Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2002 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3066 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (133) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (8) Tires (34)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Parking Brake (17) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (32)
Electrical System (121) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Power Train (1506) Service Brakes Hydraulic (94) Vehicle Speed Control (140)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (12) Seat Belts (32) Steering (143) Visibility (126)
Engine (24) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (26) Structure (451) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (164) Latches Locks Linkages (48) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (449) Wheels (72)
Equipment (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 375
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/20/2014 - LAURINBURG, NC
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN JULY 2013 AND DROVE IT APPROXIMATELY ONE MONTH WHEN I BEGAN TO NOTICE THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS NOT SHIFTING PROPERLY. WHILE DRIVING ALONG THERE WAS A SUDDEN DECLINE IN MY SPEED WHILE THE RPMS CONTINUED TO INCREASE. I SLOWED TO A STOP AS I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I CHECKED THE VEHICLE FOR ANY OUTWARD SIGNS OF DAMAGE HAVING FOUND NONE I ONCE AGAIN ATTEMPTED TO CONTINUE MY TRIP. THIS TIME THE VEHICLE MANAGED TO ACCELERATE TO A BLISTERING 5 MILES AN HOUR WHILE HAVING TO MAINTAIN A 4-6 THOUSAND RPM RANGE. I PROCEEDED ALONG THE GRASS OF THE ROAD UNTIL I REACHED HOME. IT SITS NOW IN MY YARD COVERED WITH MY "TARP OF SHAME". THIS PIECE OF WORTHLESS CRAP SURELY FITS IT ACRONYM (FORD) FOUND ON THE ROAD DEAD....MY SPELLING MIGHT NOT BE THE BEST, BUT IT IS BETTER THAN THIS PIECE OF ...AT ANY RATE, HOW MUCH MORE DOES THE PUBLIC HAVE TO PAY FORD. WE PAID WITH THE BAIL OUT MILLIONS TO THIER EXECUTIVES TO GET MILLIONS IN BONUSES TO RIP US OFF BY NOT PAYING FOR AND/OR FIXING THIER PIECES OF JUNK...ENOUGH IS TOO MUCH ALREADY! IF YOU AT THE NHTSA DOESN'T DO SOMETHING MAYBE WE CITIZEN OUGHT TO TAKE OUT A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT ON YOU. HOW MANY COMPLAINTS DOES IT TAKE TO CONSTITUTE A PATTERN? ABOVE 4,500,000....OR WILL IT BE THE DEATHS OF ONE OR MORE OF OUR CHILDREN AT THE HANDS OF THESE FATCATS WHO LAUGH AT US, WITH SUCH INDIFFERENCE AND UNBRIDLED CONTEMPT. IT DOES SEEM THAT IT GIVES THEM JOY TO MOCK THE PUBLIC AND THE GOVERNMENT THIS WAY. CONCIDER, GM RECENTLY WAS FOUND HIDING THEIR KNOWN DEFECTS AND NOW FORD HAS BEEN DOING THE SAME THING FOR WELL OVER A DECADE. WHAT WOULD OLE HENRY FORD SAY TODAY? BUT, WHAT HURTS ME THE MOST IS, I USED TO LIKE FORDS BUT NOW GIVE ME A TOYOTA, HONDA, NISSAN OR A SKATEBOARD BEFORE ONE OF THESE SO CALLED PIECES OF ENGINEERING WONDERS!! THE REAL WONDER IS WHERE AND WITH WHO, WILL THEY BREAK DOWN ON NEXT!!!!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
EXPLORER O/D LIGHT BLINKS AND SHIFTS ROUGH FROM 1ST TO 2ND.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
EXPLORER O/D LIGHT BLINKS AND SHIFTS ROUGH FROM 1ST TO 2ND.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/10/2014 - NEW HAVEN, CT
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK THANK GOD I WAS ALMOST HOME AT THIS TIME, MY FORD EXPLORE WAS DRIVING FINE ALL OF A SUDDEN I HERD A POP AND A BANG AND THEN THE MOTOR STARTED STUMBLING AND SHAKING.AS IT WAS RUNNING THE MOTOR KEPT ON POPPING I GOT OUT AND SEEN A SPARK PLUG NEXT TO DRIVER SIDE FENDER UNDER THE HOOD ALSO THE COIL THAT WAS PLUGGED ON TO THE PLUG WAS THERE TOO.I TRIED TO GRAB THE COIL BUT GOT SHOCKED BECAUSE THE RUBBER ON THE COIL WAS BROKE FROM THE PLUG FLYING OUT LIKE A BULLET AND HITTING THE COIL BRAKING IT IN FOUR OR FIVE PLACES THATS Y I GOT SHOCKED SO MUCH.THE HOLE POINT IS THAT THE PLUG STRIPED OUT OF THE HEAD AND DID ALL THIS DAMAGE. NOW I HAVE NO WAY TO FIX THIS ISSUE ONE OF THE WAYS TO FIX IT CAN BE TO REPLACE THE HEADS ON THE MOTOR WITCH WILL COST LOTS OF MONEY.WHAT CAN I DO IM DESPERATE SO IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE A HELPING HAND BY THE DEALER BUT THAY CLAM IT'S NOT THERE FOLT BUT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO SO MANY FORDS BECAUSE OF THE HEADS THAY HAVE USED ON THIS MOTOR PLEASE MAKE A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE IT IS A DEFECT I DO BELIEVE IT IS.I FOUND OVER 50 PEOPLE ONLINE HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE SAME ISSUES AS ME.PLEASE HELP US.....

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2014 - NEW HAVEN, CT
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK THANK GOD I WAS ALMOST HOME AT THIS TIME, MY FORD EXPLORE WAS DRIVING FINE ALL OF A SUDDEN I HERD A POP AND A BANG AND THEN THE MOTOR STARTED STUMBLING AND SHAKING.AS IT WAS RUNNING THE MOTOR KEPT ON POPPING I GOT OUT AND SEEN A SPARK PLUG NEXT TO DRIVER SIDE FENDER UNDER THE HOOD ALSO THE COIL THAT WAS PLUGGED ON TO THE PLUG WAS THERE TOO.I TRIED TO GRAB THE COIL BUT GOT SHOCKED BECAUSE THE RUBBER ON THE COIL WAS BROKE FROM THE PLUG FLYING OUT LIKE A BULLET AND HITTING THE COIL BRAKING IT IN FOUR OR FIVE PLACES THATS Y I GOT SHOCKED SO MUCH.THE HOLE POINT IS THAT THE PLUG STRIPED OUT OF THE HEAD AND DID ALL THIS DAMAGE. NOW I HAVE NO WAY TO FIX THIS ISSUE ONE OF THE WAYS TO FIX IT CAN BE TO REPLACE THE HEADS ON THE MOTOR WITCH WILL COST LOTS OF MONEY.WHAT CAN I DO IM DESPERATE SO IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE A HELPING HAND BY THE DEALER BUT THAY CLAM IT'S NOT THERE FOLT BUT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO SO MANY FORDS BECAUSE OF THE HEADS THAY HAVE USED ON THIS MOTOR PLEASE MAKE A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE IT IS A DEFECT I DO BELIEVE IT IS.I FOUND OVER 50 PEOPLE ONLINE HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE SAME ISSUES AS ME.PLEASE HELP US.....

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2014 - NEW HAVEN, CT
WHEN DRIVING TO WORK THREE BLOCKS AWAY FROM MY HOUSE I STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT. I STARTED TO TAKE OFF AGAIN ONCE THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN AND A SOUND FROM THE ENGINE SCARED ME. THE TRUCK STARTED TO SOUND LIKE A LAWN MOWER. I THEN HAD THE TRUCK TOWED AND TAKEN TO THE GARAGE WHERE THE MECHANIC SHOWED ME THAT THE SPARK PLUG BLOW OUT THE ENGINE. HE SAID THAT WITH FORDS IT HAPPENS ALOT AND IF YOU SEARCH ONLINE THERE ARE SO MANY PEOPLE THAT IT HAPPENS TO. HE THEN TOLD ME ONCE HE FIXES IT I SHOULD SELL IT RIGHT AWAY UNLESS I AM WILLING TO SPEND WHAT THE CAR IS WORTH ON REPLACING HEADS. IF FORD KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL ON THIS ALREADY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/25/2014 - CLEVELAND, OH
I HAD TO REPLACE TRANSMISSION AND SOLENOID, COSTING OVER $2500

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/21/2014 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REVVED UP. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AS A RESULT OF THE FAILURE ANOTHER VEHICLE REAR ENDED HER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SUSTAINED WHIPLASH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SOLENOID WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 179,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/19/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP, THE VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD FORCEFULLY AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO PERSONAL INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A COLLISION FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/18/2014 - EASTCLEVELAND, OH
WHILE DRIVING IN EVE. I SWITCH LANES AND CAME ONTO AN ICY PART OF ROAD DO TO BROKEN LEAKING HYDRANT HIT CHUCK HOLE IN THE ROAD AND LOST CONTROL OF MY TRUCK AND HIT POLE AND HYDRANT AND THE COMPLETE FRONT END WAS CRUSHED AND NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AT ALL. I HURT MY CHEST BACK AND KNEE'S AND HAVE HEADACHES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 375
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds