Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN NAVIGATOR - 2001 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 72 complaints filed for the 2001 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (7) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (9) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (2) Tires (21) Wheels (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Trailer Hitches (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/27/2014 - SLIDELL, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DECELERATING TO A STOP, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND RESUMED NORMALLY. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. ADDITIONALLY, THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND THE SOUND OF BURNING MATERIAL WAS COMING FROM THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE AREA NEAR THE FUSE BOX. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2014 - SLIDELL, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DECELERATING TO A STOP, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND RESUMED NORMALLY. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. ADDITIONALLY, THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND THE SOUND OF BURNING MATERIAL WAS COMING FROM THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE AREA NEAR THE FUSE BOX. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2013 - MIAMI, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED AND UNOCCUPIED, THE VEHICLE SPONTANEOUSLY COMBUSTED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS SUMMONED TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES. A POLICE REPORT WAS ALSO FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/28/2013 - MIAMI, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED AND UNOCCUPIED, THE VEHICLE SPONTANEOUSLY COMBUSTED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS SUMMONED TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES. A POLICE REPORT WAS ALSO FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/27/2013 - GLENDIVE, MT
CONSUMER STATES AFTER PUTTING DRIVER SIDE WINDOW DOWN THE RADIO WILL CUT OFF. HAD VEHICLE SERVICED.THIS IS A RESULT OF AN ELECTRICAL SHORTAGE. DEALERSHIP CANNOT FIX PROBLEM,CONSUMER AFRAID THIS SHORTAGE WILL CAUSE A FIRE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/27/2013 - GLENDIVE, MT
CONSUMER STATES AFTER PUTTING DRIVER SIDE WINDOW DOWN THE RADIO WILL CUT OFF. HAD VEHICLE SERVICED.THIS IS A RESULT OF AN ELECTRICAL SHORTAGE. DEALERSHIP CANNOT FIX PROBLEM,CONSUMER AFRAID THIS SHORTAGE WILL CAUSE A FIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2013 - GLENDIVE, MT
CONSUMER STATES AFTER PUTTING DRIVER SIDE WINDOW DOWN THE RADIO WILL CUT OFF. HAD VEHICLE SERVICED.THIS IS A RESULT OF AN ELECTRICAL SHORTAGE. DEALERSHIP CANNOT FIX PROBLEM,CONSUMER AFRAID THIS SHORTAGE WILL CAUSE A FIRE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/13/2012 - SUCCASUNNA, NJ
HELLO, LUCKILY I MADE IT HOME BEFORE THIS HAPPENED AS I WAS TOWING MY TRAILER WITH A COUCH AND CHAIR ON IT. I GOT HOME AND STOPPED IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE, THEN HAD TO MOVE THE TRUCK. WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS TO MOVE, THERE WAS A HORRENDOUS BANG, A CLUNKING NOISE AND THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE DROPPED DOWN ALMOST TO THE GROUND. UPON JACKING THE VEHICLE UP AND EXAMINING THE DAMAGE, THE REAR LOWER CONTROL ARMS ROTTED ON BOTH SIDE AND COLLAPSED LIKE PRETZELS, ALLOWING THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL TO TWIST, SNAPPING THE DRIVESHAFT FLANGE WHERE THE UNIVERSAL GOES AND BLOWING OUT BOTH REAR SUSPENSION AIR SPRINGS. AS I SAID, LUCKILY IT WAITED UNTIL I WAS HOME FOR THIS TO HAPPEN. IF IT HAD HAPPEN ON ROUTE 287 ON MY WAY HOME AT 65MPH, I'M SURE THE RESULTS WOULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC. I CAN'T IMAGINE THAT I WOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. EXAMINING THE UPPER CONTROL ARMS SHOWED THEY ARE ROTTED TO! I CONTACTED THE FORD DEALER I HAVE USED FOR REPAIRS AND FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY HAVE SEEN IT BEFORE, BUT TO THEIR KNOWLEDGE, FORD IS NOT ASSISTING FOR THIS PROBLEM. WHEN I CONTACTED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE, THEY TOOK MY VIN NUMBER AND SAID THERE WERE NO OPEN RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE SO FORD WOULD NOT ASSIST EITHER. READING ON LINE THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AND I THINK FORD SHOULD BEE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR IT. I AM 49 YEARS OLD AND HAVE OWNED ALOT OF CARS, I'VE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS! I WORK FOR AN AUDI DEALERSHIP, NEEDLESS TO SAY I DON'T THINK I WOULD BUY ANOTHER FORD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/13/2012 - SUCCASUNNA, NJ
HELLO, LUCKILY I MADE IT HOME BEFORE THIS HAPPENED AS I WAS TOWING MY TRAILER WITH A COUCH AND CHAIR ON IT. I GOT HOME AND STOPPED IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE, THEN HAD TO MOVE THE TRUCK. WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS TO MOVE, THERE WAS A HORRENDOUS BANG, A CLUNKING NOISE AND THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE DROPPED DOWN ALMOST TO THE GROUND. UPON JACKING THE VEHICLE UP AND EXAMINING THE DAMAGE, THE REAR LOWER CONTROL ARMS ROTTED ON BOTH SIDE AND COLLAPSED LIKE PRETZELS, ALLOWING THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL TO TWIST, SNAPPING THE DRIVESHAFT FLANGE WHERE THE UNIVERSAL GOES AND BLOWING OUT BOTH REAR SUSPENSION AIR SPRINGS. AS I SAID, LUCKILY IT WAITED UNTIL I WAS HOME FOR THIS TO HAPPEN. IF IT HAD HAPPEN ON ROUTE 287 ON MY WAY HOME AT 65MPH, I'M SURE THE RESULTS WOULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC. I CAN'T IMAGINE THAT I WOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. EXAMINING THE UPPER CONTROL ARMS SHOWED THEY ARE ROTTED TO! I CONTACTED THE FORD DEALER I HAVE USED FOR REPAIRS AND FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY HAVE SEEN IT BEFORE, BUT TO THEIR KNOWLEDGE, FORD IS NOT ASSISTING FOR THIS PROBLEM. WHEN I CONTACTED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE, THEY TOOK MY VIN NUMBER AND SAID THERE WERE NO OPEN RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE SO FORD WOULD NOT ASSIST EITHER. READING ON LINE THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AND I THINK FORD SHOULD BEE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR IT. I AM 49 YEARS OLD AND HAVE OWNED ALOT OF CARS, I'VE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS! I WORK FOR AN AUDI DEALERSHIP, NEEDLESS TO SAY I DON'T THINK I WOULD BUY ANOTHER FORD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/19/2012 - ESCONDIDO, CA
ON 10/16/12 TRUCK STARTED SMOKING TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC, HE SUGGESTED TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER TO FIX A RECALL FOR THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL SWITCH. ON 10/17/12 DEALER AUTO SHOP REQUESTED WE TAKE THE CAR THE NEXT DAY TO GET FIXED. ON 10/18/12 AROUND 9AM WHILE TRUCK WAS PARKED IT STARTED SMOKING AND THEN IT CAUGHT FIRE. THE WHOLE FRONT OF THE CAR WAS BURNED INCLUDING THE INTERIOR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds