Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2001 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 671 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Exterior Lighting (19) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Air (3) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (92) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (113) Steering (52) Visibility (26)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (28) Suspension (345) Wheels (11)
Equipment (14) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

12/12/2016 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS STRUCK ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE BY THE DOOR AND QUARTER PANEL BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. ALL THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE DRIVER'S SEAT BELT FAILED TO ENGAGE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NOSE, HEAD, LIPS, LEFT AND RIGHT LEGS, AND BOTH ARMS. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS RECEIVED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN. UPDATED 02/07/2017 UPDATED 09/05/2017

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/15/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE RIGHT AND A CRACKING SOUND WAS HEARD FROM THE FRONT SUSPENSION. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE CRACKING NOISE WAS CAUSED BY FAULTY BALL JOINTS. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE AND THE LIGHT BULB AND SOCKET WAS REPLACED ON SEVERAL DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. ALSO, THE PLENUM GASKET LEAKED OIL FROM THE ENGINE, WHICH CAUSED THE ENGINE TO LOSE POWER. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE RIGHT AND A CRACKING SOUND WAS HEARD FROM THE FRONT SUSPENSION. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE CRACKING NOISE WAS CAUSED BY FAULTY BALL JOINTS. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE AND THE LIGHT BULB AND SOCKET WAS REPLACED ON SEVERAL DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. ALSO, THE PLENUM GASKET LEAKED OIL FROM THE ENGINE, WHICH CAUSED THE ENGINE TO LOSE POWER. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/15/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE RIGHT AND A CRACKING SOUND WAS HEARD FROM THE FRONT SUSPENSION. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE CRACKING NOISE WAS CAUSED BY FAULTY BALL JOINTS. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE AND THE LIGHT BULB AND SOCKET WAS REPLACED ON SEVERAL DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. ALSO, THE PLENUM GASKET LEAKED OIL FROM THE ENGINE, WHICH CAUSED THE ENGINE TO LOSE POWER. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/21/2016 - ELKTON, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE IN PARK AND ATTEMPTING TO TURN OFF THE VEHICLE, A NOISE EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE ABS MOTOR REMAINED ON. THE CONTACT UNPLUGGED THE HARNESS THAT WAS CONNECTED TO THE MODULE IN ORDER TO SHUT THE MOTOR OFF. IN ADDITION, WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN PARK, THE ABS AND BRAKE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,470.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/15/2016 - LA, CA
I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE ON 7/11/16 AND THE SAME DAY THE TIRE BLEW DUE TO THE UPPER BALL JOINT WHICH DOES HAVE A RECALL. MINE WAS COMPLETELY DISINTEGRATED, BUT SUPPOSEDLY THE RECALL WAS CLOSED AS IT WAS TO HAVE BEEN SERVICED ALREADY. EITHER IT WASN'T SERVICED OR THERE IS STILL AN ISSUE. I CONTACTED NHTSA AND THEY PUT ME THROUGH TO DODGE WHO SPOKE WITH ME ABOUT THERE ONLY BEING ONE OPEN RECALL ON IT AND I TOLD HER ABOUT THE BALL JOINT AND SHE TOLD ME THEY WOULD COVER THE REPAIR AND TOW AND SENT A TOW TRUCK AND TOWED IT TO MOTOR VILLAGE BUT DID NOT TELL THEM THAT THEY WOULD BE COVERING THE BALL JOINT WORK SO THEY TOLD ME TO HAVE DODGE CONTACT THEM IN THE MORNING. WHEN I DID CONTACT DODGE, THE FIRST REP COULDN'T GET THROUGH AND SO SHE OPENED A CASE. I THEN CALLED MOTOR VILLAGE TO GET THE SERVICE ADMIN'S PHONE NUMBER TO GIVE TO DODGE AND WHEN I CONTACTED DODGE THE 2ND TIME, I WAS INFORMED THAT NOW THEY WOULD NOT BE COVERING IT AND THAT THEY ARE SORRY FOR THE MISUNDERSTANDING. THEY ALSO WON'T BE TOWING IT BACK EITHER AND I DO NOT HAVE MONEY TO DO SO AS I AM FACING EVICTION AND JUST PURCHASED THAT CAR TO GET READY TO MOVE AND NOW I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO. I WOULD NOT HAVE SENT IT TO DODGE IF THEY DIDN'T REPRESENT THEY WOULD FIX THE BALL JOINT AND NOW ALL I HAVE FROM THEM IS AN APOLOGY FOR THE MISUNDERSTANDING AND NO WAY TO FIX OR GET MY CAR THAT I JUST PURCHASED OUT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/31/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
ONE DAY I WAS OUT SHOPPING PARKED MY CAR GOT OUT TRIED TO LOCK DOORS THEY WOULD LOCK UNLESS I MANUALLY DID IT. THE NEXT DAY I NOTICED MY HEADLIGHTS, INSIDE LIGHTS, WINDSHIELD WIPERS, AND VOLUME CONTROL ON STARING WHEEL WOULD NOT WORK. THAT SAME DAY WHEN I STARTED MY CAR IT STARTED GREAT AS ALWAYS BUT THERE WAS A CLICKING NOISE ON THE DRIVER SIDE BY THE FRONT WHEEL. I TOOK IT TO MIDAS THEY DIAGNOSED IT AND FIXED IT, 3 DAYS LATER MY CAR DID THE SAME THING HE TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO THE DODGE DEALER. I'VE TRIED THEY WONT CALL BACK! NOW THERE IS A RED SECURITY LIGHT THAT CAME ON AND WONT GO OFF EVEN WHEN THE CAR ENGINE IS OFF. AFTER 4 DAYS OF MY CAR BEING PARKED WITH THE SECURITY LIGHT ON MY CAR IS NOW DEAD. I'VE READ ONLINE THAT ITS A ALARM SYSTEM AND I NEED A KEY TO PROGRAM IT. I BOUGHT MY CAR USED FROM THE DEALER AND DID NOT RECEIVE AN ALARM KEY, ALARM KEY PAD OR EVEN A SPARE KEY FIR MY CAR. I SEE A LOT OF REVIEWS ONLINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE, THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 1 MONTH OR LONGER NOW. I BELIEVE ITS A FACTORY ISSUE. IM STILL GOING TO CONTACT THE DEALER AND GET AN APPOINTMENT TO GET Y CAR FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/31/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
ONE DAY I WAS OUT SHOPPING PARKED MY CAR GOT OUT TRIED TO LOCK DOORS THEY WOULD LOCK UNLESS I MANUALLY DID IT. THE NEXT DAY I NOTICED MY HEADLIGHTS, INSIDE LIGHTS, WINDSHIELD WIPERS, AND VOLUME CONTROL ON STARING WHEEL WOULD NOT WORK. THAT SAME DAY WHEN I STARTED MY CAR IT STARTED GREAT AS ALWAYS BUT THERE WAS A CLICKING NOISE ON THE DRIVER SIDE BY THE FRONT WHEEL. I TOOK IT TO MIDAS THEY DIAGNOSED IT AND FIXED IT, 3 DAYS LATER MY CAR DID THE SAME THING HE TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO THE DODGE DEALER. I'VE TRIED THEY WONT CALL BACK! NOW THERE IS A RED SECURITY LIGHT THAT CAME ON AND WONT GO OFF EVEN WHEN THE CAR ENGINE IS OFF. AFTER 4 DAYS OF MY CAR BEING PARKED WITH THE SECURITY LIGHT ON MY CAR IS NOW DEAD. I'VE READ ONLINE THAT ITS A ALARM SYSTEM AND I NEED A KEY TO PROGRAM IT. I BOUGHT MY CAR USED FROM THE DEALER AND DID NOT RECEIVE AN ALARM KEY, ALARM KEY PAD OR EVEN A SPARE KEY FIR MY CAR. I SEE A LOT OF REVIEWS ONLINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE, THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 1 MONTH OR LONGER NOW. I BELIEVE ITS A FACTORY ISSUE. IM STILL GOING TO CONTACT THE DEALER AND GET AN APPOINTMENT TO GET Y CAR FIXED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/31/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
ONE DAY I WAS OUT SHOPPING PARKED MY CAR GOT OUT TRIED TO LOCK DOORS THEY WOULD LOCK UNLESS I MANUALLY DID IT. THE NEXT DAY I NOTICED MY HEADLIGHTS, INSIDE LIGHTS, WINDSHIELD WIPERS, AND VOLUME CONTROL ON STARING WHEEL WOULD NOT WORK. THAT SAME DAY WHEN I STARTED MY CAR IT STARTED GREAT AS ALWAYS BUT THERE WAS A CLICKING NOISE ON THE DRIVER SIDE BY THE FRONT WHEEL. I TOOK IT TO MIDAS THEY DIAGNOSED IT AND FIXED IT, 3 DAYS LATER MY CAR DID THE SAME THING HE TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO THE DODGE DEALER. I'VE TRIED THEY WONT CALL BACK! NOW THERE IS A RED SECURITY LIGHT THAT CAME ON AND WONT GO OFF EVEN WHEN THE CAR ENGINE IS OFF. AFTER 4 DAYS OF MY CAR BEING PARKED WITH THE SECURITY LIGHT ON MY CAR IS NOW DEAD. I'VE READ ONLINE THAT ITS A ALARM SYSTEM AND I NEED A KEY TO PROGRAM IT. I BOUGHT MY CAR USED FROM THE DEALER AND DID NOT RECEIVE AN ALARM KEY, ALARM KEY PAD OR EVEN A SPARE KEY FIR MY CAR. I SEE A LOT OF REVIEWS ONLINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE, THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 1 MONTH OR LONGER NOW. I BELIEVE ITS A FACTORY ISSUE. IM STILL GOING TO CONTACT THE DEALER AND GET AN APPOINTMENT TO GET Y CAR FIXED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/10/2016 - LATHROP, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL IN EITHER DIRECTION, AN ABNORMAL NOISE WAS PRESENT COMING FROM THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds