Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2002 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

3/31/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
2002 TOYOTA AVALON. S10 APPROPRIATE HANDLING- LETTER TO THE SECRETARY FROM COMPLAINT REGARDING TOYOTA PROBLEMS THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN SHE APPLIED THE BRAKE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP AND ON ONE OCCASION, SHE WENT THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. SHE ALSO STATED THE ACCELERATOR BECAME STUCK. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. UPDATED 04/05/11

View Details

STEERING

3/7/2011 - FERRIS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL SUDDENLY LOCKED AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO VEER OFF ROAD, CRASHING INTO A TREE. THE CONTACT WAS REPORTED INJURED AND WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL VIA AMBULANCE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TOWED TO A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DEEMED AS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED HIM THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE VEHICLE IN REGARDS TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 10V345000 (STEERING) BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NEVER BROUGHT IN FOR RECALL REPAIRS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 143,000. UPDATED 03/31/11 THE CONSUMER STATED TO DATE, HE/SHE HAS NOT RECEIVED A REPORT FROM TOYOTA. UPDATED 06/20/11

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

11/30/2010 - EATON, CO
I BOUGHT A USED TOYOTA AVALON 2002 WITH @ 67K MILES ON IT TWO MONTHS AGO. I NOTICED THAT IT OCCASIONALLY HAD BLUE SMOKE COMING OUT ON COLD START UP. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL DEALER FOR A REGULAR OIL CHANGE AFTER 2,700 MILES ELAPSED FROM WHEN IT WAS PURCHASED. I DID A CARFAX REPORT ON THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO PURCHASE AND IT SHOWED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS A ONE OWNER CAR WITH NO REPAIR OR DAMAGE HISTORY BEFORE IT WAS TRADED IN. MY WIFE DROVE IT FOR @ 2,000 MILES AFTER THE OIL CHANGE WHEN THE ENGINE OIL LIGHT CAME ON A FEW MILES FROM OUR HOME. I CHECKED THE OIL LEVEL AND IT DIDN'T READ ANYTHING ON THE DIP STICK. I WAS SHOCKED WHEN IT TOOK 4 1/2 QUARTS TO READ FULL. I IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED THE DEALER (EHRLICH TOYOTA, GREELEY, CO) THAT DID MY OIL CHANGE AND THEY SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT TODAY TO ASSESS THE PROBLEM. I DID SOME ONLINE RESEARCH OVER THE THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY ABOUT THE PROBLEM PRIOR TO TAKING THE CAR TO THE DEALER. I DISCOVERED THAT TOYOTA HAS HAD SIGNIFICANT PROBLEMS WITH ENGINE SLUDGE THAT EVENTUALLY CAUSES SEVER DAMAGE TO THE AFFECTED ENGINES. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THIS TO BE THE PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR THAT I PURCHASED ON THE 17TH OF SEPTEMBER 2010. I DISCOVERED THAT TOYOTA CAME OUT WITH A CSP (CUSTOMER SUPPORT PROGRAM) TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM. IN ESSENCE, TOYOTA AGREED TO PERFORM ANY NECESSARY REPAIRS (INCLUDING ENGINE REPAIR/OVERHAUL) IF THE VEHICLE WAS IDENTIFIED WITH THIS PROBLEM AND THAT THE OWNER COULD PROVE REGULAR OIL CHANGES HAD BEEN DONE. THIS "ONE TIME" GOOD FAITH FIX APPLIED TO THE AFFECTED VEHICLES FOR A PERIOD OF 8 YEARS PLUS 120 DAYS AFTER IT'S ORIGINAL PURCHASE. I DISCOVERED THAT THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF MY AVALON BOUGHT THE CAR ON THE 24TH OF JUNE 2002. THAT ESSENTIALLY MAKES MY CAR OUT OF THE ZONE FOR THIS REPAIR AS OF THE 24TH OF OCTOBER 2010. BECAUSE OF THIS, THE DEALER SAID IT'S MY PROBLEM! I CAN'T TELL YOU HOW FURIOUS THIS MAKES ME THAT I'M NOW RESPONSIBLE FOR A DEFECT I WAS NEVER INFORMED OF AT THE PURCHASE DATE OF SEPT 17TH 2010.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2010 - ST AUGUSTINE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO HAVE THE AIR BAGS REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,600 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 39,800.

View Details

STEERING

10/5/2010 - BLOOMFIELD , NE
I'VE HAD MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON SINCE IT HAD ABOUT 25,500 MILES. IT NOW HAS ABOUT 77500. FROM THE START OF OWNING THE CAR, THE TIRES WERE WORN AS IF THE CAR WAS NOT ALIGNED PROPERLY. WE HAD IT ALIGNED AT A REPUTABLE COMPANY, PURCHASED TOP OF THE LINE MICHELIN TIRES. THEY WORE INCORRECTLY JUST AS THE FIRST ONES ON THE CAR WHEN WE BOUGHT IT IN SPITE OF PROPERTY ROTATING OF THEM, ETC. LAST NOV OR SO, WE REPLACED THE TIRES AGAIN WHICH SHOULD HAVE LASTED MUCH LONGER THAN THEY DID. AGAIN, THE TIRES ARE WEARING IMPROPERLY. WE HAVE HAD THE CAR ALIGNED NO LESS THAN ONCE PER YEAR. ANOTHER ISSUE IS THE STEERING. IF YOU BARELY MOVE THE STEERING WHEEL IT "OVERCORRECTS". I'VE LEARNED TO DRIVE IT CAREFULLY WITH THIS ISSUE, BUT EVERY PERSON WHO HAS DRIVEN IS ASTOUNDED AT THEIR FIRST EXPERIENCE. I'VE SENDING THIS NOW BECAUSE I RECEIVED A RECALL ON THE STEERING COLUMN AND TELEPHONED THE DEALER TO ASK IF THIS IS WHY IT IS RECALLED. HE SAID IT ISN'T. THEREFORE, I THINK SOMEONE SHOULD BE AWARE OF THESE ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE. OTHER THAN THESE ITEMS, THE CAR HAS BEEN A GREAT VEHICLE.

View Details

TIRES

10/5/2010 - BLOOMFIELD , NE
I'VE HAD MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON SINCE IT HAD ABOUT 25,500 MILES. IT NOW HAS ABOUT 77500. FROM THE START OF OWNING THE CAR, THE TIRES WERE WORN AS IF THE CAR WAS NOT ALIGNED PROPERLY. WE HAD IT ALIGNED AT A REPUTABLE COMPANY, PURCHASED TOP OF THE LINE MICHELIN TIRES. THEY WORE INCORRECTLY JUST AS THE FIRST ONES ON THE CAR WHEN WE BOUGHT IT IN SPITE OF PROPERTY ROTATING OF THEM, ETC. LAST NOV OR SO, WE REPLACED THE TIRES AGAIN WHICH SHOULD HAVE LASTED MUCH LONGER THAN THEY DID. AGAIN, THE TIRES ARE WEARING IMPROPERLY. WE HAVE HAD THE CAR ALIGNED NO LESS THAN ONCE PER YEAR. ANOTHER ISSUE IS THE STEERING. IF YOU BARELY MOVE THE STEERING WHEEL IT "OVERCORRECTS". I'VE LEARNED TO DRIVE IT CAREFULLY WITH THIS ISSUE, BUT EVERY PERSON WHO HAS DRIVEN IS ASTOUNDED AT THEIR FIRST EXPERIENCE. I'VE SENDING THIS NOW BECAUSE I RECEIVED A RECALL ON THE STEERING COLUMN AND TELEPHONED THE DEALER TO ASK IF THIS IS WHY IT IS RECALLED. HE SAID IT ISN'T. THEREFORE, I THINK SOMEONE SHOULD BE AWARE OF THESE ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE. OTHER THAN THESE ITEMS, THE CAR HAS BEEN A GREAT VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

9/21/2010 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
2002 TOYOTA AVALON WAS REPAIRED DUE TO RECALL ON STEERING COLUMN. AFTER REPAIR, I WAS ABLE TO TURN OFF IGNITION WHILE CAR WAS IN DRIVE MODE. WHICH SAFETY DEFECT IS WORSE?

View Details

STEERING

9/17/2010 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V345000 (STEERING) BUT WHEN HE CONTACTED THE DEALER, HE WAS TOLD THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR REPAIRS WERE NOT AVAILABLE AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED EXPECTANCY DATE. THE CONTACT DID NOT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE BUT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE FAILURE COULD POTENTIALLY CAUSE A CRASH IF THE FAILURE EXISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE AND COULD NOT PROVIDE A DATE OF AVAILABILITY. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 30,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/14/2010 - FISHERS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V345000 (STEERING) AND CONTACTED THE DEALER TO SECURE AN APPOINTMENT FOR REPAIRS. THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE RECALL PARTS WERE NOT READILY AVAILABLE. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT HE WOULD BE NOTIFIED WHEN THE PART BECAME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE FAILURE WOULD OCCUR WHILE WAITING FOR THE PARTS TO ARRIVE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/13/2010 - QUINCY , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V345000 (STEERING). THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THEY HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE PART NEEDED FOR THE RECALL TO BE PERFORMED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT HIM WHEN THE PART BECAME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds