Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3103 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (135) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (34)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electrical System (124) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Power Train (1524) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (141)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (12) Seat Belts (33) Steering (146) Visibility (126)
Engine (26) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (27) Structure (459) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Latches Locks Linkages (48) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (449) Wheels (74)
Equipment (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 380
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

11/19/2014 - MAYFIELD, KY
SEAT BRACKET BROKE WHEN HITTING THE BRAKES WHEN A DEER JUMPED OUT IN FRONT OF ME

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/4/2014 - DARIEN, IL
THERE WAS A RECALL FOR FAULTY HINGES YEARS BACK, FORD REPLACED. I NOTICED FAULTY HINGE WHEN WAXING VEHICLE, HINGE IS ASKEW. CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE, VERIFIED IT WOULD NEED REPLACING OR GLASS WINDOW COULD FALL OFF, INFORMED I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR REPAIR. SINCE THE FAULTY HINGE IS THEIR PRODUCT, I THINK THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE, AND IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR SERVICED EVERY 3 MONTHS SINCE I BOUGHT IT. IT IS WELL MAINTAINED, I HAVE SPENT A FORTUNE REPLACING FAULTY FORD PARTS. THE GLASS HINGE IS A FORD HAZARD THAT I BELIEVE FORD IS RESPONSIBLE FOR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/3/2014 - EAST AMHERST, NY
A PART THAT SHOULD NEVER FAIL, THE SHIFTER HANDLE BROKE OFF. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON AND EXPENSIVE FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/2/2014 - JUPITER, FL
CRACK IN REAR LIFT GATE PANEL THAT LED TO SHATTERED REAR WINDOW UPON NORMAL CLOSING.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/2/2014 - JUPITER, FL
CRACK IN REAR LIFT GATE PANEL THAT LED TO SHATTERED REAR WINDOW UPON NORMAL CLOSING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/30/2014 - LOVINGTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V399000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) AND THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT AN AUTHORIZED DEALER REPLACED THE WIRING HARNESS BUT DID NOT INSPECT THE ABS CONTROL MODULE CONNECTOR TO DETERMINE IF THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE REMEDIED FOR THE RECALL. THE CONTACT REPORTED THE SAFETY CONCERN TO THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY WOULD NOT COMPLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FULLY REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE SAFETY CONCERN AND PROVIDED NO REMEDY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/28/2014 - HERRICK, SD
PARKED IN PARKING LOT ON LEVEL SURFACE. STARTED ENGINE WENT TO PUT IN REVERSE AND SHIFTING LEVER FELL OFF. CONTACTED FORD INSTEAD OF SELLING BROKEN PART WANTED TO SELL COMPLETE STEERING COLOUM

View Details

STEERING

10/20/2014 - SONORA, CA
THE HANDLE TO SHIFT THE MANUAL TRANSMISSION FROM PARK TO REVERSE BROKE OFF AT THE METAL PART INSIDE THE STEERING COLUMN. THIS IS COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS IF I WAS DRIVING! FORD STATES THEY NO LONGER PRODUCE THE PART.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/18/2014 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
MY DAUGHTER WENT TO OPEN MY REAR HATCH AND THE WINDOW FELL. THE HINGE COMPLETELY DETACHED FROM THE CAR. I WENT TO FORD TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT IT THEY STATED THAT IT WAS A RECALL ITEM BUT THAT IT HAD ALREADY BEEN FIXED IN 2005. I ASKED IF IT HAD BEEN FIXED WHY WOULD THE SAME PROBLEM OCCUR. THEY COULDN'T GIVE ME AN ANSWER. ALL THEY SAID WAS THAT THEY ONLY PAY FOR THE FIRST OCCURRENCE NOT AND SUBSEQUENT OCCURRENCES. MY ISSUE IS THAT IF AN ITEM CONTINUES TO BREAK THAT IS NO LONGER AND ISSUE WITH THAT ITEM ITS AND ISSUE WITH THE DESIGN OF THE ITEM. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN. WHAT IF THE GLASS FELL ON MY DAUGHTER OR SHATTERED ON HER. I DONT SEE WHY I HAVE TO REPLACE A FAULTY FORD ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/16/2014 - GLOUCESTER, NJ
WENT TO PUT VEHICLE IN RESERVE AND GEAR SHIFT ON THE COLUMN FELL IN MY HAND, COMPLETELY SNAPPED

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 380
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds