Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3082 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (135) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (34)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (34)
Electrical System (124) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Power Train (1515) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (140)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (12) Seat Belts (33) Steering (145) Visibility (126)
Engine (26) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (26) Structure (455) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (164) Latches Locks Linkages (48) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (449) Wheels (72)
Equipment (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 377
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/14/2014 - MOUNT GILEAD, OH
PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE (FLAT SURFACE) AND ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK AND THE GEARSHIFT LEVER BROKE OFF INTO MY HAND. THE SAME THING HAPPEN ABOUT A YEAR AGO, AND OUR MECHANIC REPLACED THE DEFECTIVE PARTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/5/2014 - COLUMBUS, GA
MY GEAR SHIFT BROKE AS I WAS PUTTING INTO GEAR AND IT JUST FELL INTO MY HANDS IT BROKE INTO TWO HALF A PIECE THAT SHOULD NOT BROKE AND AS I WAS GOING SOMEWHERE THE TRUCK JUST STARTING GOING CRAZY THE LIGHTS WAS FLASHING ON AND OFF THE ALARMS WAS GOING OF THE LIGHTS FLASHIN,SSOMETIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT THE ALARM JUST GOES OFF ON IT ON WE SEE ALL THIS HAPPEN AND NO ONE IS BY THE TRUCK NO CATS DOGS NOTHING

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/5/2014 - COLUMBUS, GA
MY GEAR SHIFT BROKE AS I WAS PUTTING INTO GEAR AND IT JUST FELL INTO MY HANDS IT BROKE INTO TWO HALF A PIECE THAT SHOULD NOT BROKE AND AS I WAS GOING SOMEWHERE THE TRUCK JUST STARTING GOING CRAZY THE LIGHTS WAS FLASHING ON AND OFF THE ALARMS WAS GOING OF THE LIGHTS FLASHIN,SSOMETIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT THE ALARM JUST GOES OFF ON IT ON WE SEE ALL THIS HAPPEN AND NO ONE IS BY THE TRUCK NO CATS DOGS NOTHING

View Details

STEERING

7/3/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO EXIT THE DRIVEWAY, THE STEERING WHEEL FRACTURED. THE DEALER REPLACED THE STEERING WHEEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. JCC

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/26/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY HESITATE AND THE SPEED WOULD DECELERATE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE CHECK TRANSMISSION SENSOR LIGHT AND OVER DRIVE LIGHT HAD ILUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/26/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY HESITATE AND THE SPEED WOULD DECELERATE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE CHECK TRANSMISSION SENSOR LIGHT AND OVER DRIVE LIGHT HAD ILUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2014 - BELLEVILLE, MI
DRIVING IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO HIGH. I WAS ALMOST HIT BY A SEMI TRUCK ON I-94 NEAR I-275

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
SHIFTER LEVER BROKE OFF.

View Details

STEERING

6/18/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
SHIFTER LEVER BROKE OFF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
ALARM STARTED GOING OFF AND THE BACK GATE DOOR BECAME UNLOCKED WITHOUT ANYONE BEING IN OR NEAR THE SUV SATURDAY NIGHT JUNE 14,2014. IT CONTINUED OFF AND ON EVERY TWENTY MINUTES, THEN TEN MINUTES. THIS WAS AT NIGHT ABOUT SEVEN O'CLOCK. IT STOPPED. THE NEXT DAY ON SUNDAY AFTER COMING BACK FROM A RELIGIOUS MEETING IT STARTED GOING OFF AGAIN WITH AN ERROR MESSAGE STATING THAT THE REAR BACK DOOR WAS OPEN. IT WAS AND I DIDN'T OPEN IT. I OPENED AND CLOSED EVERY DOOR AFTER USING THE PANIC BUTTON TO STOP THE ALARM. IT STARTS WITH THE LIGHTS COMING ON IN THE FRONT OF THE SUV, THEN THE ALARM WILL START BEEPING VERY LOUDLY WITHOUT STOPPING. THIS GOES ON FOR ABOUT A GOOD HOUR EVERY DAY SINCE WITH YOU GOING OUT THERE TO TURN IT OFF WITH THE PANIC BUTTON. I DID SOME RESEARCH TO FIND OUT WHAT IS MAKING THIS HAPPEN AND I WAS AMAZED AND SHOCKED AT HOW MANY 2002 FORD EXPLORERS AND OTHER FORD CARS, TRUCKS, AND SUVS HAS THIS PROBLEM. IT IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM BECAUSE NO ONE KNOWS HOW TO STOP IT AND IT ENDS UP WITH YOU HAVING TO LEAVE YOUR DOORS UNLOCKED TO STOP THE ALARM FROM GOING OFF AND KILLING YOUR BATTERY. I HAVE LIMITED RESOURCES AND I WANT TO KNOW WHY FORD HAS NOT ADDRESSED THIS PROBLEM SINCE IT AFFECTS SO MANY PEOPLE. I DON'T WISH TO DIE BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS DANGEROUS PROBLEM. I DON'T WANT MY FAMILY OR ME WORRYING ABOUT MY SAFETY BECAUSE IF ANYONE FINDS OUT MY SUV IS UNLOCKED, I COULD BE ACCOSTED, OR ROBBED OR KILLED AND NOTHING WILL BE DONE ABOUT IT BECAUSE THE AUTO INSURANCE PEOPLE SAY YOUR CAR HAS TO BE LOCKED. PLEASE ADDRESS THIS DANGEROUS PROBLEM WITH FORD SINCE NO ONE ELSE SEEMS TO CARE BECAUSE I KNOW FOR A FACT THE FORD PEOPLE DON'T. BY THE WAY IT GOING ON NOW! THANK YOU.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 377
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds