Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2002 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 150 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (35) Visibility (5)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

8/18/2009 - NORWOOD, PA
ON 9/3/08 I HAD BROUGHT MY 2002 DODGE STRATUS 2.7L V6 IN FOR A COOLANT SYSTEM FLUSH. I WAS CHARGED $129.95. SOON AFTER, I SMELLED BURNING COOLANT, BUT THE DEALERSHIP HAD SAID IT WAS JUST EXCESS BURNING OFF. TWO WEEKS LATER ON 9/23/08, I WAS ON RT 1 TO OUT TO MY SISTER-IN-LAWS IN LANCASTER, PA, WHEN MY CAR OVERHEATED AND HAD TO SHUT IT DOWN ON AN OFF RAMP. I GOT OUT OF THE CAR, AND ALL THE COOLANT WAS LEAKING OUT. I HAD IT TOWED BACK TO MILLER DODGE, AND THEY HAD INFORMED ME MY WATER PUMP HAS FAILED AND HAS TO BE REPLACED, ALONG WITH THE TIMING TENSIONER CHAIN. IT COST ME $628.63. I HAD ARGUED WITH THE DODGE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THEY JUST DID MAINTENANCE INVOLVING THE WATER PUMP, AND NOW IT IS DEAD. THEY SAID I WOULD HAVE TO FIGHT WITH CHRYSLER ABOUT IT. I FOUND A BULLETIN ON MYCARSTATS.COM REGARDING MY ENGINE THAT THE WATER PUMP APPEARS TO FAIL AFTER A COOLANT FLUSH IS PERFORMED. THE BULLETIN ID # 0700202, MFG BULLETIN DATE: 20020204, AND THE NHTSA ITEM # 629131. I CALLED CHRYSLER ABOUT IT AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD NOT PAY FOR IT. I AM STILL FIGHTING THAT FIGHT NOW, ALMOST A YEAR LATER. I FEEL THAT IF THE COOLANT FLUSH DAMAGES THE WATER PUMP, THAT IT IS A DEFECT, AND CHRYSLER SHOULD PAY FOR THE COST OF REPAIRS. I DO NOT FEEL I AM GETTING ANY WHERE WITH CHRYSLER, AND NOW I AM REPORTING IT, HOPEFULLY FOR SOME KIND OF SOLUTION.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/24/2009 - MARSHALL, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR ON A ROAD TRIP (ABOUT 2 HOURS) THE VEHICLE BEGAN SMOKING. AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE AND OPENING THE HOOD, THE ENGINE BURST INTO FLAMES. THE CAR WAS A TOTAL LOSS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/5/2009 - OFALLON, MO
NOTICED INCREASED OIL USAGE WITH NO LEAKS ALTHOUGH OIL WAS CHANGED EVERY 3 MONTHS OR 3000 MILES. AT APPROX. 122000 MILES, ENGINE THREW A ROD. SEVERAL DODGE/CHRYSLER MECHANICS STATED THIS WAS DUE TO "OIL SLUDGE" BUILDUP, SAYING THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2.7L V6 ENGINE REGARDLESS OF THE TYPE OF OIL USED OR FREQUENCY OF OIL CHANGES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/3/2008 - SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI
I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE CONTROL ARMS ON MY 2002 DODGE STRATUS SEVERAL TIMES NOW. THERE IS CONSTANT KNOCKING UNDER MY CAR. I BELIEVE IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM AS ALL OF THE RECALLS THAT ARE WITH THE DODGE PRODUCTS; HOWEVER, NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR THE DODGE STRATUS 2002.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

9/15/2008 - ALPHARETTA, GA
DURING DAILY DRIVING MY DODGE STRATUS 2.7 MOTOR FAILED. AFTER TAKING TO THE MECHANIC, I WAS TOLD IT WAS CAUSE BY ENGINE SLUDGE AND THAT THE REPAIR WAS GOING TO COST ME 4K.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/18/2008 - VAN NUYS, CA
IN THE PAST EIGHT MONTHS THE CHECK ENGINE STAYS ON. I HAD THE COMPUTER CODE READ AND RESET TWICE. AFTER BEING RESET THE LIGHT RETURNED WITHIN 1-2 DAYS. THE THIRD TIME IT CAME ON THE DEALER SAID THE CAR HAD A VACUUM LEAK AND REPLACED A CRACKED HOSE. ON THE SECOND DAY AFTER GETTING THE CAT BACK THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT POPPED BACK ON AND STAYED ON AGAIN. THEY SAY THAT THERE IS NO SHORT TO THE SENSOR OR LIGHT ON THE DASH YET THE LIGHT WILL NOT GO OFF. A YEAR AGO THE MAIN COMPUTER DIED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR IS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS WITH ONLY 37,000 MILES ON IT. THE DEALER IS STUMPED, I AM OUT SEVERAL HUNDRED DOLLARS , AND THE PROBLEM REMAINS. THE CAR HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

7/25/2008 - LEWISTON, MN
REAR FRAME TO SUSPENSION MOUNT HAS BROKE. THE SHOCK INSIDE THE COIL THEN WAS ABLE TO GET LODGED INTO THE SPRING. THIS MADE THE SUSPENSION STUCK/IMMOBILE. THE VEHICLE WAS 3-WHEELING AROUND CORNERS ON THE WAY TO THE DEALERSHIP. WE WERE TOLD THE PART WAS BACK-ORDERED TO THE FACTORY AND WAS NOT AVAILABLE AT ANY OTHER DEALERSHIP ACROSS THE US. WAIT TIME FOR THE NEW PART IS MORE THAN A MONTH. I WORK FOR AN AUTOMOTIVE SUPPLIER. IF ITS THIS HARD TO GET A PART, SOMETHING MORE IS WRONG. HOW MANY OTHERS ARE SUFFERING OUR FATE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

7/9/2008 - HACKENSACK, NJ
MOPAR AGREES RECALL SHOULD BE DONE ON THIS PART FAILURE. 02 DODGE STRATUS REAR STRUT MOUNTS. STRUT MOUNTING PLATES ON VEHICLE ARE MADE OF ALUMINUM OR SOME TYPE OF WHITE METAL AND THEY HAVE DISINTEGRATED INTO A POWDER LIKE DUST AND THE STRUT WAS DETACHED. MOPAR CONFIRMED ABOUT 8553 BACKORDERS ON 7/8/08 DEALERS AND 8607 BACKORDERS AS OF 7/9/08 - I REPLACED PART FROM A JUNKYARD CAR, AS THIS IS THE QUICKEST WAY TO GET A CAR BACK ON THE ROAD UNTIL SUPPLY IS ADEQUATE ON NEW PARTS WITH NEW DESIGN. VEHICLES CAN BE EXPECTED TO BE OUT OF COMMISSION AS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. POSSIBLY FOR MONTHS WITH THE CURRENT SITUATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

7/7/2008 - GREENS FORK, IN
2002 DODGE STRATUS REAR STRUT MOUNTS. THE TOP, REAR, STRUT MOUNTING PLATES ON THIS VEHICLE ARE MADE OF ALUMINUM OR SOME TYPE OF POT METAL AND THEY HAVE COMPLETELY CORRODED TO THE POINT OF THE STRUTS NOT BEING ATTACHED TO THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE. AS MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SWERVED TO THE LEFT AND SHE PROCEEDED HOME AT A VERY SLOW SPEED. UPON INSPECTION THE LEFT REAR STRUT MOUNTING PLATE HAD COMPLETELY DISINTEGRATED AND THE STRUT WAS NOT ATTACHED AT ALL TO THE VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THIS IS WHAT CAUSED THE SWERVE. UPON CHECKING WITH DEALERS AND PEOPLE ON THE INTERNET I'VE FOUND THAT THIS PART HAS FAILED ON THOUSANDS OF CARS. NO PARTS ARE AVAILABLE AND WE WERE TOLD BY A DEALER THAT, ON AVERAGE, THERE ARE 1800 REQUESTS PER WEEK FOR THIS PART AND A TOTAL OF ALMOST 8,000 ON BACKORDER THIS SEEMS TO ME TO BE A SAFETY DEFECT AND IT IS MADE WORSE BY THE FACT THAT NO PARTS ARE AVAILABLE. I WOULD THINK THERE SHOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL ON THESE AS THEY COULD EASILY CAUSE A WRECK WHEN THEY BREAK FREE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/6/2008 - RIVERHEAD, NY
WHILE ON 495 LONG ISLAND EXPRESSWAY THE CAR MADE A LOAD KNOCKING SOUND AND DIED. WHEN TOWED TO OUR MECHANIC HE SAID IT WAS ENGINE FAILURE. THIS HAPPENED IN NOV. 2007(THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW IN AUGUST 2002), AND THERE WERE NO FUNDS TO FIX IT WHICH HAS CAUSED TRANSPORTATION/FINANCIAL DIFFICULTIES IN REGARD TO WORK FROM NOV. 2007 UNTIL THE PRESENT,JUNE 2008. THE DAIMLER CHRYSLER REP. SAID THEY WEREN'T RESPONSIBLE BECAUSE WE DIDN'T BRING THE CAR TO THEM FOR OUR OIL CHANGES. I JUST RECEIVED AN ESTIMATE TO REPLACE THE ENGINE WITH A JASPAR ENGINE FOR 4,500 TO 5,000 DOLLARS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds