Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA TRIBUTE - 2002 MAZDA TRIBUTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 379 complaints filed for the 2002 MAZDA TRIBUTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 MAZDA TRIBUTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 MAZDA TRIBUTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (35) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4)
Electrical System (43) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seat Belts (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (1) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Engine (5) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (16) Structure (26) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (128) Latches Locks Linkages (21) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (5)
Exterior Lighting (5) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/29/2018 - HINESBURG, VT
TAKATA RECALL

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/28/2018 - TONOPAH, NV
I HAD THE OIL CHANGED IN PAHRUMP, NEVADA AT ROUND 10 AM. AFTERWARDS, I DROVE THE VEHICLE AROUND TOWN FOR SEVERAL HOURS, LOADING IT UP WITH BELONGINGS BECAUSE I WAS MOVING 160 NORTH ON HWY 95. AFTER STOPPING IN BEATTY, NEVADA, MY SUV SPUTTERED. I TOOK THE SUV OUT OF OVERDRIVE INTO DRIVE TO SEE IF IT WOULD BACKFIRE TO GET THE DIRT OR WATER OUT OF THE FUEL LINE FROM JUST FILLING UP. ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD, I HEARD A BELT SQUEAL. THINKING MY TRANSMISSION MAYBE GOING OUT DUE TO THE FACT I HADN'T DRIVEN IN DRIVE FOR SOME TIME, I CONTINUED ON MY WAY PRAYING THE VEHICLE WOULD MAKE IT TO MY DESTINATION. IT WASN'T UNTIL I REACHED THE 88 MILE MARKER, DID THE SQUEAL HAPPEN AGAIN. THEN WHITE SMOKE FOLLOWED. I THOUGHT, WELL THERE GOES THE RADIATOR TOO. JUST PAST THE 92 MILE MARKER, THE ENGINE LOCKED UP. I STILL HAD WHITE SMOKE AND NO SHOULDER. I DECIDED I HAD TO GET THE VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD AT 7 P.M. I WENT OVER INTO THE DITCH WITHOUT TURNING OVER WITH MY BELONGINGS. IMMEDIATELY, I NOTICED THE OIL AND OIL PAN LIGHTS ON. MY HEADLIGHTS WERE STILL ON. I CALLED A FRIEND WHO TOLD ME TO GET OUT IMMEDIATELY. I CALLED 911 AT 7:05 P.M. THEY TOLD ME TO RUN. WITHIN A MINUTE A SMALL FLAME CAME SHOOTING OUT OF THE VEHICLE WHICH CONTINUED TO BURN FOR OVER ONE HOUR UNTIL THE FIRE DEPARTMENT SHOWED UP TO PUT THE FIRE OUT WITH FOAM. I HAVE SPOKEN TO A COUPLE OF SEASONED MECHANICS. THEY SAID IT SOUNDED LIKE THE OIL FILTER WAS DEFECTIVE. ANOTHER SAID AFTER LOOKING AT WHAT WAS LEFT... ONLY THE SHELL, THERE WAS NOTHING LEFT UNDER THE HOOD. THE INSURANCE COMPANY, SAFECO HAS IT IN THEIR FORENSICS LAB TO DETERMINE FAULT. I GOOGLED FIRES IN MAZDA TRIBUTES 2002 AND RAN ACROSS A RECALL. I DID NOT RECEIVE A NOTICE AND HAVE CHECKED THE MAZDA WEBSITE USING MY VIN NUMBER. NOTHING ON MY VEHICLE EVER BEING RECALLED FOR THIS FIRE HAZARD. I HAVE PICTURES ON MY PHONE BUT LOST MY COMPUTER TO LOAD TO SITE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/18/2018 - INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN
WE TOOK OUR MAZDA IN FOR THE SUB-FRAME RECALL 11-30-2015 AND THE DEALERSHIP, MORRIES MAZDA INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN, SIGNED OFF THAT IT WAS FINE. NOW 29 MONTHS AND 10,000 MILES LATER THERE IS A DIME SIZED HOLE RUSTED THROUGH THE SUB-FRAME AND BOTH THE DEALERSHIP AND MAZDA USA ARE REFUSING TO PAY FOR ANY OF THE RECALL REPAIRS WHICH WILL RUN ABOUT $4,000. THE FRAME IS A HEAVY PIECE OF METAL AND THERE IS NO WAY A DIME SIZED HOLE SHOULD OCCUR IN THAT SHORT A PERIOD OF TIME. I BELIEVE DUE TO THE COST OF THE REPAIR MAZDA USA AND MORRIES REFUSED TO DO THE NECESSARY RECALL REPAIRS WHEN WE ORIGINALLY TOOK THE CAR IN ON 11-30-15 AND ARE NOW REFUSING AGAIN TO COVER THE COSTS (MAZDA USA TICKET # 1-1249669028). THIS WAS CLEARLY A DESIGN DEFECT AND IF THE SUB-FRAME FAILS WHILE DRIVING , PARTICULARLY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS IT CARRIES POTENTIAL LIFE THREATING INJURY TO THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE AND OTHERS IN THE AREA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/11/2018 - JENNINGS, MO
MY 2002 MAZDA TRIBUTE IS LEAKING BRAKE FLUID PER MAZDA RECALL MY VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED 01/02. AND IT SMELLS SMOKY! I DIDN'T GET A RECALL NOTICE BUT, MY TRIBUTE IS HAVING THE EXACT PROBLEM SITED ON U.S. NEWS & WORLD REPORT. QUOTE: MAZDA RECALLING 52,390 TRIBUTE SUVS FROM THE 2001 AND 2002 MODEL YEARS FOR A PROBLEM WITH THEIR BRAKES. ACCORDING TO THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION, PART OF THE TRIBUTE+S BRAKE SYSTEM COULD LEAK BRAKE FLUID. IF THE BRAKE FLUID LEAKS, IT+S POSSIBLE THAT THE FLUID CAN COME IN CONTACT WITH WIRES THAT CONTROL THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE SYSTEM. CORROSION MAY DEVELOP IN THE ELECTRICAL CONNECTOR LEADING MELTING, SMOKING OR POSSIBLE FIRE,+ NHTSA REPORTS. NHTSA SAYS THAT OWNERS SHOULD PARK THEIR MAZDA TRIBUTE OUTSIDE UNTIL THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN IN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE FIXED. THIS IS UNUSUAL COMPARED WITH MOST VEHICLE SAFETY RECALLS, BUT WITH THE POSSIBILITY OF A FIRE OCCURRING, OWNERS SHOULD HEED THIS WARNING. AFFECTED MAZDA TRIBUTE SUVS WERE BUILT FROM APRIL 20, 2000 THROUGH JULY 19, 2002. YOU CAN CHECK TO SEE WHEN YOUR 2001 OR 2002 MAZDA TRIBUTE WAS BUILT BY CHECKING THE STICKER ON THE INSIDE OF THE DRIVER+S SIDE DOOR JAMB.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/10/2018 - NEW HAVEN, CT
TAKATA RECALL, MY CAR IS HAVING ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS (ABS), I ALSO HAVE A LOT SO ON CERTAIN SPORT UTILITY VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH 3.0L V6 DURATEC ENGINES, DURING DECELERATION, THE ENGINE CAN STALL

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/10/2018 - NEW HAVEN, CT
TAKATA RECALL, MY CAR IS HAVING ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS (ABS), I ALSO HAVE A LOT SO ON CERTAIN SPORT UTILITY VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH 3.0L V6 DURATEC ENGINES, DURING DECELERATION, THE ENGINE CAN STALL

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/10/2018 - NEW HAVEN, CT
TAKATA RECALL, MY CAR IS HAVING ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS (ABS), I ALSO HAVE A LOT SO ON CERTAIN SPORT UTILITY VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH 3.0L V6 DURATEC ENGINES, DURING DECELERATION, THE ENGINE CAN STALL

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/9/2017 - REHOBOTH, MA
PCM/ECM

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/9/2017 - REHOBOTH, MA
PCM/ECM

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/11/2017 - FLINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE UNDERCARRIAGE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE FRACTURED DUE TO SEVERE RUST. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT DID NOT TAKE THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC OR DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 181,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds