Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3084 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (135) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (34)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electrical System (124) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Power Train (1516) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (140)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (12) Seat Belts (33) Steering (145) Visibility (126)
Engine (26) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (26) Structure (455) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (164) Latches Locks Linkages (48) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (449) Wheels (72)
Equipment (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 377
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/31/2014 - PROVO, UT
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKING THE VEHICLE THE SHIFT SELECTOR BROKE OFF WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT FROM DRIVE TO PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000. JFT

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/24/2014 - DENVER, CO
BACK TAILGATE PANEL WAS CRACKED (DEFECT) AND THE BACK WINDOW JUST EXPLODED WHEN THE TAILGATE WAS OPEN

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/14/2014 - MOUNT GILEAD, OH
PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE (FLAT SURFACE) AND ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK AND THE GEARSHIFT LEVER BROKE OFF INTO MY HAND. THE SAME THING HAPPEN ABOUT A YEAR AGO, AND OUR MECHANIC REPLACED THE DEFECTIVE PARTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/5/2014 - COLUMBUS, GA
MY GEAR SHIFT BROKE AS I WAS PUTTING INTO GEAR AND IT JUST FELL INTO MY HANDS IT BROKE INTO TWO HALF A PIECE THAT SHOULD NOT BROKE AND AS I WAS GOING SOMEWHERE THE TRUCK JUST STARTING GOING CRAZY THE LIGHTS WAS FLASHING ON AND OFF THE ALARMS WAS GOING OF THE LIGHTS FLASHIN,SSOMETIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT THE ALARM JUST GOES OFF ON IT ON WE SEE ALL THIS HAPPEN AND NO ONE IS BY THE TRUCK NO CATS DOGS NOTHING

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/5/2014 - COLUMBUS, GA
MY GEAR SHIFT BROKE AS I WAS PUTTING INTO GEAR AND IT JUST FELL INTO MY HANDS IT BROKE INTO TWO HALF A PIECE THAT SHOULD NOT BROKE AND AS I WAS GOING SOMEWHERE THE TRUCK JUST STARTING GOING CRAZY THE LIGHTS WAS FLASHING ON AND OFF THE ALARMS WAS GOING OF THE LIGHTS FLASHIN,SSOMETIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT THE ALARM JUST GOES OFF ON IT ON WE SEE ALL THIS HAPPEN AND NO ONE IS BY THE TRUCK NO CATS DOGS NOTHING

View Details

STEERING

7/3/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT WAS ATTEMPTING TO EXIT THE DRIVEWAY WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL FRACTURED. THE DEALER REPLACED THE STEERING WHEEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/26/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY HESITATE AND THE SPEED WOULD DECELERATE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE CHECK TRANSMISSION SENSOR LIGHT AND OVER DRIVE LIGHT HAD ILUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/26/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY HESITATE AND THE SPEED WOULD DECELERATE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE CHECK TRANSMISSION SENSOR LIGHT AND OVER DRIVE LIGHT HAD ILUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2014 - BELLEVILLE, MI
DRIVING IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO HIGH. I WAS ALMOST HIT BY A SEMI TRUCK ON I-94 NEAR I-275

View Details

STEERING

6/18/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
SHIFTER LEVER BROKE OFF.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 377
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds