Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2002 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/26/2019 - GUAYAMA, PR
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY WHEN THE CAR ACCELERATED BY ITSELF, BRAKES DID NOT WORK. THE CAR PUT ITSELF IN THE MIDDLE OF TWO LANES, THEN ACCELERATED TURN HALF ,I THINK, CRASHED (THE FRONT OF THE CAR)WITH A SMALL HILL SOME HOW DID NOT STOP AND ENDED UP SOMEHOW TURNING BACK AND CRASHED AGAIN THIS TIME THE BACK OF THE CAR CRASHED AGAINST THE HILL AND STOPPED. THE CAR SUFFERED SEVERAL BREAKS IN AND A TRANSMISION REPAIR. THIS IS MY THIRD TOYOTA. IT WAS PERFECT BEFORE THE INCIDENT. IT WAS VERY SCARY. JUST A FEW MIN BEFORE THE CRASH I WAS PASSING A TOLL AT ABOUT 28 MPH. AFTER PASSING THE TOOL I WAS FASTER THAN THAT BUT I DO NOT LIKE TO SPEED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/26/2019 - GUAYAMA, PR
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY WHEN THE CAR ACCELERATED BY ITSELF, BRAKES DID NOT WORK. THE CAR PUT ITSELF IN THE MIDDLE OF TWO LANES, THEN ACCELERATED TURN HALF ,I THINK, CRASHED (THE FRONT OF THE CAR)WITH A SMALL HILL SOME HOW DID NOT STOP AND ENDED UP SOMEHOW TURNING BACK AND CRASHED AGAIN THIS TIME THE BACK OF THE CAR CRASHED AGAINST THE HILL AND STOPPED. THE CAR SUFFERED SEVERAL BREAKS IN AND A TRANSMISION REPAIR. THIS IS MY THIRD TOYOTA. IT WAS PERFECT BEFORE THE INCIDENT. IT WAS VERY SCARY. JUST A FEW MIN BEFORE THE CRASH I WAS PASSING A TOLL AT ABOUT 28 MPH. AFTER PASSING THE TOOL I WAS FASTER THAN THAT BUT I DO NOT LIKE TO SPEED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/26/2019 - GUAYAMA, PR
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY WHEN THE CAR ACCELERATED BY ITSELF, BRAKES DID NOT WORK. THE CAR PUT ITSELF IN THE MIDDLE OF TWO LANES, THEN ACCELERATED TURN HALF ,I THINK, CRASHED (THE FRONT OF THE CAR)WITH A SMALL HILL SOME HOW DID NOT STOP AND ENDED UP SOMEHOW TURNING BACK AND CRASHED AGAIN THIS TIME THE BACK OF THE CAR CRASHED AGAINST THE HILL AND STOPPED. THE CAR SUFFERED SEVERAL BREAKS IN AND A TRANSMISION REPAIR. THIS IS MY THIRD TOYOTA. IT WAS PERFECT BEFORE THE INCIDENT. IT WAS VERY SCARY. JUST A FEW MIN BEFORE THE CRASH I WAS PASSING A TOLL AT ABOUT 28 MPH. AFTER PASSING THE TOOL I WAS FASTER THAN THAT BUT I DO NOT LIKE TO SPEED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/25/2019 - CLACKAMAS, OR
WHILE AT THE STORE I FOUND I CAN TURN THE CAR OFF AND REMOVE THE KEY AND GET OU WHILE THE CAR IS STILL IN GEAR. IF YOU ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTION THE VEHICLE CAN ROLL AWAY, CAUSING PERSONAL AND PROPERTY DAMAGE AND POSSIBLE LOSS OF LIFE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/29/2018 - DESTREHAN, LA
AIR BAG FLASHES VSC OFF AND ENGINE FAILURE LIT.LOW MILES. TUNED REPLACING SPARK PLUGS. NO IMPROVEMENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/29/2018 - DESTREHAN, LA
AIR BAG FLASHES VSC OFF AND ENGINE FAILURE LIT.LOW MILES. TUNED REPLACING SPARK PLUGS. NO IMPROVEMENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/16/2018 - COLUMBIA, SC
MOVING MY CAR FROM A TO B PUT IT IN REVERSE IT JUST TOOK OFF BY IT SELF. IT WAS GOING SO FAST I COULD NOT STOP IT EVEN PRESSING THE BREAKS IT STILL WENT FAST ON IT ON. I STARTED SCREAMING WHY THIS CAR GOING SO FAST AND WHY I CAN'T STOP IT. IT STOPPED WHEN IT HIT THE CARPORT AND TO SIENNA VAN UNDER THE CARPORT.WHICH MY VANS ARE DAMAGE VERY BAD. I CALL TOYOTA CORPORATION AND TOLD THEM WHAT HAPPEN. THEY ASKED ME WHAT I WANTED FROM TOYOTA I SAID MY CAR CARPORT, AND BOTH VANS FIX. THEY GAVE ME A CLAIM NUMBER.SO THEY ARE HAVING AN INSPECTOR TO INSPECT IT I WILL HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE IT TOWED. THEY WORK FOR TOYOTA AND MAY SAY THE CAR IS FINE BUT I KNOW WHAT HAPPEN TO ME. IT IS SCARY, I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. IN MY OWN BACKYARD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/26/2017 - VIENNA, VA
AIRBAG ON WITH ERROR CODE B0113 ( SHORT INSIDE SQUIB HR CIRCUIT TO +B ) AND CAN NOT ERASE CODE.

View Details

STEERING

8/19/2017 - CLEVELAND, MS
WHEN TURNING STEERING WHEEL HARD TO TURN LIKE IT GET STUCK CAN TURN THE STEERING WHEEL.I WAS DRIVING A CITY STREET WHEN I NOTICE A FEW DAYS AGO. JUST SEEING THE RECALL NOTICE.HOW LONG DOES THE CONSUMER HAVE TO GET ASSISTANCE WITH RECALL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/26/2017 - TURLOCK, CA
I WAS LEAVING PARKING LOT @ 1-2 MPH TURNING RIGHT ONTO W TUOLUMNE RD IN TURLOCK CA. SUDDENLY CAR TOOK OFF LIKE A JET, BRAKES DIDN'T DEPRESS, HIT AN ISLAND THEN SLAMMED INTO TREE. I AM INJURED ANS CAR TOTALED. VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL ACCELERATION PEDAL PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds