Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2002 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 150 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (35) Visibility (5)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

10/2/2007 - OMAHA, NE
I BOUGHT THIS CAR IN JANUARY 2006. I WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR, LITTLE THINGS KEPT GOING WRONG. I HAVE KEPT UP ON MAINTENANCE. 3 WEEKS AGO MY WATER PUMP WENT OUT. I PICKED UP MY CAR AFTER THE REPAIR AND THE OIL LIGHT WAS STILL ON. APPARENTLY WHEN THE WATER PUMP HAD FAILED, IT WAS LEAKING COOLANT AND SUCH INTO THE ENGINE. NOT TO MENTION THE SLUDGE. OF COURSE 2 DAYS AFTER PICKING UP THE CAR, THE ENGINE FAILED ON THE INTERSTATE WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD SON IN THE CAR. IT IS STILL IN THE SHOP. I AM HAVING TO HAVE A BRAND NEW ENGINE INSTALLED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/27/2007 - BISHOPVILLE, SC
I HAD MY DODGE STRATUS 2002 SINCE SUMMER OF 2005. WHILE GOING TO WORK ONE MORNING, I THOUGHT I HEARD THAT THE STARTER WAS GOING. I CALLED AND HAD THE MANUFACTURER'S LOCAL INSPECTION SHOP LOOK AT THE CAR AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE ENGINE HAD BLOWN OUT. IF I RECALL THE ENGINE SHOULD BE THE LAST THING TO DIE IN A CAR. THIS VEHICLE IS ONLY FIVE YEARS OLD, REGARDLESS OF MILEAGE THE ENGINE SHOULD STILL BE GOING. THE MANUFACTURER CLAIMED THAT THEY COULDN'T HELP BECAUSE I BOUGHT THE CAR FROM ANOTHER CAR DEALER AND NOT THE MANUFACTURER. THIS MATTER SHOULD BE INSPECTED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR: SHOCK ABSORBER

7/10/2007 - ORTONVILLE, MI
REAR SHOCK UPPER MOUNT ATTACKED BY CORROSION, VEHICLE ONLY 4.5 YEARS OLD AND 60,500 MILES. UN-PAINTED POT METAL LIKE MATERIAL BROKE UP INTO MULTIPLE PIECES WITHOUT WARNING. ONE MINUTE VEHICLE DROVE FINE, HIT A TYPICAL PAVEMENT EXPANSION JOINT CAUSING A LIGHT CLUNK TO DEVELOP. WITHIN TWO MILES I PULLED OVER TO INSPECT BECAUSE THE HAMMERING IN THE SUSPENSION GOT SO BAD. FOUND THE REAR SHOCK ABSORBER WAS NO LONGER RETAINED AT THE UPPER END. VEHICLE COULD STILL BE DRIVEN HOME GENTLY BUT THERE WAS NOTHING RETAINING THE COIL SPRING TO THE BODY OTHER THAN GRAVITY. BOTH UPPER MOUNTS WERE REPLACED WITH PAINTED REPLACEMENT PARTS FROM THE DEALER. THE LEFT REAR MOUNT HAD NOT FAILED YET, BUT CORROSION WAS RAPIDLY TURNING IT INTO POWDER FROM THE TOP DOWN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

5/18/2007 - COLOMBIA HEIGHTS , MN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, A KNOCKING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE FAILED AND WAS TOWED. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON FAILURE DUE TO SLUDGE BUILD UP IN THE ENGINE. THE ENTIRE ENGINE HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 80,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/29/2006 - FORT WAYNE, IN
I BOUGHT MY 2002 DODGE STRATUS IN OCTOBER OF 2004. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THERE WAS STILL THE FACTORY WARRANTY ON IT BUT FAILED TO TELL ME IT EXPIRED IN ONE WEEK. IT WAS AT THIS ONE WEEK MARK I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR A TICKING NOISE TO THREE DIFFERENT PLACES, TWO OF THEM DODGE DEALERS AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NO PROBLEM. AS THE NOISE GOT WORSE, I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO A DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME MY TIMING CHAIN WAS GOING OUT AND COULD RUIN MY WHOLE ENGINE AT ANY TIME. THE COST OF REPAIR WAS $800. I HAD TO FIGHT WITH CHRYSLER THAT A CAR THIS NEW SHOULD NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THEY AGREED TO PAY HALF. I HAVE ALSO HAD TO RECENTLY REPLACE MY STARTER OCTOBER 2006 AFTER THE FUSE BLOWING THREE TIMES OF WHICH I HAD TO HAVE MY CAR TOWED TO A MECHANIC IN ADDITION TO PAYING FOR REPAIRS. I HATE THIS CAR!!!!!!

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST: HOSE, PIPING, AND CONNECTIONS

11/3/2006 - COLUMBIA, SC
FAX FWD LTR ON BEHALF OF CONSTITUENT , RE 2002 DODGE STRATUS THAT BLEW UP BECAUSE OF STEERING FLUID LEAKAGE. THE MANFACTURE DENIED ANY RESPONSIBILTY FOR THE FAULURE. A YEAR LATER THE CONSUMER RECEIVED A RECALL REGARDING THE HIGH PRESSURE POWER STEERING HOSE, 06V001000.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

10/17/2006 - CROWLEY, LA
FIRST COMPLAINT...ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION ON WET ROADWAYS I WOULD BEGIN TO SLOW DOWN FARTHER BEHIND THAN NORMAL FOR MY STOP OR TURN. EVERY SINGLE TIME MY BREAKS LOCKED UP ON ME AND I SLID. A COUPLE OF TIMES ALMOST ENDED IN A COLLISION. I WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT DEALING WITH A TRAIN. WHEN I STOPPED THE TRAIN HIT THE FRONT END OF MY CAR. IT PULLED OFF MY BUMPER, HOOD, RADIATOR, COOLANT EACH LANDING AT LEAST 75 FEET AWAY. IT ALSO TWISTED MY ENGINE, TRANSMISSION, BENT MY FRAME, AND REAR AXLE. ALL THE WHILE MY BATTERY BLEW UP. OUT OF ALL OF THAT MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

10/16/2006 - POTOSI, MO
STARTED CAR, AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND PASSENGER AIRBAG DEPLOYED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. BROKE WINDSHIELD ON PASSENGER SIDE OF VEHICLE. CHECKED TO SEE IF THERE ARE ANY RECALLS NONE. WANT TO FILE COMPLAINT AGAINST CHRYSLER CORPORATION.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/2/2006 - RHINEBECK, NY
: THE CONTACT STATED FOUR TIMES SINCE PURCHASE, THE VEHICLE REVVED OUT OF CONTROL WHILE STOPPED. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE A PROBLEM. UPDATED 10/18/2006 - THE IRS TIME THIS HAPPENED THE DEALER NOTICED THAT THE INTAKE WAS VERY BLACK AND THAT THE THROTTLE WAS POSSIBLY STICKING, CAUSING THE IAC MOTOR TO OVERCOMPENSATE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/2/2006 - RHINEBECK, NY
: THE CONTACT STATED FOUR TIMES SINCE PURCHASE, THE VEHICLE REVVED OUT OF CONTROL WHILE STOPPED. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE A PROBLEM. UPDATED 10/18/2006 - THE IRS TIME THIS HAPPENED THE DEALER NOTICED THAT THE INTAKE WAS VERY BLACK AND THAT THE THROTTLE WAS POSSIBLY STICKING, CAUSING THE IAC MOTOR TO OVERCOMPENSATE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds