Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO - 2002 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 221 complaints filed for the 2002 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Exterior Lighting (35) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Traction Control System (3)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (36) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (3) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (33) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/19/2017 - LA PORTE, IN
ABOUT OCTOBER 10TH, 2017 I WAS COMING UP ON A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES, THE PEDAL WOULD NOT GO DOWN. I WAS GOING ABOUT 45 MPH BY THE GRACE OF GOD I WAS ABLE TO BLAST THROUGH AN INTERSECTION AND MISS EVERYONE, EVERYTHING!. RATTLED I GUESS I SHUT THE CAR OFF WHEN I REGAINED MY COMPOSER I STARTED THE CAR AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. I DID NOT WANT TO BELIEVE THIS HAPPENED! I THOUGHT I DID SOMETHING WRONG MAYBE HAD MY FOOT UNDER THE BRAKE PEDAL OR SOMETHING. HAVE BEEN DRIVING THE CAR SINCE 2 WEEKS AGO WAS STRANDED IN A PARKING LOT, WOULD NOT START. HAD THE CAR TOWED HOME, TRIED TO START IT AND STARTED RIGHT UP. NOW SERVICE TRACK LIGHT IS ON AND ANTI LOCK BRAKES IS ON AND SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT IS ON SOMETIME AND THE CRUISE LIGHT IS ON. YESTERDAY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND SAME THING NO BRAKES, YOU COULD NOT PUSH THE PEDAL DOWN IT IS AS IF THERE IS SOMETHING UNDER THE PEDAL IT'S THAT SOLID. MY CONCERN FOR MY OWN SAFETY AS WELL AS OTHER MONTE CARLO OWNERS IS MOST IMPORTANT. IF EITHER TIME WE WOULD HAVE BEEN ON A EXPRESSWAY WHERE WE COULD NOT TURN TO A SHOULDER THIS WOULD BE CATASTROPHIC . CALLED THE SERVICE MANAGER WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED, ALSO HARBOR CHEVY IN MICHIGAN CITY, IN AND GATES CHEVY IN SOUTH BEND, INDIANA, ALL SAID THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS BEFORE. GOT ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND SIMILAR POSTS IN CAR COMPLAINTS WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM, SEEMS ODD GM DOES NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THIS. FOR EVERY ONES OWN SAFETY THIS SHOULD BE A REDUNDANT SYSTEM IN OLDER CARS YOU WOULD NOT LOSE ALL BRAKES. COULD UNDERSTAND IF YOU LOST ANTI LOCK PART BUT STILL COULD STOP. THIS HAS TO BE A OVERLOOKED FLAW IN DESIGN AND GM SHOULD BE MADE TO CORRECT THIS BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. IF SOMEONES BEEN KILLED BY THIS HOW COULD THEY TELL YOU THAT HE LOST HIS BRAKES? THANK YOU MIKE

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/19/2017 - LA PORTE, IN
ABOUT OCTOBER 10TH, 2017 I WAS COMING UP ON A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES, THE PEDAL WOULD NOT GO DOWN. I WAS GOING ABOUT 45 MPH BY THE GRACE OF GOD I WAS ABLE TO BLAST THROUGH AN INTERSECTION AND MISS EVERYONE, EVERYTHING!. RATTLED I GUESS I SHUT THE CAR OFF WHEN I REGAINED MY COMPOSER I STARTED THE CAR AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. I DID NOT WANT TO BELIEVE THIS HAPPENED! I THOUGHT I DID SOMETHING WRONG MAYBE HAD MY FOOT UNDER THE BRAKE PEDAL OR SOMETHING. HAVE BEEN DRIVING THE CAR SINCE 2 WEEKS AGO WAS STRANDED IN A PARKING LOT, WOULD NOT START. HAD THE CAR TOWED HOME, TRIED TO START IT AND STARTED RIGHT UP. NOW SERVICE TRACK LIGHT IS ON AND ANTI LOCK BRAKES IS ON AND SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT IS ON SOMETIME AND THE CRUISE LIGHT IS ON. YESTERDAY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND SAME THING NO BRAKES, YOU COULD NOT PUSH THE PEDAL DOWN IT IS AS IF THERE IS SOMETHING UNDER THE PEDAL IT'S THAT SOLID. MY CONCERN FOR MY OWN SAFETY AS WELL AS OTHER MONTE CARLO OWNERS IS MOST IMPORTANT. IF EITHER TIME WE WOULD HAVE BEEN ON A EXPRESSWAY WHERE WE COULD NOT TURN TO A SHOULDER THIS WOULD BE CATASTROPHIC . CALLED THE SERVICE MANAGER WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED, ALSO HARBOR CHEVY IN MICHIGAN CITY, IN AND GATES CHEVY IN SOUTH BEND, INDIANA, ALL SAID THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS BEFORE. GOT ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND SIMILAR POSTS IN CAR COMPLAINTS WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM, SEEMS ODD GM DOES NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THIS. FOR EVERY ONES OWN SAFETY THIS SHOULD BE A REDUNDANT SYSTEM IN OLDER CARS YOU WOULD NOT LOSE ALL BRAKES. COULD UNDERSTAND IF YOU LOST ANTI LOCK PART BUT STILL COULD STOP. THIS HAS TO BE A OVERLOOKED FLAW IN DESIGN AND GM SHOULD BE MADE TO CORRECT THIS BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. IF SOMEONES BEEN KILLED BY THIS HOW COULD THEY TELL YOU THAT HE LOST HIS BRAKES? THANK YOU MIKE

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/19/2017 - LA PORTE, IN
ABOUT OCTOBER 10TH, 2017 I WAS COMING UP ON A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES, THE PEDAL WOULD NOT GO DOWN. I WAS GOING ABOUT 45 MPH BY THE GRACE OF GOD I WAS ABLE TO BLAST THROUGH AN INTERSECTION AND MISS EVERYONE, EVERYTHING!. RATTLED I GUESS I SHUT THE CAR OFF WHEN I REGAINED MY COMPOSER I STARTED THE CAR AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. I DID NOT WANT TO BELIEVE THIS HAPPENED! I THOUGHT I DID SOMETHING WRONG MAYBE HAD MY FOOT UNDER THE BRAKE PEDAL OR SOMETHING. HAVE BEEN DRIVING THE CAR SINCE 2 WEEKS AGO WAS STRANDED IN A PARKING LOT, WOULD NOT START. HAD THE CAR TOWED HOME, TRIED TO START IT AND STARTED RIGHT UP. NOW SERVICE TRACK LIGHT IS ON AND ANTI LOCK BRAKES IS ON AND SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT IS ON SOMETIME AND THE CRUISE LIGHT IS ON. YESTERDAY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND SAME THING NO BRAKES, YOU COULD NOT PUSH THE PEDAL DOWN IT IS AS IF THERE IS SOMETHING UNDER THE PEDAL IT'S THAT SOLID. MY CONCERN FOR MY OWN SAFETY AS WELL AS OTHER MONTE CARLO OWNERS IS MOST IMPORTANT. IF EITHER TIME WE WOULD HAVE BEEN ON A EXPRESSWAY WHERE WE COULD NOT TURN TO A SHOULDER THIS WOULD BE CATASTROPHIC . CALLED THE SERVICE MANAGER WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED, ALSO HARBOR CHEVY IN MICHIGAN CITY, IN AND GATES CHEVY IN SOUTH BEND, INDIANA, ALL SAID THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS BEFORE. GOT ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND SIMILAR POSTS IN CAR COMPLAINTS WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM, SEEMS ODD GM DOES NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THIS. FOR EVERY ONES OWN SAFETY THIS SHOULD BE A REDUNDANT SYSTEM IN OLDER CARS YOU WOULD NOT LOSE ALL BRAKES. COULD UNDERSTAND IF YOU LOST ANTI LOCK PART BUT STILL COULD STOP. THIS HAS TO BE A OVERLOOKED FLAW IN DESIGN AND GM SHOULD BE MADE TO CORRECT THIS BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. IF SOMEONES BEEN KILLED BY THIS HOW COULD THEY TELL YOU THAT HE LOST HIS BRAKES? THANK YOU MIKE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/5/2017 - COLUMBUS, MS
RECALL NO.14V400

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/27/2017 - OLATHE, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. WHILE DRIVING 2 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT OBSERVED FLAMES UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THE FIRE OCCURRED DUE TO A FUEL LEAK. PRIOR TO THE FIRE, THERE WERE NO LEAKS PRESENT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FIRE OCCURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS FUELED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT A CASE MANAGER WOULD BE ASSIGNED TO THE CASE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 32,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/25/2017 - JACKSON, MI
PASSLOCK SYSTEM; CAR WILL RANDOMLY (TEMPERATURE BASED?) REFUSE TO START DUE TO POORLY CONSTRUCTED PASSLOCK SENSOR. I KEEP MY DASH APART SO I CAN POKE AT THE CONTACTS (CORRODED? CHEAP TIN PLATING) TO HOTWIRE MY CAR WHEN IT LOCKS OUT. TOOK 20 MINUTES TO GO SEE IF MY WIFE WAS OK AT THE ER, THANKS CHEVY!

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2017 - PORT ORANGE, FL
2002 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ENGINE FAILURE AND REQUESTS REIMBURSEMENT FOR ENGINE REPAIRS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE ENGINE FAILED WHEN OIL GOT ONTO THE ENGINE AND CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONSUMER HAD NOT RECEIVED A RECALL UNTIL AFTER THE FAILURE. THE CONSUMER HAD THE ENGINE REPLACED. THE CONSUMER WOULD LIKE TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THE COST OF THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/22/2017 - LONG BEACH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD POPPING SOUND. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOTIFIED AND WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A FIRE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V701000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/16/2017 - JONESBORO, GA
I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO HAVE SERVICE DONE ON A RECALL INVOLVING POTENTIAL UNDER HOOD FIRE TO REPLACE VALVE COVERS. THE OIL WAS/IS LEAKING ONTO THE MANIFOLD AND CAUSING THE CAR TO SMOKE. I BARELY DRIVE THIS CAR AND IT IS STILL LEAKING OIL ONTO THE MANIFOLD AND SMOKING. NOW THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT FIX WHAT THEY SUPPOSEDLY FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2017 - NORFOLK, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE VARIOUS ELECTRICAL SHORTS IN THE VEHICLE, WHICH PREVENTED THE WINDOWS FROM GOING UP AND DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND SEVERAL INDEPENDENT MECHANICS FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER PROVIDED NO SOLUTION AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds