Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC AZTEK - 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 219 complaints filed for the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (26) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (2) Tires (10)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (27) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (30) Power Train (24) Steering (3) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (6) Structure (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Suspension (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

6/18/2009 - MESA, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH AT NIGHT, THE HEADLIGHTS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DRIVER EXPERIENCED EXTREMELY LIMITED VISIBILITY. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE CONTACT MADE SEVERAL ATTEMPTS BEFORE THE HEADLIGHTS ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BODY CONTROL MODULE FAILED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNABLE TO BE ENTERED INTO THE SYSTEM. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 80,000.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

6/3/2009 - MORAVIA, IA
A/C QUIT WORKING IN MY 2001 PONTIAC AZTEC. GM DEALERSHIP REPLACED A LINE SAYING THERE WAS A HOLE. AFTER THE LINE REPLACEMENT, I'M TOLD THAT THERE IS A LEAK IN THE CONDENSER DUE TO A BRACKET FAILURE. I AM LOOKING AT ABOUT $900 TO $1,000 IN REPAIRS. I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE TO REPORT THIS ISSUE FOR THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2009 - FRONT ROYAL, VA
MY AZTEK WHICH HAS 92,000 MILES, SUFFERS FROM WHAT IS SOMETIMES CALLED "THE DISCO AZTEK" MEANING MY BCU WENT OUT. THIS HAS CAUSED THE PW, PL, GAUGE CLUSTER BACK LIGHT, REAR HATCH, AND RADIO TO QUIT WORKING. THIS IS NOT ONLY A SAFETY HAZARD BUT IS ANNOYING. IT IS ESTIMATED TO COST AROUND $300 TO FIX. GOOD NEWS IS THAT THERE IS A WAY TO MANUALLY RELEASE THE REAR HATCH, IF YOU'VE GOT SOME TOOLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2009 - WINTERVILLE, NC
LOSS OF LIGHTS, GAUGES, HORN GOING ON, DURING DRIVING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/19/2008 - COVINGTON, GA
SMELLED GAS FUEL LEAKING UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. MECHANIC DETERMINED FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO A CRACK WELD...GAS GAUGE MALFUNCTION..SAYS TANK IS EMPTY WHEN FULL AND VISE VERSA..

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/6/2008 - MENTOR, OH
FUEL LEAKAGE: SYSTEM MALFUNCTIONING-INABILITY TO MAKE A GOOD SEAL... TANK-LEAKAGE FUEL/EMISSIONS- DETECT PROBLEM CURRENTLY PASSENGER AIR BAG MAY NEED PIN REPLACE: WISH TO HAVE ALL CHECKED OUT! SAFETY CHILD SEAT HOLDER MAY NOT BE FUNCTIONAL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/9/2008 - BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI
IN EARLY JULY, 2008, SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. DEALERSHIP REPLACED GAS CAP BECAUSE DIAGNOSTIC CODE INDICATED FUEL VAPORS ESCAPING. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON NEXT DAY. RETURNED TO DEALERSHIP, EXPLANATION WAS THAT THE CODES MUST HAVE NOT BEEN RESET. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON NEXT DAY. DIAGNOSTIC CODES INDICATED THAT FUEL VAPORS ARE ESCAPING. CRACK @ FUEL FILL TUBE IS DIAGNOSED. I HAD RECEIVED A LETTER FROM THE MANUFACTURER (GM) ABOUT THIS IN JANUARY 2008. THE LETTER INDICATED THAT REPAIRS WOULD BE MADE IF THIS PROBLEM MADE IT NECESSARY, BUT NOT TO REPAIR UNLESS INDICATED (THERE WAS NO RECALL). THE PART WAS ORDERED MID-AUGUST OF 2008. I WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO PARTS IN INVENTORY, NATIONWIDE. AFTER COMPLAINING TO GM CUSTOMER SERVICE, I WAS TOLD THAT THE PART WOULD SHIP ON SEPTEMBER 19TH, 2008. AS OF OCTOBER 9TH, THERE IS STILL NO PART, STILL NO REPAIR. THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT IS STILL ON, FUEL VAPORS ARE STILL ESCAPING FROM THE VEHICLE. IS THIS SAFE???

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/3/2008 - WASHINGTON, UT
I NOTICED FUEL LEAKING FROM UNDERNEATH THE CAR ONTO THE PAVEMENT. UPON CLOSER OBSERVATION I DETERMINED THAT THE SOURCE OF THE LEAK WAS THE JOINT WERE THE FUEL FILLER NECK ENTERS THE FUEL TANK. THIS JOINT APPEARS TO BE LEAKING THROUGH THE PLASTIC WELD. MY VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. BUT IT IS MY INTENTION TO TRY AND GET GM TO COVER THE COST OF REPLACEMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/11/2008 - DETROIT, MI
MY CAR STARTED TO RUN HOT AS SOON AS THE CAR WAS DROVE ABOUT A QUARTER OF A MILE, BUT THE FLUID WASN'T HOT. MY HUSBAND REPLACED THE THERMOSTAT, HOSES, A COOLING SENSOR, AND SOME OTHER THINGS. WHEN NONE OF THAT WORKED, WE TOOK IT TO A RADIATOR SHOP AND THEY TOLD US WE NEED HEAD GASKETS. WE HAVE A 2001 AZTEK AND WHEN WE GOT THE CAR IN 2004, THE GASKETS BLEW BUT IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY. THAT IS AN EXPENSIVE JOB. GM NEEDS TO RECALL THIS VEHICLE AND GIVE US ALL SOME RELIABLE CARS AND TRUCKS!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/11/2008 - DETROIT, MI
MY CAR STARTED TO RUN HOT AS SOON AS THE CAR WAS DROVE ABOUT A QUARTER OF A MILE, BUT THE FLUID WASN'T HOT. MY HUSBAND REPLACED THE THERMOSTAT, HOSES, A COOLING SENSOR, AND SOME OTHER THINGS. WHEN NONE OF THAT WORKED, WE TOOK IT TO A RADIATOR SHOP AND THEY TOLD US WE NEED HEAD GASKETS. WE HAVE A 2001 AZTEK AND WHEN WE GOT THE CAR IN 2004, THE GASKETS BLEW BUT IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY. THAT IS AN EXPENSIVE JOB. GM NEEDS TO RECALL THIS VEHICLE AND GIVE US ALL SOME RELIABLE CARS AND TRUCKS!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds