Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3133 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (139) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (34)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (36)
Electrical System (124) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Power Train (1538) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (144)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (33) Steering (148) Visibility (127)
Engine (33) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (27) Structure (461) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Interior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (450) Wheels (74)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (48)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 384
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/14/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE WHEN I STOP AT STOP SIGNS AND LIGHTS. THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT GO OUT. I GOT A CODE READING, THERE WERE MANY FUEL EJECTION ISSUES. I GOT A DIAGNOSTIC TEST TODAY, AND WAS TOLD IT COULD BE THE FUEL PUMP. WHEN I PUT GAS IN, THE GAS PUMP GETS STUCK INSIDE SOMETIMES. DOES NOT COME OUT SMOOTHLY. WHAT IS GOING ON?

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE WHEN I STOP AT STOP SIGNS AND LIGHTS. THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT GO OUT. I GOT A CODE READING, THERE WERE MANY FUEL EJECTION ISSUES. I GOT A DIAGNOSTIC TEST TODAY, AND WAS TOLD IT COULD BE THE FUEL PUMP. WHEN I PUT GAS IN, THE GAS PUMP GETS STUCK INSIDE SOMETIMES. DOES NOT COME OUT SMOOTHLY. WHAT IS GOING ON?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/14/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE WHEN I STOP AT STOP SIGNS AND LIGHTS. THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT GO OUT. I GOT A CODE READING, THERE WERE MANY FUEL EJECTION ISSUES. I GOT A DIAGNOSTIC TEST TODAY, AND WAS TOLD IT COULD BE THE FUEL PUMP. WHEN I PUT GAS IN, THE GAS PUMP GETS STUCK INSIDE SOMETIMES. DOES NOT COME OUT SMOOTHLY. WHAT IS GOING ON?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2015 - ASHLAND, MA
THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT BETWEEN GEARS IN MY 2002 FORD EXPLORER RESULTING IN MY BEING UNABLE TO ACCELERATE ON THE MASSACHUSETTS TURNPIKE AT RUSH HOUR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/6/2015 - LOMPOC, CA
I GOT A KNOCK ON MY DOOR BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT TELLING ME THAT MY CAR SET ON FIRE I FILED A CLAIM WITH MY INSURANCE AND THEY TOLD ME TO FILE A CLAIM WITH FORD BECAUSE THEY HAVE REASON TO BELIEVE IT WAS THE CRUISE CONTROL BUTTON THAT SET THE CAR ON FIRE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/2/2015 - PARMA, OH
TRANSMISSION WILL NOT SHIFT FROM 2ND TO 3RD GEAR UNLESS YOU LET OFF GAS

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

3/27/2015 - COLUMBUS, GA
PARKED ON HILL OR FLAT GROUND IT HAPPEN BEFORE,BUT THE GEAR SHIFT GETS STUCK.YOU CAN TURN THE STEERING WHEEL RIGHT,LEFT TO GET IT TO UNLOCK BUT IT WANT, NO LOCKED BRAKES.BUT I KEPT ON TRING TO GET MY TRUCK IN GEAR TO POINT OF DOING DANGERS THINGS AS OF STICKING ONE FOOT OUT OF THE DOOR AND ROCKING IT BACK AND FORTH.TO GET THE LOCK TO BRAKE BUT THAT DID NOT WORK THEN I TRIED AGAIN AND THE GEAR SHIFT BROKE A ALUMINUM PART ON THE INSIDE BROKE AND I HAVE SAW THREE MORE LIKE THIS AND SOME MORE REPORTS OF THIS AND NOTHING HAS BEEN SAID OR DONE ABOUT THIS,THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2015 - MCLEAN, VA
IN 2009 ON THE WAY TO OUR FAMILY VACATION OUR TRANSMISSION FAILED. WE HAD IT TOWED AND THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED WITH A FORD REBUILT TRANSMISSION WITH A WARRANTY PURCHASE. IN 2012 THIS REBUILT TRANSMISSION FAILED AND WE HAD IT TAKEN TO A FORD DEALER AND THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED WITH ANOTHER TRANSMISSION. THIS CURRENT TRANSMISSION IS EXHIBITING THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS THE LAST TWO DID PRIOR TO FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD "BUMP" AND THEN I LOST ALL ACCELERATION. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY FORD, THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS TO ALL OF THE SUDDEN LOSE A TRANSMISSION WHILE DRIVING. I HAVE SEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THE TRANSMISSION OF THIS YEAR OF VEHICLE, SO THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A PROBLEM. TRANSMISSIONS ARE NOT CHEAP BY ANY MEANS, I DON'T KNOW HOW I'M GOING TO GET THE MONEY TO FIX MINE. I CURRENTLY HAVE NO VEHICLE AND HAVE HAD TO RESORT TO BUMMING RIDES FROM PEOPLE JUST TO GET TO WORK. THIS VEHICLE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/7/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS , MN
REAR ENDED SEMI THAT SUDDENLY STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME. DRIVER'S AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY BUT PASSENGER AIR BAG DID . NO PASSENGER IN CAR. BASICALLY DRIVER AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY WHEN IT SHOULD. FORD SHOULD PAY! IS THERE ANY CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR THIS? FIRST ACCIDENT WITH THE VEHICLE. OWNED SINCE 2003!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 384
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds