Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2002 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 150 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (35) Visibility (5)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

5/24/2008 - LAKE WORTH, FL
OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE ENGINE SEIZED. NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE, THE CAR IS CURRENTLY SITTING UNTOUCHED.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

5/20/2008 - WEST COLUMBIA, SC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH ON A WET SURFACE, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE HYDROPLANED. HE REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A CONCUSSION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 60,000. THE BODY SHOP INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE REASON WHY THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY WAS BECAUSE THE SENSORS WERE MOUNTED SO LOW IN THE FRONT AND REAR OF THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 05/30/08

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/16/2008 - ACUSHNET, MA
ALWAYS CHANGED THE OIL EVERY 3,00 MILES. AND THE ENGINE SEIZED. IT KNOCKED FOR LESS THAN A MINUTE PRIOR TO TOTAL FAILURE WITH THE CORRECT AMOUNT OF OIL IN THE ENGINE. THE PUBLIC SHOULD BE WARNED AND ANYONE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO SHOULD BE REIMBURSED THE AMOUNT TO FIX THE PROBLEM THROUGH DODGE.

View Details

OTHER

2/25/2008 - COOKEVILLE, TN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE TWO 3-INCH CRACKS, AND TWO 5-INCH CRACKS IN THE DASHBOARD. AS OF FEBRUARY 25, 2008, THE DEALER HAD NOT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 70,740.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/31/2008 - NOTTINGHAM, MD
ONE DAY AFTER WE PURCHASED A 2002 DODGE STRATUS FROM A PRIVATE SELLER, THE CAR DIED AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO A MECHANIC. HE HAD IT FOR 3 DAYS BUT CAR STARTED FOR HIM. 2 DAYS LATER CAR DIED AGAIN SO WE TOWED IT TO A DODGE DEALER. HE HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS AND INFORMED US THE ENGINE WAS SHOT DUE TO OIL SLUDGE AND A TIMING ISSUE. IT WOULD NEED AN ENGINE REPLACEMENT FOR $6100. WE DROVE THE CAR LESS THAN 20 MILES, DIDN'T MAKE OUR FIRST PAYMENT ON A 3 YEAR LOAN AND HAVE NO CAR TO DRIVE. I STILL HAVE A 10 YEAR OLD DODGE CARAVAN, BUT WAS NOT AWARE OF THE DEFECTIVE 2.7L ENGINE DODGE KNOWING SOLD TO CONSUMERS. NEVER BUY ANOTHER DODGE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER BALL JOINT

1/17/2008 - HANNA, OK
I DRIVE A 2002 DODGE STRATUS,AT 40,000 MILES TRANSMISSION COMPLETELY FAILED COSTING ME 1300 DOLLARS TO REPLACE,AT 62,000 THE SECOND TRANSMISSION FAILED ME AGAIN,ANOTHER 1300 DOLLARS,NOW AT 90,000 MILES TRANSMISSION IS HAVING PROBLEMS DOWN SHIFTING ON A DOWNWARD INCLINE,3,000 MILES AGO I WAS DRIVING AT 35 MPH WHEN THE LOWER BALL JOINT COMPLETELY BROKE ON DRIVER SIDE, WHEEL CAME COMPLETELY OFF COSTING ME 700 DOLLARS TO REPAIR,WAS JUST INFORMED THE PASSENGER SIDE IS GOING OUT NOW.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/17/2008 - HANNA, OK
I DRIVE A 2002 DODGE STRATUS,AT 40,000 MILES TRANSMISSION COMPLETELY FAILED COSTING ME 1300 DOLLARS TO REPLACE,AT 62,000 THE SECOND TRANSMISSION FAILED ME AGAIN,ANOTHER 1300 DOLLARS,NOW AT 90,000 MILES TRANSMISSION IS HAVING PROBLEMS DOWN SHIFTING ON A DOWNWARD INCLINE,3,000 MILES AGO I WAS DRIVING AT 35 MPH WHEN THE LOWER BALL JOINT COMPLETELY BROKE ON DRIVER SIDE, WHEEL CAME COMPLETELY OFF COSTING ME 700 DOLLARS TO REPAIR,WAS JUST INFORMED THE PASSENGER SIDE IS GOING OUT NOW.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/3/2008 - OFALLON, MO
DEALER DRAGGING FEET ON REPAIR, EVEN WITH US HAVING PURCHASED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/11/2007 - GRAND BLANC, MI
2002 DODGE STRATUS BEGAN TO HESITATE AND ACT LIKE IT WAS STALLING DRIVING A 10 MILE COMMUTE. WIFE PULL OVER, OPENED THE HOOD, BUT SAW NOTHING WRONG. BEING ONLY A COUPLE MILES FROM HOME SHE ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT START AND DIDN'T SOUND RIGHT. SHE CALLED OUR MECHANIC AND HAD THE CAR TOWED TO HIS BUSINESS. HE TOLD US THAT AFTER MAKING SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO START THE CAR THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED. BOTH THE WATER AND OIL WERE WELL WITHIN THE NORMAL OPERATING RANGE. THE CAR HAS ONLY 58,000 MILES ON IT HAS BEEN WELL CARED FAR AND DRIVEN BY MY OVERLY CAUTIOUS WIFE. AS I HAVE LEARNED MORE ABOUT THIS ENGINE I HAVE FOUND PLENTY OF EVIDENCE ONLINE THAT THE 2.7L V6 ENGINE IS PROBABLY ONE OF THE WORST EXAMPLES OF FAULTY ENGINEERING IN MEMORY. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED VERY SERIOUS PROBLEMS, AND CHRYSLER SHOULD HAVE BEEN FORCED TO RECALL THIS. THIS IS AN OUTRAGEOUS FRAUD UPON THE AMERICAN PUBLIC THAT ALSO MAKES ME THINK THAT NHTSA IS NOT DOING THEIR JOB FOR THE AMERICAN PEOPLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/28/2007 - OMAHA, NE
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A RATTLING NOISE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. A MECHANIC STATED THAT THE ENGINE COULD EXPLODE IF THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH DODGE AND THEY STATED THAT THEY WERE UNAWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE POWERTRAIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 94,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds