Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3139 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (139) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (35)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electrical System (125) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Power Train (1538) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (144)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (33) Steering (148) Visibility (127)
Engine (33) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (27) Structure (464) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Interior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (450) Wheels (74)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (48)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 384
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES: SIDEWALL

5/22/2015 - KING GEORGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO CRASH. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE BACK AND NECK, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 01V171000 (TIRES: SIDEWALL). THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND TIRE INFORMATION WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/10/2015 - RONKONKOMA, NY
VEHICLE PARKED IN STALL WHEN GEAR SELECTER WAS SHIFTED FROM DRIVE TO PARK WITH FOOT ON BRAKE SAID VEHICLE EXPERIENCED WIDE OPEN THROTTLE SURGED FORWARD KNOCKING DOWN LIGHT POLE ONLY COMING TO STOP ONTOP OF FIRE HYDRANT OR VEHICLE WOULD OF KEPT GOING AS WHEELS WERE STILL SPINNING!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/10/2015 - ALLENTOWN, PA
BACKING INTO PARKING SPACE AND GEARSHIFT HANDLE ON COLUMN FELL OFF IN MY HAND. I COULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF GEAR. HAD TO SHUT OFF ENGINE ON A HILL WITH CAR STUCK IN REVERSE. COULD NOT GET KEY OUT AND CAR STARTED TO ROLL DOWNHILL. I HAD TO CALL A FRIEND TO BLOCK TIRES RATHER TRUST EMERGENCY BRAKE ON A HILL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

4/27/2015 - MOBILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, AND BATTERY LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITHIN THE WIRES IN THE DOOR LOCKS AND ANTI THEFT SYSTEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 205,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/24/2015 - ARROYO GRANDE, CA
MY FORD EXPLORER STARTED MAKING A SOUND LIKE THERE WAS SOMETHING ROLLING AROUND IN BACK GATE. FIRST MECHANIC COULDN'T FIND PROBLEM. I WORKED ON THIS FOR THREE MONTHS. LOOKS AS IF IT IS THE BUSHINGS ARE WORN AND BODY IS TOUCHING FRAME. I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT SEVERAL OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/19/2015 - SHERMAN OAKS, CA
THE REAR WINDOW SHUTTERED INTO 100 PIECES DURING THE DRIVING. THE REAR PANEL HAS CRACKED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/14/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE WHEN I STOP AT STOP SIGNS AND LIGHTS. THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT GO OUT. I GOT A CODE READING, THERE WERE MANY FUEL EJECTION ISSUES. I GOT A DIAGNOSTIC TEST TODAY, AND WAS TOLD IT COULD BE THE FUEL PUMP. WHEN I PUT GAS IN, THE GAS PUMP GETS STUCK INSIDE SOMETIMES. DOES NOT COME OUT SMOOTHLY. WHAT IS GOING ON?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/14/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE WHEN I STOP AT STOP SIGNS AND LIGHTS. THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT GO OUT. I GOT A CODE READING, THERE WERE MANY FUEL EJECTION ISSUES. I GOT A DIAGNOSTIC TEST TODAY, AND WAS TOLD IT COULD BE THE FUEL PUMP. WHEN I PUT GAS IN, THE GAS PUMP GETS STUCK INSIDE SOMETIMES. DOES NOT COME OUT SMOOTHLY. WHAT IS GOING ON?

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE WHEN I STOP AT STOP SIGNS AND LIGHTS. THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT GO OUT. I GOT A CODE READING, THERE WERE MANY FUEL EJECTION ISSUES. I GOT A DIAGNOSTIC TEST TODAY, AND WAS TOLD IT COULD BE THE FUEL PUMP. WHEN I PUT GAS IN, THE GAS PUMP GETS STUCK INSIDE SOMETIMES. DOES NOT COME OUT SMOOTHLY. WHAT IS GOING ON?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2015 - ASHLAND, MA
THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT BETWEEN GEARS IN MY 2002 FORD EXPLORER RESULTING IN MY BEING UNABLE TO ACCELERATE ON THE MASSACHUSETTS TURNPIKE AT RUSH HOUR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 384
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds