Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRACKER - 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (1) Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (17) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

5/28/2013 - SOUTH LONDONDERRY, VT
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ONE NIGHT WHEN MY RIGHT FRONT TIRE FELT LIKE ITS WAS GOING TO FALL OFF I SLOWED DOWN AND PULLED OFF ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD COULD NOT FIND OUT WHY IT WAS DOING THIS WHEN THE TIRE WAS FINE. SO I DROVE VERY SLOWLY WITH MY CAUTION LIGHTS ON TO AND FROM WORK BECAUSE AS LONG AS YOU DID UNDER 40 IT DIDN'T FEEL LIKE THAT. THE NEXT DAY I HAD A MECHANIC TAKE A LOOK AT IT AND HE COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT UNTIL HE DROVE THE CAR AND IT GOT UP TO ABOUT 50MPH THEN HE PULLED OVER AND FOUND THE PROBLEM WHICH WAS THAT THE CROSSMEMBER AND LCA ATTACHMENT BRACKET HAD RUSTED SO BAD IT BROKE FREE AND THERE WAS NOTHING HOLDING THE LOWER ARM AND TIRE IN PLACE THIS MADE ME UPSET BECAUSE I JUST HAD THE CAR INSPECTED FOUR MONTHS EARLIER.AND THEY DID NOT CATCH THIS, SO WE BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE MECHANIC THAT INSPECTED IT AND HE BOUGHT A NEW PART FOR IT AND IT WAS GOOD BUT IT WAS STARTING TO RUSTING OUT ON BOTTOM PART BELOW THE DOORS AND AROUND THE TIRES THEN JUST A WEEK OR SO AGO THE TIMING BELT BROKE AND THAT'S HOW I FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS RECALL AND I WANT TO KNOW WHY I WAS NOT INFORMED OF THIS AND AS OF DATE 5/28/13 I ONLY HAVE 137,003 MILEAGE ON MY TRACKER.

View Details

ENGINE

5/28/2013 - SOUTH LONDONDERRY, VT
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ONE NIGHT WHEN MY RIGHT FRONT TIRE FELT LIKE ITS WAS GOING TO FALL OFF I SLOWED DOWN AND PULLED OFF ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD COULD NOT FIND OUT WHY IT WAS DOING THIS WHEN THE TIRE WAS FINE. SO I DROVE VERY SLOWLY WITH MY CAUTION LIGHTS ON TO AND FROM WORK BECAUSE AS LONG AS YOU DID UNDER 40 IT DIDN'T FEEL LIKE THAT. THE NEXT DAY I HAD A MECHANIC TAKE A LOOK AT IT AND HE COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT UNTIL HE DROVE THE CAR AND IT GOT UP TO ABOUT 50MPH THEN HE PULLED OVER AND FOUND THE PROBLEM WHICH WAS THAT THE CROSSMEMBER AND LCA ATTACHMENT BRACKET HAD RUSTED SO BAD IT BROKE FREE AND THERE WAS NOTHING HOLDING THE LOWER ARM AND TIRE IN PLACE THIS MADE ME UPSET BECAUSE I JUST HAD THE CAR INSPECTED FOUR MONTHS EARLIER.AND THEY DID NOT CATCH THIS, SO WE BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE MECHANIC THAT INSPECTED IT AND HE BOUGHT A NEW PART FOR IT AND IT WAS GOOD BUT IT WAS STARTING TO RUSTING OUT ON BOTTOM PART BELOW THE DOORS AND AROUND THE TIRES THEN JUST A WEEK OR SO AGO THE TIMING BELT BROKE AND THAT'S HOW I FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS RECALL AND I WANT TO KNOW WHY I WAS NOT INFORMED OF THIS AND AS OF DATE 5/28/13 I ONLY HAVE 137,003 MILEAGE ON MY TRACKER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

4/8/2013 - BUTLER, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR AN INSPECTION, WHO NOTICED THAT THE FRONT CROSS MEMBER WAS COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. ...UPDATED 05/29/13 UPDATED 06/12/2013

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/14/2013 - MANISTIQUE, MI
AFTER A YEAR OF REPAIRS INCLUDING MUFFLER SYSTEM, FRONT SWAY BAR, SHIFTER CABLE AND ALTERNATOR, I FINALLY GOT TO DRIVE MY CHEVY TRACKER AND NOTICED IMMEDIATELY A SHAKE (4/12) THAT NIGHT, THE OIL PAN DEVELOPED A LEAK. I FINALLY SAVED UP ENOUGH TO GET THAT FIXED IN 1/13, I STILL NOTICED A SHAKE, BUT NEEDED TO GET THE BRAKE LINES REPAIRED. I DID THAT AND STILL NOTICED THE SHAKE AND IT WAS GETTING WORSE. THOUGHT THE CALIPERS NEEDED TO BE BLED SO BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE SHOP. MY REPAIRMAN NOTICED THAT THE FRONT ARM SUSPENSION BRACKET WAS RUSTED THROUGH. DID A LITTLE INVESTIGATION ON LINE AND DISCOVERED THE SPECIAL WARRANTY FROM CHEVY REGARDING THIS PROBLEM AND MANY MANY COMPLAINTS FROM FELLOW CUSTOMERS. I CALLED CHEVY ON 3/14/13 AND WAS TOLD THAT MY VIN NUMBER DIDN'T MATCH THE RECALL. I CALLED MY LOCAL CHEVY DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE VIN NUMBER DID MATCH THE RECALL, BUT I WAS LATE BECAUSE THE RECALL EXPIRED IN 2012. I JUST WANT TO KNOW WHY I WASN'T NOTIFIED AS THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND CHEVY WAS WELL AWARE. HAD I KNOWN, I WOULD HAVE TAKEN CARE OF IT RIGHT AWAY.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: BLOWER

8/10/2011 - HANOVER , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE NO SCREENS COVERING THE AIR CONDITIONING VENTS. AS A RESULT, A MOUSE ENTERED THE VENTS, CONTAMINATED THE AREA AND CAUSED THE BLOWER MOTOR TO BLOW OUT. THE AIR CONDITIONER STOPPED FUNCTIONING IN RESPONSE TO THE BLOW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO RAN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND STATED THAT THE BLOWER MOTOR AND ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/19/2011 - MADISON, CT
JUNE, 2004. AIR BAG LIGHT ON. DEALER INDICATES NEED TO REPLACE COIL/CLOCK SPRING. JULY, 2004, THE HORN WAS INOPERABLE AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT WAS ON. WIRES UNDER HORN PAD WERE "CUT." REPLACED SIR COIL AND REPAIRED HORN WIRE. APRIL 2005, AIR BAG LIGHT ON AGAIN. STEERING COLUMN LOOSE. REPLACED AIR BAG CLOCK ASSEMBLY. MARCH, 2008. AIR BAG LIGHT ON AND HORN BEEPING INTERMITTENTLY WHEN HITTING BUMPS OR POTHOLES. DEALER FOUND BROKEN WIRES FOR HORN CONTACT AND CLOCK SPRING. REPLACED COMPLETE STEERING COLUMN. FEBRUARY, 2011. AFTER THE DASHBOARD WAS TAKEN OUT TO HAVE HEATER COIL REPAIRED, MECHANIC INDICATED THAT AIR BAG CLOCK ASSEMBLY NEEDED WAS BROKEN AND NEEDED REPLACING. FOUR SIMILAR INCIDENTS BEGINNING IN 2004 UP TO PRESENT TIME.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/19/2011 - MADISON, CT
JUNE, 2004. AIR BAG LIGHT ON. DEALER INDICATES NEED TO REPLACE COIL/CLOCK SPRING. JULY, 2004, THE HORN WAS INOPERABLE AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT WAS ON. WIRES UNDER HORN PAD WERE "CUT." REPLACED SIR COIL AND REPAIRED HORN WIRE. APRIL 2005, AIR BAG LIGHT ON AGAIN. STEERING COLUMN LOOSE. REPLACED AIR BAG CLOCK ASSEMBLY. MARCH, 2008. AIR BAG LIGHT ON AND HORN BEEPING INTERMITTENTLY WHEN HITTING BUMPS OR POTHOLES. DEALER FOUND BROKEN WIRES FOR HORN CONTACT AND CLOCK SPRING. REPLACED COMPLETE STEERING COLUMN. FEBRUARY, 2011. AFTER THE DASHBOARD WAS TAKEN OUT TO HAVE HEATER COIL REPAIRED, MECHANIC INDICATED THAT AIR BAG CLOCK ASSEMBLY NEEDED WAS BROKEN AND NEEDED REPLACING. FOUR SIMILAR INCIDENTS BEGINNING IN 2004 UP TO PRESENT TIME.

View Details

STEERING

1/11/2011 - DANVILLE, WV
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD POPPING NOISE, WHEN HE LOST POWER STEERING MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. A PRIVATE MECHANIC INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE CROSS MEMBER OF THE FRONT SUSPENSION WAS CORRODED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD BE REPAIR THE CROSS MEMBER; HOWEVER, THE UPPER CONTROL ARM WAS CORRODED AND THE WARRANTY WOULD NOT COVER THE PROCEDURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 117,004.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

1/11/2011 - DANVILLE, WV
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD POPPING NOISE, WHEN HE LOST POWER STEERING MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. A PRIVATE MECHANIC INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE CROSS MEMBER OF THE FRONT SUSPENSION WAS CORRODED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD BE REPAIR THE CROSS MEMBER; HOWEVER, THE UPPER CONTROL ARM WAS CORRODED AND THE WARRANTY WOULD NOT COVER THE PROCEDURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 117,004.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

7/8/2010 - INDIANAPOLIIS, IN
I HAVE A 2002 CHEVY TRACKER WHICH WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING VEHICLE. TOOK CAR TO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP TO REQUEST INSPECTION AND REPAIR OF THE VIBRATING BRAKES WITH A FRONT END ALIGNMENT AND REQUESTED AN INSPECTION OF THE ENGINE DUE TO ENGINE CUTOFF DURING IDLING WHILE BRAKING AT A STOPLIGHT. MECHANIC FAILED TO INSPECT OR SAY ANYTHING ABOUT A POSSIBLE DEFECT OF THE FRONT SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER RUSTING. GM SALES MANAGER AND GM STAFF FAILED TO INSPECT MY TRACKER OR SAY ANYTHING TO ME ABOUT THIS KNOWN DEFECT OR THE POSSIBLE DANGER OF THE ARM RUSTING AND FALLING OFF. THEY FAILED TO NOTIFY ME BY A LETTER AND FAILED TO NOTIFY ME IN PERSON WHEN I BROUGHT IN MY TRACKER FOR A VIBRATION PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES. THEY KNOWINGLY LET ME DRIVE MY CAR WITH THIS POSSIBLE DEFECT EVEN AFTER THEIR MECHANIC FAILED TO FIX THE FRONT BRAKES WHICH CONTINUED TO VIBRATE WHEN I DROVE AWAY. SEVERAL MONTHS BEFORE THIS INCIDENT, GM HAS ONLY MAILED AN OFFER LETTER TO ME OFFERING A TRADE-IN, BUT MENTIONING NOTHING ABOUT INSPECTING THE DEFECTIVE CROSSMEMBER OR FIXING IT AS PART OF THEIR SPECIAL PROGRAM. TOTAL IRRESPONSIBILITY FROM GM AND THEIR DEALERSHIPS. NHTSA PERFORMED AND RECORDED DEFECT INVESTIGATION OF THE CHEVY TRACKER. THE NHTSA ACTION NUMBER IS EA06018. SUMMARY INCLUDES, "IN OCTOBER 2007, GM INITIATED A SPECIAL COVERAGE PROGRAM FOR ALL MY 1999 THROUGH 2004 CHEVROLET TRACKER VEHICLES SOLD OR CURRENTLY REGISTERED IN SALT-BELT STATES. THE PROGRAM EXTENDS THE WARRANTY COVERAGE FOR FRONT SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER CORROSION TO 10 YEARS OR 150,000 MILES". SINCE 2007, GM HAS FAILED TO NOTIFY ME OF THE 2007 SPECIAL COVERAGE PROGRAM. GM AGAIN FAILED TO NOTIFY ME OF THIS FREE INSPECTION AND REPAIR PROGRAM WHEN I BROUGHT IN MY CAR TO THEIR DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION OF A VIBRATION PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES AND ENGINE, KNOWING THE MILEAGE ON THE TRACKER AND THE KNOWING THE MY 2002. THEY CHARGED ME FOR FRONT END ALIGNMENT AND FOR BRAKE WORK WHICH DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds