Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRACKER - 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (1) Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (17) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/8/2010 - INDIANAPOLIIS, IN
I HAVE A 2002 CHEVY TRACKER WHICH WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING VEHICLE. TOOK CAR TO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP TO REQUEST INSPECTION AND REPAIR OF THE VIBRATING BRAKES WITH A FRONT END ALIGNMENT AND REQUESTED AN INSPECTION OF THE ENGINE DUE TO ENGINE CUTOFF DURING IDLING WHILE BRAKING AT A STOPLIGHT. MECHANIC FAILED TO INSPECT OR SAY ANYTHING ABOUT A POSSIBLE DEFECT OF THE FRONT SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER RUSTING. GM SALES MANAGER AND GM STAFF FAILED TO INSPECT MY TRACKER OR SAY ANYTHING TO ME ABOUT THIS KNOWN DEFECT OR THE POSSIBLE DANGER OF THE ARM RUSTING AND FALLING OFF. THEY FAILED TO NOTIFY ME BY A LETTER AND FAILED TO NOTIFY ME IN PERSON WHEN I BROUGHT IN MY TRACKER FOR A VIBRATION PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES. THEY KNOWINGLY LET ME DRIVE MY CAR WITH THIS POSSIBLE DEFECT EVEN AFTER THEIR MECHANIC FAILED TO FIX THE FRONT BRAKES WHICH CONTINUED TO VIBRATE WHEN I DROVE AWAY. SEVERAL MONTHS BEFORE THIS INCIDENT, GM HAS ONLY MAILED AN OFFER LETTER TO ME OFFERING A TRADE-IN, BUT MENTIONING NOTHING ABOUT INSPECTING THE DEFECTIVE CROSSMEMBER OR FIXING IT AS PART OF THEIR SPECIAL PROGRAM. TOTAL IRRESPONSIBILITY FROM GM AND THEIR DEALERSHIPS. NHTSA PERFORMED AND RECORDED DEFECT INVESTIGATION OF THE CHEVY TRACKER. THE NHTSA ACTION NUMBER IS EA06018. SUMMARY INCLUDES, "IN OCTOBER 2007, GM INITIATED A SPECIAL COVERAGE PROGRAM FOR ALL MY 1999 THROUGH 2004 CHEVROLET TRACKER VEHICLES SOLD OR CURRENTLY REGISTERED IN SALT-BELT STATES. THE PROGRAM EXTENDS THE WARRANTY COVERAGE FOR FRONT SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER CORROSION TO 10 YEARS OR 150,000 MILES". SINCE 2007, GM HAS FAILED TO NOTIFY ME OF THE 2007 SPECIAL COVERAGE PROGRAM. GM AGAIN FAILED TO NOTIFY ME OF THIS FREE INSPECTION AND REPAIR PROGRAM WHEN I BROUGHT IN MY CAR TO THEIR DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION OF A VIBRATION PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES AND ENGINE, KNOWING THE MILEAGE ON THE TRACKER AND THE KNOWING THE MY 2002. THEY CHARGED ME FOR FRONT END ALIGNMENT AND FOR BRAKE WORK WHICH DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

7/8/2010 - INDIANAPOLIIS, IN
I HAVE A 2002 CHEVY TRACKER WHICH WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING VEHICLE. TOOK CAR TO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP TO REQUEST INSPECTION AND REPAIR OF THE VIBRATING BRAKES WITH A FRONT END ALIGNMENT AND REQUESTED AN INSPECTION OF THE ENGINE DUE TO ENGINE CUTOFF DURING IDLING WHILE BRAKING AT A STOPLIGHT. MECHANIC FAILED TO INSPECT OR SAY ANYTHING ABOUT A POSSIBLE DEFECT OF THE FRONT SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER RUSTING. GM SALES MANAGER AND GM STAFF FAILED TO INSPECT MY TRACKER OR SAY ANYTHING TO ME ABOUT THIS KNOWN DEFECT OR THE POSSIBLE DANGER OF THE ARM RUSTING AND FALLING OFF. THEY FAILED TO NOTIFY ME BY A LETTER AND FAILED TO NOTIFY ME IN PERSON WHEN I BROUGHT IN MY TRACKER FOR A VIBRATION PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES. THEY KNOWINGLY LET ME DRIVE MY CAR WITH THIS POSSIBLE DEFECT EVEN AFTER THEIR MECHANIC FAILED TO FIX THE FRONT BRAKES WHICH CONTINUED TO VIBRATE WHEN I DROVE AWAY. SEVERAL MONTHS BEFORE THIS INCIDENT, GM HAS ONLY MAILED AN OFFER LETTER TO ME OFFERING A TRADE-IN, BUT MENTIONING NOTHING ABOUT INSPECTING THE DEFECTIVE CROSSMEMBER OR FIXING IT AS PART OF THEIR SPECIAL PROGRAM. TOTAL IRRESPONSIBILITY FROM GM AND THEIR DEALERSHIPS. NHTSA PERFORMED AND RECORDED DEFECT INVESTIGATION OF THE CHEVY TRACKER. THE NHTSA ACTION NUMBER IS EA06018. SUMMARY INCLUDES, "IN OCTOBER 2007, GM INITIATED A SPECIAL COVERAGE PROGRAM FOR ALL MY 1999 THROUGH 2004 CHEVROLET TRACKER VEHICLES SOLD OR CURRENTLY REGISTERED IN SALT-BELT STATES. THE PROGRAM EXTENDS THE WARRANTY COVERAGE FOR FRONT SUSPENSION CROSSMEMBER CORROSION TO 10 YEARS OR 150,000 MILES". SINCE 2007, GM HAS FAILED TO NOTIFY ME OF THE 2007 SPECIAL COVERAGE PROGRAM. GM AGAIN FAILED TO NOTIFY ME OF THIS FREE INSPECTION AND REPAIR PROGRAM WHEN I BROUGHT IN MY CAR TO THEIR DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION OF A VIBRATION PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES AND ENGINE, KNOWING THE MILEAGE ON THE TRACKER AND THE KNOWING THE MY 2002. THEY CHARGED ME FOR FRONT END ALIGNMENT AND FOR BRAKE WORK WHICH DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

4/14/2009 - FARNHAM, NY
WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT CAR(USED) DRIVER SIDE WINDOW WOULD NOT ROLL UP ALL THE WAY. DEALER FIXED. NOW 3 YEARS LATER, SAME PROBLEM CAME BACK, SOMETHING WRONG W/MOLDING CAUSING WINDOW TO SHIFT OFF TRACK AND NOT GO ROLL UP STRAIGHT W/OUT GUIDANCE OF MY HANDS. USUALLY IF MY HUSBAND SPRAYS INTO THE TRACK/MOLDING IT WILL GO UP A COUPLE TIMES ON IT'S OWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/3/2009 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE LEFT THE ROAD, AND STRUCK A TREE WITH THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND FENDER. THE FRAME WAS BENT IN TWO PLACES, BUT THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE SEAT BELT WAS NEVER SERVICED AND WAS WORKING FINE PRIOR TO THE CRASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

9/11/2007 - GROVE CITY, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AND JERK TO THE RIGHT WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FRONT CROSS-MEMBER DISENGAGED AND WAS RUSTED. AS OF SEPTEMBER 11, 2007, THE MECHANIC HAD NOT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 58,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

8/10/2006 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLES DRIVER SIDE ELECTRIC WINDOW TOOK TWO HANDS TO ROLL UP OR DOWN, WITH ONE HAND ON THE WINDOW BUTTON AND THE OTHER HAND PRESSING WEIGHT AGAINST THE WINDOW. THE SERVICE DEALER DETERMINED THERE WAS ONLY ONE SCREW THAT HELD THE WINDOW. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SERVICE DEALER ON FIVE OCCASIONS FOR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: HEATER CORE

6/20/2006 - INWOOD, WV
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH SMOKE WAS OBSERVED COMING FROM THE DASH AND ANTIFREEZE LEAKED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE HEATER CORE. THREE MONTHS LATER, WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DETERMINED THE HEATER CORE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: FRONT UNDERHOOD

8/18/2005 - CINCINNATI, OH
WIRING HARNESS TO AIR CONDITIONER CHAFFED, TOUCHED BODY OF TIRE WELL AND BURNT OUT FUSE AND HARNESS. VEHICLE ONLY 2002 CHEVROLET TRACKER 44,000 MILES AND WAS NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY AT ALL. EVEN THOUGH NO HARM OR EVENTFUL INCIDENT HAPPENED, I FEEL THAT THIS IS A DEFECT, THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE GONE OUT IN 3 YEARS TIME.

View Details

OTHER

6/20/2005 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
MY DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW DOESNT WANT TO ROLL UP OR DOWN UNLESS I PULL ON IT WHILE PRESSING THE BUTTON TO ROLL IT UP. ONCE UP, IT DOENST CLOSE ALL THE WAY AND YOU CAN HEAR THE AIR COMING IN. IN CASES THAT IT DOES GO UP ALL THE WAY, THE MOTOR SOUNDS AS THOUGH IT IS STILL TRYING TO MAKE THE WINDOW ROLL UP AND I HAVE TO CRACK IT OPEN IN FEAR THAT IT IS GOING TO SHATTER! THE WINDOW HAS BEEN FIXED 4 TIMES BY THE DEALER AND NOW MY WARRANTY IS UP AND THEY DONT WANT TO HEAR ANYTHING MORE FROM ME ABOUT IT UNTILL I AGREE TO PAY TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT AND FIXED AND THEY "MIGHT" REIMBURSE ME. IS THERE ANYTHING I CAN TO WITH THIS? I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET CHEVY TO FIX IT CORRECTLY SINCE 2003. THE SECOND MECHANIC TOLD ME "ITS MADE CHEAPLY AND THIS WILL PROBABLY HAPPEN AGAIN AND AGAIN". THERE SHOULD BE NO REASON THAT I SHOULD HAVE TO DEAL WITH A VEHICLE THAT I HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH SINCE THE FIRST FEW MONTHS OF PURCHASE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/15/2005 - RICHMOND, 00
THE ENGINE OF MY 2002 CHEVY TRACKER WOULD MAKE CLICKING NOISES. I FIRST BROUGH IN MY VEHICLE FOR SERVICE APPROX. 2 MONTHS AGO. THEN A WEEK OR SO AFTER I GOT MY VEHICLE BACK, THE CLICKING NOISE FROM THE ENGINE IS BACK. I THEN BROUGH TEH VEHICLE BACK TO MY GM DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID IT WAS FINE, BUT I DON'T ACCEPT THEIR ANSWER. EVENTHOUGH THERE'S NO INJURIES LEADING FROM THIS INCIDENT, BUT I'M AFRAID IT WOULD CAUSE GREATER HARM IN THE FUTURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds