Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2002 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 278 complaints filed for the 2002 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (5) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (17)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (74) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Power Train (24) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (13) Structure (3) Visibility (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Interior Lighting (4) Seats (5) Suspension (7) Wheels (3)
Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/3/2018 - PORT JERVIS, NY
CHRYSLER CANNOT FIND THE FUEL RAIL IN US OR CANADA. I CANT WALK AND HAD I NOT GOTTEN DISABLEDá AND HAD TO GO TO CANADA, AT FAMILIES DUE TO CHILD AND I BEING ASSAULTED AND INJURED.á HAVE GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS SHOWING WE ENTERED COUNTRY DUE TO STATEMENT ABOVE.á CAR NOT USED, GARAGED FOR SEVERAL YEARS BUT TURNED ON PERIODICALLY SO CAR WOULD NOT DIE AND FLUIDS CHANGED. WOULD HAVE FILED THE LEMON LAW BACK THEN! I AM LOOKING INTO ARBITRATION ,FTCá OR MEDIA. I HAVE CONTACTED MECHANICS FOR RECEIPTS AND TESTIMONY. DUE TO ENGINE LIGHT NEVER GOING OFFá , AIR BAG LIGHT,AND GEARS WOULD SWITCH THEMSELVES AND ALL DIALS WOULD GO CRAZY ALL THIS WORK HAS BEEN DONE: NEW COMPUTER STARTER CATALYTIC CONVERTER EVAP LEAKS, CHANGED PARTS NO BREAKS WHILE DRIVING, BREAKLINE BROKE GAS CAP, SENSORS MUFFLER TIRES 4 NEW BATTERY PLUS, PLUS, PLUS NOW NO PART, FUEL RAIL DISCONTINUED. CAR CAN GO ON FIRE IF DRIVEN. CAR ONLY HAS 65,000 ORIGINAL MILED CHRYSLER CUST. SVC, TOLD ME TO SELL IT TO SOMEONE ELSE. FUEL RAIL DISCONTINUED , SO THEY WILL GO ON FIRE?? OR SELL FOR SCRAP? CARS ARE SUPPOSED TO LAST MORE THAN 65,000.THIS IS NEGLIGENCE AND U HAVE ENDANGERED MY FAMILY MORE THAN ONCE. MECHANIC SAID LUCKY , CANT DRIVE AT ALL. IN PKG LOT. CANT WALK, NEED CAR. TRADE IT FOR ONE OF SIMILAR VALUE AND MILEAGE. SPENT NEARLY 7,000. FIXING. NOW DISABLED AND DONT HAVE MONEY. ALSO EXPECT REFUND FOR RADIO RECALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/3/2018 - PORT JERVIS, NY
CHRYSLER CANNOT FIND THE FUEL RAIL IN US OR CANADA. I CANT WALK AND HAD I NOT GOTTEN DISABLEDá AND HAD TO GO TO CANADA, AT FAMILIES DUE TO CHILD AND I BEING ASSAULTED AND INJURED.á HAVE GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS SHOWING WE ENTERED COUNTRY DUE TO STATEMENT ABOVE.á CAR NOT USED, GARAGED FOR SEVERAL YEARS BUT TURNED ON PERIODICALLY SO CAR WOULD NOT DIE AND FLUIDS CHANGED. WOULD HAVE FILED THE LEMON LAW BACK THEN! I AM LOOKING INTO ARBITRATION ,FTCá OR MEDIA. I HAVE CONTACTED MECHANICS FOR RECEIPTS AND TESTIMONY. DUE TO ENGINE LIGHT NEVER GOING OFFá , AIR BAG LIGHT,AND GEARS WOULD SWITCH THEMSELVES AND ALL DIALS WOULD GO CRAZY ALL THIS WORK HAS BEEN DONE: NEW COMPUTER STARTER CATALYTIC CONVERTER EVAP LEAKS, CHANGED PARTS NO BREAKS WHILE DRIVING, BREAKLINE BROKE GAS CAP, SENSORS MUFFLER TIRES 4 NEW BATTERY PLUS, PLUS, PLUS NOW NO PART, FUEL RAIL DISCONTINUED. CAR CAN GO ON FIRE IF DRIVEN. CAR ONLY HAS 65,000 ORIGINAL MILED CHRYSLER CUST. SVC, TOLD ME TO SELL IT TO SOMEONE ELSE. FUEL RAIL DISCONTINUED , SO THEY WILL GO ON FIRE?? OR SELL FOR SCRAP? CARS ARE SUPPOSED TO LAST MORE THAN 65,000.THIS IS NEGLIGENCE AND U HAVE ENDANGERED MY FAMILY MORE THAN ONCE. MECHANIC SAID LUCKY , CANT DRIVE AT ALL. IN PKG LOT. CANT WALK, NEED CAR. TRADE IT FOR ONE OF SIMILAR VALUE AND MILEAGE. SPENT NEARLY 7,000. FIXING. NOW DISABLED AND DONT HAVE MONEY. ALSO EXPECT REFUND FOR RADIO RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/3/2018 - PORT JERVIS, NY
CHRYSLER CANNOT FIND THE FUEL RAIL IN US OR CANADA. I CANT WALK AND HAD I NOT GOTTEN DISABLEDá AND HAD TO GO TO CANADA, AT FAMILIES DUE TO CHILD AND I BEING ASSAULTED AND INJURED.á HAVE GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS SHOWING WE ENTERED COUNTRY DUE TO STATEMENT ABOVE.á CAR NOT USED, GARAGED FOR SEVERAL YEARS BUT TURNED ON PERIODICALLY SO CAR WOULD NOT DIE AND FLUIDS CHANGED. WOULD HAVE FILED THE LEMON LAW BACK THEN! I AM LOOKING INTO ARBITRATION ,FTCá OR MEDIA. I HAVE CONTACTED MECHANICS FOR RECEIPTS AND TESTIMONY. DUE TO ENGINE LIGHT NEVER GOING OFFá , AIR BAG LIGHT,AND GEARS WOULD SWITCH THEMSELVES AND ALL DIALS WOULD GO CRAZY ALL THIS WORK HAS BEEN DONE: NEW COMPUTER STARTER CATALYTIC CONVERTER EVAP LEAKS, CHANGED PARTS NO BREAKS WHILE DRIVING, BREAKLINE BROKE GAS CAP, SENSORS MUFFLER TIRES 4 NEW BATTERY PLUS, PLUS, PLUS NOW NO PART, FUEL RAIL DISCONTINUED. CAR CAN GO ON FIRE IF DRIVEN. CAR ONLY HAS 65,000 ORIGINAL MILED CHRYSLER CUST. SVC, TOLD ME TO SELL IT TO SOMEONE ELSE. FUEL RAIL DISCONTINUED , SO THEY WILL GO ON FIRE?? OR SELL FOR SCRAP? CARS ARE SUPPOSED TO LAST MORE THAN 65,000.THIS IS NEGLIGENCE AND U HAVE ENDANGERED MY FAMILY MORE THAN ONCE. MECHANIC SAID LUCKY , CANT DRIVE AT ALL. IN PKG LOT. CANT WALK, NEED CAR. TRADE IT FOR ONE OF SIMILAR VALUE AND MILEAGE. SPENT NEARLY 7,000. FIXING. NOW DISABLED AND DONT HAVE MONEY. ALSO EXPECT REFUND FOR RADIO RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/4/2018 - LAKELAND, MN
BRAKE LINES RUSTED AND BRAKES FAILED TWICE WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO ACCIDENTS. FIRST INCIDENT WAS THE REAR BRAKE LINE BURST. I REPLACED THE RUSTED BRAKE LINE. FRONT BRAKE LINE BURST 6 MONTHS AFTER REAR BRAKE LINE WAS REPLACED. ALL FRONT BRAKE LINES WERE SO RUSTED, I REMOVED AND REPLACED ALL OF THEM AS A PRECAUTION. THE BRAKE LINES RUSTED IN AREAS WHERE THEY WERE CLAMPED, SO THAT SALT AND DIRT COULD NOT BE CLEANED OUT. BRAKE LINES WERE UNPAINTED BARE STEEL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/9/2017 - NORRISTOWN, PA
BRAKES FAILED WHILE DRIVING 60MPH ON HIGHWAY I-476 (PHILADELPHIA PA) WITH THE FAMILY IN THE VEHICLE. UPON BRAKING TO STOP FOR TRAFFIC, THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT DIRECTLY TO THE FLOOR AND PUMPING THE PEDAL SEVERAL TIMES DID NOT RESULT IN ANY BRAKING OF THE VEHICLE. AFTER MANAGING TO GET THE VEHICLE TO A STOP ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, AND THEN PUMPING THE BRAKE PEDAL SEVERAL MORE TIMES, BRAKE FLUID COULD BE SEEN COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE AT BOTH THE AREA AROUND THE REAR AXLE AND THE AREA UNDER THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT. LATER, INSPECTION OF THE BRAKE LINES FOUND THEM ALL TO BE SEVERELY RUSTED. AFTER READING THAT THIS IS AN EXISTING PROBLEM WITH GM VEHICLES, IT IS GREATLY DISAPPOINTING, TO SAY THE LEAST, THAT NO NOTIFICATION OR RECALL WAS GIVEN. SUCH A SEVERE AND SCARY SAFETY PROBLEM SHOULD REQUIRE AT LEAST NOTIFICATION OF CUSTOMERS AND BETTER QUALITY DESIGN/CONTROL OF BRAKING COMPONENTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/23/2017 - WAUSAUKEE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL PULSATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE DID NOT RECUR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 220,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/1/2016 - WILTON, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HUB SENSOR ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 01/31/2017

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2016 - TULSA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT SMELLED A SMOKE ODOR COMING FROM THE AIR CONDITIONER AND THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE BEFORE THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A FIRE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 193,337.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/22/2016 - MIDDLE VILLAGE, NY
THE REAR BRAKE LINE FAILED FOR THE SECOND TIME AND CAUSED ME TO HAVE ACCIDENT. THE ISSUE IS THAT THE FRONT BRAKES DID NOT STOP THE VEHICLE AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. WHEN THIS HAPPENED THE FIRST TIME 2009 THE DEALER CHANGED THE MASTER CYLINDER AND OTHER BRAKE COMPONENTS STATING THAT IS WHY THE FRONT BRAKES DIDN'T WORK HOWEVER THIS FAILURE WAS EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE FIRST INCIDENT ABSOLUTELY NO BRAKES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2016 - MOSS POINT, MS
THE CIRCUIT BOARD UNDER THE DRIVERS SEAT SHORTED OUT AND CAUGHT ON FIRE WHILE THE CAR WAS OCCUPIED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds