Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS ES300 - 2002 LEXUS ES300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 153 complaints filed for the 2002 LEXUS ES300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 LEXUS ES300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 LEXUS ES300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (2) Other (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Tires (7)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (55) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (52)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

8/24/2018 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 LEXUS ES300. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS STOPPED IN TRAFFIC, THE VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED AT 45 MPH BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. BOTH THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEATS COLLAPSED. AS A RESULT, THE REAR PASSENGERS SUSTAINED TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE DRIVER OF THE OTHER VEHICLE WAS NOT INJURED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/18/2017 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I REPLACED THE BATTERY ON MY LEXUS AND IT WOULD NO LONGER IDLE YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR AND THE ENGINE DIES.. THE COMPUTER LOST THE IDLE PARAMETERS THIS IS DANGEROUS AS I TURNED LEFT OFF ONE ROAD TO ANOTHER TOOK MY FOOT FROM ACCELARATOR TO BRAKE ENGINE DIED AND I LOST POWER STEERING ALMOST WRECKED MOST MECHANICS ARE AWARE OF THIS DEFECT LEXUS REFUSED TO ADMIT IT GOOGLE IT ALL OVER INTERNET

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/9/2017 - MODESTO, CA
2002 LEXUS EXCELERATED ON IT'S OWN.I WAS GETTING ON FREEWAY I STEPPED ON GAS TO GO WITH FLOW OF TRAFFIC , THEN TRAFFIC STARTED BACKING UP SO I WENT TO USE BRAKES TO SLOW DOWN BUT CAR KEPT EXCELERATING. I HAD TO USE BOTH FEET TO TRY TO STOP ,THEN I FELT A POP FROM GAS PEDAL AT THAT TIME IT STOPPED EXCELLERATING

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/29/2016 - ALPINE, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON A FREEWAY THE CAR MADE A SUDDEN & BRIEF SHUTTER IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY LOSS OF RESPONSE BY THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. I IMMEDIATELY BEGAN TO MOVE OFF THE FREEWAY KNOWING THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG WITH MY CAR. UPON GETTING O THE OFF RAMP I SAW FLAMES COMING FROM AROUND THE FRONT LEFT TIRE. I PUT THE CAR INTO PARK, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND EXITED THE VEHICLE. WITHIN A VERY FEW MINUTES THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES. PASSERS BY WHO STOPPED TO ASSIST ME INDICATED THAT THEY SAW FLAMES UNDERNEATH THE CAR AS I WAS PULLING OFF THE FREEWAY. THERE WAS NO INDICATION OF FIRE (EITHER FLAMES, SMOKE OR GAUGE INDICATIONS) FOR ME S THE DRIVER UNTIL I HAD EXITED TO THE OFF RAMP. THE CAR HAS BEEN DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS WITH CAUSE LISTED AS " UNDETERMINED" BY THE INSURANCE CO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/29/2016 - ALPINE, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON A FREEWAY THE CAR MADE A SUDDEN & BRIEF SHUTTER IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY LOSS OF RESPONSE BY THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. I IMMEDIATELY BEGAN TO MOVE OFF THE FREEWAY KNOWING THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG WITH MY CAR. UPON GETTING O THE OFF RAMP I SAW FLAMES COMING FROM AROUND THE FRONT LEFT TIRE. I PUT THE CAR INTO PARK, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND EXITED THE VEHICLE. WITHIN A VERY FEW MINUTES THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES. PASSERS BY WHO STOPPED TO ASSIST ME INDICATED THAT THEY SAW FLAMES UNDERNEATH THE CAR AS I WAS PULLING OFF THE FREEWAY. THERE WAS NO INDICATION OF FIRE (EITHER FLAMES, SMOKE OR GAUGE INDICATIONS) FOR ME S THE DRIVER UNTIL I HAD EXITED TO THE OFF RAMP. THE CAR HAS BEEN DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS WITH CAUSE LISTED AS " UNDETERMINED" BY THE INSURANCE CO.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/28/2016 - HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC
SIDE AIRBAGS NEAR WINDSHIELD ARE LEAKING WHEN IT RAINS. AT FIRST IT WAS A SLOW LEAK, BUT REALLY POURS IN NOW

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2016 - RIVERWOODS, IL
LARGE CLOUD OF WHITE/GRAY SMOKE WHEN CAR SITS OVERNIGHT FROM PREVIOUS NIGHT DRIVING. AFTER RESEARCHING ONLINE THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM. THERE WAS A LAWSUIT FILED BECAUSE OF THIS. WHY NOT A RECALL????

View Details

ENGINE

1/25/2016 - CULVER CITY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 LEXUS ES300. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THERE WERE FLAMES AND A BLACK SUBSTANCE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT OF THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTO BODY REPAIR CENTER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/17/2015 - BEL AIR,, MD
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

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/9/2014 - VAN NUYS, CA
DEALER AND FINANCE COMPANY CLAIM CLEAN TITLE BUT DOCUMENTS REFLECT OTHERWISE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds