Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRACKER - 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (1) Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (17) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

3/18/2019 - LANCASTER, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FRONT END SWERVED AND THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY EXTREME FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED EXTENSIVE RUST ON THE FRAME AND THAT THE CROSS MEMBER WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN DUE TO THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

3/18/2019 - LANCASTER, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FRONT END SWERVED AND THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY EXTREME FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED EXTENSIVE RUST ON THE FRAME AND THAT THE CROSS MEMBER WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN DUE TO THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/13/2018 - NORTH HIGHLANDS, CA
REAR BRAKES KEEP FAILING, THEY FAILED YESTERDAY FOR THE THIRD TIME IN ABOUT 8,000 MILES. THEY ALSO DISCONTINUED A PART FOR THE REAR BRAKES. CANNOT FIND THE PART ANYWHERE. WAS DRIVING AND HEARD A NOISE COMING FROM THE LEFT REAR, PULLED OVER AND IT WAS THE BRAKES. HAVE TO PUMP THE BRAKES TO STOP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/5/2017 - LYNCHBURG, VA
AFTER A COLLISION WHERE MY TRACKER HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE AT AROUND 55 MPH ON A HIGHWAY, MY VEHICLE HIT DEAD ON TO THE SIDE OF ANOTHER (T-BONE) AND MY SENSOR SHOULD HAVE TRIGGERED MY AIRBAGS AND DID NOT.

View Details

STEERING

3/8/2017 - TOLEDO, OH
MY MOTHER AND I WAS DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND IT SEEMED AS IF THE CAR JUST LUNGED FORWARD SHARPLY AND MADE US SWERVE A LITTLE. I PULLED OVER AND SEEN THAT THE CAR WAS SITTING "OFF" A LITTLE. WE TOWED IT HOME AND MY STEP DAD LOOKED AT IT AND SAID THE CAR HAD RUSTED THROUGH THE SUBFRAME. THE SUBSPENSION SUBFRAME CROSSMEMBER PART COULD OF KILLED US. SHE BOUGHT THIS CAR AT 29 MILES FROM DAVE WHITE CHEVEROLT IN 2001. NOTHING WAS SENT TO US FROM THE MANUFACTURE OR THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS PART BEING A DANGEROUS PART. IT WAS TO BE REPLACED I HEARD IF THE CAR REACHED 150,000 MILES OR 10 PLUS YEARS. SHE HAD THIS CAR FOR BOTH AND WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART. WE HAD IT TOWED THIS WEEKEND AND THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART FOR FREE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/8/2017 - TOLEDO, OH
MY MOTHER AND I WAS DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND IT SEEMED AS IF THE CAR JUST LUNGED FORWARD SHARPLY AND MADE US SWERVE A LITTLE. I PULLED OVER AND SEEN THAT THE CAR WAS SITTING "OFF" A LITTLE. WE TOWED IT HOME AND MY STEP DAD LOOKED AT IT AND SAID THE CAR HAD RUSTED THROUGH THE SUBFRAME. THE SUBSPENSION SUBFRAME CROSSMEMBER PART COULD OF KILLED US. SHE BOUGHT THIS CAR AT 29 MILES FROM DAVE WHITE CHEVEROLT IN 2001. NOTHING WAS SENT TO US FROM THE MANUFACTURE OR THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS PART BEING A DANGEROUS PART. IT WAS TO BE REPLACED I HEARD IF THE CAR REACHED 150,000 MILES OR 10 PLUS YEARS. SHE HAD THIS CAR FOR BOTH AND WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART. WE HAD IT TOWED THIS WEEKEND AND THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART FOR FREE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/8/2017 - TOLEDO, OH
MY MOTHER AND I WAS DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND IT SEEMED AS IF THE CAR JUST LUNGED FORWARD SHARPLY AND MADE US SWERVE A LITTLE. I PULLED OVER AND SEEN THAT THE CAR WAS SITTING "OFF" A LITTLE. WE TOWED IT HOME AND MY STEP DAD LOOKED AT IT AND SAID THE CAR HAD RUSTED THROUGH THE SUBFRAME. THE SUBSPENSION SUBFRAME CROSSMEMBER PART COULD OF KILLED US. SHE BOUGHT THIS CAR AT 29 MILES FROM DAVE WHITE CHEVEROLT IN 2001. NOTHING WAS SENT TO US FROM THE MANUFACTURE OR THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS PART BEING A DANGEROUS PART. IT WAS TO BE REPLACED I HEARD IF THE CAR REACHED 150,000 MILES OR 10 PLUS YEARS. SHE HAD THIS CAR FOR BOTH AND WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART. WE HAD IT TOWED THIS WEEKEND AND THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART FOR FREE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/21/2016 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
I'VE HAD TO REPLACE THE O2 SENSORS EVERY 2 YEARS AS THEY ARE DEFECTIVE. I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE SINCE 2004 (12 YEARS) SO I'VE REPLACE THE O2 SENSORS ( ALL 3) 6 TIMES. HAS THIS HAPPENED OR BEEN REPORTED BY ANY OTHER OWNERS?

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/11/2015 - CARBONDALE, PA
FRONT SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER FOR CHEVY TRACKERIS NOTHING BUT RUST. IT WON'T PASS INSPECTION AND THE GARAGE SAID THERE MUST HAVE NOT BEEN A COATING PUT ON IT FOR IT TO BE RUSTED THROUGH AND FALLING APART.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

10/17/2014 - ROCKLAND, ME
MY CHEVY TRACKER HAS A BROKEN CROSSMEMBER/SUBFRAME/K-FRAME. FRONT SUSPENSION ARMS ARE MOUNTED TO THIS PIECE, IT IS THE MOST IMPORTANT MOUNTING POINT. IT COMPLETELY BROKE WHILE DRIVING, LUCKILY AT A VERY SLOW SPEED, NO MAJ. INJURY. GM KNOWS THE BAD PART WAS IN EVERY TRACKER/VITARA -THEY SAY IT WASN'T TREATED PROPERLY, HAD NO DRAIN HOLES. THERE IS A BULLETIN TO REPLACE THIS PART (#06186),10 YEARS OR 150K MILES -WHICH SPECIFIES THE REPAIR IS COVERED IF "DISPLAYS THE CONDITION OF" HAVING THE DEFECT WITHIN THAT PERIOD. FULLER GM DEALER AGREES "CLEARLY HAD THE PROBLEM WITHIN THE PERIOD BASED UPON CONDITION NOW". I'VE SUFFERED THE RUN-AROUND BETWEEN SR REP ON THE PHONE, AND THE LOCAL GM DEALER. ALL SAY "WOULD REPAIR IT IF THE OTHER WOULD". GM BY PHONE SAYS IT'S UP TO THE LOCAL, LOCAL SAYS GM HAS TO AUTHORIZE REPAIR. THEY ALL UNIV. AGREED WITH FACTS: HAD THE PROBLEM WITHIN THE BULLETIN'S DEFINITION, YET INSIST THERE'S NO WAY FOR THEM TO HELP, "THE PERIOD IS UP" -WHICH IS A CONTRADICTION! THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FAILURE, FAR WORSE THAN THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL. IN THOSE CASES, THE CAR CAN STILL FUNCTION WITH AN AWARE DRIVER. THE TRACKER FAILURE IS CATASTROPHIC. GM SAYS BULLETIN NOTICE MAILED OUT TOLD OWNERS TO CHECK FOR THE "SIGNS" EVERY YEAR, BUT ONLY SENT OUT ONE NOTICE -NOT TO THE NEXT OWNERS (MOST MANUFS SEND NOTICES FOR NEW OWNERS)! OWNER OF MY CAR WHO MAYBE SAW THE NOTICE DIED, SO WE HAD NO WARNING TO CHECK FOR "SIGNS". EVERY GM REP SAYS THAT'S THEIR "REGRETTABLE POLICY". GM AND LOCAL FULLER GM HAVE WASTED MANY HOURS/WEEKS OF TIME, DIRECTING RESPONSE. TO ALL OTHERS, SAYING WILL HELP AND CALL BACK, NOT ONE HAS. GM SAYS "THERE'S NO RECALL BECAUSE IT WASN'T A POPULAR VEHICLE"*! I OFFERED TO PAY FOR PART, OR WORK, MEET HALFWAY, THEY DID NOT EVEN CONSIDER. I WANT MINE REPAIRED +GM TO ADMIT RESPONSIBILITY. PLEASE HELP, THANKS! QUOTES ACTUALLY SAID BY GM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds