Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2002 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1009 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (77) Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (20) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (11)
Child Seat (2) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Unknown Or Other (33)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (11) Power Train (105) Service Brakes Hydraulic (158) Vehicle Speed Control (103)
Electrical System (121) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seat Belts (13) Steering (70) Visibility (34)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Seats (3) Structure (86) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (34) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (37) Suspension (75) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (297)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 136
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/10/2019 - CHICAGO, IL
THE MOUNTS THAT THE ENGINE SITS ON RUSTED AWAY, CAUSING THE ENGINE TO DROP ONTO THE STEERING SYSTEM WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/10/2019 - CHICAGO, IL
THE MOUNTS THAT THE ENGINE SITS ON RUSTED AWAY, CAUSING THE ENGINE TO DROP ONTO THE STEERING SYSTEM WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

ENGINE

7/10/2019 - CHICAGO, IL
THE MOUNTS THAT THE ENGINE SITS ON RUSTED AWAY, CAUSING THE ENGINE TO DROP ONTO THE STEERING SYSTEM WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/8/2019 - LEHIGHTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ON FOUR SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM LOOSENED AND NEEDED TO BE TORQUED TO THE MANUFACTURER'S SPECIFICATIONS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED SEVERAL YEARS AGO PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V165000 (STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED A STATE INSPECTION DUE TO THE FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED; HOWEVER, THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 234,074.

View Details

STEERING

5/28/2019 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
IT'S DIFFICULT TO STEER OR KEEP STRAIGHT

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/21/2019 - CANYON COUNTRY, CA
MY VEHICLE WILL RANDOMLY LOCK UP AND WHEN I START IT AND TRY TO MOVE IT INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE FROM PARK. AND WHEN I TRY TO TURN OFF MY VEHICLE SO THAT I CAN RESTART IT MY VEHICLE WON+T EVEM ATTEMPT TO TURN OVER OR START BUT MY ELECTRICAL WILL STILL WORK JUST FINE

View Details

ENGINE

4/21/2019 - CANYON COUNTRY, CA
MY VEHICLE WILL RANDOMLY LOCK UP AND WHEN I START IT AND TRY TO MOVE IT INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE FROM PARK. AND WHEN I TRY TO TURN OFF MY VEHICLE SO THAT I CAN RESTART IT MY VEHICLE WON+T EVEM ATTEMPT TO TURN OVER OR START BUT MY ELECTRICAL WILL STILL WORK JUST FINE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/21/2019 - CANYON COUNTRY, CA
MY VEHICLE WILL RANDOMLY LOCK UP AND WHEN I START IT AND TRY TO MOVE IT INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE FROM PARK. AND WHEN I TRY TO TURN OFF MY VEHICLE SO THAT I CAN RESTART IT MY VEHICLE WON+T EVEM ATTEMPT TO TURN OVER OR START BUT MY ELECTRICAL WILL STILL WORK JUST FINE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/1/2019 - DETROIT, MI
FRAME RUSTED OUT. FORD HAS TAKEN OVER 2 WEEKS TO ATTEMPT TO FIX. I'M HAVING TO RELY ON FRIENDS AND FAMILY FOR A RIDE. NO COMMUNICATION WITHIN DEALER AND CUSTOMER

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/9/2019 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
RUSTED SUBFRAME- WHILE GETTING AN OIL CHANGE I WAS TOLD THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS SO RUSTED THAT THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE PLACED ON A LIFT. THE MECHANIC SAID IT WAS THE WORST HE HAD EVER SEEN AND THE CAR WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 136
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds