Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2002 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 563 complaints filed for the 2002 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (67) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (17)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (11) Other (2) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (164) Power Train (5) Structure (12) Visibility (13)
Electrical System (265) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (9) Suspension (15) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (22) Service Brakes (10) Tires (10) Wheels (1)
Engine (21) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Air (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

6/19/2019 - DAYTONA BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE HESITATED WHEN STARTED. ALSO, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTING BECAME VERY DIM AND THE DATA ON THE SCREEN WAS NOT VISIBLE. ALSO, THE PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT LOCK AND THE WINDOWS FAILED TO ROLL DOWN. ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT JUMPED THE BATTERY AND THE ENGINE RESTARTED. LATER, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED WHILE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM FAILED. THE MECHANIC WAS CURRENTLY PERFORMING A SECOND DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,786.

View Details

ENGINE

6/19/2019 - DAYTONA BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE HESITATED WHEN STARTED. ALSO, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTING BECAME VERY DIM AND THE DATA ON THE SCREEN WAS NOT VISIBLE. ALSO, THE PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT LOCK AND THE WINDOWS FAILED TO ROLL DOWN. ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT JUMPED THE BATTERY AND THE ENGINE RESTARTED. LATER, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED WHILE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM FAILED. THE MECHANIC WAS CURRENTLY PERFORMING A SECOND DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,786.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/18/2019 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
PASSLOCK CENSOR IN THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER FAILING. SECURITY RELEARN NEEDED. VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/15/2018 - AKRON, OH
CAR WOULD NOT START, HAD TO REPLACE ALTERNATOR. ONE WEEK LATER SAME PROBLEM, HAD A MECHANIC CHECK IT NOW SAYING ITS THE BATTERY SO REPLACED THAT. WAS STARTING OK THEN IT WOULDN'T START SO WE WIGGLED KEY AROUND AND IT STARTED. WAS ABLE TO DRIVE SEVERAL DAYS DOING THIS BUT THEN IT WOULD NOT START AT ALL. THE MECHANIC SAYS IT IS THE IGNITION SWITCH. WHEN I LOOKED THIS UP I SEE THAT LOTS OF PEOPLE HAVING PROBLEM WITH IGNITION SWITCH. GM CARS ARE CRAP!!! I CANT AFFORD TO FIX THIS I AM ON VERY LIMITED BUDGET SO MY CAR BEEN SITING FOR OVER MONTH NOW. GM NEEDS TO FIX FOR FREE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

7/30/2018 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE KEY FELT HOT WHILE IN THE IGNITION. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/15/2018 - FRESNO, CA
MY VEHICLE IS MESSING UP ON ME AND IT WAS SHUT OFF MY VEHICLE IS MESSING UP ON ME IT WILL SHUT OFF WELL DRIVING ILL PULL OVER AND WAIT A COUPLE MINS AND I WILL PULL OUT THE FUEL FUSE AND WAIT A COUPLE MINS AND WILL PUT IT BACK AND IT WILL START AGAIN AFTER A WEEK IT SHUT OFF ON ME AND WOULD NOT START HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC HE CHANGED THE FUEL PUMP AND MARJORAM WORKED FOR 5DAYS THEN THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN CHANGED THE SENSORS WORKED OK FOR 2DAYS AND THE PROBLEM CAME BACK AGAIN SO I CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS FUEL FILTER ALL FUSES STILL NOTHING ITS BEEN SITTING FOR 3 TO 4 MONTHS NOW I CAN'T SEEM TO FIND THE PROBLEM I CHANGED EVERYTHING U CAN THING OF NOW THE CHECK ENGINE AND TEST SYSTEM LIGHT IS ON

View Details

ENGINE

7/15/2018 - FRESNO, CA
MY VEHICLE IS MESSING UP ON ME AND IT WAS SHUT OFF MY VEHICLE IS MESSING UP ON ME IT WILL SHUT OFF WELL DRIVING ILL PULL OVER AND WAIT A COUPLE MINS AND I WILL PULL OUT THE FUEL FUSE AND WAIT A COUPLE MINS AND WILL PUT IT BACK AND IT WILL START AGAIN AFTER A WEEK IT SHUT OFF ON ME AND WOULD NOT START HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC HE CHANGED THE FUEL PUMP AND MARJORAM WORKED FOR 5DAYS THEN THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN CHANGED THE SENSORS WORKED OK FOR 2DAYS AND THE PROBLEM CAME BACK AGAIN SO I CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS FUEL FILTER ALL FUSES STILL NOTHING ITS BEEN SITTING FOR 3 TO 4 MONTHS NOW I CAN'T SEEM TO FIND THE PROBLEM I CHANGED EVERYTHING U CAN THING OF NOW THE CHECK ENGINE AND TEST SYSTEM LIGHT IS ON

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2018 - FRESNO, CA
MY VEHICLE IS MESSING UP ON ME AND IT WAS SHUT OFF MY VEHICLE IS MESSING UP ON ME IT WILL SHUT OFF WELL DRIVING ILL PULL OVER AND WAIT A COUPLE MINS AND I WILL PULL OUT THE FUEL FUSE AND WAIT A COUPLE MINS AND WILL PUT IT BACK AND IT WILL START AGAIN AFTER A WEEK IT SHUT OFF ON ME AND WOULD NOT START HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC HE CHANGED THE FUEL PUMP AND MARJORAM WORKED FOR 5DAYS THEN THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN CHANGED THE SENSORS WORKED OK FOR 2DAYS AND THE PROBLEM CAME BACK AGAIN SO I CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS FUEL FILTER ALL FUSES STILL NOTHING ITS BEEN SITTING FOR 3 TO 4 MONTHS NOW I CAN'T SEEM TO FIND THE PROBLEM I CHANGED EVERYTHING U CAN THING OF NOW THE CHECK ENGINE AND TEST SYSTEM LIGHT IS ON

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2018 - DANVILLE, KY
MY CAR CUTS OFF AND GOES INTO THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM WHILE I'M GOING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN THIS HAPPENS MY CAR HAS TO BE PUSHED OFF THE ROADWAY AND THEN I HAVE TO SIT WITH MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR OPEN AND MY KEY TURNED ON FOR 10 MINUTES UNTIL IT RESETS ITSELF THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND IT SCARED ME BECAUSE I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF HIGHWAY 150 IN DANVILLE KENTUCKY. PLUSMY HEATING SYSTEM IS MESSED UP I CAN'T GET IT TO BLEED OUT THE AIR IN THE SYSTEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/25/2018 - DANVILLE, KY
MY CAR CUTS OFF AND GOES INTO THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM WHILE I'M GOING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN THIS HAPPENS MY CAR HAS TO BE PUSHED OFF THE ROADWAY AND THEN I HAVE TO SIT WITH MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR OPEN AND MY KEY TURNED ON FOR 10 MINUTES UNTIL IT RESETS ITSELF THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND IT SCARED ME BECAUSE I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF HIGHWAY 150 IN DANVILLE KENTUCKY. PLUSMY HEATING SYSTEM IS MESSED UP I CAN'T GET IT TO BLEED OUT THE AIR IN THE SYSTEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds