Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (97) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (47) Seat Belts (24) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (13) Seats (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (31) Tires (29) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (15)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/10/2010 - CROWLEY, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 40 MPH HE HEARD A RATTLING AND KNOCKING SOUND IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR SERVICED BY THE DEALER FOR THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

TIRES

8/18/2009 - ZEBULON , NC
I PURCHASED A SET OF SIGMA STAMPEDE TIRES IN 2-2007. 3 OF THE 4 TIRES PURCHASED HAD SIDE WAL BLOW OUTS. I TOOK THE TIRES TO WHERE I BOUGHT THEM AND THE OWNER SAID IT LOOKED AS THOUGH THERE COULD BE A DEFECT. I CONTACTED TBC CORP. ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS TIRE HAD BEEN RECALLED BUT THE SET I HAD WAS THE WRONG DOT #. I THEN TOLD THEM 3 OUT OF 4 TIRES THAT HAD NO TREAD DAMAGE THAT BLOW OUT THE SIDE WALL SHOULD BE LOOKED AT I WAS TOLD TO GET MY RECEIPT AND FAX IT TO THEM AND THEY WOULD MAKE AN ADJUSTMENT ON 2 OF THE TIRES THIS WAS DONE 2 WEEKS AGO AND I HAVE NOT HEARD FROM THEM . THE FIRST TIRE BLEW OUT 11-2008, AND I REPLACED IT . THE SECOND ON 4- 2009AND THE THIRD ON 7-12-2009. THEY SAID THAT I WOULD NEED ALL THE BAD TIRES FOR THEM TO LOOK AT , BUT ALL BUT 1 CANNOT BE RECOVERED THEY HAD ME TAKE THE REMAINING TIRE 34 MILES FROM MY HOME TO ONE OF THEIR DISTRIBUTORS TO LOOK AT ,WHEN I WENT THEY WOULD NOT EVEN LOOK AT IT . THIS COMPANY HAS DONE NOTHING BUT GIVE ME A RUN-AROUND WHEN ALL I WANTED WAS TO MAKE THEM AWARE OF A POSSIBLE PROBLEM. THEY WERE THE PNES THAT MENTION AN ADJUSTMENT, AND AFTER DOING WHAT THEY ASKED THEY WILL NOT CONTACT ME BACK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/12/2009 - PADUCAH, KY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE TOOK A LONG TIME TO STOP WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 05379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK) WAS REFERENCED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY CALLED A REGIONAL GMC REPRESENTATIVE. GMC WOULD NOT ALLOW THE DEALER TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE ACCORDING TO THE RECALL BECAUSE CORROSION WAS NOT AN ISSUE IN THE CONTACT'S HOME STATE. NO OTHER DEALER HAS INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NO REPAIRS WERE MADE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/7/2009 - MADEIRA BEACH, FL
CLUNKING FROM FRONT SUSPENSION, GM KNOWS THERE IS A PROBLEM, WHAT HAPPENS IF INTERMEDIATE SHAFT FAILS?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

4/21/2009 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP HAS FAILED TWICE. THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY AT 35,852 MILES. DURING THE SECOND FAILURE, THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. THEY PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC AND STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS FAILING. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CONTACT IS WAITING ON AN ESTIMATE FOR THE REPAIR COST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,852 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 123,000. UPDATED 05/08/09 UPDATED 05/12/09. UPDATED 06/09/09.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/23/2009 - LEWIS TOWN, MT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE 2001 SILVERADO WITH THE SAME ENGINE, BUT NOT FOR THE SUBURBAN. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 92,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/12/2009 - SLAT LAKE CITY, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD RANDOMLY SHUT OFF AND COMPLETELY STOP. THE OTHER COMPONENTS, SUCH AS THE RADIO, WERE STILL OPERABLE. THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WERE ALWAYS AFFECTED AND WOULD BECOME INOPERABLE. OCCASIONALLY, THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY RESTARTS AND OTHER TIMES, THE CONTACT MUST WAIT A COUPLE OF MINUTES. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V521000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/12/2009 - SLAT LAKE CITY, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD RANDOMLY SHUT OFF AND COMPLETELY STOP. THE OTHER COMPONENTS, SUCH AS THE RADIO, WERE STILL OPERABLE. THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WERE ALWAYS AFFECTED AND WOULD BECOME INOPERABLE. OCCASIONALLY, THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY RESTARTS AND OTHER TIMES, THE CONTACT MUST WAIT A COUPLE OF MINUTES. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V521000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/12/2009 - SLAT LAKE CITY, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD RANDOMLY SHUT OFF AND COMPLETELY STOP. THE OTHER COMPONENTS, SUCH AS THE RADIO, WERE STILL OPERABLE. THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WERE ALWAYS AFFECTED AND WOULD BECOME INOPERABLE. OCCASIONALLY, THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY RESTARTS AND OTHER TIMES, THE CONTACT MUST WAIT A COUPLE OF MINUTES. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V521000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

11/10/2008 - ROSWELL, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. ON NOVEMBER 6, 2008, THE CONTACT WAS INVOLVED IN A SERIOUS CRASH. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE ENTIRE FRONT END AND PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE WERE DAMAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT HAS PICTURES AND A POLICE REPORT. THERE WERE NO OTHER PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE AND THE CONTACT WAS WEARING HER SEAT BELT AT THE TIME. THERE WAS NO MAINTENANCE PERFORMED ON THE AIR BAGS PRIOR TO THE CRASH. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds