Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-350 - 2002 FORD F-350 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 34 complaints filed for the 2002 FORD F-350

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 FORD F-350. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 FORD F-350, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (7) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/23/2017 - KILN, MS
ON MY WAY TO WORK THE TURN SIGNALS FAILED AND HAZZZARD LIGHTS NO BREAK LITES OR TURN SINGNALS THE FUSE PANEL WAS SMOKING AND COUSED A WRECK AT 60 MILES PER HOUR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/23/2017 - KILN, MS
ON MY WAY TO WORK THE TURN SIGNALS FAILED AND HAZZZARD LIGHTS NO BREAK LITES OR TURN SINGNALS THE FUSE PANEL WAS SMOKING AND COUSED A WRECK AT 60 MILES PER HOUR

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/23/2017 - KILN, MS
ON MY WAY TO WORK THE TURN SIGNALS FAILED AND HAZZZARD LIGHTS NO BREAK LITES OR TURN SINGNALS THE FUSE PANEL WAS SMOKING AND COUSED A WRECK AT 60 MILES PER HOUR

View Details

SEATS

9/29/2017 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
SEATBELT DISCONNECTS INTERMITTENTLY, BUTTON DOESN'T ALWAYS FULLY POP BACK OUT WHEN BUCKLE IS ENGAGED

View Details

TIRES

9/6/2017 - LEWISTON , ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD F-350 EQUIPPED WITH COOPER DEAN MUD TERRAIN RADIAL SXT TIRES, SIZE: LT285/75R16. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AS IT SLOWED DOWN AND THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIRE DID NOT FALL WITHIN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO WARRANTY ON THE TIRE. THE DOT NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE VEHICLE AND TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,086.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

4/7/2017 - MOORPARK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD F-350 EQUIPPED WITH BF GOODRICH RUGGED TERRAIN T/A TIRES, SIZE: LT285/75R16 (NA). WHILE THE CONTACT'S SON WAS DRIVING 60 MPH, THE CONTACT FELT A SHUDDER IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT FELT A BUMP, HEARD AN EXPLODING NOISE, AND ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND DETERMINED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE EXPERIENCED TREAD SEPARATION. THE CONTACT PLANNED ON GIVING THE TIRE TO THE MANUFACTURER TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED. THE TIRES WERE REPLACEMENT TIRES. THE TIRE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE TIRE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE APPROXIMATE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 132,500 AND THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,500.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/8/2016 - PALMETTO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD F-350. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRAME OF THE VEHICLE WAS HEAVILY CORRODED. ALSO, THE FUEL STRAPS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. UPDATED 04/05/17

View Details

TIRES

11/7/2016 - SOUTHLAKE , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD F-350 EQUIPPED WITH NITRO TIRES, TIRE LINE: TERRA GRAPPLE, AND TIRE SIZE: LT285/75/R16. THE DOT NUMBER WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE CONTACT FELT THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AS THE REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT. UPON INSPECTION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE THREAD ON THE TIRE HAD SEPARATED. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE TIRE WITH A SPARE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRE WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS WITH A TOTAL OF FIVE TIRES MOUNTED IN VARIOUS LOCATIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000. UPDATED 01/27/17 CONSUMER STATED HE STARTED TO FEEL A BUMPING IN THE REAR AREA OF MY TRUCK, THEN A VIOLENT VIBRATION, THEN THE TIRE BLOWOUT OCCURRED/ ROAD CONDITIONS WERE CLEAR AND DRY. UPDATED 9/5/18

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/18/2016 - OGDEN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 FORD F-350. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEED, THE SEAT BELT UNLATCHED INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/16/2015 - CHELAN, WA
WIFE PARKED THE TRUCK RUNNING AT THE TOP OF A SLOPED DRIVEWAY NEAR OUR FARM HOUSE, LEFT THE TRUCK RUNNING AND IN PARK, GOT OUT TO RETRIEVE A FORGOTTEN ITEM, WALKED DOWNHILL 75 FT., AFTER A SHORT TIME TURNED TO SEE THE TRUCK SPEED BY BACKWARDS NEARLY HITTING HER. THE TRUCK RAMMED THE CARPORT CORNER CONCRETE SUPPORT, JUMPED A TWO FOOT ROCK WALL AND CAME TO REST AGAINST A THREE FOOT DIAMETER BIRCH TREE. TRUCK EVALUATED AS TOTAL LOSS. A MASTER MECHANIC BROUGHT TO HELP GET THE TRUCK STARTED. DAMAGE ONLY TO REAR BUT WOULD NOT START. BATTERY PLATES HAD SHORTED DUE TO THE THREE SEVERE JOLTS. THE MECHANIC ALSO NOTED THE STEERING COLUMN BOLTS AND SCREWS SEEMED QUITE LOOSE. THE TRUCK WAS STARTED BUT MOVED TO THE BODY SHOP BY A TOW TRUCK SINCE THE REAR BREAK LINE WAS SEVERED. AFTER TOTALING THE VEHICLE THE INSURANCE COMPANY SOLD THE TRUCK BACK TO ME FOR $5100. I GOT THE TRUCK REPAIRED. TODAY I TOOK IT TO THE FORD DEALER TO CHECK THE STEERING COLUMN. THE FORD TECHNICIAN NOTED THE SEVERITY OF THE LOOSE STEERING COLUMN, REPLACED A COUPLE BUSHINGS, TIGHTENED BOLTS AND SCREWS, AND TESTED THE VEHICLE. HE SPECIFICALLY NOTED, IN WRITING, THE TRUCK WOULD NOT RELIABLY STAY IN THE SELECTED GEAR. I PAID FORD $259 FOR THE STEERING COLUMN WORK. THE FORD SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME WHEN I SCHEDULED THE WORK THAT TWO OTHER VEHICLES HAD JUST COME IN THE SAME DAY WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS TRUCK CAME OUT OF PARK ON ITS OWN AND WHEN ROLLING BACKWARDS BARELY MISSED MY WIFE. SHE COULD HAVE BEEN EASILY KILLED. BEFORE THIS ACCIDENT, IT NEVER OCCURRED TO ME TO TAKE THE TRUCK INTO FORD FOR A CHECK OF THE STEERING COLUMN AFTER 13 YEARS BUT I SHOULD HAVE BEEN SMARTER. I BRING THIS UP TO YOU FOR REVIEW BECAUSE THERE COULD BE LOTS MORE OF THESE VEHICLES OUT THERE THAT COULD KILL SOMEONE IF THEY SUDDENLY SLIP OUT OF GEAR AND ROLL. I HAVE A COPY OF THE FORD SERVICE PAPERWORK FROM TODAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds