Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2002 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/6/2017 - CONCORD, CA
1)STEERING-WHEN TRYING TO GO STRAIGHT CAR WILL TILT TO THE LEFT, HAVE TO KEEP WHEEL AT WEIRD ANGLE TO MAINTAIN A STRAIGHT LINE. 2)ACCELERATOR STICKS ACCELERATOR SEEMS STIFF AND STICKY AND CAUSES CAR TO LURCH WHEN STARTING FROM A STOP -WAS MAKING LEFT TURN THROUGH INTERSECTION ON A CITY STREET FEBRUARY 4TH AND ACCELERATOR STUCK UNTIL IT WAS PUMPED, INCREASING MY SPEED. WAS TERRIFYING. 3)RUST RIDDEN ROTERS AND BREAK ANTI-RUST COVERS NOT WORKING AT ALL 4)VISIBILITY-WINDSHIELD'S SEAL SEEMS DEFECTIVE-VIN NUMBER NOT VISIBLE DUE TO CONDENSATION BUILDING IN LOWER CORNER, WINDSHIELD FOGS UP PROFUSELY AND STAYS THAT WAY EVEN WITH DEFROSTER MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO SEE OUT OF FRONT WINDSHIELD 5)HEATER-BLOWS COOLED AIR (NOT ROOM TEMP) INSTEAD OF WARM WHEN TURNED ON, SEEMS LIKE COMPUTER ERROR IN THERMOSTATE/TEMPERATURE GAGE 6)SIDE WINDOWS SHAKE/STUDDER WHEN ROLLED UP OR DOWN

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2016 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON FIVE SEPARATE OCCASIONS WHERE THE FUEL CAP AND FUEL LINE HOSE WERE REPLACED AT DIFFERENT TIMES. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWO DAYS AFTER EACH REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. MOST RECENT, THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/30/2015 - REDLANDS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V043000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. ...UPDATED 12/11/15 UPDATED 12/15/15.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2015 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS ABLE TO ADJUST THE PRETENSIONERS ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS RESET; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE AIR BAG WIRING HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,500.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/18/2015 - STERLING HEIGHTS , MI
MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDDLE AND DEPRESSED THE BRAKE. I TRIED USING THE BRAKE AND EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR, BUT I COULD NOT STOP THE CAR'S ACCELERATION. MY CAR ENDED UP SLAMMING INTO A HOUSE. IT WAS INVESTIGATED BY SHELBY TOWNSHIP MICHIGAN POLICE AND CONFIRMED THE ACCELERATED WAS STUCK. I RECEIVED SEVERE INJURIES IN THIS ACCIDENT INCLUDING A HEAD INJURY, AND NECK & BACK INJURIES. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF OTHER PEOPLE DRIVING A SIMILAR CAR. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/18/2015 - STERLING HEIGHTS , MI
MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDDLE AND DEPRESSED THE BRAKE. I TRIED USING THE BRAKE AND EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR, BUT I COULD NOT STOP THE CAR'S ACCELERATION. MY CAR ENDED UP SLAMMING INTO A HOUSE. IT WAS INVESTIGATED BY SHELBY TOWNSHIP MICHIGAN POLICE AND CONFIRMED THE ACCELERATED WAS STUCK. I RECEIVED SEVERE INJURIES IN THIS ACCIDENT INCLUDING A HEAD INJURY, AND NECK & BACK INJURIES. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF OTHER PEOPLE DRIVING A SIMILAR CAR. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/25/2015 - NAPLES, FL
AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON:DEALER - LABOR 59067 CHECKED ALL CONNECTIONS. CHECKED CODES. CLEARED CODES. AIR BAG WARNING "RED" LIGHT CAME BACK ON WITHIN A FEW DAYS DEALER OFFERED A REPAIR APPROXIMATE COST $2,000.00 I DID NOT ACCEPT DID NOT REPAIR AM DRIVING THE CAR SINCE WITH WARNING LIGHT ON ALL THE TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/20/2015 - SAINT AUGUSTINE , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT DID NOT DISCLOSE IF THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000. UPDATED 04/06/15 UPDATED 11/3/2015

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/20/2015 - SAINT AUGUSTINE , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT DID NOT DISCLOSE IF THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000. UPDATED 04/06/15 UPDATED 11/3/2015

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/3/2015 - ONTARIO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 4/7/15

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds