Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2001 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 137 complaints filed for the 2001 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (3) Power Train (16) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (1) Visibility (23)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/12/2018 - CENTENNIAL, CO
SUNROOF GLASS BLEW OFF OF THE VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY YESTERDAY. I SEE NUMEROUS REPORTS OF THIS ON THE INTERNET. WAS THERE EVER A TSB OR RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE FROM TOYOTA? DANGEROUS AND SCARY, HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/12/2017 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
I AM SOLE OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE SINCE BOUGHT IT NEW AND WELL MAINTAIN IT. DASHBOARD AND STEERING WHEEL ARE PEELING AND GOOEY. TOYOTA SERVICE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME NOTHING THEY CAN DO ABOUT IT AND ASKED ME TO CALL TOYOTA. I CALLED AND FILED A COMPLAINT NO. 1709121290 WITH TOYOTA. THEY TOLD ME THEY HAD RECALLS ON OTHER MODELS BUT NOT THIS ONE SO IT SEEMS THIS IS NOT A NEW ISSUE FOR THEM. THEY DON'T WANT TO FIX IT.

View Details

STEERING

9/12/2017 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
I AM SOLE OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE SINCE BOUGHT IT NEW AND WELL MAINTAIN IT. DASHBOARD AND STEERING WHEEL ARE PEELING AND GOOEY. TOYOTA SERVICE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME NOTHING THEY CAN DO ABOUT IT AND ASKED ME TO CALL TOYOTA. I CALLED AND FILED A COMPLAINT NO. 1709121290 WITH TOYOTA. THEY TOLD ME THEY HAD RECALLS ON OTHER MODELS BUT NOT THIS ONE SO IT SEEMS THIS IS NOT A NEW ISSUE FOR THEM. THEY DON'T WANT TO FIX IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/19/2017 - REDMOND, OR
ON 11/17/2015 I HIT A PARKING ISLAND IN AN UNLIT PARKING LOT. WHEN I TRIED TO STOP, MY BRAKES FAILED. THIS CAUSED ME TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND IT HIT 2 PARKED CARS AND A TREE. I HAVE LOST WAGES AND LIVE IN PAIN EVERY DAY DUE TO INJURIES FROM THIS ACCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/19/2017 - REDMOND, OR
ON 11/17/2015 I HIT A PARKING ISLAND IN AN UNLIT PARKING LOT. WHEN I TRIED TO STOP, MY BRAKES FAILED. THIS CAUSED ME TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND IT HIT 2 PARKED CARS AND A TREE. I HAVE LOST WAGES AND LIVE IN PAIN EVERY DAY DUE TO INJURIES FROM THIS ACCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/19/2017 - REDMOND, OR
ON 11/17/2015 I HIT A PARKING ISLAND IN AN UNLIT PARKING LOT. WHEN I TRIED TO STOP, MY BRAKES FAILED. THIS CAUSED ME TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND IT HIT 2 PARKED CARS AND A TREE. I HAVE LOST WAGES AND LIVE IN PAIN EVERY DAY DUE TO INJURIES FROM THIS ACCIDENT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/27/2016 - NORCO, CA
DRIVER SIDE VISOR WILL NOT STAY UP. IT DROOPS APPROXIMATELY 60 DEGREES WHEN LOWER TO BLOCK SUN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/4/2015 - EL SOBRANTE , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND CRASHED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SHIFTED THE VEHICLE INTO REVERSE AND CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF A SECOND VEHICLE. THE POLICE WAS CONTACTED, BUT A REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED WHIPLASH AND NECK PAINS THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 141,980. MA 10/15/2015

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/8/2015 - SAN JUAN, PR
FAULTY STOP LIGHTS, AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO REPAIR THE STOP LIGHTS. THE PROBLEM REMAINS UNSOLVED AND KEEPS COMING BACK ON BOTH TAIL LIGHTS. WHAT'S WRONG TOYOTA?

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/27/2015 - HAMILTON , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPIRAL CABLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds