Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2002 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 150 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (35) Visibility (5)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

2/10/2005 - WATERLOO, IL
I WAS JUST PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY GOING LESS THAN 5 MPH WHEN I HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. I PUT MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND LOOKED OVER MY RIGHT SHOULDER AND SAW NOTHING. I PAUSED APPROX. 5 SECONDS BEFORE DECIDING TO PULL FORWARD AND TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO INVESTIGATE. I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND AS THE CAR BEGAN TO ROLL FORWARD THERE WAS A TREMENDOUS EXPLOSION AND THE PASSENGER AIRBAG DEPLOYED, SHATTERING MY WINDSHIELD. I HAVE ASTHMA AND HAVE BEEN HAVING SIGNIFICANT BREATHING PROBLEMS SINCE THE OCCURRENCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/15/2005 - RALEIGH, NC
I BROUGHT CAR TO DEALERSHIP BEFORE WARRANTY ENDED FOR TRANSMISSION WORK. THE SAID THEY FIXED IT BUT 17,000 MILES LATER TRANSMISSION WENT COMPLETELY OUT. DEALER SAYS IT IS NOW MY PROBLEM TO GET FIXED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/12/2004 - SANDY HOOK, KY
CAR HESITATED TO GO INTO GEAR, NEXT DAY, JUST DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND IT STOPS PULLING. THE TRANSMISSION WENT COMPLETELY OUT,RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION!HAULED IT TO A GARAGE, THE TRANSMISSION IS COMPLETELY SHOT. WILL COST $1200.00 TO $1500.00 TO REPLACE. IF SOMEONE WAS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENED THIS WOULD BE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS! FROM WHAT I HAVE BEEN READING THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM IN THESE VEHICLES. IT IS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS SE.I WILL HAVE TO BORROW THE MONEY TO HAVE IT FIXED, AS SO MANY PEOPLE HAVE FROM WHAT I HAVE READ ABOUT THESE AND MANY OTHER DODGE VEHICLES.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

12/11/2004 - SULLIVAN, ME
I WAS DRIVING ALONG THE ROAD AND THE REAR DRIVERS SIDE UPPER BALL JOINT SEPARATED AND THE CAR STARTED SWAYING. LUCKILY I WAS ON A SIDE ROAD WHERE THE SPEED LIMIT WAS 30 MPH AND NOTHING SERIOUS HAPPENED, BUT IF I HAD BEEN TRAVELING DOWN THE INTERSTATE OR OTHER MAJOR HIGHWAY MY FAMILY AND I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT OR EVEN KILLED. I HAD THE CAR REPAIRED AT DARLINGS AUTO SALES IN ELLSWORTH MAINE THEY HAVE THE EXACT DATE IT HAPPENED AND REPAIR INFO IF YOU NEED IT. THEY CONTACTED CHRYSLER TO SEE IF IT WAS COVERED OR NOT. I AM NOT SURE IF THEY DID OR NOT AS I PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRANTY WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR ( IT IS A 2002 DODGE STRATUS) THE CAR HAD JUST OVER 36000 MILES WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I WOULDN'T HAVE THOUGHT MUCH ABOUT IT BUT I WAS WATCHING TV AND THEY WAS SHOWING THE DODGE DURANGO AND DAKOTA HAVING THE SAME THING HAPPENING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

12/9/2004 - BLADENBORO, NC
THE HEADLIGHT CONTINOUSLY BLEW OUT WHILE DRIVING. THE DEALERSHP REPLACED THE LIGHT BULB, BUT COULD NOT IDENTIFY WHAT WAS CAUSING THE PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER TOOK THE HEAD LIGHT ASSMEMBLY APART AND NOTICED THAT THE WIRING SYSTEM HAD MELTED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

11/8/2004 - FORDS, NJ
1ST OCCURREE WAS SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, NEEDED NEW EGR VALVE. AFTER FULL INSPECTION OF VEHICLE ON A VERY BRIGHT DAY I FOUND SLICES IN SIDE WALLS OF TWO TIRES AND THE DOOR PANEL DRIVERS SIDE WAS BROKEN. CAR BROUGHT TO DEALER, SAID TO HAVE ORDERED PARTS AND REPLACED TIRES. TIRES NOT REPLACED. FEW WEEKS LATER, FRONT TIRE BLOW OUT. MAJOR ORDEAL WITH DEALER AND WARRANTY COMPANY TO BE RE-IMBURSED. SHORTLY AFTER THAT CAR BECAME VERY SLUGGISH, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND AN ODOR OR BURNING RUBBER WAS PRESENT. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO DEALER WAS INFORMED THE SOLEINOID TO TRANSMISSION WAS CLIGGED ANDWAS REPLACED AT MY COST. TWO WEEKES LATER THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION WENT VEHICLE HAD 58,000 MILES. HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO A DEALER CLOSE BY TO HAVE REPAIRS COMPLETED, PLACE OF PURCHASE DEALER STATED NOONE WORKS ON OUR VEHICLES. CAR TRANSPORTED AND TRANSMISSION REPLACED. NEXT AFTER TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED, SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED AND VEHICLE BECAME DISABLED, RESULTS A SPEED CONTROL SENSOR IN TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AT MY COST OUT OF POCKET. AGAIN JUST YESTERDAY, VEHICLE BECAME DISABLED, TOWED TO DEALER NOW AWAITING DISPOSITION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

11/4/2004 - WEST CHICAGO, IL
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A USED 2002 DODGE STRATUS SE. I PURCHASED THIS CAR WITH 35,000 MILES AND EVERYTHING APPEARED IN ORDER. SUDDENLY ONE DAY A LOUD CLICKING NOISE STARTED COMING FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT WHEEL WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN FOR A BRAKE INSPECTION FOR THE CLICKING NOISE AND WAS TOLD THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR ROTER WAS WARPED. I EXPLAINED THAT THE NOISE WAS EMANATING FROM THE FRONT END. THE REPAIR SHOP STATED THAT THE NOISE ORIGINATED IN THE REAR ROTERS AND TRAVELED THROUGH THE FRAME TO THE FRONT END.THE REAR ROTERS WERE RECUT. A FEW DAYS LATER THE NOISE RETURNED. I CALLED THE REPAIR SHOP BACK AND RELATED THAT THE NOISE WAS STILL COMING FROM THE FRONT END. I WAS TOLD THAT THIS SHOP HAS SEEN NUMEROUS STRATUS'S AND MANY HAVE THIS SAME PROBLEM. THE REPAIR SHOP DOES NOT KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS AND TO TAKE IT TO A DEALERSHIP. ADDITIONALLY,AFTER THE CLICKING NOISE WAS DISCOVERED I EXPIRIENCED THE BRAKES LOCKING UP TWICE. THE ABS DOES NOT SEEM TO BE WORKING. THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRENTY NOW AND THE DODGE DEALERSHIP I SPOKE WITH STATED THAT THEY COULD FIX THE CLICKING NOISE AND THE ABS PROBLEM FOR $1500.00 A SEARCH OF YOUR DATA BASE REVEALED NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS CONCERNING A SIMILIAR FRONT END NOISE AND ABS FAILURE. IF THERE ARE SO MANY COMPLAINTS CONCERNING THIS VEHICLE'S SYSTEM THEN WHY ISN'T A RECALL BEING INITIATED. OR DOES IT TAKE A FATALITY TO GET THIS PROBLEM ADDRESSED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/27/2004 - FORT WAYNE, IN
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON 9/15/04, TOOK IT TO DEALER ON 9/16/04 AND WAS INFORMED THE TRANSMISSION WAS BAD AND NEEDED REPLACED. MY CAR AT THE TIME OF FALIURE HAD 43,125 MILES ON AND THAT IS IT, THERE WAS NO PRIOR WARNING OR KNOWLEDGE OF THE TRANSMISSION GOING BAD, I HAVE HAD THE CAR SERVICED JUST AS THE MANUAL SAYS TO AND THERE WAS NO WARNING. THE CONSEQUENCES OF THIS IS IT COST ME $1325 DOLLARS TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION RE-BUILT. THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE RE-BUILT.*A

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

9/24/2004 - COUNTRY CLUB HILLS, IL
WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH CONSUMER HEARD A NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. SUDDENLY THE ENGINE STALLED. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHO, AND MECHANIC DETERMINED ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. DEALERSHIP WAS NOTIFIED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/21/2004 - AURORA, IL
CONSUMER COMPLAINED ABOUT A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. WHILE STEPPING ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TRANSMISSION DID NOT GOE INTO GEAR. CONSUMER HEARD A WHINING SOUND, THEN VEHICLE POPPED, AND WENT INTO GEAR. HOWEVER, THE WHINING SOUND DID NOT NOT STOP.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds