Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3211 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (152) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (35)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (15) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electrical System (134) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Power Train (1567) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (151)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (33) Steering (153) Visibility (129)
Engine (39) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (28) Structure (476) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Interior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (457) Wheels (76)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (48)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 394
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/22/2016 - JACKSON, NJ
THE GEAR SHIFT JUST BROKE OFF WHILE I WAS PUTTING THE CAR IN REVERSE THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED BUT WE HAD TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO SHUT OFF THE CAR, SINCE IT WOULD NOT SHUT OFF WHILE IN REVERSE. I GOT ANOTHER WHOLE STEERING COLUMN PUT IN AND WITHIN LESS THAN 2 MONTHS THE GEAR SHIFT BROKE OFF AGAIN THIS TIME THE CAR WAS IN PARK, BUT ITS SCARY. I HAVE ATTACHED TWO PICTURES OF THE TWO DIFFERENT GEAR SHIFTS. THE PIECE THAT KEEPS BREAKING LOOKS LIKE ITS MADE OUT OF ALUMINUM NOT STEEL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2016 - DETROIT, MI
TRANSMISSION, JERKED, STALLED AND HAD DIFFICULTY SHIFTING WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAY/ HIGHWAY. ADDITIONALLY, THE O/D (OVERDRIVE) LIGHT CAME ON AND CONTINUALLY FLASHED PRIOR TO THE TRANSMISSION STARTING TO NOISILY GRIND WITH A BURNING SMELL. I'VE HAD 5 PROFESSIONAL DIAGNOSIS ALL STATING IT'S A DIFFERENT TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AND FORD MOTOR COMPANY RECALL IS NEEDED ON THE TRANSMISSIONS, THIS IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM AND ISSUE FOR NEARLY 20 YEARS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/6/2016 - LA RUE, OH
WHILE PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY THE BACK WINDOW (LIFT GATE WINDOW) WAS RAISED TO REMOVE THINGS FROM THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE AS SOON AS THE WINDOW WAS BEING CLOSED ABOUT HALFWAY DOWN IT EXPLODED AND SENT GLASS FLYING ALL AROUND OUTSIDE AND INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE BOTTOM PIECE OF THE WINDOW WITH THE WIPER WAS HANGING FROM THE ELECTRICAL CORD EVERYTHING ELSE WAS GONE. THERE WAS NO FORCE ON THE WINDOW AND NOTHING OBSTRUCTING IT THE WHOLE THING JUST EXPLODED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. IT WAS VERY SCARY AND COULD HAVE CAUSED SERIOUS INJURIES. LUCKILY NO ONE IN THIS SITUATION WAS INJURED. MY FAMILY HAVE SPENT HOURS REMOVING ALL OF THE SHATTERED GLASS FROM THE DRIVEWAY AND YARD. IT SENT GLASS FLYING AS FAR AS TO THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/22/2016 - TORRANCE, CA
MY 2002 FORD EXPLORER EDDIE BAUER IS ON ITS 3RD TRANSMISSION. IT HAS 78K MILES ON IT. HELP

View Details

SEATS

8/16/2016 - BALTIMORE, MD
DRIVER"S SIDE SEAT WILL GO BACK AND FORTH

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2016 - EAST ORLAND, ME
AT FIRST WHEN SHIFTING THE TRANSMISSION WOULDN'T GO INTO ANY GEAR. WE HAD THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED. WHEN GOT VEHICLE BACK STILL HAD SAME PROBLEM TOOK IT TO TRANSMISSION SPECIALIST PUT ON COMPUTER FIXED THE INITIAL PROBLEM. THE TRANSMISSION WE HAD PUT IN HAD MUCH MORE PROBLEMS. OVERDRIVE STARTED BLINKING THEN LOST 2ND AND 5TH GEAR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/8/2016 - GALLATIN, TN
THE DOOR LOCKS LOCK AND UNLOCK ALL BY THEMSELVES DOZENS OF TIMES IN A ROW WHILE I AM DRIVING. WITH THIS THE DOME LIGHT FLASHES OFF AND ON AND THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT FLASHES AND THE INTERIOR CHIME GOES OFF CONSTANTLY. ALL OF THIS HAPPENS AT THE SAME TIME. THIS IS A HUGE AND COMMON ISSUE WITH THOUSANDS OF FORUM POSTS BY OTHER OWNERS WHO HAVE SPEND COUNTLESS $$ AT MECHANIC'S TO NO AVAIL. THIS CAN CAUSE WRECKS AT NIGHT IT IS VERY DISTRACTING. ESPECIALLY THE DOME LIGHT. WHY IS FORD IGNORING THIS OBVIOUS SAFETY DESIGN FLAW? LIABILITY IS YOURS .. THERE ARE TOO MANY COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME PROBLEM FOR YOU TO CLAIM YOU ARE NOT AWARE. IF SOMEONE GETS CAR JACKED WHILE LOCKS ARE FREAKING OUT YOU MIGHT GET SUED. IT HAPPENS THE MOST IF SOMEONE IS IN PASSENGER FRONT SEAT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/8/2016 - GALLATIN, TN
THE DOOR LOCKS LOCK AND UNLOCK ALL BY THEMSELVES DOZENS OF TIMES IN A ROW WHILE I AM DRIVING. WITH THIS THE DOME LIGHT FLASHES OFF AND ON AND THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT FLASHES AND THE INTERIOR CHIME GOES OFF CONSTANTLY. ALL OF THIS HAPPENS AT THE SAME TIME. THIS IS A HUGE AND COMMON ISSUE WITH THOUSANDS OF FORUM POSTS BY OTHER OWNERS WHO HAVE SPEND COUNTLESS $$ AT MECHANIC'S TO NO AVAIL. THIS CAN CAUSE WRECKS AT NIGHT IT IS VERY DISTRACTING. ESPECIALLY THE DOME LIGHT. WHY IS FORD IGNORING THIS OBVIOUS SAFETY DESIGN FLAW? LIABILITY IS YOURS .. THERE ARE TOO MANY COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME PROBLEM FOR YOU TO CLAIM YOU ARE NOT AWARE. IF SOMEONE GETS CAR JACKED WHILE LOCKS ARE FREAKING OUT YOU MIGHT GET SUED. IT HAPPENS THE MOST IF SOMEONE IS IN PASSENGER FRONT SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/25/2016 - CRESCENT CITY, FL
ON MAY 31ST 2016,I WAS INVOLVE IN AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT AND AT WHICH TIME MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY..AFTER FURTHER EVALUATION IT WAS DETERMINE THAT MY CLOCK SPRING WAS BAD..MY INSURANCE ESTIMATOR/OR ADJUSTER STATED THAT THE CAUSE OF THE MALFUNCTION WAS NOT A RESULT FROM THE ACCIDENT..THEN I WAS TOLD TO CONTACT THE NHTSA TO SEE IF MY VEHICLE WAS UNDER A RECALL FOR THIS INCIDENT ....MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A HIGHWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/25/2016 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE PARKING THE VEHICLE, THE GEAR SHIFT LEVER FRACTURED AND SEPARATED FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 144,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 394
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds