Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3098 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (135) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (34)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (36)
Electrical System (124) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Power Train (1523) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (140)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (12) Seat Belts (33) Steering (146) Visibility (126)
Engine (26) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (26) Structure (459) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Latches Locks Linkages (48) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (449) Wheels (74)
Equipment (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 379
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/28/2014 - HERRICK, SD
PARKED IN PARKING LOT ON LEVEL SURFACE. STARTED ENGINE WENT TO PUT IN REVERSE AND SHIFTING LEVER FELL OFF. CONTACTED FORD INSTEAD OF SELLING BROKEN PART WANTED TO SELL COMPLETE STEERING COLOUM

View Details

STEERING

10/20/2014 - SONORA, CA
THE HANDLE TO SHIFT THE MANUAL TRANSMISSION FROM PARK TO REVERSE BROKE OFF AT THE METAL PART INSIDE THE STEERING COLUMN. THIS IS COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS IF I WAS DRIVING! FORD STATES THEY NO LONGER PRODUCE THE PART.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/18/2014 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
MY DAUGHTER WENT TO OPEN MY REAR HATCH AND THE WINDOW FELL. THE HINGE COMPLETELY DETACHED FROM THE CAR. I WENT TO FORD TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT IT THEY STATED THAT IT WAS A RECALL ITEM BUT THAT IT HAD ALREADY BEEN FIXED IN 2005. I ASKED IF IT HAD BEEN FIXED WHY WOULD THE SAME PROBLEM OCCUR. THEY COULDN'T GIVE ME AN ANSWER. ALL THEY SAID WAS THAT THEY ONLY PAY FOR THE FIRST OCCURRENCE NOT AND SUBSEQUENT OCCURRENCES. MY ISSUE IS THAT IF AN ITEM CONTINUES TO BREAK THAT IS NO LONGER AND ISSUE WITH THAT ITEM ITS AND ISSUE WITH THE DESIGN OF THE ITEM. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN. WHAT IF THE GLASS FELL ON MY DAUGHTER OR SHATTERED ON HER. I DONT SEE WHY I HAVE TO REPLACE A FAULTY FORD ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/16/2014 - GLOUCESTER, NJ
WENT TO PUT VEHICLE IN RESERVE AND GEAR SHIFT ON THE COLUMN FELL IN MY HAND, COMPLETELY SNAPPED

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - NOVI, MI
WHEN BRAKING VEHICLE ACCELERATES. COULD NOT STOP HAD TO PUT IN N AND IT STALLED BEFORE HITTING A STORE FRONT AND A SECOND TIME ON THE WAY HOME AT A RED LIGHT

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/14/2014 - NOVI, MI
WHEN BRAKING VEHICLE ACCELERATES. COULD NOT STOP HAD TO PUT IN N AND IT STALLED BEFORE HITTING A STORE FRONT AND A SECOND TIME ON THE WAY HOME AT A RED LIGHT

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

9/25/2014 - READING , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS RECENTLY REPAIRED ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V442000 (STRUCTURE), BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE LIFTGATE HINGE FRACTURED AND CAUSED THE GLASS TO SHIFT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/20/2014 - HUNTSVILLE, AL
PAINT JOB ON ENGINE HOOD IS BUBBLING UP. SUV HAS BEEN REGULARLY WASHED AND WAXED; SO ONE WOULD NOT EXPECT PROBLEMS WITH THE PAINT JOB. BASED UPON INTERNET RESEARCH, FORD HAS PAINT JOB ISSUES WITH VEHICLES SOLD FROM 2000-2005.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/12/2014 - RICHMOND, NH
WHEN IS THE NHTSA GOING TO ADDRESS THE CHRONIC ISSUES WITH THE 2002-2005 FORD EXPLORER AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSIONS? IT IS COMMON KNOWLEDGE ( INCLUDING BY FORD) THAT THESE TRANSMISSIONS ALL FAIL ANYWHERE FROM 50,000 MILES UP TO LESS THAN 150,000 MILES. TOWING WITH THIS VEHICLE HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ISSUE.THE MARKET IS FLOODED WITH THESE BROKEN EXPLORERS AND THEY ARE THE REGULAR CUSTOMERS AT THE REPAIR SHOPS IF PEOPLE DON'T JUNK THEM AND CAN AFFORD TO HAVE THEM FIXED. THEY ARE A HAZARD ON THE ROAD WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY FAILS TO MOVE IN TRAFFIC OR FROM A STOP AT AN INTERSECTION. I WAS NEARLY REAR ENDED WHEN MY VEHICLE STARTED INTO A BUSY INTERSECTION AND THE TRANSMISSION FAILED LEAVING ME COASTING IN TRAFFIC. I AM SURE THAT MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN LODGED AGAINST THESE VEHICLES AND THAT SERIOUS INJURY HAS OCCURRED AS A RESULT OF THE TRANSMISSION FAILURES. THE INTERNET EVEN SELLS QUESTIONABLE REPAIR FIXES FOR THESE TRANSMISSIONS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/5/2014 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
BROUGHT VEHICLE IN JAN 2014. EVERY SINCE FIRST DAY BROUGHT, HAD A PROBLEM WITH GETTING FUEL INTO VEHICLE WITHOUT FUEL PUMP CLICKING AS IF VEHICLE IS FULL. THIS HAPPENS AT ABOUT EVERY FUEL STATION I GO TO. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING. BROUGHT PLENTY OF FORDS, BUT THIS IS THE FIRST ONE THAT DOES THIS. BEFORE I GET A FEW OUNCES OF FUEL INTO THE VEHICLE IT WILL CLICK AND CONTINUE DOING THIS AS LONG AS IM TRYING TO PUT IN FUEL. LOVE VEHICLE BUT HATE IT BECAUSE OF THIS. I READ ON OTHERS HAVING SAME PROBLEM. CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP US ALL./ THIS IS DEFINITE A RECALL. MICHAEL J. WOODY (RETIRED VET / RETIRED U. S. POSTAL SVC. )

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 379
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds