Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2001 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1758 complaints filed for the 2001 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (149) Equipment (24) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (17) Unknown Or Other (34)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (34) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (198) Vehicle Speed Control (67)
Electrical System (516) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Power Train (92) Steering (86) Visibility (58)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (291) Seat Belts (24) Structure (61) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (29) Fuel System Other (25) Seats (13) Suspension (152) Wheels (27)
Engine And Engine Cooling (249) Latches Locks Linkages (67) Service Brakes (7) Tires (70)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 232
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/14/2019 - EVERETT, WA
AFTER DRIVING FROM WORK TO HOME, ABOUT 4.6 MILES, I TURNED RIGHT INTO MY PARKING SPACE IN FRONT OF MY HOME WHEN THE BRAKES FAILED WHILE THE CAR ACCELERATED DIRECTLY INTO THE ROCK WALL THAT SERVES AS A BARRIER BETWEEN THE PARKING, WALKWAY AND BUILDING; I IMMEDIATELY PULLED UP THE EMERGENCY BRAKE, PUT IT INTO PARK AND TURNED THE CAR OFF. I HAD IT TOWED INTO MY MECHANIC AND WAS NOTIFIED THAT THEY FOUND "THROTTLE CABLE WAS BOUND UP" AND THEY "RE-ROUTED CABLE PROPERLY." I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF ANYONE HAS EVER HAD THIS EXPERIENCE WITH THEIR VEHICLE ACCELERATING WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED ON THIS MODEL. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW THE CABLES CAN BECOME BOUND UP. THIS WAS A VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE. I HAVE TAKEN VERY GOOD CARE OF THIS AUTOMOBILE AND HAVE MAINTENANCE PERFORMED ACCORDING TO MANUFACTURER SUGGESTIONS IN THEIR GUIDE BOOK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/14/2019 - EVERETT, WA
AFTER DRIVING FROM WORK TO HOME, ABOUT 4.6 MILES, I TURNED RIGHT INTO MY PARKING SPACE IN FRONT OF MY HOME WHEN THE BRAKES FAILED WHILE THE CAR ACCELERATED DIRECTLY INTO THE ROCK WALL THAT SERVES AS A BARRIER BETWEEN THE PARKING, WALKWAY AND BUILDING; I IMMEDIATELY PULLED UP THE EMERGENCY BRAKE, PUT IT INTO PARK AND TURNED THE CAR OFF. I HAD IT TOWED INTO MY MECHANIC AND WAS NOTIFIED THAT THEY FOUND "THROTTLE CABLE WAS BOUND UP" AND THEY "RE-ROUTED CABLE PROPERLY." I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF ANYONE HAS EVER HAD THIS EXPERIENCE WITH THEIR VEHICLE ACCELERATING WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED ON THIS MODEL. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW THE CABLES CAN BECOME BOUND UP. THIS WAS A VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE. I HAVE TAKEN VERY GOOD CARE OF THIS AUTOMOBILE AND HAVE MAINTENANCE PERFORMED ACCORDING TO MANUFACTURER SUGGESTIONS IN THEIR GUIDE BOOK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/7/2018 - NORRISTOWN, PA
MY DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER DOOR HAS BEEN ACTING UP FOR MANY YEARS NOW AND FORD WILL NOT FIX IT. NOW MY DOOR WILL NOT CLOSE. MANY OF THE 2001 FORD FOCUS HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS ISSUE AND THEY SAY MY VIN NO. IS NOT ONE OF THEM. PLEASE HELP ME GET MY DOOR FIXED. WHEN I WENT TO GET IT INSPECTED ON 11.2.18 THEY OPENED MY DOOR AND NOW IT WILL NOT CLOSE AND AGAIN THEY SAY THAT I HAVE TO FIX IT. AS MENTIONED, THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR YEARS AND I AM STILL DEALING WITH IT. MY CAR IS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION AND DO NOT WANT TO GET RID OF IT. I BELIEVE THAT FORD IS RESPONSIBLE FOR FIXING THE LATCH. MY CAR HAS HAD A FEW RECALLS THAT WERE FIXED, ONE OF WHICH WAS A FEW YEARS AGO THAT THEY HONORED. I HOPE TO GET THIS ISSUE RESOLVED QUICKLY AND THEY WILL NOT PASS MY CAR FOR INSPECTION AND I NEED MY VEHICLE. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

8/21/2018 - OCALA, FL
CAR WAS DRIVING FINE RUNNING A FEW ERRANDS. STOPPED AT A STORE FOR ABOUT FIVE MINUTES , WHEN I GOT BACK IN AND STARTED THE ENGINE ALL I HEARD WAS A LOUD CLANKING NOISE AND THE IDLE WAS ROUGH. DID A LITTLE RESEARCH ABOUT THE CAR AND DISCOVERED ALL THE COMPLAINTS ABOUT ENGINE FAILURE . SO THATS WHAT HAPPENED TO MINE . DROPPED VALVE SEAT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/30/2018 - NORCROSS, GA
WAS ON MY WAY TO THE VA HOSPITAL 04/04/2018 STARTED CAR, IT WOULD SHAKE VIGOROUSLY. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND OIL FUEL LIGHT KEEP COMING ON AND OFF. HAD A COMPLETE TUNE UP. GOING TO THE VA HOSPITAL ON 4/16/2018 START CAR, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND FUEL LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. HAD INNER TIRE RODS REPLACED. GOING TO A VA APPT, ON 05/10/2018 START CAR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAM ON, CV VALVES REPLACED. 5/30/2018 ON MY WAY AGAIN TO THE VA HOSPITAL, START CAR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. PLEASE ADVISE, SINCE IT VERY DIFFICULT TO MISS AND RESCHEDULE APPTS AT THE VA HOSPITAL. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

5/30/2018 - NORCROSS, GA
WAS ON MY WAY TO THE VA HOSPITAL 04/04/2018 STARTED CAR, IT WOULD SHAKE VIGOROUSLY. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND OIL FUEL LIGHT KEEP COMING ON AND OFF. HAD A COMPLETE TUNE UP. GOING TO THE VA HOSPITAL ON 4/16/2018 START CAR, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND FUEL LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. HAD INNER TIRE RODS REPLACED. GOING TO A VA APPT, ON 05/10/2018 START CAR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAM ON, CV VALVES REPLACED. 5/30/2018 ON MY WAY AGAIN TO THE VA HOSPITAL, START CAR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. PLEASE ADVISE, SINCE IT VERY DIFFICULT TO MISS AND RESCHEDULE APPTS AT THE VA HOSPITAL. THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/30/2018 - NORCROSS, GA
WAS ON MY WAY TO THE VA HOSPITAL 04/04/2018 STARTED CAR, IT WOULD SHAKE VIGOROUSLY. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND OIL FUEL LIGHT KEEP COMING ON AND OFF. HAD A COMPLETE TUNE UP. GOING TO THE VA HOSPITAL ON 4/16/2018 START CAR, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND FUEL LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. HAD INNER TIRE RODS REPLACED. GOING TO A VA APPT, ON 05/10/2018 START CAR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAM ON, CV VALVES REPLACED. 5/30/2018 ON MY WAY AGAIN TO THE VA HOSPITAL, START CAR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. PLEASE ADVISE, SINCE IT VERY DIFFICULT TO MISS AND RESCHEDULE APPTS AT THE VA HOSPITAL. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/15/2018 - LAKEWOOD, OH
MY MECHANIC IDENTIFIED EXCESSIVE DANGERS CORROSION OF THE ENGINE CRADLE AND ADVISED THAT THE ENGINE COULD FALL OUT WHILE DRIVING. I CALLED THE FORD DEALER WHO SENT ME TO FORD. THE TOOK MY INFORMATION, FORD REF. RFF14807554. THEY WOULD NOT COMMIT TO EXAMINING THE CAR. I AM AFRAID THIS PROBLEM COULD BE WIDESPREAD AND DANGEROUS TO OTHERS. THIS DETERIORATION OF THE STEEL IS NOT NORMAL. I HAVE A BACKGROUND IN WORKING IN METALS FOR 30 YEARS. I OFFERED TO DONATE MY CAR FOR REVIEW AND FORD WAS NOT INTERESTED. MANY OLD FOCUS ARE ON THE ROAD. MY CAR HAS BEEN GARAGED AND HAS ONLY 82,640 MILES. I DO NOT WANT ANYONE HURT BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM FORD HAS HAD RECALLS IN THE PAST FOR ESCAPES & WINDSTARES FOR SUBFRAME CORROSION ON THE ENGINE CRADLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/7/2018 - MADISON, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AT NIGHT, THE LOW AND HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE BRIGHTLY. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO METRO FORD OF MADISON (5422 WAYNE TERRACE, MADISON, WI 53718, (608) 246-3600), BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2018 - APOPKA, FL
THIS CAR HAS ELECTRICAL ISSUES,THE DASH AND TAG LIGHTS FLICKER,THE CAR HAS BEEN TURNING OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING WITH MY SON IN THE CAR OVER 3 TIMES NOW,ON THE HIGHWAY AND ON MAIN STREET,ITS SO SCARY I'VE HAD PANIC ATTACKS AND GOT A STRESS RASH ON MY FACE. IM SO SCARED THAT I CAN'T DRIVE IT,I'VE HAD THE FUEL PUMP REPLACED,SPARK PLUGS,MOTOR FILTER.I JUST TRY TO KEEP GETTING IT REPAIRED COSTING ME MY BILLS MONEY BEING A SINGLE PARENT. I'M OVERWHELMED AND DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 232
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds