Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2002 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 150 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (35) Visibility (5)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/5/2006 - BEDFORD, TX
02/2005 - DURING NORMAL COMMUTE HOURS, I NOTICED MY TRANSMISSION SLIPPING DURING ACCELERATION. TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP (63,067 ODOMETER), THEY SAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION COOLER LINES WERE LEAKING AND BOTH HOSES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.( I PARK MY CAR IN THE SAME SPOT AT WORK AND AT HOME, AND HADN'T NOTICED ANY LEAKAGE) I WAS ASSURED THAT ALTHOUGH THERE WERE NO SPOTS, THAT SHOULD FIX THE PROBLEM ALONG WITH A FLUSH, CLEAN, AND CONDITIONER. UNFORTUNATELY, THOSE PARTS WEREN'T COVERED UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY.($406.62 IN REPAIRS) NOTHING WAS LISTED OR MENTIONED ABOUT ANY OTHER PARTS THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. 11/2005 - ON MY WAY TO WORK, THE TRANSMISSION STARTS SLIPPING AGAIN AND WENT OUT ON ME. THIS TIME I'M BEING TOLD I NEED A FRONT PUMP, VALVE BODY, AND TORQUE CONVERTER ($2,900 IN REPAIRS). WITH 81,000+ MILES ON THE CAR, AND NOW OUT OF WARRANTY, I'M BEING TOLD THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO ABOUT IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/27/2005 - HAVELOCK, NC
THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FAILED AT 59,000 MILES ON MY 2002 DODGE STRATUS. THE VEHICLE STARTED TO MAKE A POPPING SOUND UNDER THE HOOD ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. THE SOUND WAS INTERMITTENT FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS. ON SEPTEMBER 22, 2005, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MAKE A LOUD WHISTLING SOUND AND STARTED TO SHIFT HARD AND/OR DELAY SHIFT. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A REPAIR SHOP AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A HARD PART TRANSMISSION FAILURE. THE TOTAL COST OF REPAIR WAS $2100.00 AND THE VEHICLE WENT OUT OF WARRANTY AT 50,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

9/16/2005 - BISHOPVILLE, SC
WATER OUTLET ERUPTED AND CAUSED VEHICLE TO RUN HOT. ALSO, THE ERUPTION KNOCKED A SLIGHT DENT IN THE HOOD. THE PART WAS ORDERED FROM THE MFR AND REPLACED THE NEXT DAY.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

9/9/2005 - OLATHE, KS
DT: 2002 DODGE STRATUS. THE PROBLEM WAS A BROKEN UPPER REAR RIGHT BALL JOINT. WHILE DRIVING IN A PARKING LOT AT 5 MPH HEARD A NOISE , AND THE BACK END OF THE CAR SETTLED DOWN, UPON INSPECTION THE REAR RIGHT WHEEL WAS LEANING TOWARDS THE CAR. THE CAR WAS NOT DRIVABLE, AND HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED. IT HAS BEEN FIXED AT THE COST OF $200. THERE WERE NO RECALLS. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION IF DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. NO ACCIDENTS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: BLOWER

7/31/2005 - BURTON, MI
WHILE USING THE AIR CONDITIONING, THE BLOWER MOTOR WILL ONLY WORK ON HIGH. HAD THE CAR SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP IN CLARKSTON, MI AND IT WAS FOUND THAT THE RESISTER ON THE BLOWER MOTOR WAS DEFECTIVE. PART WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY IN 2004. ISSUE OCCURRED AGAIN IN JULY OF 2005. WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED AND MY HUSBAND REPLACED THE RESISTOR IN JULY OF 2005. IS THIS A HIGH FAILURE UNIT ON THE 2002 DODGE STRATUS?

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/6/2005 - PUYALLUP, WA
SEVERAL MONTHS AGO I BEGAN NOTICING THAT THE TRANSMISSION ON THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SHIFTING DOWN IN A SMOOTH MANNER. I WENT TO THE LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP AND TALKED WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER, EXPLAINED THE PROBLEMS I WAS EXPERIENCING AND ASKED FOR ADVICE ON WHAT TO DO. THE SERVICE MANAGER SAID THAT WITH THE COMPUTER OPERATED TRANSMISSION, THAT THE COMPUTER IS A LITTLE SLOW AND NOT TO WORRY ABOUT IT. RECENTLY HOWEVER THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN INCREASING IN BOTH FREQUENCY AND SEVERITY. TO THE POINT WHEN I AM COMMING TO A STOP AT A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN THE VEHICLE SURGES FORWARD AS I COME TO A STOP AND IT SHIFTS TO THE LOWEST GEAR. IF THE TREND CONTINUES I CAN SEE THIS EITHER DESTROYING THE TRANSMISSION OR CAUSING AN ACCIDENT AS THE SURGE PUSHES THE VEHICLE FORWARD. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND CONTENDS THAT IT IS JUST A SLOW COMPUTER AND WILL NOT CAUSE ANY PROBLEMS.

View Details

OTHER

4/12/2005 - SACRAMENTO, CA
IN OR AROUND OCTOBER 2004 I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR IT'S 30,000 CHECKUP. I HAVE A 2002 DODGE STRATUS. I TOLD THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN THAT I HAD A "THUD" IN THE FRONT IN OF MY CAR. HE TOLD ME THAT IT WAS MY "FRONT SUSPENSSION". IT WAS FIXED, BUT WAS NOT NOTED ON MY INVOICE. A WHILE LATER I FELT THE SAME "THUD" EVERYTIME I TURNED THE CORNER OR TURNED MY STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT. SOMETIME IN JANUARY MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WELL, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS GOING ON WITH MY 2002 VEHICLE. NOW, MIND YOU, I PAID MY CAR OFF 10 MONTHS AFTER I PURCHASED IT FROM DODGE. ANYWAY, NOT ONLY DID I FEEL THAT I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC BUT I ALSO FEEL THAT CAR IS TOO NEW FOR THE "RACK & PENION" AND MY "EVAP SYSTEM" TO GO OUT. THEY TALKED ME INTO BUYING ANOTHER CAR THIS PAST WEEKEND,APRIL 9, 2005 BUT DECIDED TO RETURN THE CAR ON APRIL 11, 2005. THEY DIDN'T EVEN WANT TO COMPENSATE ME FOR MY CAR BEING A "LEMON" AS THE SALESPERSON DEEMED MY CAR TO BE EXCEPT FOR TRADE MY CAR FOR $6,000.00 AND HAVE PAYMENTS, AGAIN, OF $275.74 FOR 71 MONTHS. I DON'T THINK THAT'S FAIR. FOR ONE, MY CAR IS PAID OFF AND TWO MY CAR IS TOO NEW FOR IT TO HAVE THESE KIND OF PROBLEMS. I WANT TO KNOW IF THERE'S BEEN ANY RECALLS OR PROBLEMS ON THE 2002 DODGE STRATUS'.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION

4/12/2005 - SACRAMENTO, CA
IN OR AROUND OCTOBER 2004 I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR IT'S 30,000 CHECKUP. I HAVE A 2002 DODGE STRATUS. I TOLD THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN THAT I HAD A "THUD" IN THE FRONT IN OF MY CAR. HE TOLD ME THAT IT WAS MY "FRONT SUSPENSSION". IT WAS FIXED, BUT WAS NOT NOTED ON MY INVOICE. A WHILE LATER I FELT THE SAME "THUD" EVERYTIME I TURNED THE CORNER OR TURNED MY STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT. SOMETIME IN JANUARY MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WELL, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS GOING ON WITH MY 2002 VEHICLE. NOW, MIND YOU, I PAID MY CAR OFF 10 MONTHS AFTER I PURCHASED IT FROM DODGE. ANYWAY, NOT ONLY DID I FEEL THAT I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC BUT I ALSO FEEL THAT CAR IS TOO NEW FOR THE "RACK & PENION" AND MY "EVAP SYSTEM" TO GO OUT. THEY TALKED ME INTO BUYING ANOTHER CAR THIS PAST WEEKEND,APRIL 9, 2005 BUT DECIDED TO RETURN THE CAR ON APRIL 11, 2005. THEY DIDN'T EVEN WANT TO COMPENSATE ME FOR MY CAR BEING A "LEMON" AS THE SALESPERSON DEEMED MY CAR TO BE EXCEPT FOR TRADE MY CAR FOR $6,000.00 AND HAVE PAYMENTS, AGAIN, OF $275.74 FOR 71 MONTHS. I DON'T THINK THAT'S FAIR. FOR ONE, MY CAR IS PAID OFF AND TWO MY CAR IS TOO NEW FOR IT TO HAVE THESE KIND OF PROBLEMS. I WANT TO KNOW IF THERE'S BEEN ANY RECALLS OR PROBLEMS ON THE 2002 DODGE STRATUS'.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER BALL JOINT

4/5/2005 - MARTINSBURG, WV
LOWER BALL JOINT FAILURE (SEPARATION) ON RIGHT FRONT OF 2002 DODGE STRATUS, PULLING IN TO DRIVEWAY, UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

3/24/2005 - NORTH PROVIDENCE, RI
WHILE DRIVINGIN INCLEMENT WEATHER THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD COME ON AND OFF ON ITS OWN. THE DRIVER NOTICED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD POP UP AND STAY IN THE UPRIGHT POSITION. THE DRIVER DROVE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AND MECHANIC INFORMED DETERMINED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds