Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (97) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (47) Seat Belts (24) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (13) Seats (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (31) Tires (29) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (15)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/7/2010 - THOUSAND OAKS , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE BEGAN TO BACKFIRE WHEN DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THEY INFORMED THAT THE CRANK SENSOR WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V521000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) YET, THE CONTACTS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 96,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/12/2010 - CHEYENNE, WY
FIRST INCIDENT: VEH. WOULD CRANK BUT NOT START. TURNED OUT TO BE FUEL DELIVERY FUSE. REPLACED, AND RAN FINE FOR SEVERAL WEEKS. SECOND INCIDENT: DRIVING AT APPROX. 55 MPH, VEHICLE LOST POWER, STARTED SPUTTERING AS IF OUT OF GAS ALTHOUGH IT WAS 1/4 FULL. UNABLE TO EXCEED 25 MPH DUE TO LITTLE/NO POWER. WAS TOWED TO AUTOPARTS STORE, CLEARED CODES, VEH RAN FINE FOR ABOUT 2 DAYS, THEN LOST POWER. TOWED HOME. LOOKED UP INFO ON INTERNET, FOUND RECALLS FOR FUEL PUMP. CALLED LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP, INQUIRED ABOUT RECALL, WAS TOLD THAT RECALL WAS ONLY ON HALF-TON SUBURBANS AND SINCE MINE IS 3/4 TON, IT WAS NOT COVERED BY RECALL. I REPLACED FUEL MODULE MYSELF AND DISCOVERED THE COVERING OF THE WIRES INSIDE THE FUEL MODULE ASSEMBLY HAD MELTED, ALLOWING THE BARE WIRES TO RUB AGAINST EACH OTHER, SHORTING OUT THE FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM (WHICH LIKELY CAUSED THE BLOWN FUSE TO BEGIN WITH). I AM VERY UPSET THAT MY SUBURBAN IS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL, EVEN THOUGH IT IS VIRTUALLY THE SAME SYSTEM AS WHAT IS IN THE THE 1/2 TON SUBURBANS, AND THE SAME PROBLEM EXISTS (AS EVIDENCED BY NOT ONLY MY OWN EXPERIENCE, BUT MANY OTHERS' EXPERIENCES AS WELL). I AM EXTREMELY DISTURBED THAT UNDER THE RIGHT CIRCUMSTANCES, FUEL VAPORS, PLUS SPARK OF BARE WIRES TOUCHING, COULD IGNITE, CAUSING FIRE AND/OR EXPLOSION. POSSIBLY WITH MY FAMILY OF SIX IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/12/2010 - CHEYENNE, WY
FIRST INCIDENT: VEH. WOULD CRANK BUT NOT START. TURNED OUT TO BE FUEL DELIVERY FUSE. REPLACED, AND RAN FINE FOR SEVERAL WEEKS. SECOND INCIDENT: DRIVING AT APPROX. 55 MPH, VEHICLE LOST POWER, STARTED SPUTTERING AS IF OUT OF GAS ALTHOUGH IT WAS 1/4 FULL. UNABLE TO EXCEED 25 MPH DUE TO LITTLE/NO POWER. WAS TOWED TO AUTOPARTS STORE, CLEARED CODES, VEH RAN FINE FOR ABOUT 2 DAYS, THEN LOST POWER. TOWED HOME. LOOKED UP INFO ON INTERNET, FOUND RECALLS FOR FUEL PUMP. CALLED LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP, INQUIRED ABOUT RECALL, WAS TOLD THAT RECALL WAS ONLY ON HALF-TON SUBURBANS AND SINCE MINE IS 3/4 TON, IT WAS NOT COVERED BY RECALL. I REPLACED FUEL MODULE MYSELF AND DISCOVERED THE COVERING OF THE WIRES INSIDE THE FUEL MODULE ASSEMBLY HAD MELTED, ALLOWING THE BARE WIRES TO RUB AGAINST EACH OTHER, SHORTING OUT THE FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM (WHICH LIKELY CAUSED THE BLOWN FUSE TO BEGIN WITH). I AM VERY UPSET THAT MY SUBURBAN IS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL, EVEN THOUGH IT IS VIRTUALLY THE SAME SYSTEM AS WHAT IS IN THE THE 1/2 TON SUBURBANS, AND THE SAME PROBLEM EXISTS (AS EVIDENCED BY NOT ONLY MY OWN EXPERIENCE, BUT MANY OTHERS' EXPERIENCES AS WELL). I AM EXTREMELY DISTURBED THAT UNDER THE RIGHT CIRCUMSTANCES, FUEL VAPORS, PLUS SPARK OF BARE WIRES TOUCHING, COULD IGNITE, CAUSING FIRE AND/OR EXPLOSION. POSSIBLY WITH MY FAMILY OF SIX IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/18/2010 - GREAT FALLS, VA
ANTI-LOCK BRAKES ENGAGE AT LOW SPEEDS OVER 50% OF THE TIME. STARTED IN EARLY DECEMBER. WE HAD EARLY SEASON SNOWS LAST YEAR. PASSED INSPECTION LATER THAT MONTH. HAD IT IN FOR SERVICE AT LOCAL AUTO SERVICE BUSINESS & NO OBVIOUS ISSUES. TALKED TO CHEVY DEALER AND THEY SAID THEY'D HAVE TO INVESTIGATE. RECENTLY FOUND GM RECALL NO. 05068, BUT CHEVY SAYS I DON'T HAVE IT. I'VE RUN OVER CURBS AND BEEN CLOSE TO HITTING PARKED CARS & WALLS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

7/1/2010 - SANDY, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHEN HE NOTICED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE DISPLAYED EMPTY WHICH WAS INACCURATE; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HIS RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE BY REPLACING THE FUEL PUMP MODULE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 69,000. UPDATED 08/24/10 THE CONSUMER STATED THE ELECTRICAL WRING IN THE FUEL PUMP MODULE HAD MELTED THE INSULATION AND WAS CAUSING A SHORT IN SEVERAL PLACED. UPDATED 08/24/10

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

7/1/2010 - SANDY, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHEN HE NOTICED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE DISPLAYED EMPTY WHICH WAS INACCURATE; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HIS RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE BY REPLACING THE FUEL PUMP MODULE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 69,000. UPDATED 08/24/10 THE CONSUMER STATED THE ELECTRICAL WRING IN THE FUEL PUMP MODULE HAD MELTED THE INSULATION AND WAS CAUSING A SHORT IN SEVERAL PLACED. UPDATED 08/24/10

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/9/2010 - BIXBY, AL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ON MAY 18, 2010, WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE COLLIDED WITH AN ONCOMING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE SUSTAINED EXTENSIVE DAMAGES AND WAS TOWED FROM THE SCENE. THE CONTACT AND PASSENGERS SUSTAINED INJURIES AND WERE TAKEN TO THE HOSPITAL. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT CALLED THE DEALERSHIP OR THE MANUFACTURER AT THE TIME OF THE COMPLAINT. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 105,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/10/2010 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
IF I AM APPLYING THE BRAKES AND I GO OVER A ROUGH SPOT IN THE ROAD LIKE A BRIDGE SEAM OR SPEED BUMP, THE ANTILOCK BRAKE KICKS IN AND TAKES AWAY MY ABILITY TO CONTROL THE BRAKING SYSTEM ON THE CAR. I HAVE ALMOST REAR ENDED CARS IN THE PAST BECAUSE I CAN NOT STOP ONCE THE ANTILOCK KICKS IN. MY MECHANIC CANNOT FIND AN EXPLANATION FOR THIS BUT SAYS HE HAS HEARD THIS SEVERAL TIMES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/3/2010 - CAZENOVIA, NY
MAIN BRAKE LINE LEAK IN 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE LINE ROTTED OUT AND LEAKED SO BAD THAT IT COULD NOT BE DRIVEN. HAD TO REPLACE ENTIRE LINE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/12/2010 - WAUSAU, WI
WHILE SLOWING TO A STOP, THE ABS BRAKES ON MY 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN KICK IN, RENDERING THE BRAKES INEFFECTIVE. IT STARTED IN THE SPRING (WI) SO I WAS UNSURE AS TO WHETHER OR NOT IT WAS ROAD CONDITIONS, HOWEVER AFTER THE 2ND OCCURRENCE ON WHAT WAS A DRY ROAD, I TOOK THE CAR IN. BRAKES WERE RECENTLY REDONE, BUT THE SHOP CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. STILL OCCURRING, AND YESTERDAY I ALMOST REAR-ENDED SOMEONE DUE TO THE GAP IN BRAKE EFFECTIVENESS. SEEMS THAT IF I PUMP THEM, I CAN GET IT TO RELEASE AND BRAKES THEN ALLOW ME TO COMPLETE STOPPING SEQUENCE. HAVE ANOTHER APPT. TOMORROW, BUT AM CONCERNED ABOUT SAFETY IN OUR FAMILY'S VEHICLE. IT DOESN'T HAPPEN AT EVERY STOP, BUT RANDOMLY, SO AT THIS POINT I AM GIVING THE CARS AHEAD OF ME A GOOD BIT OF DISTANCE TO COMPENSATE FOR EXTRA TIME TO STOP.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds