Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3144 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (141) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (35)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electrical System (125) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Power Train (1539) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (144)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (33) Steering (148) Visibility (127)
Engine (33) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (27) Structure (465) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Interior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (450) Wheels (74)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (48)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 385
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/22/2015 - LEVITTOWN, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON PAVED HIGHWAY(CLEAR, DRY DAY) A HISSING SOUND WAS COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. AFTER MAKING A LEFT TURN ONTO ANOTHER PAVED HIGHWAY, THE HISSING NOISE INCREASED, THEN WAS FOLLOWED IMMEDIATELY BY THE SPONTANEOUS DEPLOYMENT OF THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG, PRIOR TO ANY IMPACT. THE OBSTRUCTION OF THE DEPLOYED AIRBAG CREATED A COMPROMISED OR VISIONARY IMPAIRMENT FROM MY WINDSHIELD'S FIELD OF VIEW, CAUSING ME TO HAVE IMPACT WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE. AFTER IMPACT OF FIRST VEHICLE, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED., THEN THERE WAS A SECONDARY IMPACT WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE. IN ADDITION TO THE AIRBAG BRAKING MY NOSE, TWO PIECES OF SHRAPNEL WERE EJECTED FROM THE INSIDE OF THE DEPLOYED AIRBAG, ONE HITTING ME IN THE LEFT SIDE MID CHEST/ABDOMEN, THE OTHER TO THE DISTAL PORTION OF MY LEFT FOREARM. THE PROJECTED SHRAPNEL TORE THROUGH A DOWN COAT, SWEATER AND TWO SHIRTS CAUSING INJURY AND 2ND DEGREE BURNS TO MY CHEST/ABDOMEN AND FOREARM. THE INJURIES OF THE OTHER VEHICLES INHABITANTS ARE UNKNOWN AT THIS TIME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/22/2015 - ONEIDA, KY
REAR PANEL HAS CRACK 2 TIMES. WE PAID 600.00$ FOR FIRST REPAIR. 3 MONTHS LATER THE REAR PANEL CRACKED AGAIN. NO CRASH OR ACCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/20/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
REAR PADS AND ROTORS FAILED JUNE 8, 2015. O/D LIGHT BLINKING WITH CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, ON JUNE 12, 2015. TRANSMISSION SHOP GOT THE CODES AND STATED I DON'T HAVE 2ND AND 5TH GEARS. $2000.00 COST. PLEASE FORCE RECALL! HELP! MANY OTHER REPAIRS INCLUDING U-JOINTS, TIE RODS, FRONT AXLE, FRONT ROTORS WITH PADS ETC. SINCE I BOUGHT IT IN APRIL 2013.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/17/2015 - GILFORD , CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED TO SHIFT INTO DIFFERENT GEARS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS A LOUD WHINING SOUND COMING FROM THE TRANSMISSION. WHILE DRIVING UP A HILL, THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO CHANGE GEARS AND HAD TO APPLY THE BRAKES IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

5/22/2015 - KING GEORGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO CRASH. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE BACK AND NECK, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 01V171000 (TIRES: SIDEWALL). THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND TIRE INFORMATION WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/10/2015 - RONKONKOMA, NY
VEHICLE PARKED IN STALL WHEN GEAR SELECTER WAS SHIFTED FROM DRIVE TO PARK WITH FOOT ON BRAKE SAID VEHICLE EXPERIENCED WIDE OPEN THROTTLE SURGED FORWARD KNOCKING DOWN LIGHT POLE ONLY COMING TO STOP ONTOP OF FIRE HYDRANT OR VEHICLE WOULD OF KEPT GOING AS WHEELS WERE STILL SPINNING!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/10/2015 - ALLENTOWN, PA
BACKING INTO PARKING SPACE AND GEARSHIFT HANDLE ON COLUMN FELL OFF IN MY HAND. I COULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF GEAR. HAD TO SHUT OFF ENGINE ON A HILL WITH CAR STUCK IN REVERSE. COULD NOT GET KEY OUT AND CAR STARTED TO ROLL DOWNHILL. I HAD TO CALL A FRIEND TO BLOCK TIRES RATHER TRUST EMERGENCY BRAKE ON A HILL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

4/27/2015 - MOBILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, AND BATTERY LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITHIN THE WIRES IN THE DOOR LOCKS AND ANTI THEFT SYSTEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 205,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/24/2015 - ARROYO GRANDE, CA
MY FORD EXPLORER STARTED MAKING A SOUND LIKE THERE WAS SOMETHING ROLLING AROUND IN BACK GATE. FIRST MECHANIC COULDN'T FIND PROBLEM. I WORKED ON THIS FOR THREE MONTHS. LOOKS AS IF IT IS THE BUSHINGS ARE WORN AND BODY IS TOUCHING FRAME. I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT SEVERAL OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/19/2015 - SHERMAN OAKS, CA
THE REAR WINDOW SHUTTERED INTO 100 PIECES DURING THE DRIVING. THE REAR PANEL HAS CRACKED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 385
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds