Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC AZTEK - 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 219 complaints filed for the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (26) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (2) Tires (10)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (27) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (30) Power Train (24) Steering (3) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (6) Structure (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Suspension (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/10/2014 - TULSA, OK
THE KEY CAN BE PULLED OUT OR FALL OUT OF THE IGNITION CYLINDER WITH ALMOST NO RESISTANCE IN THE RUN POSITION, AND DOOR AJAR, KEYS IN IGNITION CHIMES NO LONGER OPERATE AFTER FIRST OCCURRENCE OF KEY FALLOUT. KEY FALLOUT OCCURS EASIER AS TIME GOES ON, I AM UNSURE OF THE EXACT DATE OF FIRST OCCURRENCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/10/2014 - ANCHORAGE, AK
AFTER ARRIVING HOME FROM WORK, I FOLLOWED MY NORMAL ROUTINE: PARKING IN MY DRIVEWAY, CUTTING OFF THE ENGINE AND REMOVING THE KEY BEFORE EXITING THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, I COULD NOT REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. NO MATTER WHAT I ATTEMPTED IT WOULD NOT BUDGE. MY ADULT SON ALSO TRIED TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH WITH NO SUCCESS. THE KEY WAS STUCK IN THE 2ND POSITION-- MEANING THAT THE VEHICLE WAS STILL "ON" JUST NOT RUNNING. I LEFT IT AS IT WAS WITH MY KEY STUCK IN THE IGNITION. THE NEXT MORNING, OF COURSE, MY BATTERY WAS DEAD BECAUSE THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS STILL IN THE "ON" POSITION. THE NEXT DAY I FOUND A TEMPORARY "WORKAROUND" ON YOUTUBE. HOWEVER, THE IGNITION IS STILL NOT FIXED AND I AM STILL USING THE TEMPORARY WORKAROUND. I HAVE CONTACTED A LOCAL GM DEALER AND GM OFFICES ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT THE RECALL DOES NOT COVER MY VEHICLE. I KNEW THAT BEFORE I CALLED THEM; WHICH WASN'T THE REASON I CONTACTED THEM. I ASKED WHY THIS PARTICULAR IGNITION PROBLEM WAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL AND I WAS TOLD BY A GM REPRESENTATIVE THAT IT HAD TO BE ISSUED FROM YOUR ORGANIZATION. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE ADDED TO THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL THAT IS CURRENTLY BEING INVESTIGATED. GM DID AN OVERALL POOR JOB WITH THE IGNITION SWITCHES ON THE VEHICLES THAT WERE SOLD TO THE PUBLIC AND THEY NEED TO TAKE ACCOUNTABILITY FOR IT. THANK YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

3/24/2014 - NOKOMIS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN HIS WIFE APPLIED THE BRAKE, SHE EXPERIENCED IMMEDIATE AND COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE. A POPPING AND WHOOSHING SOUND WAS HEARD AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT ONE OF THE BRAKE LINES FAILED DUE TO RUSTED THROUGH AT THE POINT OF FAILURE, AS WELL AS EXTREMELY RUSTED AT EVERY PLACE IT WAS CLIPPED TO THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE TO THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE. THE MECHANIC RECOMMENDED THE ENTIRE BRAKE LINE BE REPLACED. . THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 136,000. THE CONSUMER STATED IT WAS THE SECOND TIME, THE BRAKE LINE FAILED, DUE TO CORROSION. THE FIRST TIME WAS IN 2007, WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD 65,000 MILES. UPDATED 03/11/15.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/12/2014 - ST. PAUL, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH HAD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE

10/14/2013 - LAKE WORTH, FL
AS I HAVE SEEN OTHER OWNERS OF THIS SPECIFIC CAR STATE ON YOUR SITE, MY FUEL TANK HAS DEVELOPED A CRACK, AND I WAS TOLD BY GM THAT I AM OUT OF LUCK BECAUSE IT IS "OUT OF RECALL SINCE 2011," EVEN THOUGH I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED ABOUT A POSSIBLE PROBLEM WITH MY FUEL TANK! SO NOW I AM DRIVING AROUND IN, ESSENTIALLY, A MOLOTOV COCKTAIL, HAVING TO SPEND $800 TO REPLACE A GAS TANK THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE REPLACED BY GM IN 2007, AT NO COST, BECAUSE GM FAILED TO NOTIFY ME. THIS IS VILE. TO THINK THAT GM DOESN'T CARE IF OWNERS OF THEIR CARS ARE DRIVING AROUND IN POTENTIAL FIREBOMBS, THAT THEY KNEW ABOUT, IS SICKENING. I PURCHASED THIS CAR NEW, AND CERTAINLY DESERVED TO BE NOTIFIED ABOUT PROBLEMS THAT ARE POTENTIALLY LIFE-THREATENING, AND OFFERS TO REPLACE DEFECTIVE PARTS, THAT WERE SUPPOSED TO BE SENT TO ME, AS PER THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID #07V349000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/16/2013 - SAULT STE MARIE, MI
BRAKE LINE THAT RUNS FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE TO THE PASSENGER SIDE WAS ROTTED OUT, RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE, AGAINST THE FIREWALL. THE OTHER PARTS OF THE LINE ARE "OK". SEEMS TO BE A COMMON THING IN THIS CHASSIS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/21/2013 - SMITHVILLE , TN
I CONTACTED PONTIAC REGARDING A RECALL ON MY AZTEC WHICH INCLUDES THE FUEL TANK, THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE SINCE IT CAN CATCH FIRE WITH JUST A SPARK FROM ELECTRICAL ON MY CAR, WELL THEY SAID THAT I WAS OUT OF THE RECALL SINCE 2011 I WAS NOT EVEN AWARE THERE WAS A RECALL UNTIL I STARTED INVESTIGATING MY PROBLEM ONLINE, I DID NOT RECEIVE ANY NOTICE REGARDING THIS SAFETY ISSUE I AM NOT THE ORIGINAL OWNER I BOUGHT IT USED BUT I REGISTERED IT AND NEVER RECEIVED ANY NOTICE, MY CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN RIDE IN THIS CAR, AND ALL THEY COULD TELL ME AT PONTIAC WAS WE ARE SORRY BUT YOU ARE OUT OF THE RECALL TIME, AND WE CAN SCHEDULE YOU AN APPOINTMENT BUT WE WILL NOT PAY, SO THEY DO NOT CARE IF SOMEONE COULD POSSIBLY DIE IN A VEHICLE THAT WAS A FACTORY DEFAULT , WHICH IS THEIR FAULT NOT MINE. THEY ARE REFUSING TO FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/6/2012 - MAXWELL, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE LOADING THE VEHICLE WITH BOXES, THE SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED ERRONEOUSLY, STRIKING A PASSENGER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR A CORPORATE ENGINEER TO FURTHER INSPECT THE DAMAGE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 197,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/6/2012 - BAY CITY, MI
BRAKES FAILED - THE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR WHILE ENTERING US10 IN BAY COUNTY, MI. WHY - BECAUSE THE BRAKE LINE FAILED. TO ME, THIS IS A VEHICLE SAFETY ISSUE AND A DESIGN PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM WAS FIXED AT GRAFF CHEVROLET, 3636 E WILDER RD, BAY CITY, MI. THE FIX INCLUDED REPLACING A SECTION OF BRAKE LINE THAT WAS WRAPPED IN HEAT REFLECTING TAPE. THE WAY I SEE IT, THE TAPE TRAPPED WATER BETWEEN THE TAPE AND THE STEEL TUBE CAUSING THE RUSTED TUBE TO FAIL. POOR ENGINEERING DESIGN. HOW MANY MORE CARS ARE THERE OUT THERE, ON THIS CAR PLATFORM, THAT WILL EXPERIENCE THIS FAILURE? I OWN A 1958 CHEVY CONV, THAT HAS EXISTED IN MICHIGAN SINCE 1958. IT HAS NOT HAD THIS PROBLEM. I'M NOT LOOKING FOR MONEY. I WANT TO PROTECT ALL THE PEOPLE OWNING THESE VEHICLES FROM BE KILLED OR WHATEVER OTHER LIFE ALTERING THINGS THAT COULD HAPPEN. I WAS VERY VERY LUCKY WHEN MY BRAKES FAILED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/17/2011 - BATAVIA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE FAILED. AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE TO FULL CAPACITY, THE FUEL GAUGE WOULD SHOW AN EMPTY READING ABNORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE SENSOR IN THE FUEL TANK HAD FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds