Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2002 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/29/2013 - RIVERDALE, GA
WHILE DRIVING HOME ON 9/24/13 MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I DROVE RIGHT TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER SYSTEM WAS BELOW THRESHOLD ( CODE P0420). THIS REPAIR COST ME $2,541.27. I WAS TOLD THIS WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM WITH MY AIR BAG LIGHT FLASHING. AFTER PAYING FOR THIS REPAIR MY AIR BAG LIGHT CONTINUES TO FLASH, EVEN THOUGH THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE SAID THE DIAGNOSTIC DID NOT SHOW A CODE. I WAS PREVIOUSLY TOLD THE CODE FOR THE AIR BAG WAS B0113. SINCE PURCHASING THIS 2002 AVALON I HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE VALVE ASSY, IDLE REPLACED AT A COST OF 978.63, THIS IS IN ADDITION TO REGULAR SCHEDULED SERVICES. I HAVE OWNED OTHER CARS FOR THE SAME LENGTH OF TIME AND MILES AS THIS TOYOTA AND I HAVE NEVER HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS OUTSIDE REGULAR SERVICES WITH ANY OF MY OTHER VEHICLES (MAZDA AND ACURA) I HAVE COMPLETELY LOST CONFIDENCE IN THE TOYOTA BRAND. I BELIEVE THERE ARE DEFECTS WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IN THE 2002 AVALON.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/29/2013 - RIVERDALE, GA
WHILE DRIVING HOME ON 9/24/13 MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I DROVE RIGHT TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER SYSTEM WAS BELOW THRESHOLD ( CODE P0420). THIS REPAIR COST ME $2,541.27. I WAS TOLD THIS WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM WITH MY AIR BAG LIGHT FLASHING. AFTER PAYING FOR THIS REPAIR MY AIR BAG LIGHT CONTINUES TO FLASH, EVEN THOUGH THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE SAID THE DIAGNOSTIC DID NOT SHOW A CODE. I WAS PREVIOUSLY TOLD THE CODE FOR THE AIR BAG WAS B0113. SINCE PURCHASING THIS 2002 AVALON I HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE VALVE ASSY, IDLE REPLACED AT A COST OF 978.63, THIS IS IN ADDITION TO REGULAR SCHEDULED SERVICES. I HAVE OWNED OTHER CARS FOR THE SAME LENGTH OF TIME AND MILES AS THIS TOYOTA AND I HAVE NEVER HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS OUTSIDE REGULAR SERVICES WITH ANY OF MY OTHER VEHICLES (MAZDA AND ACURA) I HAVE COMPLETELY LOST CONFIDENCE IN THE TOYOTA BRAND. I BELIEVE THERE ARE DEFECTS WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IN THE 2002 AVALON.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/29/2013 - RIVERDALE, GA
WHILE DRIVING HOME ON 9/24/13 MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I DROVE RIGHT TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER SYSTEM WAS BELOW THRESHOLD ( CODE P0420). THIS REPAIR COST ME $2,541.27. I WAS TOLD THIS WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM WITH MY AIR BAG LIGHT FLASHING. AFTER PAYING FOR THIS REPAIR MY AIR BAG LIGHT CONTINUES TO FLASH, EVEN THOUGH THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE SAID THE DIAGNOSTIC DID NOT SHOW A CODE. I WAS PREVIOUSLY TOLD THE CODE FOR THE AIR BAG WAS B0113. SINCE PURCHASING THIS 2002 AVALON I HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE VALVE ASSY, IDLE REPLACED AT A COST OF 978.63, THIS IS IN ADDITION TO REGULAR SCHEDULED SERVICES. I HAVE OWNED OTHER CARS FOR THE SAME LENGTH OF TIME AND MILES AS THIS TOYOTA AND I HAVE NEVER HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS OUTSIDE REGULAR SERVICES WITH ANY OF MY OTHER VEHICLES (MAZDA AND ACURA) I HAVE COMPLETELY LOST CONFIDENCE IN THE TOYOTA BRAND. I BELIEVE THERE ARE DEFECTS WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IN THE 2002 AVALON.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2013 - BATEN ROUGE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V345000 (STEERING) WAS PERFORMED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN AND MADE A LOUD CLICKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 155,995.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/9/2013 - BURKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 1 MPH AND GOING THROUGH A CAR WASH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND CRASHED INTO A VEHICLE DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF IT. THE CONTACT PUT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE AND AGAIN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND CRASHED INTO THE VEHICLE DIRECTLY BEHIND IT. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO HER NECK AND BACK. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 75,655.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/23/2013 - RIVERDALE, GA
I WAS DRIVING IN TRAFFIC AND I PUT ON MY BRAKES SUDDENLY AND THE SRS LIGHT CAME ON AND REMAINED ON ALL DAY. I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTIC WHICH COST ME 97 DOLLARS, THE CODE WAS B0113 RIGHT SIDE AIR BAG DEFECT. I WAS QUOTED 2,000 DOLLARS TO REPAIR. THE AIR BAGS ON MY CAR HAVE NEVER DEPLOYED AND I THINK THERE IS A DEFECT WITH THE AIR BAGS AND SHOULD BE REPAIRED BY TOYOTA FREE OF CHARGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/6/2012 - NEWPORT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A CEMENT DIVIDER ON THE HIGHWAY. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE POLICE REPORTED TO THE SCENE AND A REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE AND THE CONTACT, WHO WAS IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT, WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL BY AMBULANCE. THE DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE SUFFERED A NECK INJURY AND THE CONTACT SUFFERED A CONCUSSION AND FRACTURED VERTEBRAE REQUIRING SURGERY. THE CONTACT STATED PRIOR TO THE CRASH THE AIR BAG LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000. ...UPDATED 08-10-12 UPDATED 08/14/2012

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/16/2011 - BOSTON, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 30 MPH DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO AN EMBANKMENT. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED DURING THE CRASH. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND FILED A COMPLAINT. THE MANUFACTURER ALSO STATED THAT AN ENGINEER WOULD BE SENT TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE BUT DID NOT GIVE ANY DETAILS OF WHAT CAUSED THE CRASH. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/16/2011 - BOSTON, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 30 MPH DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO AN EMBANKMENT. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED DURING THE CRASH. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND FILED A COMPLAINT. THE MANUFACTURER ALSO STATED THAT AN ENGINEER WOULD BE SENT TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE BUT DID NOT GIVE ANY DETAILS OF WHAT CAUSED THE CRASH. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/3/2011 - WADING RIVER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A DAMAGED WIRE CONNECTOR UNDER THE FRONT DRIVER SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED YET THE FAILURE RECURRED APPROXIMATELY TWO MONTHS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE WAS REPAIRED YET, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THE AIR BAG SENSORS WERE REPLACED BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DIFFERENT DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE WIRING FOR THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG EXHIBITED A SHORT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,281 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds