 - WASHINGTON, NJ
BRAKE LINE TO LEFT FRONT WHEEL RUPTURED AND BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO FLOOR. AFTER INSPECTING BRAKE LINES IT IS OBVIOUS THAT EVERY METAL BRAKE LINE IS RUSTED FROM END TO END AND IT APPEARS THAT OTHER METAL BRAKE LINES ARE SEEPING FLUID AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds