Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRACKER - 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (1) Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (17) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

6/26/2014 - FT. MADISON, IA
I WAS DRIVING ON A TWO-WAY RESIDENTIAL STREET, JUST PICKED UP OUR TWO YOUNGEST GRANDSON'S FROM SCHOOL, WHEN THE PASSENGER SIDE TIRE JAMMED, VERY UNEXPECTEDLY, UP IN THE AREA BETWEEN THE ENGINE AND FRAME OF THE TRACKER. THE TRACKER WENT MID AIR, AND THEN ROLLED. CONSUMER HANDWRITING IS ILLEGIBLE. .UPDATED 07/02/14

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/26/2014 - FT. MADISON, IA
I WAS DRIVING ON A TWO-WAY RESIDENTIAL STREET, JUST PICKED UP OUR TWO YOUNGEST GRANDSON'S FROM SCHOOL, WHEN THE PASSENGER SIDE TIRE JAMMED, VERY UNEXPECTEDLY, UP IN THE AREA BETWEEN THE ENGINE AND FRAME OF THE TRACKER. THE TRACKER WENT MID AIR, AND THEN ROLLED. CONSUMER HANDWRITING IS ILLEGIBLE. .UPDATED 07/02/14

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/22/2014 - WEST CHESTER, OH
PURCHASED A 2002 CHEVY TRACKER ON 4/30/2002. WE'VE HAD SOME MINOR AND SOME MAJOR REPAIRS MADE, IT'S NEVER BEEN IN ANY ACCIDENTS AND HAS BEEN UP-KEPT. COMING HOME FROM WORK MY HUSBAND NOTICED THE YEAR OLD BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING PROPERLY, WAS PULLING, AND STARTED VIBRATING AND SHAKING AT ABOUT 40 MPH. WE LATER NOTICED THE BACK BRAKE LINE WAS LEAKING. TWO WEEKS TO FIX BY OUR MECHANIC. ON THE TEST DRIVE NOTICED VIBRATION MUCH WORSE- VIOLENT-ABRUPT SHAKING! LATER OUR MECHANIC NOTICED THE FRONT SUSPENSION CROSS MEMBER IS ALMOST RUSTED OUT! IT HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED YET. I AM GOING TO NOTIFY MANUFACTURER. APPROXIMATE MILEAGE WAS110,000. WERE NOTIFICATIONS SENT OUT? DON'T REMEMBER ONE- I'M PRETTY ADAMANT ABOUT SAFETY! ALWAYS LOVED THIS VEHICLE, NOW TONS OF JUNK MEDAL SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY AND DOWN A VEHICLE!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/22/2014 - WEST CHESTER, OH
PURCHASED A 2002 CHEVY TRACKER ON 4/30/2002. WE'VE HAD SOME MINOR AND SOME MAJOR REPAIRS MADE, IT'S NEVER BEEN IN ANY ACCIDENTS AND HAS BEEN UP-KEPT. COMING HOME FROM WORK MY HUSBAND NOTICED THE YEAR OLD BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING PROPERLY, WAS PULLING, AND STARTED VIBRATING AND SHAKING AT ABOUT 40 MPH. WE LATER NOTICED THE BACK BRAKE LINE WAS LEAKING. TWO WEEKS TO FIX BY OUR MECHANIC. ON THE TEST DRIVE NOTICED VIBRATION MUCH WORSE- VIOLENT-ABRUPT SHAKING! LATER OUR MECHANIC NOTICED THE FRONT SUSPENSION CROSS MEMBER IS ALMOST RUSTED OUT! IT HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED YET. I AM GOING TO NOTIFY MANUFACTURER. APPROXIMATE MILEAGE WAS110,000. WERE NOTIFICATIONS SENT OUT? DON'T REMEMBER ONE- I'M PRETTY ADAMANT ABOUT SAFETY! ALWAYS LOVED THIS VEHICLE, NOW TONS OF JUNK MEDAL SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY AND DOWN A VEHICLE!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/10/2013 - MONTREAL, MH
I LOST EVERYTHING. I WAS DRIVING ON HIGHWAY 20 IN LASALLE AND A OLD MAN IN A BMW WAS HIGH BEAMING ME, I SLOWED DOWN AND SWITCHED TO THE RIGE TRUCK LANE. HE SPED UP IN THE MIDDLE LANE AND GAVE ME A HAND SIGNAL TO PULL OVER. I EXITED OFF THE HIGHWAY AND PARKED THE TRUCK. I WENT IN THE BACK AND DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING BIZARRE, BUT STILL TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT THE OLD MAN SAW. I WENT BACK IN THE TRUCK AND PUT IT IN REVERSE AND FELT THE TRUCK HESITATING WHILE BACKING UP, NOW I PUT IT IN DRIVE, SAMETHING TRUCK HESITATING. I TURNED THE TRUCK OFF AND OPENED THE HOOD AND ALL I SAW WERE FLAMES ALL OVER THE ENGINE, AIR INTAKE, AROUND THE BATTERY AND ESPECIALLY AROUND THE DIPSTICK FOR THE TRANSMISSION. WITHIN 15 MINUTES MY WHOLE TRUCK THAT I PUT 2 AND A HALF YEARS WORTH FIREMEN TOOK 25 MINUTES AT LEAST, WHILE THE COPS CAME IN 10 MIN. BY THE TIME THE COPS CAME THE TRUCK WAS ALREADY HALF BURNT. MY GIRLFRIEND WAS WITH ME GOING CRAZY. ITS GONE, ALL GONE. REBUILT THE TRANSMISSION, CHANGED RACK AND PINION, CHANGE EXHAUST LINE COMPLETE FROM FRONT FLEX PIPE RIGHT TO THE REAR TAIL PIPE, FRONT AND REAR SUSPENSION COMPLETELY CHANGED, BUILT IN AN IPHONE CHARGER AND THIS IS WHAT I GET, TO FIND OUT 2 WEEKS BEFORE CHRISTMAS THAT THIS TRUCK IS OVERLOADED WITH RECALLS DUE TO BAD GAS FILTER FITTING, AND SHORT CIRCUIT IN DRIVERSIDE DOOR. THANK U GM FOR WISHING ME A MERRY CHRISTMAS..................................

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/30/2013 - BLOOMINGTON, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIBRATE VIOLENTLY. THE CONTACT LATER NOTICED THAT THE FRONT SUB FRAME BRACKET WAS FRACTURED DUE TO RUST CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/22/2013 - MECHANICVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HAVING ROUTINE MAINTENANCE PERFORMED, SHE WAS ADVISED THAT ALL OF THE CROSS MEMBERS WERE CORRODED. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE BUSHINGS, AND THE FRONT AND CENTER CROSS MEMBERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, WHO STATED THAT THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS FOR THEIR VOLUNTARY PROGRAM MENTIONED IN NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: EA06018 (SUSPENSION) HAD PASSED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER ELIGIBLE FOR REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 84,849. UPDATED 12/23/13

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/22/2013 - MECHANICVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HAVING ROUTINE MAINTENANCE PERFORMED, SHE WAS ADVISED THAT ALL OF THE CROSS MEMBERS WERE CORRODED. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE BUSHINGS, AND THE FRONT AND CENTER CROSS MEMBERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, WHO STATED THAT THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS FOR THEIR VOLUNTARY PROGRAM MENTIONED IN NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: EA06018 (SUSPENSION) HAD PASSED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER ELIGIBLE FOR REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 84,849. UPDATED 12/23/13

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/24/2013 - MENOMINGE , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVERS SEAT BELT CLIP DID NOT RELEASE FROM HE BUCKLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO USE THE DRIVERS SEATBELT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

5/28/2013 - SOUTH LONDONDERRY, VT
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ONE NIGHT WHEN MY RIGHT FRONT TIRE FELT LIKE ITS WAS GOING TO FALL OFF I SLOWED DOWN AND PULLED OFF ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD COULD NOT FIND OUT WHY IT WAS DOING THIS WHEN THE TIRE WAS FINE. SO I DROVE VERY SLOWLY WITH MY CAUTION LIGHTS ON TO AND FROM WORK BECAUSE AS LONG AS YOU DID UNDER 40 IT DIDN'T FEEL LIKE THAT. THE NEXT DAY I HAD A MECHANIC TAKE A LOOK AT IT AND HE COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT UNTIL HE DROVE THE CAR AND IT GOT UP TO ABOUT 50MPH THEN HE PULLED OVER AND FOUND THE PROBLEM WHICH WAS THAT THE CROSSMEMBER AND LCA ATTACHMENT BRACKET HAD RUSTED SO BAD IT BROKE FREE AND THERE WAS NOTHING HOLDING THE LOWER ARM AND TIRE IN PLACE THIS MADE ME UPSET BECAUSE I JUST HAD THE CAR INSPECTED FOUR MONTHS EARLIER.AND THEY DID NOT CATCH THIS, SO WE BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE MECHANIC THAT INSPECTED IT AND HE BOUGHT A NEW PART FOR IT AND IT WAS GOOD BUT IT WAS STARTING TO RUSTING OUT ON BOTTOM PART BELOW THE DOORS AND AROUND THE TIRES THEN JUST A WEEK OR SO AGO THE TIMING BELT BROKE AND THAT'S HOW I FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS RECALL AND I WANT TO KNOW WHY I WAS NOT INFORMED OF THIS AND AS OF DATE 5/28/13 I ONLY HAVE 137,003 MILEAGE ON MY TRACKER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds