Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2002 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/15/2010 - GLASTONBURY, CT
(02/19/2008) WAS DRIVING MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON JUST BEFORE 9 AM SE IN THE L LANE ON RTE.2 (CT) AT 65 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ON. THERE WAS AN OBSTRUCTION IN THE L LANE SO I PUT ON MY SIGNAL, PUSHED ON MY BRAKES AND PROCEEDED INTO THE R LANE. INSTEAD OF SLOWING DOWN, MY VEHICLE CONTINUED TO SPEED UP. I LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE DEPITS HAVING BOTH FEET ON THE BRAKES AND BOTH HANDS ON THE STEERING WHEEL. I WAS SWERVING FROM LANE TO LANE IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC ATTEMPTING TO AVOID THE OTHER VEHICLES. AFTER ABOUT A MILE, I WAS ABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE INTO THE R GUARDRAIL, ENABLING ME TO KEEP THE CAR STRAIGHT (AND OUT OF TRAFFIC) SO I COULD USE ONE HAND TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY VEHICLE WAS RIPPED OFF AND STREWN ALONG THE R SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY FOR ABOUT 1/4 MILE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED AND I WAS FORTUNATE TO NOT HIT ANOTHER CAR NOR SUFFER ANY SERIOUS INJURY. OBVIOUSLY, THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONLY ONCE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/15/2010 - CLARKSDALE, MS
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH ON NORMAL ROAD CONDITIONS THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV EXCESSIVELY HIGH. SUDDENLY, THERE WAS AN UNINTENDED INCREASE OF ACCELERATION. THE DRIVER WAS ABLE TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE FAILURE WAS CONTRIBUTED TO THE THROTTLE BODY AND IT WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/4/2010 - COSTA MESA, CA
MY 2002 TOYOTA AVALON GAS PEDAL ACCELERATED AT A FAST SPEED ON ITS OWN MOTION WHILE I WAS EXITING FROM THE 405 FREEWAY ON TO HARBOR BOULEVARD LOCATED IN COSTA MESA, CA, IN 2007 ON MY WAY TO MY HOME . THERE WAS NO WAY THAT I COULD STOP THE CAR WITH THE BRAKES OR THE GAS PEDAL. ONLY BY THE GRACE OF GOD WAS I ABLE TO SOMEHOW SWERVE OFF THE EXIT AND INTO AND ICEPLANT FIELD THAT SLOWED THE VEHICLE DOWN WHEN I PUT THE IGNITION IN NEUTRAL. THE CAR STOPPED WHEN IT PLOWED IN TO A MOUND OF PLANTING SOIL AND THE ENGINE DIED. I TOOK THE CAR TO ORANGE COAST AUTO REPAIR WHO WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHAT CAUSED THIS DEFECT AFTER EXTENSIVE TESTS. TOYOTA HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THE 2002 HAS THE SAME GAS PEDAL AND OTHER EQUIPMENT AS THE 2005-2010 AVALONS BUT HAS NOT TODATE RECALLED ANY EARLIER AVALONS THAN THE 2005S. IF NOT FOR THE ICEPLANT FIELD, BOTH ME AND THE OCCUPANTS OF ONE OF THE OTHER CARS STOPPED AT THE STOP SIGN IN FRONT OF ME WOULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR DIED. I WANT TOYOTA TO RECALL MY 2002 AVALON AND MAKE RECTIFYING EQUIPMENT CHANGES SO I CAN DRIVE THE CAR WITHOUT FEAR OF INJURING OR KILLING MYSELF AND OTHERS. IN FACT, TOYOTA FOR SOME UNKNOWN REASON (PROBABLY ECONOMICAL ) IS NOT RECALLING ALL AVALONS WITH THE SAME DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

1/27/2010 - ANAHEIM, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. WHEN SHE APPROACHED A TRAFFIC LIGHT OR INTERSECTION AND ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE, THE GAS PEDAL WAS STUCK AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. SHE HAD TO ENGAGE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL REPEATEDLY BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD MOVE FORWARD. A LOCAL MECHANIC SPRAYED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WITH SOME DW40 SPRAY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. SHE CONTACTED THE DEALER. THE DEALER STATED THAT HER VEHICLE WAS NOT A PART OF THE RECALL; THEREFORE, SHE WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 80,000. UPDATED 03/10/10 UPDATED 05/06/10

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/3/2010 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
CAR HAD BEEN PARKED IN GARAGE FOR 2 DAYS. DROVE VEHICLE ABOUT 1/4 MILE AND STOPPED FOR STOP LIGHT. WHEN ENTERING INTERSECTION, HEARD A LOUD CLUNK. CAR WAS VERY SLUGGISH AND NOTICED SMOKE THROUGH REAR WINDOW. STOPPED AND FOUND BRAKES LOCKED AND ABS/VSC INDICATORS ON DASH LIT. HAD CAR TOWED TO TOYOTA DEALER WHO FOUND "MASTER CYLINDER SEIZED CODE C1246 PRESSURE SENSOR MALFUNCTION". THEY REPLACED MASTER BRAKE CYLINDER. TOLD THEM I WANTED PART BACK BUT THEY SAID TOYOTA HAD PRIORITY OVER PART AND KEPT IT. VEHICLE HAD 65,614 MILES ON IT AT TIME OF INCIDENT. ALSO, BRAKE SYSTEM FLUSH HAD BEEN PERFORMED BY TOYOTA DEALER 4000 MILES AND 4 MONTHS PREVIOUS.

View Details

STEERING

12/1/2009 - SANDWICH, MA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGH WAY WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET TO 65 MPH. WHEN I TAPPED ON THE BRAKE TO RESET THE CRUISE CONTROL, NOT ONLY THAT THE CAR DID NOT SLOW DOWN, IT ACTUALLY PICKED UP THE SPEED AND STARTED TURNING AROUND ALL OVER THE HIGH WAY IN A BIG +S+ SHAPE. NEITHER THE BRAKE NOR THE STEERING WHEEL WAS FUNCTIONING. THE CAR WAS TOTALLY OUT OF MY CONTROL. THE CAR EVENTUALLY STOPPED AFTER HITTING THE SIDE RAIL ON THE ROAD. THE WEATHER WAS GOOD AND THE ROAD WAS CLEAR. AS AN ENGINEER, I SUSPECT THE ELECTRONIC SENSOR(S) OF THE CAR WAS THE CAUSE OF THE MALFUNCTIONING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/1/2009 - SANDWICH, MA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGH WAY WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET TO 65 MPH. WHEN I TAPPED ON THE BRAKE TO RESET THE CRUISE CONTROL, NOT ONLY THAT THE CAR DID NOT SLOW DOWN, IT ACTUALLY PICKED UP THE SPEED AND STARTED TURNING AROUND ALL OVER THE HIGH WAY IN A BIG +S+ SHAPE. NEITHER THE BRAKE NOR THE STEERING WHEEL WAS FUNCTIONING. THE CAR WAS TOTALLY OUT OF MY CONTROL. THE CAR EVENTUALLY STOPPED AFTER HITTING THE SIDE RAIL ON THE ROAD. THE WEATHER WAS GOOD AND THE ROAD WAS CLEAR. AS AN ENGINEER, I SUSPECT THE ELECTRONIC SENSOR(S) OF THE CAR WAS THE CAUSE OF THE MALFUNCTIONING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/9/2009 - DISCOVERY BAY, CA
THIS IS TO REPORT 3 INCIDENTS OF UNINTENDED ACCELERATION OF MY TOYOTA AVALON. IN EACH INCIDENT, THE CAR ACCELERATED UNEXPECTEDLY FOR A SHORT TIME WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 55MPH ON A SMOOTH LEVEL HIGHWAY. THE ACCELERATIONS EXPERIENCED CAN BE BEST DESCRIBED AS A "LUNGE". THESE INCIDENTS WERE NO IMPACT ANOMALIES. THEY ARE BEING REPORTED NOW FOR THE FIRST TIME TO SUPPORT YOUR INVESTIGATION.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

8/1/2009 - LAFAYETTE, LA
AIRBAG LIGHT ON 2002 TOYOTA AVALON WITH 65000 MILES WAS FLASHING AND TOOK TO DEALER. DIAGNOSED WITH B1141 CODE -SIDE AIRBAG SENSOR ASSEMBLY MALFUNCTION. COST TO REPAIR INCLUDED COMPLETE REPLACEMENT OF THE DRIVER SEAT AT $2000. FIND THIS COST UNREASONABLE AND DON'T TRUST DEALER THAT THERE IS NOT A CHEAPER WAY TO FIX. INTERESTING THAT I HAD TWO SIDE COLLISIONS AND IN EITHER CASE, SIDE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. DEFECTIVE AIRBAG ASSEMBLY SHOULD BE REPLACED AT NO CHARGE DUE TO SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/23/2009 - ENOLA, PA
DRIVING CAR IN PARKING LOT AT 10 MPH AND SUDDENLY WOULD NOT MOVE ANY MORE WHEN IN GEAR WHILE ENGINE RUNNING NORMALLY. FOLLOWING INDICATOR LIGHTS WERE ON: "VSC ON", "VSC OFF", AND "ABS". WHEELS WERE TOTALLY LOCKED AND WOULD NOT TURN AND TIRES DRUG WHEN VEHICLE PULLED UP FLATBED TOW TRUCK WITH WINCH. DEALER DIAGNOSED AS "FOUND BRAKES ARE LOCKED ON. FOUND MASTER CYLINDER NOT RELEASING. BRAKE FLUID IN BOOSTER". DESCRIBED TO ME BY DEALER ON PHONE THAT PIN IN MASTER CYLINDER FROZE FOR SOME UNKNOWN REASON. TOOK ALMOST 2 WEEKS FOR DEALER TO GET PART AS NATIONAL BACKORDER (WHICH COULD INDICATE A SERIOUS, FREQUENT PROBLEM WITH THIS PART). THIS COULD HAVE KILLED ME AND MY FAMILY IF OPERATING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS WHEN PIN LOCKED. THIS APPEARS TO BE IDENTICAL TO PREVIOUS CONDITION NOTED IN ODI CLAIM 10215967 ON SAME YEAR AND MODEL OF VEHICLE. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS CONDITION, SHOULD NOT NORMALLY OCCUR, BUT APPEARS TO BE HAPPENING TO MORE THAN ONE OWNER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds