Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (97) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (47) Seat Belts (24) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (13) Seats (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (31) Tires (29) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (15)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/11/2011 - SOUTHBOROUGH, MA
AFTER TOWING OUR TRAVEL TRAILER 60 MILES, MY WIFE WAS BACKING SUBURBAN INTO THE DRIVEWAY AND PULLED FORWARD TO ADJUST THE TRAILER ANGLE AND LOST ALL STEERING. WHEN I WENT TO SEE WHAT IT WAS DOING, NOTICED THAT THE BRAKES WERE ALSO VERY DIFFICULT TO OPERATE. WAS ABLE TO BACK THE TRAILER INTO THE DRIVEWAY WITH MUCH EFFORT TO ADJUST THE STEERING. HATE TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF IT WENT WHILE TOWING A TRAILER ON THE HIGHWAY WITH THE RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. VERIFIED FLUID WAS FULL AND BELT AND PULLEY WERE SPINNING NORMALLY. MECHANIC SUGGESTED TO CHECK PULLEY, WAS ABLE TO MOVE IT FORWARD FROM THE POWER STEERING UNIT EASILY WITH A SCREW DRIVER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/11/2011 - SOUTHBOROUGH, MA
AFTER TOWING OUR TRAVEL TRAILER 60 MILES, MY WIFE WAS BACKING SUBURBAN INTO THE DRIVEWAY AND PULLED FORWARD TO ADJUST THE TRAILER ANGLE AND LOST ALL STEERING. WHEN I WENT TO SEE WHAT IT WAS DOING, NOTICED THAT THE BRAKES WERE ALSO VERY DIFFICULT TO OPERATE. WAS ABLE TO BACK THE TRAILER INTO THE DRIVEWAY WITH MUCH EFFORT TO ADJUST THE STEERING. HATE TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF IT WENT WHILE TOWING A TRAILER ON THE HIGHWAY WITH THE RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. VERIFIED FLUID WAS FULL AND BELT AND PULLEY WERE SPINNING NORMALLY. MECHANIC SUGGESTED TO CHECK PULLEY, WAS ABLE TO MOVE IT FORWARD FROM THE POWER STEERING UNIT EASILY WITH A SCREW DRIVER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

10/10/2011 - KYLE, TX
FAILED BRAKES DUE TO BRAKE FLUID LEAD IN CORRODED BRAKE LINES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/10/2011 - KYLE, TX
FAILED BRAKES DUE TO BRAKE FLUID LEAD IN CORRODED BRAKE LINES.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/5/2011 - LOGANVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD EITHER STALL WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS OR FAIL TO START. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 05V155000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 141,229.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/3/2011 - LOGANVILLE, GA
I HAVE A 2001 CHEVY SUBURBAN THAT COMPLETELY STALLED OUT, (SEPT 29,2011) WHEN I WAS GETTING READY TO TRANSPORT MY FOUR YOUNG CHILDREN TO SCHOOL. PLEASE NOTE, THAT I'M IN AN AREA THAT IS NOT ACCESSIBLE BY PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION. THIS MEANS THAT WHEN MY CAR IS DOWN, I'M AT THE MERCY OF FRIENDS AND NEIGHBORS WHICH IS QUITE AN INCONVENIENCE. I HIRED A SERVICE GUY TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND HE SAID IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE CRANKSHAFT. WHILE ORDERING THE PART, HE WAS NOTIFIED THAT THE PART WAS ON A RECALL LIST. I CHECKED THE WEBSITE NHTSA.GOV TO VERIFY AND THE RECALL #07V521000 DID EXIST. I CONTACTED THE CHEVY DEALER (NASH CHEVROLET) IN SNELLVILLE AND WAS TOLD THAT MY VIN# WAS NOT IN THE BATCH AND IF THEY SERVICED IT, THE COST WOULD BE $2500. I CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS TOLD THAT MY PROBLEM COULD BE ATTRIBUTED TO WEAR AND TEAR. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THERE IS ANY POSSIBILITY TO GET THE DEALER TO REPAIR MY CAR AND IF IT'S POSSIBLE TO HAVE THE INVESTIGATION REOPENED AND THE SCOPE ADJUSTED TO INCLUDE ALL 2001 SUBURBANS THAT ARE NONCONFORMING. I WOULD LIKE TO ALSO KNOW, HOW DOES GM/CHEVY DETERMINE WHICH CUSTOMERS DESERVE TO BE SAFE ON THE ROAD, AND WHY WEREN'T ALL THEIR QUALIFYING CONSUMERS NOTIFIED. IS GM ABOVE THE LAW? HOW IS IT THAT GM IS NOT ALLOWED TO COMPLY TO THESE FEDERAL LAWS AFTER AN INVESTIGATION HAS BEEN CONDUCTED? DOES GM ONLY RESPOND TO THEIR CUSTOMERS IF THEIR IS DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT OR IF LITIGATION IS INVOLVED? PLEASE ADVISE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/14/2011 - CANTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE NOTICED SMOKE EMITTING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND AFTER OPENING THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR, HE REALIZED THAT THE DRIVER HEATED SEAT HAD CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CONTACTED WHO FILED A REPORT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFERED ANY ASSISTANCE AND FILE A REPORT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/12/2011 - HILLSBOROUGH, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED INTO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE DID NOT RESPOND AND THE CONTACT DROVE INTO THE CURB TO PREVENT A CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC AND LOCATED THE FAILURE AS A RUPTURED BRAKE LINE, CAUSED BY CORROSION. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE BRAKE LINE AND THE MASTER CYLINDER. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 113,854. UPDATED 9/16/11 UPDATED 2/23/12

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/15/2011 - LEHI, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER RECEIVING A RECALL NOTICE IN REFERENCE TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 05V379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK) AND FOR 05V155000(FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). THE FIRST RECALL REPAIRED THE FAILURE THAT OCCURRED SEVEN MONTHS LATER WHEN THE ABS LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT HE NEEDED TO REPLACE THE BRAKING MODULE AND THE EBCM. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE SECOND RECALL NOTICE WAS ISSUED THE FAILURE OCCURRED LATER IN 2010 WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO ADVISED HIM THAT THE FUEL PUMP AND THE FUEL FILTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FUEL PUMP AND FILTER WERE REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGES WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,600. UPDATED 03/24/11 UPDATED 04/28/11

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

2/15/2011 - LEHI, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER RECEIVING A RECALL NOTICE IN REFERENCE TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 05V379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK) AND FOR 05V155000(FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). THE FIRST RECALL REPAIRED THE FAILURE THAT OCCURRED SEVEN MONTHS LATER WHEN THE ABS LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT HE NEEDED TO REPLACE THE BRAKING MODULE AND THE EBCM. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE SECOND RECALL NOTICE WAS ISSUED THE FAILURE OCCURRED LATER IN 2010 WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO ADVISED HIM THAT THE FUEL PUMP AND THE FUEL FILTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FUEL PUMP AND FILTER WERE REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGES WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,600. UPDATED 03/24/11 UPDATED 04/28/11

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds