Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2002 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/2/2010 - HENDERSON, NV
ON 14 JUNE 2010, WHILE DRIVING IN FAIRLY HEAVY TRAFFIC, THERE WAS A LOUD NOISE IN THE FRONT END OF MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE WHEELS IMMEDIATELY JERKED TO THE LEFT. I REGAINED CONTROL AND MOVED THRU THE INTERSECTION WHEN THE ACTION REPEATED ITSELF. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER AND HAD THE CAR TOWED TO FINDLAY TOYOTA IN HENDERSON NV. AFTER EXTENSIVE TESTING, THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG NOR DID AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP. FOLLOWING THE 29 JULY NEWS RELEASE FROM TOYOTA, I E-MAILED TOYOTA FOR INFORMATION REGARDING AVALON+S PROBLEM. ON 30 JULY TOYOTA RESPONDED "AT THE PRESENT TIME, TOYOTA HAS NOT IDENTIFIED A REMEDY FOR THIS SAFETY RECALL." IN YOUR 2 AUG RELEASE, NHTSA STATES THE PROBLEM IS "DUE TO IMPROPER CASTING OF THE STEERING LOCK BAR". NHTSA GOES ON TO STATE THAT "DEALERS WILL REPLACE THE STEERING INTERLOCK DEVICE FREE OF CHARGE". MY QUESTION IS, WHY IS IT THAT NHTSA HAS IDENTIFIED A REMEDY FOR THE PROBLEM AND TOYOTA HAS NOT?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/3/2010 - PENSACOLA, FL
2002 TOYOTA AVALON XLS WITH ABOUT 84,000 MILES PERIODICALLY STALLS WHEN BRAKING AND TURNING 90 DEGREES AT LOW SPEED AT THE BOTTOM OF THE HILL NEAR OUR HOUSE. IT'S AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM. THE ENGINE STALLS AND POWER STEERING BECOMES INOPERATIVE MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO CONTROL CAR UNTIL IT IS STOPPED AND THE ENGINE RESTARTED. ALL PERIODIC SERVICES ARE ACCOMPLISHED BY TOYOTA IN ACCORDANCE WITH VEHICLE SERVICE GUIDE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/2/2010 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE EXPERIENCED SUDDEN ACCELERATION WHILE HER FOOT WAS ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. AS SHE TURNED INTO A PARKING SPACE, THE VEHICLE LURCHED FORWARD AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE NEXT TO HER. THERE WERE NO INJURIES BUT A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP WHERE THE DEALER INSPECTED THE BRAKE AND RAN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST BUT COULD NOT FIND THE CAUSE FOR FAILURE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND FILED A COMPLAINT. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 118,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/27/2010 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
I WAS APPROACHING A PARKING SPACE AT A RESTAURANT. I HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL AS I TURNED INTO THE SPACE. AS I CAME TO THE END OF THE SPACE, THE CAR LUNGED OVER THE CURB AND HIT THE BUILDING. BECAUSE THINGS HAPPENED SO QUICKLY, I CANNOT SAY WHETHER MY FOOT SLIPPED OFF THE BRAKE BUT I DO KNOW THAT I DIDN'T HAVE CONTROL OF MY CAR. THERE WAS DAMAGE TO THE CORNER OF THE BUILDING AND TO MY CAR AS WELL. I HAVE NOT HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR IN THE PAST AND CAN'T SAY THAT ANY EQUIPMENT WAS DEFICIENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/22/2010 - ALSTON, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN SHE ENGAGE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED BACKWARDS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE PUT THE VEHICLE IN DRIVE TO AVOID HITTING THE LIGHT POLE. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED OVER A CURB AND CRASHED INTO A FENCE. THE CONTACT DIDN'T STATE IF A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OR NOT. THE CONTACT WAS INJURED. THE DRIVER WAS ABLE TO APPLY PRESSURE TO THE BRAKES IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE INSURANCE COMPANY AUTHORIZED HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO AN AUTO BODY SHOP TO BE REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. THE APPROXIMATE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/12/2010 - SEATTLE, WA
IN 2007 MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON HAD A SERIOUS ACCIDENT DUE TO SUDDEN ACCELERATION. I WAS PARALLEL PARKING, HEADING SLOWLY FORWARD AT NO MORE THAN 1 OR 2 MPH WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY TOOK OFF. MY CAR STRUCK THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, CAREENED ACROSS THE ROAD AND SIDEWALK, AND CRASHED INTO A TRUCK PARKED IN A DRIVEWAY ACROSS THE STREET. FORTUNATELY NO BODY WAS HURT BUT PEOPLE COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED ESPECIALLY IF THERE HAD BEEN PEDESTRIANS IN THE WAY. AS YOU MIGHT EXPECT, I WAS VERY SHAKEN. MY CAR WAS "TOTALED" AND MY INSURANCE COMPANY SAID IT HAD TO HOLD ME AT FAULT BECAUSE TOYOTA REFUSED TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. I AM CONVINCED THIS WAS A PROBLEM OF SUDDEN ACCELERATION NOT HAVING ANYTHING TO DO WITH A STICKING GAS PEDAL AS I WAS BARELY GOING FORWARD. I BELIEVE THAT THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION PROBLEM IN TOYOTA VEHICLES SHOULD BE FURTHER INVESTIGATED AND NOT CONFINED TO THE RECALLED MODELS. I WOULD APPRECIATE A RESPONSE TO THIS EMAIL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/24/2010 - ANNANDALE, VA
IDENTIFY WHETHER OR NOT ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL SYSTEMS ARE INSTALLED ON MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON AND 2003 TOYOTA SIENNA. IF ELECTRONIC SYSTEMS ARE PRESENT, ARE THEY DEFECTIVE? CAN NHTSA DECLARE THAT IF ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROLS ARE PRESENT, THAT THEY ARE SAFE TO OPERATE? MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON ALSO HAS A KNOWN DEFECT (ENGINE OIL GEL ISSUES) WHICH TOYOTA MANAGED TO AVOID A RECALL. WILL TOYOTA REPLACE MY ENGINE IF THE ENGINE FAILS DUE TO THIS KNOWN DEFECT? DID THE NHTSA EVER ISSUE A RECALL DUE TO THIS DEFECT?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

2/23/2010 - TAPPAN, NY
OIL GELLING OR SLUDGE CAUSING ENGINE SEIZURE. CONFIRMED BY IDENTIFIX, KELLY BLUEBOOK, AND EDMUNDS.COM. TOYOTA EXTENDING WARRANTY FOR 2YRS AND ADVISING MORE FREQUENT OIL CHANGES. AVALON BROUGHT TO DEALERSHIP 8 TIMES AND CHARGED APPROX 800.00 FOR PROBLEM. ADVISED LETTER NOT RESOLVED. ADVISED TO GO TO CLASS ACTION SUITE DESTREHAN, LA. GIVEN RUN AROUND. HAVE LEXUS WITH SAME PROBLEM, COMPUTER WAS CHANGED AND NO FURTHER PROBLEM. SUGGEST TOYOTA AVOIDING EXPENSIVE REPAIRS AND REQUEST RETURN OF MY MONEY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

2/22/2010 - LYNN, MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE MASSACHUSETTS TURNPIKE (ROUTE 90) MY TOYOTA AVALON SUDDENLY TURNED TO THE LEFT (DRIVER'S SIDE) AND STRUCK THE HIGHWAY MEDIAN. I HAD NO CONTROL OF MY AVALON AND THE VEHICLE WAS UNRESPONSIVE TO TURNING THE WHEEL AND TO BRAKING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/18/2010 - VERO BEACH, FL
GAS PEDAL STUCK. WHILE PULLING INTO WORK SPACE TAKING MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR I ANTICIPATED THE GRADUAL SLOWDOWN OF MY 2002 AVALON. THE CAR DID NOT, AND ACTUALLY SEEMED TO ACCELERATE OVER THE CEMENT STOPPER, AND DID NOT SLOW OR STOP UNTIL I JAMMED ON THE BREAK. THIS HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY 2 MONTHS AGO. AT THE TIME HAD NO EXPLANATION FOR IT. AFTER HEARING ABOUT THIS EXACT PROBLEM WITH THE 2005-2010 MODELS I BEGAN TO FEEL THERE MAY BE A CONNECTION. TOYOTA BEGAN USING THIS "ACCELERATOR MECHANISM" IN THE 2002 AVALON. I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE MY ACCELERATOR CORRECTED BY TOYOTA. UPON CALLING THE LOCAL DEALER (VERO BEACH FL) I WAS TOLD THAT IT IS NOT A RECALLED VEHICLE, THEREFORE UNLESS THE "UNCONTROLLED ACCELERATION" OR "STUCK GAS PEDAL INCIDENT" CAN BE "REPRODUCED, THEY CAN DO NOTHING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds