Auto Recalls for Consumers

ACURA RSX - 2002 ACURA RSX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 71 complaints filed for the 2002 ACURA RSX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 ACURA RSX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 ACURA RSX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/13/2019 - EL CAJON, CA
MY CAR HAD A STRONG GAS SMELL INSIDE AND OUTSIDE VEHICLE WHENEVER I DROVE IT. I LOOKED AND FOUND THAT THE GAS PUMP PLASTIC HOUSING WAS CRACKED IN MULTIPLE PLACES AND A LARGE AMOUNT OF GAS HAD LEAKED INTO THE COMPARTMENT UNDER THE SEAT AND DOWN BELOW MY VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/8/2019 - MANTUA, NJ
WHILE DRIVING I STARTED TO SMELL FUEL IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. UPON INSPECTION OF THE FUEL PUMP, I DISCOVERED THAT THE PLASTIC ON TOP OF THE FUEL PUMP HAD CRACKED FILLING UP THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK COVER WITH RAW FUEL. SOME OF THE FUEL HAD MADE ITS WAY INTO THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT WHILE THE REST LEAKED UNDER THE CAR ON TO THE GROUND. MY FEAR IS IF THIS GOES UNDETECTED, THE LEAKING FUEL COULD MAKE CONTACT WITH EXHAUST COMPONENTS AND CAUSE A FIRE. WHILE THE FUEL WAS LEAKING, THERE WERE NO DRIVABILITY ISSUES OTHER THAN THE SMELL OF FUEL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/19/2016 - HIALEAH, FL
EVER SINCE I PURCHASED THE CAR IT HAS HAD A SMELL OF GAS. I THOUGHT IT WOULD GO AWAY AFTER A CERTAIN TIME BUT IT DIDN'T SO I GOT THE CAR CHECKED OUT. I COME TO FIND OUT IT HAS A GAS LEAK. THIS IS SOMETHING VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE IT PUTS MY LIFE AT RISK AND IF ANYTHING HAPPENS THE CAR COULD BLOW UP. I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN JUNE 2016 AND IM JUST A YOUNG 20 YEAR MAN THAT IS TRYING TO MAKE IT THROUGH COLLEGE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/5/2016 - VERO BEACH, FL
HEADLAMPS ARE VERY DULL MAKING VISIBILITY AT NIGHT VERY DIFFICULT. THERE IS CURRENTLY AN AFTERMARKET RECALL FOR EXTERIOR LIGHTING FROM (4) MFG'S. I BELIEVE I HAVE ORIGINALS FROM THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

STEERING

6/23/2015 - SACREMENTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 ACURA RSX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN. AFTER TURNING THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, IT RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 141,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/21/2013 - LYNNWOOD, WA
WHILE DRIVING APPROX 60 MPH FREEWAY, MY CAR SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING STARTED RUNNING VERY ROUGH AND NOISILY AND SHUDDERED, A VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE. MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN PERFECTLY MAINTAINED SINCE PURCHASE AND HAD ONLY A FEW WEEKS EARLIER UNDERGONE A 75,000 MILE TUNE-UP. MY MECHANIC DIAGNOSED AND CONFIRMED THE PROBLEM IS A DAMAGED/LOOSENED TIMING CHAIN DUE TO A DEFECTIVE AUTO TENSIONER. THIS IS MY ONLY MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION. NHTSA RECORDS DISCLOSES SERVICE BULLETIN #090105 CLEARLY IDENTIFYING A "DEFECTIVE AUTO TENSIONER". THESE REPAIRS WILL COST NEARLY $2,000! WHY IS THIS NOT A RECALL INSTEAD OF A SIMPLE SERVICE BULLETIN WHEN YOUR RECORDS INDICATE NUMEROUS CARS ARE AFFECTED? THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE IN ADDITION TO BEING A FACTORY DEFECT AS THE TENSIONER CAN SEIZE THE ENGINE UPON FAILURE AND CAUSE THE CAR TO LOSE CONTROL, ENDANGERING NOT ONLY MYSELF AND MY PASSENGERS BUT OTHER DRIVERS WHO MAY BE AROUND ME. ACURA OF LYNNWOOD SERVICE MANAGER [XXX] HAS BEEN HOSTILE AND UNCOOPERATIVE AND REFUSED TO MEET WITH ME AFTER I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH HIM, AND WILL NOT AUTHORIZE THE REPAIRS AND THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT AUTHORIZED REPAIRS. I WAS VICTIMIZED ONCE BEFORE BY LYNNWOOD ACURA WHEN THE CAR ENGINE ON MY FIRST RSX BLEW UP (AT 5000 MILES!) DUE TO ERROR OF MECHANICS (DOUBLE-GASKETED OIL FILTER) AND NOW THE REPLACEMENT VEHICLE IS DEFECTIVE. I'VE BEEN TRYING TO GET THIS RESOLVED SINCE SEPTEMBER 2013. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/12/2012 - WASHINGTON, DC
2002 ACURA RSX. CONSUMER STATES PROBLEM WITH VALVE ASSEMBLY THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A DRC CODE OF 91077. THE DEALER FOLLOWED THE REPAIR STEP IN ORDER TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THEY INSTALLED 17120-PPA-A01 VALVE ASSEMBLY. HOWEVER, WHEN SHE WENT TO PICK THE VEHICLE UP, THE LIGHT CAME BACK ON AND THE DEALER ORDERED ANOTHER VALVE ASSEMBLY. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THAT THE LIGHT MAY STILL COME ON AND THEY WOULD HAVE TO FOLLOW CERTAIN DIAGNOSTIC STEPS IN ORDER TO GET THE ENGINE LIGHT TO GO OUT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/9/2012 - ROCKFORD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 ACURA RSX TYPE S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10-60 MPH, THE THIRD GEAR SHIFTED OUT OF GEAR. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS A VERY LOUD GRINDING NOISE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED BY A DEALER NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 119,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/20/2011 - GOWEN, MI
2002 FORD EXPLORER XLT 4.0 LITER JERKS WHEN ENGAGING INTO REVERSE. VEHICLE JERKS HARD ENOUGH THAT THE BRAKES ARE NOT ENOUGH TO STOP IT FROM MOVING. NO OTHER GEAR IS LIKE THIS. UPON FURTHER STUDY FROM ONLINE JOURNALS AND DISCUSSIONS PAGES AS WELL AS SPEAKING WITH TRANSMISSION TECHNICIAN, THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM IN THESE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/24/2010 - BALLSTON SPA, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 ACURA RSX. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE SRS SERVICE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT WOULD NOT LATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE SEAT BELT WAS REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO ANOTHER INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THE SEAT BELT WOULD NOT FUNCTION IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED FOR THE SRS SERVICE LIGHT FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,136 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 92,862.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds