Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3089 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (135) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (34)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (34)
Electrical System (124) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Power Train (1522) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (140)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (12) Seat Belts (33) Steering (145) Visibility (126)
Engine (26) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (26) Structure (456) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Latches Locks Linkages (48) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (449) Wheels (74)
Equipment (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 378
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/27/2014 - FAIR LAWN, NJ
REAR LIFT GATE PLASTIC PANEL CRACKED, ALLOWING WATER TO ENTER. I HAVE NOTICED MANY FORD EXPLORERS WITH THE SAME ISSUE. WHY HAS FORD IGNORED THIS DEFECT, I SEE MANY COMPLANTS ON-LINE WITH THE SAME FLAW BY OTHER EXPLORER OWNERS..

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/21/2014 - WATERLOO, NY
I WAS DRIVING MY 02 EXPLORER ON THE THRUWAY FOR 2 AN 1/2 HOURS AND WHEN I GOT TO MY DESTINATION THE TRANSMISSION BUCKED AND SHUDDERED AND REVVED UP WHILE I WAS TRYING TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT I ALMOST HIT THE PERSON IN FRONT OF ME BECAUSE OF THE TRANSMISSION FAILING WHEN I LOOKED AT MY INSTRUMENT PANEL ON THE DASH THE OVERDRIVE LIGHT WAS FLASHING SO AFTER I GOT HOME I CHECKED THE INTERNET AND WOULD YOU KNOW THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE THAT ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM... FORD SHOULD HAVE A RECALL FOR THIS TRANSMISSION BECAUSE WHAT HAPPENED TO ME MIGHT HAPPEN TO SOMEONE ELSE WITH DEADLY RESULTS... I TALKED TO MY TRANSMISSION SPECIALIST AND HE SAID IT NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION THE TRUCK DOESN'T EVEN HAVE 150,000 ON IT SO I CONTACTED FORD AND THEY CAN'T HELP ME BECAUSE THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS TRUCK... FORD NEEDS TO FIX THEIR MANUFACTURE ERROR HERE BECAUSE WHAT THEY ARE DOING IS FRAUD THEY CLAIM THAT THEIR TRANSMISSIONS ARE GOOD BUT LIKE WITH A LOT OF THE COMPLAINTS I HAVE READ THEIR TRANNYS DIED BEFORE 100,000 MILES SO FOR THEM TO SELL DEFECTED SUVS IS FRAUDULENT IN ITS SELF BECAUSE NOT ONLY DO WE THE CUSTOMERS HAVE TO PAY ALL THIS MONEY FOR THE VEHICLE BUT WE ALSO HAVE TO PUT A NEW TRANSMISSION IN THEM BEFORE 100,000 MILES AT THE COST OF 3500 TO 4000 DOLLARS...

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/21/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
I PURCHASED THIS TO USE AS A SECOND VEHICLE FOR CAMPING TRIPS SO THE MILEAGE ON IT IS VERY LOW FOR ITS AGE. SUDDENLY ONE DAY OF NORMAL LOCAL DRIVING, THE O/D LIGHT STARTED FLASHING AND THE VEHICLE STARTED TO RUN VERY ROUGH. IT COULDN'T SEEM TO ACCELERATE AND RPMS WERE HIGH. I HAD TO DRIVE HOME WITH EMERGENCY FLASHERS ON SINCE THE CAR FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE ANY MOMENT. SINCE O/D FLASHING MEANS SOMETHING WITH TRANSMISSION, I TOOK IT TO TWO DIFFERENT TRANSMISSION REPAIR SHOPS WHO BOTH DIAGNOSED A BAD TRANSMISSION THAT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AT ABOUT $3,500. I WAS SHOCKED THAT I WOULD NEED A NEW TRANSMISSION WITH ONLY 43000 MILES ON VEHICLE DESPITE ITS AGE. BOTH SHOPS INFORMED ME THAT THE 2002 FORD EXPLORERS ARE NOTORIOUS FOR BAD TRANSMISSIONS. I CALLED FORD MOTOR COMPANY TO REQUEST ASSISTANCE WITH THIS REPAIR. THEY WOULD NOT HELP ME IN ANY WAY. THE VEHICLE IS NOT DRIVABLE AND I AM NOT IN A FINANCIAL POSITION TO TAKE ON SUCH AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR FOR A SECOND VEHICLE. RIGHT NOW IT IS SITTING UNUSED IN MY DRIVEWAY WHILE COSTING ME TO KEEP IT INSURED. CAN'T BELIEVE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME SINCE I THOUGHT I WAS BUYING A REPUTABLE PRODUCT. FORD ABANDONED ME WHEN THEIR PRODUCT FAILED. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER FORD PRODUCT AGAIN. THE LEAST FORD COULD HAVE DONE WAS ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEIR MISTAKES AND NOT CHEAT THE PUBLIC. OTHER ISSUES I AM HAVING IS FLAKING PEELING PAINT AND A CRACK THROUGH THE FORD EMBLEM ON THE REAR DOOR PANEL.

View Details

WHEELS: LUGS/NUTS/BOLTS

8/11/2014 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE RODE ROUGHLY. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THREE OF THE WHEEL STUDS WERE SHEARED OFF. THE FAILURE OCCURRED FOUR TIMES WITH THE REMAINING WHEEL STUDS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/10/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND FELT A SHARP JERK/PULL TO THE RIGHT. AT FIRST THOUGHT IT WAS A FLAT TIRE SO GOT OFF ON NEXT EXIT. WASN'T A FLAT TIRE BUT COULD SMELL SOMETHING AWFUL. MADE GRINDING SOUND AND STILL HAD BAD SMELL, KNEW WE HAD TO DRIVE IT BACK TO THE PLACE WE ARE STAYING AT. HAD HAZARD LIGHTS ON AND ONLY DROVE 10-15 MPH BECAUSE OF THE SOUND AND BECAUSE OF HOW SCARY IT WAS. KNEW SOMETHING BAD WAS HAPPENING TO OUR CAR. BRAKES AT THIS POINT PRACTICALLY WENT OUT. WOULD NOT HAVE TO PRESS BRAKES TO STOP VEHICLE AT A RED LIGHT, THE CAR WOULD JUST STOP. STEERING WHEEL WAS NOT EVEN, BUT MORE OR LESS 90 DEGREES TO THE RIGHT. PULLED INTO THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND INTO THE DRIVEWAY AND A CAR LEAVING THE STREET SAW THAT OUR VEHICLE AT THIS POINT WAS ON FIRE! EXTINGUISH FIRE (SINCE IT WAS A GAS FIRE) AND LOOKED AT THE DAMAGE. LOOKS LIKE THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WASN'T EVEN CONNECTED TO ANYTHING. DO NOT KNOW HOW OR WHEN FIRE STARTED BUT THE FLAMES WHEN WE NOTICED WERE ABOUT 1 FOOT TALL AND WIDE BY THE INTERNAL DRIVER SIDE WHEEL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/10/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND FELT A SHARP JERK/PULL TO THE RIGHT. AT FIRST THOUGHT IT WAS A FLAT TIRE SO GOT OFF ON NEXT EXIT. WASN'T A FLAT TIRE BUT COULD SMELL SOMETHING AWFUL. MADE GRINDING SOUND AND STILL HAD BAD SMELL, KNEW WE HAD TO DRIVE IT BACK TO THE PLACE WE ARE STAYING AT. HAD HAZARD LIGHTS ON AND ONLY DROVE 10-15 MPH BECAUSE OF THE SOUND AND BECAUSE OF HOW SCARY IT WAS. KNEW SOMETHING BAD WAS HAPPENING TO OUR CAR. BRAKES AT THIS POINT PRACTICALLY WENT OUT. WOULD NOT HAVE TO PRESS BRAKES TO STOP VEHICLE AT A RED LIGHT, THE CAR WOULD JUST STOP. STEERING WHEEL WAS NOT EVEN, BUT MORE OR LESS 90 DEGREES TO THE RIGHT. PULLED INTO THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND INTO THE DRIVEWAY AND A CAR LEAVING THE STREET SAW THAT OUR VEHICLE AT THIS POINT WAS ON FIRE! EXTINGUISH FIRE (SINCE IT WAS A GAS FIRE) AND LOOKED AT THE DAMAGE. LOOKS LIKE THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WASN'T EVEN CONNECTED TO ANYTHING. DO NOT KNOW HOW OR WHEN FIRE STARTED BUT THE FLAMES WHEN WE NOTICED WERE ABOUT 1 FOOT TALL AND WIDE BY THE INTERNAL DRIVER SIDE WHEEL.

View Details

WHEELS

8/10/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND FELT A SHARP JERK/PULL TO THE RIGHT. AT FIRST THOUGHT IT WAS A FLAT TIRE SO GOT OFF ON NEXT EXIT. WASN'T A FLAT TIRE BUT COULD SMELL SOMETHING AWFUL. MADE GRINDING SOUND AND STILL HAD BAD SMELL, KNEW WE HAD TO DRIVE IT BACK TO THE PLACE WE ARE STAYING AT. HAD HAZARD LIGHTS ON AND ONLY DROVE 10-15 MPH BECAUSE OF THE SOUND AND BECAUSE OF HOW SCARY IT WAS. KNEW SOMETHING BAD WAS HAPPENING TO OUR CAR. BRAKES AT THIS POINT PRACTICALLY WENT OUT. WOULD NOT HAVE TO PRESS BRAKES TO STOP VEHICLE AT A RED LIGHT, THE CAR WOULD JUST STOP. STEERING WHEEL WAS NOT EVEN, BUT MORE OR LESS 90 DEGREES TO THE RIGHT. PULLED INTO THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND INTO THE DRIVEWAY AND A CAR LEAVING THE STREET SAW THAT OUR VEHICLE AT THIS POINT WAS ON FIRE! EXTINGUISH FIRE (SINCE IT WAS A GAS FIRE) AND LOOKED AT THE DAMAGE. LOOKS LIKE THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WASN'T EVEN CONNECTED TO ANYTHING. DO NOT KNOW HOW OR WHEN FIRE STARTED BUT THE FLAMES WHEN WE NOTICED WERE ABOUT 1 FOOT TALL AND WIDE BY THE INTERNAL DRIVER SIDE WHEEL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/31/2014 - PROVO, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKING, THE SHIFT SELECTOR FRACTURED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT FROM DRIVE TO PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: LEVER AND LINKAGE: COLUMN SHIFT

7/31/2014 - PROVO, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKING, THE SHIFT SELECTOR FRACTURED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT FROM DRIVE TO PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/24/2014 - DENVER, CO
BACK TAILGATE PANEL WAS CRACKED (DEFECT) AND THE BACK WINDOW JUST EXPLODED WHEN THE TAILGATE WAS OPEN

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 378
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds