Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3186 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (148) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (35)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (36)
Electrical System (130) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Power Train (1559) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (148)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (33) Steering (151) Visibility (128)
Engine (38) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (27) Structure (476) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (165) Interior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (454) Wheels (75)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (48)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 391
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/12/2016 - ROCKLAND, NY
TRANSMISSION FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/12/2016 - HINESVILLE, GA
VEHICLE LUNGES AT RED LIGHTS OR WHEN I PUT IT IN PARK OR TAKE IT OUT OF PARK. RPMS GO UP TO 4000 RPMS AND WONT SHIFT. OD LIGHT STAYS ON AND FLASHES WHILE DRIVING AND SHIFTS UP AND DOWN WHILE DRIVING. ALMOST RAN THROUGH A STORE FRONT ONE DAY AS I PULLED UP BECAUSE THE RPMS WERE SO HIGH. IF RPMS ARE UP SITTING AT RED LIGHT IT CRUISES BY ITSELF WHEN I LET OFF BRAKE AT 30MPH BUT WONT GO ANY FASTER WHEN I GIVE IT GAS UNTIL RPMS COME DOWN. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR A YEAR NOW. I DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO KEEP REPLACING TRANSMISSIONS THIS IS THE SECOND ONE NOW IN 4 YEARS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/12/2016 - ALBERTVILLE, AL
WHEN I TURN MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON THEY STAY ON LOW AND WILL NOT GO OFF UNLESS I TURN THE TRUCK OFF WITH THE WIPERS IN OFF POSITION. MY O/D OFF LIGHT STARTED BLINKING WHEN I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN I TURN THE TRUCK OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES IT GOES OFF, BUT COMES ON A LITTLE BIT LATER WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/12/2016 - ALBERTVILLE, AL
WHEN I TURN MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON THEY STAY ON LOW AND WILL NOT GO OFF UNLESS I TURN THE TRUCK OFF WITH THE WIPERS IN OFF POSITION. MY O/D OFF LIGHT STARTED BLINKING WHEN I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN I TURN THE TRUCK OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES IT GOES OFF, BUT COMES ON A LITTLE BIT LATER WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/11/2016 - EAST HAMPTON, NY
REAR PANEL CRACKED WITHOUT COLLISION OR INCIDENT REAR GLASS OF LIFT GATE EXPLODED UPON CLOSING IN MY DRIVEWAY, WHILE PARKED, ON SATURDAY 4/9/201 I KNEW NOTHING OF A PENDING CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT OR THE DEFECT BEING COMPLAINED ABOUT BY SO MANY EXPLORER OWNS FROM THE YEARS OF 2002-2005 FORD CHANGED THE PROBLEM PIECE AFTER 2005 HOWEVER THEY NEVER RECALLED THE LIFT GATE OR REAR PANEL INSURANCE WILL NOT COVER IT FORD WILL NOT RECALL OR REPLACE IT THERE IS GLASS EVERYWHERE AND I DO NOT HAVE 500+ DOLLARS TO REPLACE IT. THIS WAS A DEFECT THAT SHOULD BE REPLACED BY FORD!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/6/2016 - HYDEN, KY
MY 2002 FORD EXPLORER 4.6L IS HAVING MAJOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS AT ONLY 110K MILES. IT HESITATES SHIFTING GEARS AND SLIPS WHILE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE ALSO STALLS WHEN STOPPING AT A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. IT HAS THE INFAMOUS CRACK DOWN THE BACK HATCH. BOTH ARE PROBLEMS THOUSANDS OF CUSTOMERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT YET FORD DOES NOTHING. THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM IS A VERY EXPENSIVE COST TO REPAIR AND IT SHOULDN'T BE THE CUSTOMERS RESPONSIBILITY WHEN FORD KNEW THERE WAS A PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/6/2016 - HYDEN, KY
MY 2002 FORD EXPLORER 4.6L IS HAVING MAJOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS AT ONLY 110K MILES. IT HESITATES SHIFTING GEARS AND SLIPS WHILE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE ALSO STALLS WHEN STOPPING AT A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. IT HAS THE INFAMOUS CRACK DOWN THE BACK HATCH. BOTH ARE PROBLEMS THOUSANDS OF CUSTOMERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT YET FORD DOES NOTHING. THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM IS A VERY EXPENSIVE COST TO REPAIR AND IT SHOULDN'T BE THE CUSTOMERS RESPONSIBILITY WHEN FORD KNEW THERE WAS A PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/5/2016 - BUFFALO, NY
AS I WAS OUT DRIVING ONE DAY, I PULLED OFF FROM A GREEN LIGHT AND OUT OF NOWHERE THE "SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT" AND THE "O/D LIGHT" BOTH TURNED ON AT THE SAME TIME. AT THE SAME TIME I NOTICED THAT THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHIFT VERY POORLY COMING OUT OF 1ST AND 2ND GEAR. IT IS NOW TO THE POINT WHERE THERE IS A REALLY LOUD "CLUNK" EVERY TIME THE TRUCK SHIFTS, ESPECIALLY IN THE LOWER GEARS AND WHEN PUTTING THE TRUCK IN REVERSE. I PULLED OVER TO ENSURE THAT IT WASN'T SOMETHING I HAD DONE AND IT WASN'T! I LET THE CAR SIT FOR A FEW HOURS HOPING THAT WOULD CLEAR THE ISSUE, BUT NO LUCK! AFTER MUCH RESEARCH ON THE PROBLEM THIS IS A VERY WELL KNOWN PROBLEM BY FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE TO RESOLVE IT FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE JUST UNDER A MONTH AGO AND ALREADY I'M LOOKING AT $2,000 TO PUT IN A NEW TRANSMISSION. WELL AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE I CAN NOT AFFORD TO FIX FORD'S MISTAKE!!! THIS IS A CLEAR DEFECT OF A FORD PRODUCT AND AFTER SPENDING MY HARD EARNED MONEY ON ONE OF THEIR PRODUCTS I EXPECT MUCH BETTER FROM THEM! EVEN AFTER SPENDING $2,000 ON ANOTHER TRANSMISSION, IT IS A SURE FACT THAT IT IS ONLY INEVITABLE THAT THIS PROBLEM WILL HAPPEN AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN TO ANYONE WHO PURCHASES A 2003 FORD EXPLORER! IF I AND I'M SURE ANYONE ELSE WOULD'VE KNOWN THIS FACT, I'M POSITIVE; FORD WOULD HAVE NOT SOLD AS MANY MODELS. CAN WE SAY BAMBOOZLED AND TAKEN FOR MY MONEY BY FORD MOTOR COMPANY! PLEASE HELP US CUSTOMERS OUT AND DEMAND A RECALL ON THESE POORLY BUILT COMPONENTS THEY MASS PRODUCED AND STUCK INSIDE A WIDELY MARKETED AND SOLD VEHICLE. HOW WOULD YOU FEEL IF YOU AND YOUR INFANT CHILD WAS DRIVING AND OUT OF NOWHERE...BOOM...ANOTHER $2,000 YOU DO NOT HAVE FOR ANOTHER POORLY BUILT FORD TRANSMISSION SMH... ## VIN FAILED ## [XXX] ## INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/5/2016 - VIRGILINA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS SHIFTED INTO THE PARK POSITION, THE FOUR WHEEL DRIVE SHIFTED. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE FOUR WHEEL GEARS SHIFTED AGAIN. THE CONTACT ACTIVATED THE GEAR BUTTONM BUT IT DID NOT WORK. THE VEHICLE MANAGED TO PLACE ITSELF BACK INTO DRIVE GEAR. THE WARNING LIGHTS DID NOT ILLUMINATE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,819.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/30/2016 - QUEENS VILLAGE, NY
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WENT TO A AUTO REPAIR SHOP AND WAS GIVEN OEM CODE P0442 (EVAPORATIVE EMISSION SYSTEM). THE SCENT OF GAS WAS PRESENT. I CHANGED THE FUEL CAP AND ISSUE STILL REMAINS. GAS FUEL TANK VAPOR VENT CHECK VALVE IS DEFECTIVE AND MUST BE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 391
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds