Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3194 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (149) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (35)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electrical System (133) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Power Train (1560) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (149)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (33) Steering (151) Visibility (128)
Engine (39) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (27) Structure (476) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Interior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (454) Wheels (76)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (48)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 392
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/19/2016 - NORTH FORT MYERS, FL
I JUST BOUGHT MY VEHICLE ON 5/17/20 AT A LOT CALLED GRANT MOTORS 2744 FOWLER ST FORT MYERS FL, 33901 DURING THE DAYTIME, THEY KEEP PUSHING , AND PUSHING ME TO BUY IT TOOK MY ID TO COPY WE LEFT WITHOUT MY ID, HAD ANOTHER VEHICLE I WANTED TO BUY BUT HAD TO GO BACK TO GRANT TO GET ID, WHEN PETE STARTED AT US AGAIN AND KEEP COMING DOWN ON PRICE, TILL MY BROTHER TOLD ME IT WAS WORTH IT TO BUY IT, SO I DID, WELL DURING THE DAY IN BRIGHT SUNSHINE YOU COULDN'T SEE THE TAILLIGHTS, NOR THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS, AND AS DRIVING IT HOME TURNED ON RADIO TO LISTEN TO IT , ALL'S IT WOULD DO IS FLICKER, WOULDN'T CHANGE STATIONS, WOULDN'T DO NOTHING AT ALL, AND THEY PUT A CARFAX FOLDER ON MY DASH FOR ME TO READ AT HOME , THAT IS WHEN I SEEN THE INFO ABOUT THE RECALLS AND FIGURED IT HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH MY LIGHTS OUTSIDE AND IN THE DASH AND THE STEREO NOT WORKING AT ALL. THEM MY BROTHER SAID HE WONDERED WHY THEY CONTINUED TO DROP THE PRICE TO WAY MORE THEN THEY FIRST ASKED FOR AS IF THEY NEW AHEAD OF TIME THE ISSUES AND DIDN'T TELL US ABOUT ANY OF IT. SO COULD SOMEONE PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON , I NOW HAVE NOTHING TO DRIVE AND NO MONEY TO BUY ANOTHER I'M OLD RAISING TWO GRANDBABIES ONE WITH AUTISM , THE OTHER WITH BIPOLAR PLEASE HELP ME OUT. SITTING IN WALMART PARKING LOT, AND IN MOTION TO GO HOME FAMILY HAD TO STAY BEHIND ME TO GET HOME SAFELY,

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/19/2016 - NORTH FORT MYERS, FL
I JUST BOUGHT MY VEHICLE ON 5/17/20 AT A LOT CALLED GRANT MOTORS 2744 FOWLER ST FORT MYERS FL, 33901 DURING THE DAYTIME, THEY KEEP PUSHING , AND PUSHING ME TO BUY IT TOOK MY ID TO COPY WE LEFT WITHOUT MY ID, HAD ANOTHER VEHICLE I WANTED TO BUY BUT HAD TO GO BACK TO GRANT TO GET ID, WHEN PETE STARTED AT US AGAIN AND KEEP COMING DOWN ON PRICE, TILL MY BROTHER TOLD ME IT WAS WORTH IT TO BUY IT, SO I DID, WELL DURING THE DAY IN BRIGHT SUNSHINE YOU COULDN'T SEE THE TAILLIGHTS, NOR THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS, AND AS DRIVING IT HOME TURNED ON RADIO TO LISTEN TO IT , ALL'S IT WOULD DO IS FLICKER, WOULDN'T CHANGE STATIONS, WOULDN'T DO NOTHING AT ALL, AND THEY PUT A CARFAX FOLDER ON MY DASH FOR ME TO READ AT HOME , THAT IS WHEN I SEEN THE INFO ABOUT THE RECALLS AND FIGURED IT HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH MY LIGHTS OUTSIDE AND IN THE DASH AND THE STEREO NOT WORKING AT ALL. THEM MY BROTHER SAID HE WONDERED WHY THEY CONTINUED TO DROP THE PRICE TO WAY MORE THEN THEY FIRST ASKED FOR AS IF THEY NEW AHEAD OF TIME THE ISSUES AND DIDN'T TELL US ABOUT ANY OF IT. SO COULD SOMEONE PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON , I NOW HAVE NOTHING TO DRIVE AND NO MONEY TO BUY ANOTHER I'M OLD RAISING TWO GRANDBABIES ONE WITH AUTISM , THE OTHER WITH BIPOLAR PLEASE HELP ME OUT. SITTING IN WALMART PARKING LOT, AND IN MOTION TO GO HOME FAMILY HAD TO STAY BEHIND ME TO GET HOME SAFELY,

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/16/2016 - HOT SPRINGS VILLAGE, AR
MY POWER STEERING STUCK CAUSED A WRECK!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2016 - HOT SPRINGS VILLAGE, AR
MY POWER STEERING STUCK CAUSED A WRECK!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/16/2016 - HOT SPRINGS VILLAGE, AR
MY POWER STEERING STUCK CAUSED A WRECK!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/7/2016 - PORTLAND, OR
BOTH SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED DRIVING ON INTERSTATE AT 55 MPH WITH NO APPARENT CAUSE. THE CAR WAS NOT INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT AND THERE WAS NO OTHER DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE.THE FRONT AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE SHOULDER OF THE FREEWAY AND CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE TO HAVE THE CARE TOWED. THE EXPLOSION WAS QUITE TRAUMATIC AND IT TOOK ME SEVERAL SECONDS TO REALIZE JUST WHAT HAD HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2016 - CALDWELL, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/27/2016 - EUBANK, KY
02 EXPLORER STOP SHIFTING FROM 2ND TO 3RD GEAR, AFTER 2ND GEAR WHEN IT'S TIME TO SHIFT IT SOUNDS LIKE IT GOES IN NEUTRAL, WHEN I LET OFF IT FINALLY SHIFTS (HARD) IT'S VERY DANGEROUS WHEN DRIVING IN FRONT OF TRAFFIC I'M AFRAID FOR MYSELF AND MY CHILDREN, THIS IS AN ISSUE FOR ALOT OF PEOPLE, PLEASE HELP US WITH THIS ISSUE, THIS REALLY NEEDS TO BE RECALLED THANK YOU

View Details

WHEELS

4/27/2016 - PLANT CITY, FL
WHEEL STUDS BREAKING OFF & CAUSING DANGER FOR MY FAMILY,THEREFORE MAKING IT UNSAFE FOR THE FAMILY.MANY REPORTS HAVE BEEN MADE ABOUT THESE PARTICULAR VEHICLES.WHEN IM ABLE I WILL GET RID OF BOTH MY FORD VEHICLES FOR MY FAMILIES SAFETY & WELLBEING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/27/2016 - NORWALK, CT
TAKATA RECALL . MY OD LIGHT KEEPS BLINKING , TAKES FOREVER TO SHIFT I HAVE TO TAKE MY FEET OF THE GAS UNTIL I HEAR IT SHIFT THEN I CAN PRESS THE GAS AGAIN AND THE CAR JERKS WHEN THE GEARS SHIFT. THE CAR WILL SHUT OFF IF I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE OR IF I CHANGE THE GEAR TO DRIVE . THERE SEEMS TO BE A LOT OF ISSUES BUT THE OD LIGHT SEEMS TO BE COMMON. I TOOK IT TO MORE THAN ONE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT ITS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. WHY HASN'T FORD TAKEN RESPONSIBILITY AND RECALL THIS ISSUE IF ITS HAPPENED TO SO MANY OF US . I AM A MOTHER OF FOUR THAT NEEDS HER CAR AND THIS IS UNFAIR BECAUSE ITS A VERY EXPENSIVE FIX I WAS QUOTED BETWEEN $2,500-$3,000

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 392
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds