Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 2002 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 83 complaints filed for the 2002 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (2)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (10) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (4) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (4)
Engine (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2018 - EVERETT, WA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2002 AUDI A6. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THERE WAS AN ODOR OF SMOKE. THE CONTACT OBSERVED SMOKE COMING THROUGH THE VENTS ON THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE UNDER THE HOOD. THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOWING FACILITY. A DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/24/2013 - MISSOULA, MT
I WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT 65 MPH. I WENT TO PASS ANOTHER CAR IN A PASSING ZONE SO I ACCELERATED FULL THROTTLE. THE GAS PEDAL STUCK AND THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I BRAKED AND MANEUVERED THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED IT OFF. AFTER A WHILE IT RELEASED. I STARTED THE CAR AGAIN AND CONTINUED HOME, NOT PUSHING THE PEDAL DOWN ANY FARTHER THAN NECESSARY. I WILL TAKE IT IN TO BE FIXED. THERE WAS NOTHING OBSCURING THE PEDAL AND THE FLOOR MAT WAS CLICKED INTO PLACE. I FOUND NO EVIDENCE OF A RECALL, BUT MANY AUDI OWNERS HAVE REPORTED SIMILAR EXPERIENCES, SO I AM NOT SURE WHY THIS ISN'T A RECALL ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/25/2013 - AMERICAN FORK, UT
FUEL VAPORS AND LEAKING FUEL APPEARS WHEN THE FUEL TANK IS FILLED BEYOND 3/4 TANK. THIS IS UNSAFE FOR THE CAR TO BE PARKED INSIDE OF THE GARAGE. THE FUMES MAKE PASSENGERS FEEL ILL. AUDI SERVICE DEPARTMENTS WANT TO CHARGE OVER $2500 TO REPAIR. A RECALL FOR THE ROLLOVER VALVE HAS BEEN PERFORMED; HOWEVER THE AUDI SERVICE TECHS SAY THE LEAKAGE IS COMING FROM SMALL CRACKS IN THE DEFECTIVE TANK. UNABLE TO HAVE THE REPAIR DONE BECAUSE OF COSTS I HAVE DRIVEN THE CAR WITH LESS THAN1/2 TANK OF FUEL FOR SEVERAL YEARS . THE STATE OF UTAH WILL NO LONGER PASS MY VEHICLE INSPECTION DUE TO THE EMISSIONS ISSUE. MY FEAR IS THE LEAKING FUEL COULD BE IGNITED BY ANY NUMBER OF SOURCES INCLUDING EXHAUST/HEAT FROM THE VEHICLE. PASSENGERS SHOULD NEVER HAVE TO BE SUBJECT TO VAPORS INSIDE OF A VEHICLE. I HAVE BEEN TO 3 DIFFERENT UTAH AUDI DEALERSHIPS AND 1 INDEPENDENT AUDI REPAIR GARAGE. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED AUDI CUSTOMER RELATIONS @ 1-800-253-2834. ALL OF THE AUDI REPRESENTATIVES AND TECHNICIANS HAVE PLAYED DUMB REGARDING THIS ISSUE; YET THE ISSUE CAN BE FOUND IN A NUMBER OF FORUMS WHERE OTHERS HAVE DEALT WITH THE SAME ISSUE. AUDI REFUSES TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY OR EVEN SHOW REAL CONCERN FOR THIS SAFETY AND ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2013 - LAKE FOREST, CA
TRANSMISSION FAILURE WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAY. FOURTH TIME IN 3 YEARS. EACH TIME THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED. AUDI REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE FAILURE OF THE CVT TRANSMISSION ON THAT MODEL. IT IS A DANGER TO PUBLIC SAFETY.

View Details

ENGINE

2/20/2013 - SPARTA, WI
I RECENTLY BOUGHT MY AUDI AND THROUGHOUT THE SUMMER IT DROVE JUST FINE, BUT ONCE WINTER CAME AROUND AND THE TEMPERATURES DROPPED, I NOTICED THE SMELL OF GAS IN MY CAR AS SOON AS IT WAS STARTED. I OPENED THE HOOD AND THERE WAS GAS SPRAYING FROM WHAT LOOKED LIKE ALL SIX FUEL INJECTORS. SO I TOOK THE CAR TO A MECHANIC, WHERE THEY REPLACED NUMEROUS THINGS (FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR, O RINGS, VALVE SYSTEM, AND ALL 6 FUEL INJECTORS) ALL TO NO AVAIL. NOBODY CAN TELL ME WHAT IS WRONG, NOBODY KNOWS. I CALLED AUDI AND THEY TOLD ME I COULD TAKE IT TO A DEALERSHIP BUT THAT THEY COULDN'T PROMISE THEY CAN FIX THE CAR. I CAN'T DRIVE THE CAR, IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE LOOKED ON MANY FORUMS AND THERE HAVE BEEN A FEW OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM BUT NOBODY CAN FIGURE OUT WHAT IS WRONG. IS THERE A RECALL, OR ANY INFORMATION YOU CAN GIVE AS TO HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM??

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/20/2013 - SPARTA, WI
I RECENTLY BOUGHT MY AUDI AND THROUGHOUT THE SUMMER IT DROVE JUST FINE, BUT ONCE WINTER CAME AROUND AND THE TEMPERATURES DROPPED, I NOTICED THE SMELL OF GAS IN MY CAR AS SOON AS IT WAS STARTED. I OPENED THE HOOD AND THERE WAS GAS SPRAYING FROM WHAT LOOKED LIKE ALL SIX FUEL INJECTORS. SO I TOOK THE CAR TO A MECHANIC, WHERE THEY REPLACED NUMEROUS THINGS (FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR, O RINGS, VALVE SYSTEM, AND ALL 6 FUEL INJECTORS) ALL TO NO AVAIL. NOBODY CAN TELL ME WHAT IS WRONG, NOBODY KNOWS. I CALLED AUDI AND THEY TOLD ME I COULD TAKE IT TO A DEALERSHIP BUT THAT THEY COULDN'T PROMISE THEY CAN FIX THE CAR. I CAN'T DRIVE THE CAR, IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE LOOKED ON MANY FORUMS AND THERE HAVE BEEN A FEW OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM BUT NOBODY CAN FIGURE OUT WHAT IS WRONG. IS THERE A RECALL, OR ANY INFORMATION YOU CAN GIVE AS TO HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM??

View Details

ENGINE

10/10/2012 - KINNELON, NJ
THE AUDI WAS STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN THE RPM METER STARTED TO DROP REVS SUDDENLY. ONCE THE CAR WAS IN MOTION THE ENGINE FELT ROUGH. THE CAR WAS DRIVEN 3 MILES WITH NO FURTHER INCIDENCE AND WAS PARKED FOR THE NIGHT. THE NEXT DAY WHEN THE CAR WAS STARTED IN THE MORNING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE ENGINE STARTED TO GET VERY SLUGGISH AND SHUDDERING. THE CAR WAS IMMEDIATELY STOPPED AND THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES WERE PULLED. THE CODES SHOWED MULTIPLE CYLINDER MISFIRES WITH SPECIFIC MISFIRES IN CYLINDER 2 AND THREE. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO AN AUDI DEALER WHERE THIS WAS CONFIRMED. THE DEALERSHIP MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS A VOLUNTARY RECALL FOR EXACTLY THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2012 - KINNELON, NJ
THE AUDI WAS STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN THE RPM METER STARTED TO DROP REVS SUDDENLY. ONCE THE CAR WAS IN MOTION THE ENGINE FELT ROUGH. THE CAR WAS DRIVEN 3 MILES WITH NO FURTHER INCIDENCE AND WAS PARKED FOR THE NIGHT. THE NEXT DAY WHEN THE CAR WAS STARTED IN THE MORNING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE ENGINE STARTED TO GET VERY SLUGGISH AND SHUDDERING. THE CAR WAS IMMEDIATELY STOPPED AND THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES WERE PULLED. THE CODES SHOWED MULTIPLE CYLINDER MISFIRES WITH SPECIFIC MISFIRES IN CYLINDER 2 AND THREE. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO AN AUDI DEALER WHERE THIS WAS CONFIRMED. THE DEALERSHIP MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS A VOLUNTARY RECALL FOR EXACTLY THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/3/2012 - LOVELAND, OH
TYPICAL AUDI FUEL LEAK PROBLEM. THEY SAY IT IS A ROLL OVER VALVE. THEY FIXED IT. IT STILL LEAKS AND NOW IT IS MY PROBLEM AT $2800.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/10/2012 - LOS ANGELES, CA
AFTER PARKING THE CAR IT CAUGHT ON FIRE FROM THE DASHBOARD THE FIREMEN CAME AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE AND SAID IT WAS FROM THE ELECTRICAL FIRE FROM THE DASHBOARD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds