Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2001 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 671 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Exterior Lighting (19) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Air (3) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (92) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (113) Steering (52) Visibility (26)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (28) Suspension (345) Wheels (11)
Equipment (14) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/27/2010 - DEERFIELD BEACH, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, HE NOTICED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE SUDDENLY DROPPED TO 0. HE THEN TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INSPECTED IT AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT HE NEEDED TO REPLACE THE OIL SENDING UNIT, THE PUMP, AND THE OIL PAN SCREEN. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 103,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/30/2010 - LIVERMORE , CA
THE PIN THAT HOLDS THE BRAKE PEDDLE ARM TO THE MASTER CYLINDER BROKE OFF CAUSING ME TO SLAM INTO THE DRIVER IN FRONT OF ME. CAUSING $3,483.77 DAMAGES TO MY CAR AND ABOUT $1,000 TO THE OTHER VEHICLE. I WAS VERY LUCKY THAT NO ONE WAS INJURED OR KILLED IN THE ACCIDENT HAD THIS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY AT SPEED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

10/20/2010 - SUFFOLK, VA
WHILE DRIVING 2001 DODGE DURANGO WILL SHUT OFF IF FOOT IS TOKEN OFF THE GAS PEDAL. WILL ALSO SHUT OFF DURING TURNS IN MAJOR TRAFFIC, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. TRUCK WILL ALSO SHUT OFF WITHIN 5 MIN OF IDLING. I HAVE HAD THE IDLE VALVE CONTROL REPLACED, FUEL PUMP, BATTERY, TPS SENSOR, FUEL CLEANED ETC. IT DOESN'T THROW ANY CODES AND MECHANICS DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. PLEASE HELP! THIS IS BECOMING DANGEROUS, ESPECIALLY WITH SMALL CHILDREN IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/20/2010 - SUFFOLK, VA
WHILE DRIVING 2001 DODGE DURANGO WILL SHUT OFF IF FOOT IS TOKEN OFF THE GAS PEDAL. WILL ALSO SHUT OFF DURING TURNS IN MAJOR TRAFFIC, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. TRUCK WILL ALSO SHUT OFF WITHIN 5 MIN OF IDLING. I HAVE HAD THE IDLE VALVE CONTROL REPLACED, FUEL PUMP, BATTERY, TPS SENSOR, FUEL CLEANED ETC. IT DOESN'T THROW ANY CODES AND MECHANICS DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. PLEASE HELP! THIS IS BECOMING DANGEROUS, ESPECIALLY WITH SMALL CHILDREN IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/5/2010 - HOUSTON, TX
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE TRAVELING 20 MPH THE CONTACTS VEHICLE WAS STRUCK IN THE FRONT END BY A NEARBY VEHICLE, HOWEVER NONE OF THE AIRBAGS IN THE CONTACTS VEHICLE HAD DEPLOYED. NONE ONE WAS INJURED AND THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 116000. BML

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/8/2010 - PHOENIX, MD
I OWN A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE HORN HAS FAILED COMPLETELY. THE CRUISE CONTROL HAS FAILED COMPLETELY. THE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAINS ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD (ALONG WITH SEVERAL OTHER ICONS), AND NOW I'M FINDING OUT THAT IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT, THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG WILL ALSO FAIL. I AM TOLD THAT THIS IS DUE TO A FAILED "CLOCK SPRING" AND IT AFFECTS EVERY CONTROL LOCATED WITHIN THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS PART IS ON NATIONWIDE BACKORDER AND I WAS TOLD TODAY THAT 1,400 ARE BACKORDERED. SEVERAL DEALERS HAVE TOLD ME THEY HAVE NO IDEA OF WHEN (OR ACTUALLY IF) THIS PART WILL BE COMING IN. I UNDERSTAND THAT DODGE DAKOTAS WERE RECALLED FOR THIS VERY REASON, HOWEVER THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE DODGE DURANGO. I AM NOW DRIVING A CAR WITH NO HORN, NO CRUISE CONTROL AND NO DRIVER'S SIDE AIRBAG.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2010 - PHOENIX, MD
I OWN A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE HORN HAS FAILED COMPLETELY. THE CRUISE CONTROL HAS FAILED COMPLETELY. THE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAINS ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD (ALONG WITH SEVERAL OTHER ICONS), AND NOW I'M FINDING OUT THAT IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT, THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG WILL ALSO FAIL. I AM TOLD THAT THIS IS DUE TO A FAILED "CLOCK SPRING" AND IT AFFECTS EVERY CONTROL LOCATED WITHIN THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS PART IS ON NATIONWIDE BACKORDER AND I WAS TOLD TODAY THAT 1,400 ARE BACKORDERED. SEVERAL DEALERS HAVE TOLD ME THEY HAVE NO IDEA OF WHEN (OR ACTUALLY IF) THIS PART WILL BE COMING IN. I UNDERSTAND THAT DODGE DAKOTAS WERE RECALLED FOR THIS VERY REASON, HOWEVER THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE DODGE DURANGO. I AM NOW DRIVING A CAR WITH NO HORN, NO CRUISE CONTROL AND NO DRIVER'S SIDE AIRBAG.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2010 - BRUNSWICK , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED; YET, IT ALSO MADE IT DIFFICULT TO SLOW DOWN. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO AVOID OTHER VEHICLES ON THE HIGHWAY AND DRIVE ONTO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE CONTACT LOOKED UNDERNEATH THE HOOD AND NOTICED THAT THE COMPUTER WAS HOT AND DISPLAYED A WARNING INDICATOR "NO BUS" WHICH MEANS THAT THE COMPUTER WAS HAVING A COMMUNICATIONS ERROR. AFTER THE VEHICLE COOLED DOWN THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE HOME. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PCM ALSO MALFUNCTIONED AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SHUT OFF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PCM FAILED PREVIOUSLY. ON TWO OCCASIONS THE FAILURE NEARLY CAUSED A CRASH TO OCCUR. THE CONTACT VIEWED NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE PCM AND STATED THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIRS SINCE THIS WAS A WIDE SPREAD ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/25/2010 - CHANDLER, AZ
SINCE 2007, HAVE HAD MANY PROBLEMS WITH OVERHEATING. ONE TIME TO THE POINT IT WARPED BOTH HEADS AND HAD TO HAVE THE ENGINE REBUILT. HAVE REPLACED WATER PUMP, RADIATOR, THERMOSTAT (3 TIMES), CLUTCH FAN. WHEN THE HEADS WARPED, THE UPPER RADIATOR HOSE SHEARED APART AND I SAW NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT (CEL) AND THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE NEVER WENT ABOVE HALF-WAY. PERSONALLY I THINK IT'S JUST A BAD DESIGN. THE UPPER RADIATOR HOSE CONTAINS THE RADIATOR CAP, AND IT'S STILL NOT THE HIGHEST POINT IN THE "CLOSED" SYSTEM, THUSLY THERE IS ALWAYS AIR WHICH NEVER PURGES INTO THE OVERFLOW TANK. EVERYTIME I CHECK RADIATOR FLUID THEIR IS NONE IN THE UPPER RADIATOR HOSE. THE FLUID HAS TO BE GOING SOMEWHERE, ALTHOUGH I NEVER SEE ANY UNDER THE VEHICLE. I HAVE READ IN INTERNET FORUMS OF MANY PEOPLE HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE. IT'S NOT YEAR SPECIFIC, NOR IS IT ENGINE MODEL SPECIFIC. THERE IS AN UNDERLYING ISSUE THAT DODGE ISN'T ADDRESSING, OR HAS KEPT FROM THE GENERAL PUBLIC TO AVOID HAVING TO REPLACE 500,000 ENGINES. I LOVE MY VEHICLE. I LOVE THE WAY IT DRIVES AS WELL AS IT'S APPEARANCE. THIS IS QUITE AN ANNOYANCE. IT HAS DEPLETED WHAT LITTLE SAVINGS MY FAMILY HAS TO INSURE THAT OUR DAILY-DRIVER OF A VEHICLE WILL BE GETTING US FROM POINT A TO POINT B. WE HAVE REFRAINED FROM TAKING THIS VEHICLE ON ANY TYPE OF TRIP OUTSIDE OUR METRO AREA FOR THIS REASON ALONE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/21/2010 - DAWSONVILLE, GA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ONE NIGHT, IT WAS RAINING, WHEN MY HEADLIGHTS, WIPERS, AND DASHBOARD JUST WENT OUT. I PULLED OVER IN A PARKING LOT, SHUT OFF THE ENGINE WAITING A COUPLE OF MINUTES AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND THEY STILL WOULDN'T WORK. I CAN NOT DRIVE MY CAR AT NIGHT OR WHEN IT IS RAINING, OR EVEN LOCK MY DOORS. THEY TRIED REPLACING THE IGNITION SWITCH AND STILL NO LIGHTS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds