Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2002 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/21/2015 - ALVIN , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONTACT APPLIED EXCESSIVE FORCE TO THE BRAKES AGAIN BUT THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED STERNUM AND HEART BRUISES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 162,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/21/2015 - ALVIN , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONTACT APPLIED EXCESSIVE FORCE TO THE BRAKES AGAIN BUT THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED STERNUM AND HEART BRUISES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 162,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/5/2015 - WHITE PLAINS, NY
WHEN I WANTED TO EXIT THE CAR FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE, THE INSIDE DOOR HANDLE WOULD NOT WORK. I HAD TO OPEN THE WINDOW AND USE THE OUTSIDE HANDLE TO EXIT THE CAR .I WAS THEN ABLE TO EXIT THE CAR. I HAD TO HAVE THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR ASSEMBLY REPLACED.THAT WAS THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED. THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN IN NOVEMBER 2014. THE INSIDE DRIVER'S DOOR HANDLE WOULD NOT LET ME EXIT THE CAR AND I WAS TRAPPED INSIDE AGAIN. THE INSIDE DOOR HANDLE CABLE SNAPPED. I HAD TO HAVE THE CABLE REPLACED. THIS HAPPENED TWICE WITHIN A 5 YEAR PERIOD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/4/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
WITHOUT INCIDENT, ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO, THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON WHEN CAR STARTED AND CONTINUES TO BLINK WHILE CAR IS RUNNING. I HAVE APPROXIMATELY 99,000 MILES ON MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. LOCAL MECHANIC TESTED WITH HIS EQUIPMENT AND FOUND A PROBLEM WITH PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG. HE REFERRED ME TO DEALER TO MAKE REPAIRS. CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD THEY WOULD HAVE TO RE-CHECK AT COST OF MORE THAN $100 AND THEN WOULD CHARGE ME FOR ANY REPAIRS THAT WERE NEEDED, BUT COULD NOT QUOTE PRICE UNTIL THEY PERFORMED TEST. I THEN READ ABOUT RECALLS OF 2002 AVALON, BUT MY DEALER SAID THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY BECAUSE MY MAKE AND MODEL HAD NOT BEEN RECALLED. I CANNOT JUSTIFY PAYING $100+ FOR A RE-TEST AND THEN HAVING TO PAY ANY AMOUNT DEALER CHARGES TO REPAIR A 12 YEAR OLD AUTO. I DO NOT TRUST THIS DEALER BECAUSE OF PAST DEALINGS WITH THEIR SALES AND SERVICE DEPARTMENTS. PLEASE ADVISE ME. I TRANSPORT MY ELDERLY AUNT ON OCCASION. IS IT SAFE FOR HER TO RIDE IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT? THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2014 - NORCROSS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE PROBLEM RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,370.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2014 - HAMILTON , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TURNING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND TO DECELERATION ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 215,000. UPDATED 6/27/14 THE CONSUMER STATED THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND SHE WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL LEFT OR RIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

4/25/2014 - HAMILTON , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TURNING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND TO DECELERATION ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 215,000. UPDATED 6/27/14 THE CONSUMER STATED THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND SHE WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL LEFT OR RIGHT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/2/2014 - BENICIA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED RECURRINGLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER THREE TIMES WHERE THE SYSTEM WAS RESET BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 14V147000(AIR BAG) BUT DID NOT CONFIRM IF THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL COMPLAINT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/2/2014 - BATON ROUGE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THEN FLASHED RANDOMLY EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN PIN AND AN ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL BOX NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE STILL RECURRED SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC, WHERE THE RADIATOR WAS REPLACED. THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE STEERING FAILURE HOWEVER AND THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140000. UPDATED 05/22/14 MA UPDATED 8/8/2017

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/29/2013 - RIVERDALE, GA
WHILE DRIVING HOME ON 9/24/13 MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I DROVE RIGHT TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER SYSTEM WAS BELOW THRESHOLD ( CODE P0420). THIS REPAIR COST ME $2,541.27. I WAS TOLD THIS WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM WITH MY AIR BAG LIGHT FLASHING. AFTER PAYING FOR THIS REPAIR MY AIR BAG LIGHT CONTINUES TO FLASH, EVEN THOUGH THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE SAID THE DIAGNOSTIC DID NOT SHOW A CODE. I WAS PREVIOUSLY TOLD THE CODE FOR THE AIR BAG WAS B0113. SINCE PURCHASING THIS 2002 AVALON I HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE VALVE ASSY, IDLE REPLACED AT A COST OF 978.63, THIS IS IN ADDITION TO REGULAR SCHEDULED SERVICES. I HAVE OWNED OTHER CARS FOR THE SAME LENGTH OF TIME AND MILES AS THIS TOYOTA AND I HAVE NEVER HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS OUTSIDE REGULAR SERVICES WITH ANY OF MY OTHER VEHICLES (MAZDA AND ACURA) I HAVE COMPLETELY LOST CONFIDENCE IN THE TOYOTA BRAND. I BELIEVE THERE ARE DEFECTS WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IN THE 2002 AVALON.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds