Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (97) Trailer Hitches (2)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (47) Seat Belts (24) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (13) Seats (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (31) Tires (29) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (15)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

11/6/2008 - GEORGETOWN, TX
CAR STALLED SUDDENLY AT 40 MPH, LOSING POWER STEERING IN TRAFFIC. AFTER A FEW MINUTES THE CAR RESTARTED. INTERMITTENTLY STALLS. WHILE GM HAS RECALLED 2001 SUBURBANS FOR CRANK POSITION FAILURES IN THIS YEAR MODEL, MY PARTICULAR VIN NUMBER WAS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL. I PURCHASED REPLACEMENT PART AND CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. GM REFUSED TO REIMBURSE. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. NO WONDER GM IS IN DECLINE WITH THE LACK OF RESPONSE TO A VERY STRANGE AND DANGEROUS ENGINE STALL WITH ABSOLUTELY NO WARNING.

View Details

STEERING

6/23/2008 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
WHILE DRIVING THE POWER STEERING FAILED MAKING THE VEHICLE NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER. AFTER TOWING IT TO A CHEVY DEALER, THEY INFORMED US THAT THE SHAFT IN THE POWER STEERING PUMP HAD BROKEN. THERE IS A NHTSA RECALL ON GM/CHEVY TRUCKS FOR THIS PROBLEM. GM DOES NOT ACKNOWLEDGE ANY RECALL FOR POWER STEERING PUMPS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

6/12/2008 - PORT HUENEME, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE ABS LIGHT ILLUMINATED. WHEN THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, IT MADE A HUMMING SOUND. HE DISCONNECTED THE MODULE AND THE HUMMING STOPPED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER THE FOLLOWING DAY AND THEY REPLACED THE MODULE UNDER WARRANTY. THREE YEARS LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. HE PURCHASED THE THIRD MODULE AND HAD IT REPLACED BY A LOCAL MECHANIC. THREE WEEKS AGO, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS ON HIS VEHICLE WERE INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATING. AS OF JUNE 12, 2008, THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 80,000. UPDATED 07/08/08. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THERE WAS A DELAYED ENGAGEMENT FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE. UPDATED

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

6/12/2008 - PORT HUENEME, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE ABS LIGHT ILLUMINATED. WHEN THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, IT MADE A HUMMING SOUND. HE DISCONNECTED THE MODULE AND THE HUMMING STOPPED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER THE FOLLOWING DAY AND THEY REPLACED THE MODULE UNDER WARRANTY. THREE YEARS LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. HE PURCHASED THE THIRD MODULE AND HAD IT REPLACED BY A LOCAL MECHANIC. THREE WEEKS AGO, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS ON HIS VEHICLE WERE INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATING. AS OF JUNE 12, 2008, THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 80,000. UPDATED 07/08/08. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THERE WAS A DELAYED ENGAGEMENT FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE. UPDATED

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/12/2008 - PORT HUENEME, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE ABS LIGHT ILLUMINATED. WHEN THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, IT MADE A HUMMING SOUND. HE DISCONNECTED THE MODULE AND THE HUMMING STOPPED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER THE FOLLOWING DAY AND THEY REPLACED THE MODULE UNDER WARRANTY. THREE YEARS LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. HE PURCHASED THE THIRD MODULE AND HAD IT REPLACED BY A LOCAL MECHANIC. THREE WEEKS AGO, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS ON HIS VEHICLE WERE INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATING. AS OF JUNE 12, 2008, THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 80,000. UPDATED 07/08/08. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THERE WAS A DELAYED ENGAGEMENT FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE. UPDATED

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

1/24/2008 - KEYPORT , WA
I HAVE A 2001 CHEVY SUBURBAN THAT IS ALSO HAVING THE DREADED ABS ISSUE, ABS ENGAGES AT LOW SPEEDS AND WHILE CORNERING WHILE BRAKING AT LOW SPEEDS. I NOTICE THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM, BUT BECAUSE I LIVE IN THE NORTHWEST, NOT THE MIDWEST OR NORTHEAST, IT DOES NOT PERTAIN TO ME. THIS IS ABSOLUTE HORSE CACA. I LIVE IN A COASTAL TOWN (SALT AIR= CORROSION) ALSO A MILITARY AREA(PEOPLE MOVE HERE FROM THE AFORE MENTIONED TROUBLE AREAS). IN TODAY'S DAY AND AGE OF AUTO AUCTIONS, INTERSTATE TRAVEL, ETC... AUTOS ARE TRANSFERRED EVERYWHERE. HOW CAN GM ISSUE A REGIONAL RECALL? MY FIRST OCCURRENCE OF THIS ISSUE WAS LAST WEEKEND ON A ROAD TRIP WITH THE FAMILY. I ENTERED A TURNING LANE TO MAKE A LEFT TURN INTO THE HOTEL PARKING LOT, WHILE SLOWING AND THEN BRAKING FOR THE TURN THE ABS ENGAGED AND KEPT ME FROM STOPPING FOR APPROX 3-4 SECONDS( A SUBURBAN CAN TRAVEL QUITE A DISTANCE AWAY IN 3 SECONDS EVEN GOING UNDER 10 MPH. THE POOR GIRL THAT WAS IN THE TURNING LANE AHEAD OF ME MUST OF THOUGHT HER HONDA WAS ABOUT TO BECOME RECYCLABLE(CRUNCHED). ONLY BY THE SEAT OF MY PANTS DID I AVOID A COLLISION. ON COMING TRAFFIC EASED AND I WAS ABLE TO TAKE EVASIVE ACTIONS. (HIT THE GAS AND FISH TAIL INTO THE HOTEL PARKING LOT, STOPPING ONLY BY HITTING A SNOW BANK! I HAVE A APPOINTMENT WITH THE SHOP FRIDAY TO HAVE IT FIXED. EVEN BETTER, I'M ONLY 800 MILES OUT OF THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WE PURCHASED. FROM THE LOOKS OF IT, $1000 TO FIX ABS, $2,400 WORTHLESS EXTENDED WARRANTY=$3,400. THIS CHEVY WAS MY FIRST AND LAST AMERICAN CAR PURCHASE. HAVE 2 IMPORTS WITH 250K AND NEVER MORE THAN ROUTINE SERVICE. ARGH! JUST BECAUSE THERE WAS NOT A INJURY, DEATH, FIRE, ETC.. DOESN'T EXCUSE GM FROM NATIONAL RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

STEERING

1/5/2008 - PRYOR, OK
NOVEMBER 2004 I HAD AN AUTO ACCIDENT, I WAS DRIVING HOME LATE AT NIGHT AFTER MY HUSBAND AND I HAD BEEN OUT TO DINNER WITH A FRIEND ON LEAVE FROM THE MILITARY. WE WERE ON THE WAY TO PICK OUR KIDS UP FROM MY PARENTS AND IT WAS MISTING OUTSIDE. I WAS ON A 4 LANE HIGHWAY TRAVELING SOUTHBOUND ON THE FAR INSIDE LEFT HAND LANE, THE NEXT THING I KNEW I WAS FACING THE POLICE STATION HEAD-ON AT 35 MPH. I TRIED TO CORRECT THE WHEEL AND MY HUSBAND ALSO GRABBED THE WHEEL AND TRIED TO CORRECT IT, DIDN'T WORK I THINK THE WHEEL BROKE BECAUSE WE CRASHED INTO THE POLICE STATION. I HAD TO KICK MY DOOR OPEN AND RUN INSIDE TO HAVE THEM CALL AN AMBULANCE, MY HUSBAND WAS PINNED AGAINST THE WALL, HIS FACE BUSTED THE PASSENGER WINDOW OUT, AND THE DASH,THE RADIO AND GLOVE BOX WAS IN OUR LAP AND THE WINDSHIELD SHATTERED. WE WERE WEARING SEATBELTS AND THE FRONT AND SIDE WAS TOTALED BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE ONLY WORKING DOORS WERE THE BACK HATCH AND THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR, THE PASSENGER DOOR WAS CAVED IN ON MY HUSBAND AND HE WAS FORCED ACROSS THE CONSOLE HE HAD TO BE PULLED FROM THE AUTO. HE WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE ER AND ENDED UP MISSING WEEKS OF WORK FROM HIS INJURIES , I REFUSED TREATMENT WITH ONLY MY KNEE AND FOOT HURT. I WAS FOUND NOT AT FAULT AND NO TICKECTS WERE WROTE. WE HAD BEEN HAVING FRONT END PROBLEMS THAT CHEVY MECHANICS AND OTHER MECHANICS COULD NOT EXPLAIN. YES THEY SAW AND HEARD THE PROBLEM BUT DIDN'T KNOW HOW OR HAVE A WAY TO FIX IT,I BELIEVE THAT IS WHY WE CRASHED SOMETHING WITH THE FRONT END. I REPORTED TO THE POLICE THAT MY HUSBAND GRABBED THE WHEEL TRYING TO CORRECT IT BUT THEY WROTE IT AS HE GRABBED ME CAUSING THE WRECK; NEEDLESS TO SAY I CORRECTED THE ERROR BUT THEY DIDN'T CORRECT THEIR REPORT. I CONTACTED CHEVY ABOUT THE INCIDENT AND WANTED TO KNOW WHY MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY, THEY CALLED ME ON A SUNDAY BUT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/5/2008 - PRYOR, OK
NOVEMBER 2004 I HAD AN AUTO ACCIDENT, I WAS DRIVING HOME LATE AT NIGHT AFTER MY HUSBAND AND I HAD BEEN OUT TO DINNER WITH A FRIEND ON LEAVE FROM THE MILITARY. WE WERE ON THE WAY TO PICK OUR KIDS UP FROM MY PARENTS AND IT WAS MISTING OUTSIDE. I WAS ON A 4 LANE HIGHWAY TRAVELING SOUTHBOUND ON THE FAR INSIDE LEFT HAND LANE, THE NEXT THING I KNEW I WAS FACING THE POLICE STATION HEAD-ON AT 35 MPH. I TRIED TO CORRECT THE WHEEL AND MY HUSBAND ALSO GRABBED THE WHEEL AND TRIED TO CORRECT IT, DIDN'T WORK I THINK THE WHEEL BROKE BECAUSE WE CRASHED INTO THE POLICE STATION. I HAD TO KICK MY DOOR OPEN AND RUN INSIDE TO HAVE THEM CALL AN AMBULANCE, MY HUSBAND WAS PINNED AGAINST THE WALL, HIS FACE BUSTED THE PASSENGER WINDOW OUT, AND THE DASH,THE RADIO AND GLOVE BOX WAS IN OUR LAP AND THE WINDSHIELD SHATTERED. WE WERE WEARING SEATBELTS AND THE FRONT AND SIDE WAS TOTALED BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE ONLY WORKING DOORS WERE THE BACK HATCH AND THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR, THE PASSENGER DOOR WAS CAVED IN ON MY HUSBAND AND HE WAS FORCED ACROSS THE CONSOLE HE HAD TO BE PULLED FROM THE AUTO. HE WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE ER AND ENDED UP MISSING WEEKS OF WORK FROM HIS INJURIES , I REFUSED TREATMENT WITH ONLY MY KNEE AND FOOT HURT. I WAS FOUND NOT AT FAULT AND NO TICKECTS WERE WROTE. WE HAD BEEN HAVING FRONT END PROBLEMS THAT CHEVY MECHANICS AND OTHER MECHANICS COULD NOT EXPLAIN. YES THEY SAW AND HEARD THE PROBLEM BUT DIDN'T KNOW HOW OR HAVE A WAY TO FIX IT,I BELIEVE THAT IS WHY WE CRASHED SOMETHING WITH THE FRONT END. I REPORTED TO THE POLICE THAT MY HUSBAND GRABBED THE WHEEL TRYING TO CORRECT IT BUT THEY WROTE IT AS HE GRABBED ME CAUSING THE WRECK; NEEDLESS TO SAY I CORRECTED THE ERROR BUT THEY DIDN'T CORRECT THEIR REPORT. I CONTACTED CHEVY ABOUT THE INCIDENT AND WANTED TO KNOW WHY MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY, THEY CALLED ME ON A SUNDAY BUT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE.

View Details

PARKING BRAKE: INDICATOR LIGHT

12/28/2007 - SAN JOSE, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE LIGHT THAT INDICATES THE PARKING BRAKE IS ACTIVATED WAS NOT ILLUMINATED. THE GEAR WAS SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DRIFT WHILE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WAS STILL APPLIED. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE CONTACT HEARD THE SOUND OF METAL COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE WHENEVER THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE PARKING BRAKE WAS REPLACED BY A REPAIR SHOP; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/18/2007 - OWENSBORO, KY
EVERY MORNING WHEN I START THE CAR, IT "LUNGES" FORWARD. THIS HAS ONLY HAPPENED 3 OR 4 TIMES DURING THE DAY BUT IT DOES HAPPEN EVERY MORNING. I KEEP THE CAR IN THE GARAGE SO WHEN IT DOES MOVE FORWARD IT IS ONLY A COUPLE OF INCHES, BUT WHEN I AM IN A PARKING LOT, I MAKE SURE TO LEAVE PLENTY OF ROOM BETWEEN CARS SO I DO NOT HIT ANYONE. I HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE SINCE JAN. 07 AND THIS JUST STARTED IN NOVEMBER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds