Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC AZTEK - 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 219 complaints filed for the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (26) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (2) Tires (10)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (27) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (30) Power Train (24) Steering (3) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (6) Structure (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Suspension (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

9/11/2008 - DETROIT, MI
MY CAR STARTED TO RUN HOT AS SOON AS THE CAR WAS DROVE ABOUT A QUARTER OF A MILE, BUT THE FLUID WASN'T HOT. MY HUSBAND REPLACED THE THERMOSTAT, HOSES, A COOLING SENSOR, AND SOME OTHER THINGS. WHEN NONE OF THAT WORKED, WE TOOK IT TO A RADIATOR SHOP AND THEY TOLD US WE NEED HEAD GASKETS. WE HAVE A 2001 AZTEK AND WHEN WE GOT THE CAR IN 2004, THE GASKETS BLEW BUT IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY. THAT IS AN EXPENSIVE JOB. GM NEEDS TO RECALL THIS VEHICLE AND GIVE US ALL SOME RELIABLE CARS AND TRUCKS!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/10/2008 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
WE HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH OUR REAR HATCH OPENING PROPERLY SINCE WE PURCHASED THIS AZTEC NEW IN 2000. ABOUT 3 YEARS AGO, THE PROBLEM DEVELOPED INTO NOT BEING ABLE TO OPEN THE REAR HATCH WITH THE KEY FOB, DASH RELEASE BUTTON AND THE MOST FRUSTRATING AS WELL AS DANGEROUS ASPECT IS IT WOULD NOT OPEN EVEN BY USING THE VEHICLE KEYS. IT HAS NOW INCREASED TO THE POINT THAT THE CARS ALARM SYSTEM WILL GO OFF ON ITS OWN, THE AIR CONDITIONER QUITS WORKING, THE REMOTE ENTRY DOOR SYSTEM BECOMES USELESS AND ENTIRE VEHICLES ELECTRICAL DOOR LOCK SYSTEM FAILS. SINCE ONLY THE TWO FRONT DOORS WILL OPEN WITH THE VEHICLE KEY AND WE ALMOST ALWAYS HAVE CHILDREN IN CAR SEATS IN THE REAR, THIS HAS BECOME A DANGEROUS SITUATION. IN SEARCHING THE INTERNET, WE FOUND THAT IF WE PULLED THE FUSE THAT CONTROLLED THE VEHICLES COMPUTER MODULE, CALLED THE BCM, THE MODULE WOULD RESET ITSELF AND IT WOULD TEMPORARILY FIX THE PROBLEM. ESTIMATES TO FIX THIS BY THE DEALER ARE UPWARDS OF $ 700.00 AND HE DOESN'T KNOW FOR SURE IF THIS WILL FIX THE PROBLEMS. AN AC DELCO BRANDED BCM REPLACEMENT ON THE INTERNET CAN BE PURCHASE FOR LESS THAN $ 170.00. I BELIEVE GM SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL ON THIS PRODUCT OR AT LEAST OFFER TO FIX THE PROBLEM AT A REASONABLE COST TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

8/10/2008 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
WE HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH OUR REAR HATCH OPENING PROPERLY SINCE WE PURCHASED THIS AZTEC NEW IN 2000. ABOUT 3 YEARS AGO, THE PROBLEM DEVELOPED INTO NOT BEING ABLE TO OPEN THE REAR HATCH WITH THE KEY FOB, DASH RELEASE BUTTON AND THE MOST FRUSTRATING AS WELL AS DANGEROUS ASPECT IS IT WOULD NOT OPEN EVEN BY USING THE VEHICLE KEYS. IT HAS NOW INCREASED TO THE POINT THAT THE CARS ALARM SYSTEM WILL GO OFF ON ITS OWN, THE AIR CONDITIONER QUITS WORKING, THE REMOTE ENTRY DOOR SYSTEM BECOMES USELESS AND ENTIRE VEHICLES ELECTRICAL DOOR LOCK SYSTEM FAILS. SINCE ONLY THE TWO FRONT DOORS WILL OPEN WITH THE VEHICLE KEY AND WE ALMOST ALWAYS HAVE CHILDREN IN CAR SEATS IN THE REAR, THIS HAS BECOME A DANGEROUS SITUATION. IN SEARCHING THE INTERNET, WE FOUND THAT IF WE PULLED THE FUSE THAT CONTROLLED THE VEHICLES COMPUTER MODULE, CALLED THE BCM, THE MODULE WOULD RESET ITSELF AND IT WOULD TEMPORARILY FIX THE PROBLEM. ESTIMATES TO FIX THIS BY THE DEALER ARE UPWARDS OF $ 700.00 AND HE DOESN'T KNOW FOR SURE IF THIS WILL FIX THE PROBLEMS. AN AC DELCO BRANDED BCM REPLACEMENT ON THE INTERNET CAN BE PURCHASE FOR LESS THAN $ 170.00. I BELIEVE GM SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL ON THIS PRODUCT OR AT LEAST OFFER TO FIX THE PROBLEM AT A REASONABLE COST TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/28/2008 - FRUITLAND, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEC. THE VEHICLE WAS LOCKED IN THE PARK POSITION. THE CONTACT READ THE OWNER'S MANUAL AND ATTEMPTED TO RELEASE THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE CUPHOLDER AS INSTRUCTED. SHE COULD NOT DO SO ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND WENT TO THE PASSENGER SIDE INSTEAD. SHE WAS ABLE TO RELEASE THE LOCK AND WAS ON HER WAY BACK TO THE DRIVER'S SIDE WHEN THE VEHICLE KNOCKED HER DOWN. ACCORDING TO WITNESSES, THE VEHICLE MADE AN L AND STRUCK ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND HAS NOT YET BEEN DIAGNOSED. UPDATED 08/27/08. UPDATED 08/27/08.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

4/23/2008 - ZEPHYR HILLS, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS RECEIVING A FREE OIL CHANGE, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE INTAKE MANIFOLD WAS LEAKING ANTIFREEZE INTO THE ENGINE. GENERAL MOTORS ADVISED HIM TO TAKE HIS VEHICLE TO A PONTIAC DEALER. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT WORK ON THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE WARRANTY AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE HIS VEHICLE TO ANOTHER DEALER. GENERAL MOTORS STATED THAT THEY WOULD REPAIR THE VEHICLE UNDER WARRANTY, BUT LATER CHANGED THERE MIND. THE REFERENCE NUMBER FROM GENERAL MOTORS WAS 71-616597877. THE PURCHASE DATE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 89,595 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,575.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

3/13/2008 - SEAFORD, NY
AIR CONDITIONING REPLACED 4 TIMES AT MY OWN EXPENSE ONCE WHEN IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY. SHORTLY AFTER IT BROKE AGAIN DUE TO DEFECT IN MANUFACTURING AS STATED BY THE DEALERSHIP. HOLE IS CREATED DUE TO BRACKET AND COOLANT LEAKS OUT. THE PURCHASE AND INSTALL OF A NEW ONE HAS COST ME $1200 EACH TIME IT HAPPENS AND FOR THE PAST 4 YEARS I'VE JUST DRIVEN WITHOUT AIR CONDITIONING DUE TO THE COST FACTOR AND KNOWING IT'S GOING TO HAPPEN AGAIN IN THE NEXT 2 MONTHS. EVERYTIME IT WAS REPLACED IT WAS FOR THE SAME PROBLEM A HOLE IN THE CONDENSER. I'VE HEAR COMPLAINTS FROM EVERY ATZEK OWNER I'VE MET ABOUT THE AIR CONDITIONING AND STILL PONTIAC REFUSES TO FESS US TO THE MANUFACTURING DEFECT. FOR THE PAST 4 YEARS I'VE HAD TO DRIVE AROUND IN 90+ DEGREE HEAT WITHOUT AIR BECAUSE OF THIS. I'M A FIELD TECHNICIAN AND I'M TRAVELING YEAR ROUND. I HAD AN 88 GRAND PRIX PREVIOUSLY AND THAT HAD ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES AND I SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS ON BRAKES ONLY TO RECEIVE A LETTER 2 YEARS AFTER I GOT RID OF THE CAR CLAIMING I CAN GET MONEY BACK DUE TO A DEFECT IN THE BRAKES. I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO SUFFER FROM HEAT EXHAUSTION DUE TO A DEFECT IN THE WAY PONTIAC DESIGNED THE AC. THEY SHOULD ATLEAST BE ABLE TO DESIGN SOMETHING THAT WON'T CORE A HOLE IN THE CONDENSER. THEY ALSO HAVE ISSUES WITH THE TAILGATE AND REAR LIGHTS PEELING. I HAVE TO OPEN MY TAILGATE 2 TIMES AND USE THE KEY WHILE PULLING THE TAILGATE UP. I'VE GOTTEN THE PARTS REPLACED 2 TIMES AND IT HASN'T SOLVED THE PROBLEM THEY TELL ME EVERYTIME I OPEN THE TAILGATE I HAVE TO MANUALLY ADJUST THE STOPS SO THAT THE TAILGATE WILL OPEN AGAIN. I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO DO THIS. I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THESE ISSUES EVERYONE IS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE

3/11/2008 - FLORENCE, OR
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEC. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT HIS VEHICLE MAY CATCH FIRE DUE TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V349000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:STORAGE). THERE HAD BEEN NO FAILURE TO DATE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 35,785.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE

3/6/2008 - FLORENCE, OR
2001 PONTIAC AZTEK FUEL LEAK. CONSUMER STATES THAT HIS DAUGHTER IN LAW WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE INSPECTED FOR A FUEL LEAK PROBLEM. HE STATES THAT THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL OR AT LEAST BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

10/19/2007 - ANKENY, IA
GRADUAL LOSS OF BRAKING DUE TO A LEAK IN THE BRAKE LINE. BRAKE FLUID FROM THE LEAKING BRAKE LINE DRIPPED ON CATALYTIC CONVERTER CAUSING A FIRE. THE BRAKE LINE WAS RECONSTRUCTED BY A LICENSED MECHANIC. NO DAMAGE TO ANY OTHER PART OF THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

10/12/2007 - DAKOTA DUNES, CA
DEFECTIVE WELD ON THE FILL SPOUT LOCATED ON THE FUEL TANK CAUSES A STRONG GAS SMELL AND FUEL DAMPENING AROUND THE FILL NOZZLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds