Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2002 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 150 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (35) Visibility (5)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

1/17/2012 - SHREWSBURY TOWNSHIP, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS WITH KELLY CHARGER GT TIRES (N/A), SIZE 205/60/ R16. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED THE CONTACT NOTICED A BUBBLES ON THE SIDEWALL OF ALL FOUR TIRES. THE TIRES WERE REPLACED BY THE TIRE SHOP. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON THE SECOND SET OF TIRES AND THE BUBBLES INCREASED IN SIZE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE VIA EMAIL BUT HAD NOT REPLIED. THE TIRES WERE NOT REPLACED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 900.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/13/2011 - MIAMI GARDENS, FL
ON MY WAY TO WORK ONE MORNING, THE CAR STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET. IT WAS TWO BLOCKS FROM THE HOUSE. I HAD 2 NEIGHBORS PUSH THE CAR BACK TO THE HOUSE. I EVENTUALLY TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC, WHO TOLD ME THE PROBLEM WAS THE ENGINE. HE TOOK OUT THE PARTS TRYING TO REBUILD THE ENGINE AND NOTICED THERE WAS SLUDGE THROUGHOUT THE PARTS. HE THEN TOLD ME IT WAS NOT SAFE TO TRY AND CLEAN IT OUT, BECAUSE THERE IS NO GUARANTEE HOW FAR INTO THE ENGINE IT HAD GONE. I WOULD HAVE TO PURCHASE AN WHOLE NEW ENGINE. HE LOOKED FOR ENGINES BUT COULD ONLY FIND THOSE WITH HIGH MILEAGE. HE WAS NOT SURE IF THE ENGINE WOULD STAND-UP FOR LONG OR EVENTUALLY CAUSE ME TO HAVE TO CHANGE IT AGAIN. THE CAR IS STILL WAITING FOR AN ENGINE. I HAVE NOT BEEN IN A FINANCIAL SITUATION TO AFFORD IT. I RECENTLY STARTED TO LOOK AGAIN TO GET AN IDEA OF WHEN I MAY BE ABLE TO WORK ON THIS AGAIN. I REMEMBER HEARING THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE STRATUS' BUT WHEN I CALLED TWO LOCAL DEALERS FOR INFORMATION, THEY TOLD ME THEY DID NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/20/2011 - MESQUITE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS SE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING OVER A POTHOLE AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD EXHIBIT AN ABNORMAL FEELING. THE CONTACT INVESTIGATED THE VEHICLE AND DISCOVERED THAT THE ENGINE BRACKET WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO CONFIRMED THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THAT THE BRACKET WOULD NEED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE PART BEING ON BACKORDER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 112,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/25/2011 - BARSTOW, CA
TL * THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE TEMPERATURE INCREASED. THE CONTACT SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, FOUND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING COOLANT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FOLLOWING DAY WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 177,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

12/9/2010 - GAINESVILLE, GA
I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 15 MILES PER HOUR AND HIT A SLIGHT INDENTATION IN THE ROAD WHERE IT HAVE BEEN NEWLY PAVED. I HEARD A LOUD "THUD" IN THE TRUNK OF MY CAR FROM THE BACK DRIVER'S SIDE. I PULLED OVER AND UNCOVERED THE WHEEL WELL AND SAW A HOLE WHERE THE STRUT MOUNT SHOULD HAVE BEEN. I DECIDED TO TAKE THE CAR HOME AND CALL A CERTIFIED MECHANIC TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. WHILE TAKING THE CAR TO THE MECHANIC A COUPLE DAYS LATER, THE PASSENGER SIDE MADE THE SAME LOUD "THUD". WITHIN A FEW MILES MY CAR STARTED FILLING UP WITH SMOKE THAT SMELLED LIKE BURNING RUBBER. WHILE GOING AROUND A SMALL CURVE MY SHOCK CAME OUT AND TORE OPEN MY NEW TIRE. I HAD TO GET MY CAR TOWED TO THE MECHANIC TO GET IT FIXED. WHAT WE FOUND WAS A CORRODED PIECE OF METAL, WHICH I LATER FOUND OUT WAS MY "STRUT MOUNTS". I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT WITH MY STRUTS BEING ALMOST NONEXISTENT, AND THE TIRE BLOWING OUT THAT THE ACTUAL FRAME OF MY CAR COULD VERY WELL BE MESSED UP TOO. THE CAR IS STILL BEING FIXED DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE PART THAT WAS NEEDED WAS DISCONTINUED OR SOMETHING OF THAT NATURE. (I DID KEEP THE CORRODED PIECE OF METAL THAT WAS ONCE MY STRUT MOUNT.)

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/12/2010 - COON RAPIDS, MN
I OWN A DODGE STRATUS (2002) THAT HAS AN OIL SLUDGE PROBLEM. I HAD A MECHANIC LOOK AT IT THINKING IT WAS A HEAD GASKET AND WAS TOLD THAT ONLY THE GASKET WOULD BE LIKE A BAND AID ON THE PROBLEM. HE TOLD ME THAT THE CHRYSLER 2.7L ENGINE IS HAVING "OIL SLUDGE" PROBLEMS AND THAT THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR THIS. I CANNOT JUNK THIS VEHICLE AS I STILL OWE SEVERAL THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS. ALSO, I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO USE THIS VEHICLE FOR THE PAST YEAR AND STILL HAVE TO PAY MY MONTHLY BILL.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

5/16/2010 - CAMPBELL, OH
2002 DODGE STRATUS REAR STRUT MOUNTING PLATES. TURNING TO POWDER SEEMED TO BE MADE OF PRE-CAST ALUMINUM, UNPAINTED. HEARD CLANKING SOUND THOUGHT THE SPARE WAS LOOSE AFTER FURTHER INVESTIGATION DISCOVERED DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE MOUNTING BRACKETS WERE DISINTEGRATING THIS DEFINITELY SHOULD BE A RECALL .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/3/2010 - CLAY CENTER, NE
I HAVE A 2002 DODGE STRATUS SE AND WHEN I PUT THE KEY IN IT WILL NOT START. IT WILL NOT EVEN TURN OVER. ALL THE LIGHTS WORK, AND THE RADIO WORKS, THE LIGHTS DON'T DIM WHEN TRYING TO START IT, AND WHEN JUMP STARTED IT STILL DOES NOT WORK. THE SECURITY LIGHT IS STAYING ON WHILE KEY IS TURNED ON. A DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER WAS HOOKED UP TO IT AND IT SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. SUGGESTIONS SAY THE SECURITY SYSTEM HAS MY CAR LOCKED DOWN. HOW CAN YOU DISABLE THE SECURITY SYSTEM TO GET THE CAR STARTED. WE HAVE LOOKED AT FUSES AND WE HAVE DISCONNECTED AND RECONNECTED THE BATTERY CABLES. THIS IS RIDICULOUS AND I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS CAR AND THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOLD IT TO ME. A WHILE AGO I HAD A DIFFERENT DODGE STRATUS AND NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH IT... IS IT JUST THE 2002 EDITION OR ???? IT IS VERY DISAPPOINTING AND AGGRAVATING. ALSO I JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR 2 MONTHS AGO....

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

5/2/2010 - AURORA, IL
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ON 4-30-2010 IN MY 2002 DODGE STRATUS ES SEDAN. I HEARD A STRANGE METALLIC CLUNK FROM THE REAR OF THE CAR. ONCE I GOT TO WORK I CHECKED AROUND THE REAR WHEELS AND FOUND THAT THE DRIVER/REAR SPRING MOUNT PLATE WAS TOTALLY CORRODED AND A CHUNK WAS MISSING WHICH CAUSED THE SPRING TO SLIP (NOISE I HEARD). THE OTHER PASS/REAR SIDE IS JUST AS BAD. THE ALUMINUM MOUNTS ARE TOTALLY CORRODED AND FLAKING APART. I LIVE IN NORTHERN ILLINOIS SO CORROSION IS A USUAL THING, BUT FOR PARTS TO JUST FLAKE AWAY IN CHUNKS? THIS SEEMS OVERTLY DANGEROUS AND AN ENGINEERING OVERSIGHT. I NEED TO GET THIS FIXED RIGHT AWAY OR WHO KNOWS HOW THE SPRINGS WILL FAIL AND CAUSE ME TO LOSE CONTROL.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER BALL JOINT

4/2/2010 - EDENBURG, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT AT APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH WHEN HE HEARD A LOUD NOISE OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE FRONT CONTROL ARM LOWER BALL JOINT HAD FALLEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP BUT THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED WHEN THE COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALERSHIP BUT WAS INFORMED THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO BE PAY A DIAGNOSTIC FEE TO HAVE THE VEHICLE INSPECTED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 77,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds