Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2002 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 150 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (35) Visibility (5)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/14/2006 - JANESVILLE, WI
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE HAD AN OIL SLUDGING PROBLEM, INTERNAL OIL LEAKING AND AN INCREASE OF ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION BY THE ENGINE. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALERSHIP DID NOT PROPERLY IDENTIFY THE PROBLEM AND DID NOT HONOR ANY WARRANTY CLAIMS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP WHO DETERMINED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE THE DAMAGE WAS TOO EXTENSIVE TO FIX. THE VEHICLE WAS INOPERATIVE SINCE THE DAY OF THE INCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

7/27/2006 - VINELAND, NJ
THE FRONT TIE ROD ENDS ARE BOTH DEFECTIVE ON MY 2002 DODGE STRATUS. THE CAR HAS ONLY 53000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER, ALL OF WHICH WERE NORMAL DRIVING MILES. I DO NOT FEEL THAT THIS PART SHOULD FAIL AFTER SUCH A SHORT AMOUNT OF TIME.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR: SHOCK ABSORBER

7/7/2006 - AMHERST, NY
I WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT 30 MPH AND DROVE OVER A SLIGHT DEPRESSION IN THE PAVEMENT WHEN I HEARD A LOUD BANG FROM THE PASSENGER RIGHT REAR. THE LOUD BANGING SOUND CONTINUED AS LONG AS THE CAR WAS DRIVEN. I NOTICED A COMPROMISE IN THE HANDLING OF THE VEHICLE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A REGISTERED REPAIR SHOP WHERE I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER FOR OVER TWENTY YEARS. I WAS TOLD NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE SINCE THE REAR STRUT PLATE TOP MOUNT HAD DISINTEGRATED DUE TO THE FACT THEY WERE MADE OUT OF ALUMINUM. THE DRIVER REAR STRUT MOUNT WAS ON THE VERGE OF BREAKING APART ALSO. IT APPEARS THAT ROAD SALT PROBABLY CONTRIBUTED TO THIS SITUATION. THE REPLACEMENT MOUNTS PURCHASED FROM THE DEALER WERE NOT MADE OF ALUMINUM. THE FOLLOWING REPAIR/PARTS WAS PERFORMED: REAR SHOCK & OR STRUT ASSEMBLY (2), UPPER SHOCK MOUNT (2).

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

5/1/2006 - LOGANSPORT, IN
I DRIVE A 2002 DODGE STRATUS 4 DOOR R/T AND NOTICED A SOUND COMING FROM THE REAR OF CAR. I PULLED OVER COULD NOT SEE ANYTHING AND DROVE AGAIN. IT STILL MADE A LOUD THUMP SOUND FROM THE REAR OF CAR. INSPECTED CAR AT HOME WITH PROPER TOOLS, I FOUND THE REAR STRUT MOUNT ON THE LEFT OF CAR WAS BROKE IN TO 6 PIECES. IN SIGHT OF THIS I TOOK THE RIGHT REAR STRUT MOUNT OFF AND FOUND IT TO BE BROKE INTO 2 PIECE WITH A 2 INCH CRACK GOING ACROSS PART OF IT. ORDERED TWO NEW REAR STRUT MOUNTS TO FIND OUT THERE HAS BEEN A MAJOR PART CHANGE. THE OLD PARTS ARE ALUMINUM AND NOT PAINTED AND THE REVISED PARTS ARE STEEL AND ARE PAINTED BLACK. I CALLED DODGE'S COMPLIANT LINE AND WAS HUNG UP ON. PLEASE NOTE THAT 4 DOOR R/T SUSPENSIONS ARE NOT THE SAME AS ALL OTHER 4 DOOR STRATUS CARS. TIRES WORE ON THE INNER EDGES AND THE SHOCKS WERE FREE TO JUMP UP AND DOWN SINCE NOT ATTACHED TO THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/20/2006 - KENOSHA, WI
I DROVE TO KNOXVILLE, TN. I WENT TO A BASKET BALL GAME. ON THE INTERSTATE THE ENGINE STARTED KNOCKING REAL TERRIBLY. I CALLED MY MOM AND SHE SAID TO CHECK THE OIL IN THE MORNING. I DID IT WAS AT A PERFECT LEVEL.(I HAD GOT THE OIL CHANGED ABOUT A WEEK BEFORE THIS TRIP.) I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A MAINTENANCE SHOP. THEY SAID THE OIL HOLES ARE TO SMALL TO LET SUFFICIENT OIL THROUGH TO THE ENGINE AND THAT THE OIL WAS LIKE GUMMY AT THE BOTTOM OF THE ENGINE(HOW WOULD ANY ONE KNOW THAT) AND IT RUINS YOUR ENGINE. I HAD ANOTHER MAINTENANCE SHOP CHECK MY CAR AT HOME IN WI. THEY SAID THE SAME THING THE MECHANIC SAID IN TN. THE CAR NEEDS A NEW ENGINE. THE CAR IS IN MY DRIVE WAY BECAUSE I HAVE NO MONEY TO PUT A NEW ENGINE IN THE CAR. MY MOM WAS GOOD ENOUGH TO DRIVE TO TN AND RENT A UHAUL WITH A TRAILER AND BRING MY CAR BACK. I DON'T ONLY NEED AT LEAST $3000 FOR ENGINE I ALSO OWE MY MOM $700 FOR THE TOWING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/13/2006 - OAK VIEW, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 35MPH ON A WINDING ROAD, CURVING RIGHT, THE STEERING WHEEL JERKED AND THE VEHICLE TURNED LEFT. THE BRAKES SEEMED STIFF WHEN APPLIED. THE VEHICLE HIT A FENCE AND THE DRIVER SUSTAINED SEVERE INJURIES. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, ALTHOUGH SEAT BELTS WERE WORN. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED TOTALED BY THE INSURANCE AGENCY, BUT NO DETERMINATION WAS MADE AS TO WHY THE AIRBAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. HOWEVER, THE INSURANCE AGENCY DID DETERMINE THE ACCIDENT MAY HAVE BEEN CAUSE BY A STEERING OR BRAKE PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

3/13/2006 - OAK VIEW, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 35MPH ON A WINDING ROAD, CURVING RIGHT, THE STEERING WHEEL JERKED AND THE VEHICLE TURNED LEFT. THE BRAKES SEEMED STIFF WHEN APPLIED. THE VEHICLE HIT A FENCE AND THE DRIVER SUSTAINED SEVERE INJURIES. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, ALTHOUGH SEAT BELTS WERE WORN. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED TOTALED BY THE INSURANCE AGENCY, BUT NO DETERMINATION WAS MADE AS TO WHY THE AIRBAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. HOWEVER, THE INSURANCE AGENCY DID DETERMINE THE ACCIDENT MAY HAVE BEEN CAUSE BY A STEERING OR BRAKE PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

3/13/2006 - OAK VIEW, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 35MPH ON A WINDING ROAD, CURVING RIGHT, THE STEERING WHEEL JERKED AND THE VEHICLE TURNED LEFT. THE BRAKES SEEMED STIFF WHEN APPLIED. THE VEHICLE HIT A FENCE AND THE DRIVER SUSTAINED SEVERE INJURIES. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, ALTHOUGH SEAT BELTS WERE WORN. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED TOTALED BY THE INSURANCE AGENCY, BUT NO DETERMINATION WAS MADE AS TO WHY THE AIRBAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. HOWEVER, THE INSURANCE AGENCY DID DETERMINE THE ACCIDENT MAY HAVE BEEN CAUSE BY A STEERING OR BRAKE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/7/2006 - KENOSHA, WI
MY CAR NEEDS A NEW ENGINE. IT HAS ~42000 MILES. THE MECHANICS ONE FROM KNOXVILLE,TN WHERE THE ENGINE DIED AND THE ONE IN KENOSHA,WI WHERE I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR BROUGHT HOME, SAID THE OIL HOLES ARE TO SMALL TO LET SUFFICIENT OIL THRU THE ENGINE. THE CAR IS STILL SITTING AT THE MECHANICS SHOP BECAUSE I DO NOT HAVE $3000.00 TO HAVE IT FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/9/2006 - SAN JACINTO, CA
DODGE STRATUS 2002 2.7 MOTOR FAILURE AT 80,000 DUE TO SLUDGE BUILD UP CAUSED BY WATER LEAKING INTO MOTOR, POOR ENGINE DESIGN AND MANUFACTURER SHOULD OF ADVISED THAT THIS CAR NEEDED AGGRESSIVE OIL CHANGES WITH SYNTHETIC OIL NOT FOSSIL FUEL BASED OIL. STRANDED WIFE ON HIGHWAY ON CHRISTMAS EVE. DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPAIR DUE TO POOR MAINTENANCE. CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. SAID THAT I DID NOT DO ENOUGH OIL CHANGES. CAR WAS MAINTAIN TO COMPANY SPECS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds