Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3199 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (150) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (35)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (39)
Electrical System (133) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Power Train (1563) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (150)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (33) Steering (151) Visibility (128)
Engine (39) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (27) Structure (476) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Interior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (455) Wheels (76)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (48)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 393
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

6/20/2016 - RIDGEFIELD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT A LOCAL DEALER FOR ROUTINE SERVICE, THE FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS AND HUB ASSEMBLIES WERE REPLACED. AFTER THE REPAIRS, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2016 - PARKER, KS
BACK GLASS SHATTERED AFTER CLOSING THE HATCH

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/17/2016 - CLEARWATER, FL
TRANSMISSION DON'T WORK, GEAR SLIP AFTER 10 MINUTES DRIVE THEN STOP WORKING WON'T GO BACK OR FOWARD

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

6/14/2016 - BARELETT, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT DISENGAGE FROM THE CRUISE CONTROL WHILE DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE SPONTANEOUSLY ACCELERATED TO 70 MPH, THE EMERGENCY BRAKE DID NOT WORK, AND THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS STILL ACTIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO PARK AND PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS LEFT THERE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/29/2016 - PORTLAND, OR
ON MAY 6, 2016 I WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 5 BETWEEN 55-60 MPH IN THE MIDDLE LANE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC WHEN SUDDENLY THERE WAS AN EXPLOSION INSIDE MY CAR. THE RIGHT/LEFT SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT ANY WARNING. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE SHOULDER AND CALL AAA. I WAS TOWED TO THE LANDMARK FORD SERVICE CENTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/19/2016 - NORTH FORT MYERS, FL
I JUST BOUGHT MY VEHICLE ON 5/17/20 AT A LOT CALLED GRANT MOTORS 2744 FOWLER ST FORT MYERS FL, 33901 DURING THE DAYTIME, THEY KEEP PUSHING , AND PUSHING ME TO BUY IT TOOK MY ID TO COPY WE LEFT WITHOUT MY ID, HAD ANOTHER VEHICLE I WANTED TO BUY BUT HAD TO GO BACK TO GRANT TO GET ID, WHEN PETE STARTED AT US AGAIN AND KEEP COMING DOWN ON PRICE, TILL MY BROTHER TOLD ME IT WAS WORTH IT TO BUY IT, SO I DID, WELL DURING THE DAY IN BRIGHT SUNSHINE YOU COULDN'T SEE THE TAILLIGHTS, NOR THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS, AND AS DRIVING IT HOME TURNED ON RADIO TO LISTEN TO IT , ALL'S IT WOULD DO IS FLICKER, WOULDN'T CHANGE STATIONS, WOULDN'T DO NOTHING AT ALL, AND THEY PUT A CARFAX FOLDER ON MY DASH FOR ME TO READ AT HOME , THAT IS WHEN I SEEN THE INFO ABOUT THE RECALLS AND FIGURED IT HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH MY LIGHTS OUTSIDE AND IN THE DASH AND THE STEREO NOT WORKING AT ALL. THEM MY BROTHER SAID HE WONDERED WHY THEY CONTINUED TO DROP THE PRICE TO WAY MORE THEN THEY FIRST ASKED FOR AS IF THEY NEW AHEAD OF TIME THE ISSUES AND DIDN'T TELL US ABOUT ANY OF IT. SO COULD SOMEONE PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON , I NOW HAVE NOTHING TO DRIVE AND NO MONEY TO BUY ANOTHER I'M OLD RAISING TWO GRANDBABIES ONE WITH AUTISM , THE OTHER WITH BIPOLAR PLEASE HELP ME OUT. SITTING IN WALMART PARKING LOT, AND IN MOTION TO GO HOME FAMILY HAD TO STAY BEHIND ME TO GET HOME SAFELY,

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/19/2016 - NORTH FORT MYERS, FL
I JUST BOUGHT MY VEHICLE ON 5/17/20 AT A LOT CALLED GRANT MOTORS 2744 FOWLER ST FORT MYERS FL, 33901 DURING THE DAYTIME, THEY KEEP PUSHING , AND PUSHING ME TO BUY IT TOOK MY ID TO COPY WE LEFT WITHOUT MY ID, HAD ANOTHER VEHICLE I WANTED TO BUY BUT HAD TO GO BACK TO GRANT TO GET ID, WHEN PETE STARTED AT US AGAIN AND KEEP COMING DOWN ON PRICE, TILL MY BROTHER TOLD ME IT WAS WORTH IT TO BUY IT, SO I DID, WELL DURING THE DAY IN BRIGHT SUNSHINE YOU COULDN'T SEE THE TAILLIGHTS, NOR THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS, AND AS DRIVING IT HOME TURNED ON RADIO TO LISTEN TO IT , ALL'S IT WOULD DO IS FLICKER, WOULDN'T CHANGE STATIONS, WOULDN'T DO NOTHING AT ALL, AND THEY PUT A CARFAX FOLDER ON MY DASH FOR ME TO READ AT HOME , THAT IS WHEN I SEEN THE INFO ABOUT THE RECALLS AND FIGURED IT HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH MY LIGHTS OUTSIDE AND IN THE DASH AND THE STEREO NOT WORKING AT ALL. THEM MY BROTHER SAID HE WONDERED WHY THEY CONTINUED TO DROP THE PRICE TO WAY MORE THEN THEY FIRST ASKED FOR AS IF THEY NEW AHEAD OF TIME THE ISSUES AND DIDN'T TELL US ABOUT ANY OF IT. SO COULD SOMEONE PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON , I NOW HAVE NOTHING TO DRIVE AND NO MONEY TO BUY ANOTHER I'M OLD RAISING TWO GRANDBABIES ONE WITH AUTISM , THE OTHER WITH BIPOLAR PLEASE HELP ME OUT. SITTING IN WALMART PARKING LOT, AND IN MOTION TO GO HOME FAMILY HAD TO STAY BEHIND ME TO GET HOME SAFELY,

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/16/2016 - HOT SPRINGS VILLAGE, AR
MY POWER STEERING STUCK CAUSED A WRECK!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2016 - HOT SPRINGS VILLAGE, AR
MY POWER STEERING STUCK CAUSED A WRECK!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/16/2016 - HOT SPRINGS VILLAGE, AR
MY POWER STEERING STUCK CAUSED A WRECK!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 393
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds