Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3118 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (136) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (34)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electrical System (124) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Power Train (1530) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (144)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (12) Seat Belts (33) Steering (148) Visibility (126)
Engine (31) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (27) Structure (460) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Latches Locks Linkages (48) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (449) Wheels (74)
Equipment (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 382
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/23/2015 - CHICAGO , IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000. PAM

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2015 - BROOKLYN, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE DISPLAYED SIGNS THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OVERHEATING. THE CONTACT SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF, AND RESTARTED IT BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A CRACK ON THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS 191,000. PAM

View Details

ENGINE

1/16/2015 - SPRING GLEN, NY
MY 2002 FORD EXPLORER, SINCE 2013 HAVE BLEW OUT SPARKS PLUGS THREE TIMES. THE THREATS OF THE HEAD ARE DAMAGE .

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/7/2015 - JEFFERSON, OH
I AM AN OWNER OF A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH THE TRANSMISSION. WHEN TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS THE TRANSMISSION WILL INTERMITTENTLY DISENGAGE CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO HAVE TO BE PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, SHIFT INTO PARK, THEN BACK TO DRIVE. I HAVE CONSULTED WITH MY LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP NUMEROUS TIMES ON THE ISSUE. I HAVE BEEN REPEATEDLY TOLD THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE FORD EXPLORER / MERCURY MOUNTAINEER TRANSMISSION. FORD MOTOR COMPANY IS FAILING TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE AS BEING A SAFETY CONCERN. MY MOTHER OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER WITH THE SAME EXACT ISSUE. THE PREVIOUS OWNER REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION SHORTLY BEFORE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE SAME ISSUE. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED WITH A NEW TRANSMISSION FROM FORD. I WONDER HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE BEEN IN ACCIDENTS BECAUSE THEIR EXPLORER/MOUNTAINEER TRANSMISSION DISENGAGES? THE FORD DEALERSHIP IN MY AREA REFERRED ME TO THIS WEBSITE BEING THAT THE SERVICE MANAGE BELIEVES THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL THROUGH FORD. I WOULD HAVE TO AGREE WITH THE DEALERSHIP. WHY HAS FORD OR THE NHTSA NOT REQUIRED THE MANUFACTUOR TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE? DO PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE IN CAR ACCIDENTS BEFORE THIS IS RECTIFIED? IT IS NOT SAFE TO PASS A VEHICLE SINCE THE TRANSMISSION RANDOMLY CUTS OUT WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

STEERING

1/1/2015 - LAVISTA, NE
AFTER ARRIVING BACK HOME FROM DINNER I WAS PUTTING THE CAR INTO PARK. HALF WAY BETWEEN REVERSE AND PARK THE GEAR SHIFT ARM BROKE!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/27/2014 - ROUND LAKE BEACH, IL
BOUGHT AN EXPLORER WE THOUGHT WAS A PRIVATE OWNER ON CRAIGLIST IN CHICAGO, AND FOUND OUT HE WAS A DEALER FROM INDIANA. HE SIGNED THE TITLE AS FIRST AUTO INC. 2620 165TH IN HAMMOND IN 46323. THE NAME OF SELLER IS JOSE PEREZ. THE DMV FILE A COMPLAINT ON OUR BEHALF AND STATED WHAT HE DID WAS ILLEGAL. WE DID NOT KNOW HE WAS A DEALER TIL WHEN WE TRIED TO TRANSFER OUR PLATES THE NEXT DAY. WE TOOK THE TRUCK IN FOR SERVICE AND MY MECHANIC STATED THAT CARFAX HAS THE MILES ALMOST 80,000 MORE THAN WHAT IS ON THE ODOMETER. THE ODOMETER LISTED 110,000 AND CARFAX WAS FAR PAST THAT AMOUNT. THE DEALER ROLLED BACK THE MILES OF EXPLORER.

View Details

ENGINE

12/27/2014 - ROUND LAKE BEACH, IL
BOUGHT AN EXPLORER WE THOUGHT WAS A PRIVATE OWNER ON CRAIGLIST IN CHICAGO, AND FOUND OUT HE WAS A DEALER FROM INDIANA. HE SIGNED THE TITLE AS FIRST AUTO INC. 2620 165TH IN HAMMOND IN 46323. THE NAME OF SELLER IS JOSE PEREZ. THE DMV FILE A COMPLAINT ON OUR BEHALF AND STATED WHAT HE DID WAS ILLEGAL. WE DID NOT KNOW HE WAS A DEALER TIL WHEN WE TRIED TO TRANSFER OUR PLATES THE NEXT DAY. WE TOOK THE TRUCK IN FOR SERVICE AND MY MECHANIC STATED THAT CARFAX HAS THE MILES ALMOST 80,000 MORE THAN WHAT IS ON THE ODOMETER. THE ODOMETER LISTED 110,000 AND CARFAX WAS FAR PAST THAT AMOUNT. THE DEALER ROLLED BACK THE MILES OF EXPLORER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/27/2014 - ROUND LAKE BEACH, IL
BOUGHT AN EXPLORER WE THOUGHT WAS A PRIVATE OWNER ON CRAIGLIST IN CHICAGO, AND FOUND OUT HE WAS A DEALER FROM INDIANA. HE SIGNED THE TITLE AS FIRST AUTO INC. 2620 165TH IN HAMMOND IN 46323. THE NAME OF SELLER IS JOSE PEREZ. THE DMV FILE A COMPLAINT ON OUR BEHALF AND STATED WHAT HE DID WAS ILLEGAL. WE DID NOT KNOW HE WAS A DEALER TIL WHEN WE TRIED TO TRANSFER OUR PLATES THE NEXT DAY. WE TOOK THE TRUCK IN FOR SERVICE AND MY MECHANIC STATED THAT CARFAX HAS THE MILES ALMOST 80,000 MORE THAN WHAT IS ON THE ODOMETER. THE ODOMETER LISTED 110,000 AND CARFAX WAS FAR PAST THAT AMOUNT. THE DEALER ROLLED BACK THE MILES OF EXPLORER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/22/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
O/D LIGHT KEEPS FLASHING, WILL NOT SWITCH INTO SECOND GEAR UNTIL YOU LET OFF THE THROTTLE. GETS AS HIGH AS 38,000- 40,000 RPM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/17/2014 - SOLON, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFT FRACTURED AND ONLY OPERATED IN REVERSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 250,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 382
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds