Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3253 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (156) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (36)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (16) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (39)
Electrical System (143) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Power Train (1578) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (154)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (35) Steering (155) Visibility (132)
Engine (43) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (29) Structure (483) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Interior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (14) Suspension (460) Wheels (77)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (48)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 400
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/28/2018 - NOVI, MI
REAR HATCH PANEL APPLIQUE CRACKED FOR NO APPARENT REASON

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/27/2018 - NORTHVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO BRAKE, THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE FLOORBOARD. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN UNKNOWN COLLISION FACILITY AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/4/2018 - SALEM, OR
BLINKERS AND GAUGES WON'T WORK ALSO BRIGHT LIGHTS DO NOT WORK. EVERYTHING ELSE WORKS FINE INCLUDING EMERGENCY FLASHERS. I'VE CHANGED RELAY AND CHECKED FUSES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/5/2018 - WATERVLIET, NY
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 10 MILES TOOK A RIGHT INTO THE LIBIARY PARKING LOT AND MY FRONT SIDE DRIVERS TIRE SNAPPED THE BALL JOINT COMPLETELY SNAPPED AND IT BROKE THE SPRING, UPPER CONTROL ARM, SWAY BAR AND TYIROD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2018 - FREWSBURG, NY
WELL I HAVE A 2002 FORD EXPLORER XLT. IT HAS THE TRAILER BRAKE WHICH I NEVER HAVE USED YET. I HAVE A COUPLE ISSUES WITH IT. THE THEFT LIGHT BLINKS AS LONG AS THE VEHICLE AIN'T RUNNING. SOME TIMES IT DOESN'T LIKE TO START AND HAS A BRAND NEW BATTERY. SOMETIMES WHEN PUT IN GEAR WHILE RUNNING IT WILL SHUT IT'S SELF OFF. I ALSO NOTICED WHEN I BOUGHT IT FROM ANOTHER PRIVATE SELL THAT WHEN I WAS DRIVING THE EXPLORER THAT I KEPT SMELLING A BURNING SMELL LIKE PLASTIC AND WIRES AS WELL AS SMOKE AND HEAT ADMITTING FROM THE CENTER CONSOLE AREA. I DROPPED A PIECE OF PLASTIC IN THE CENTER CONSOLE AREA. I PULLED UP THE CENTER CONSOLE AREA PLASTIC AND WITNESSED THE FACTORY WIRING THAT RUNS TO THE CENTER CONSOLE LIGHTER AND ELSE WHERE SPARKING AND SMOKING. I GOT IT TO STOP AND NOTICED THAT THE FIBERGLASS CLOTH THING THE FACTORY PUT AROUND IT WAS BADLY BURNED AS WELL AS ALMOST HALFWAY THROUGH ALL THE CENTER CONSOLE ARE WIRES ABOUT AN INCH LONG AS WELL AS THE PLASTIC BOTTOM AREA TO THE CENTER CONSOLE CUP AREA. THE BURNED PLASTIC AREA IS ALSO STARTED TO MELT. I HAVE PICTURES ON MY CELL PHONE. I SHOWED THE PICTURES TO THE RECEPTION GUY AT THE JAMESTOWN NY 14701 FORD DEALER SERVICE DESK. HE GASPED AND LOOKED GENUINELY SCARED THAT , THAT HAPPENED. I'M SCARED THAT THIS HAPPENED. I DON'T WANT IT TO CATCH FIRE GOING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH MY KIDS AND NEWBORN BABY IN IT. THIS IS A MANUFACTURE ISSUE WHICH I FEEL SHOULD BE FIXED AT FORDS EXPENSE NOT OURS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

2/20/2018 - HAYWARD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A FAILURE ON THE REAR DOOR HANDLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED A CRACK BETWEEN THE DOOR HANDLE AND GLASS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/11/2018 - KENTWOOD, MI
HAD A BAD BATTERY AND NOW 4X4 WON'T WORK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/2/2018 - WILLIAMSBURG, VA
AFTER JUMPING THE VEHICLE DUE TO DEAD BATTERY GEAR SHIFTER SNAPPED WHEN SHIFTING CAR INTO DRIVE. VEHICLE STUCK IN REVERSE ALSO NEED A NEW TRANSMISSION. FORM CARS ARE WORTHLESS! DON+T BUY A FORD!!

View Details

STEERING

11/15/2017 - EDINA, MN
THE SHIFT LEVER LITERALLY SNAPPED OFF AT THE STEERING COLUMN WHILE PUTTING THE CAR INTO DRIVE. CAR COULDN'T BE SHIFTED INTO PARK, STILL RUNNING. KEYS COULDN'T EVEN BE REMOVED TO TURN THE CAR OFF. VERY DANGEROUS. SEEMS LIKE A FAIRLY COMMON PROBLEM AMONG 2002 FORD EXPLORER OWNERS. MANY COMPLAINTS FILED HERE: HTTPS://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/FORD/EXPLORER/2002/ACCESSORIES-INTERIOR/GEAR_SHIFT_LEVER_FELL_OFF-2.SHTML

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/15/2017 - EDINA, MN
THE SHIFT LEVER LITERALLY SNAPPED OFF AT THE STEERING COLUMN WHILE PUTTING THE CAR INTO DRIVE. CAR COULDN'T BE SHIFTED INTO PARK, STILL RUNNING. KEYS COULDN'T EVEN BE REMOVED TO TURN THE CAR OFF. VERY DANGEROUS. SEEMS LIKE A FAIRLY COMMON PROBLEM AMONG 2002 FORD EXPLORER OWNERS. MANY COMPLAINTS FILED HERE: HTTPS://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/FORD/EXPLORER/2002/ACCESSORIES-INTERIOR/GEAR_SHIFT_LEVER_FELL_OFF-2.SHTML

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 400
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds