Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3129 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (139) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (34)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (36)
Electrical System (124) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Power Train (1536) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (144)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (33) Steering (148) Visibility (127)
Engine (32) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (27) Structure (461) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Interior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (449) Wheels (74)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (48)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 383
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

3/27/2015 - COLUMBUS, GA
PARKED ON HILL OR FLAT GROUND IT HAPPEN BEFORE,BUT THE GEAR SHIFT GETS STUCK.YOU CAN TURN THE STEERING WHEEL RIGHT,LEFT TO GET IT TO UNLOCK BUT IT WANT, NO LOCKED BRAKES.BUT I KEPT ON TRING TO GET MY TRUCK IN GEAR TO POINT OF DOING DANGERS THINGS AS OF STICKING ONE FOOT OUT OF THE DOOR AND ROCKING IT BACK AND FORTH.TO GET THE LOCK TO BRAKE BUT THAT DID NOT WORK THEN I TRIED AGAIN AND THE GEAR SHIFT BROKE A ALUMINUM PART ON THE INSIDE BROKE AND I HAVE SAW THREE MORE LIKE THIS AND SOME MORE REPORTS OF THIS AND NOTHING HAS BEEN SAID OR DONE ABOUT THIS,THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2015 - MCLEAN, VA
IN 2009 ON THE WAY TO OUR FAMILY VACATION OUR TRANSMISSION FAILED. WE HAD IT TOWED AND THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED WITH A FORD REBUILT TRANSMISSION WITH A WARRANTY PURCHASE. IN 2012 THIS REBUILT TRANSMISSION FAILED AND WE HAD IT TAKEN TO A FORD DEALER AND THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED WITH ANOTHER TRANSMISSION. THIS CURRENT TRANSMISSION IS EXHIBITING THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS THE LAST TWO DID PRIOR TO FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD "BUMP" AND THEN I LOST ALL ACCELERATION. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY FORD, THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS TO ALL OF THE SUDDEN LOSE A TRANSMISSION WHILE DRIVING. I HAVE SEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THE TRANSMISSION OF THIS YEAR OF VEHICLE, SO THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A PROBLEM. TRANSMISSIONS ARE NOT CHEAP BY ANY MEANS, I DON'T KNOW HOW I'M GOING TO GET THE MONEY TO FIX MINE. I CURRENTLY HAVE NO VEHICLE AND HAVE HAD TO RESORT TO BUMMING RIDES FROM PEOPLE JUST TO GET TO WORK. THIS VEHICLE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/7/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS , MN
REAR ENDED SEMI THAT SUDDENLY STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME. DRIVER'S AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY BUT PASSENGER AIR BAG DID . NO PASSENGER IN CAR. BASICALLY DRIVER AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY WHEN IT SHOULD. FORD SHOULD PAY! IS THERE ANY CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR THIS? FIRST ACCIDENT WITH THE VEHICLE. OWNED SINCE 2003!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/1/2015 - DICKSON CITY, PA
EVER SINCE I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE I HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO CONTINUOUSLY PUMP A FULL TANK OF GAS. IT TAKES ROUGHLY 25 MINUTES TO GET A FULL TANK

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/23/2015 - ROSEBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, ANOTHER VEHICLE REAR ENDED THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED UNKNOWN MINOR INJURIES AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED CHEST AND EYES INJURIES. NEITHER SET OF INJURIES REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/23/2015 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
GEAR SHIFTER BROKE OFF WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE. I AM THANKFUL THAT I WAS AT HOME IN MY OWN DRIVEWAY AND THAT IT DID NOT GO INTO GEAR. IT IS STUCK IN PARK, BUT MY KEYS ARE STUCK IN THE IGNITION. THIS SEEMS LIKE IT COULD BE A SAFETY HAZARD IF THE CAR WERE TO GO INTO GEAR, OR GET STUCK IN REVERSE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/16/2015 - ST. LOUIS, MO
WHILE PUSHING UP ON THE REAR PANEL THE GLASS MAKING UP THE REAR WINDOW EXPLODED - SHATTERED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/16/2015 - JEFFERSON, OH
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AT 70 MPH. TRANSMISSION FAILED WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC. WAS NEARLY HIT TRYING TO GET VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD. NO WARNING, TRANSMISSION JUST WENT. HUGE PROBLEM AND SAFETY ISSUE WITH FORD EXPLORER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/3/2015 - BILOXI, MS
THERE WAS NO MALFUNCTION. I HAVE A FORD EXPLORER 2002. I WANT TO KNOW IF THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE AND FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS WILL WORK PROPERLY. I HAVE SEARCHED THIS DATABASE BUT CANNOT FIND ANYTHING THAT IS APPLICABLE. WE (WIFE AND MYSELF) HAVE ONLY THIS VEHICLE AND W WE WANT TO KNOW IF IT IS SAFE TO DRIVE. PLEASE HELP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 383
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds