Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2002 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

11/13/2008 - LYNN, MA
I PURCHASED A CERTIFIED USED CAR FROM IRA TOYOTA AND SINCE I'VE OWNED IT 4 THINGS HAVE NEVER WORKED: 1. THE SEAT BELTS ALWAYS STICK AND HAVE BEEN REPLACED AND STILL DO NOT WORK. 2. THE DRIVER'S SEAT DOES NOT MOVE FORWARD AND BACK. THE DEALER LOOKED AT IT MORE THAN TWICE AND STILL WILL NOT FIX IT. 3. THE STEERING WHEEL DOES NOT TURN SMOOTHLY AND THE DEALER DOES NOT KNOW WHY. 4. THE VEHICLE CONTINUOUSLY TURNS TO THE LEFT, EVEN AFTER ALL NEW, SUPERIOR WHEELS AND TIRES, NEW STRUTS AND TWO FRONT END ALIGNMENTS. THE DEALER: IRA TOYOTA COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG.

View Details

SEATS

11/13/2008 - LYNN, MA
I PURCHASED A CERTIFIED USED CAR FROM IRA TOYOTA AND SINCE I'VE OWNED IT 4 THINGS HAVE NEVER WORKED: 1. THE SEAT BELTS ALWAYS STICK AND HAVE BEEN REPLACED AND STILL DO NOT WORK. 2. THE DRIVER'S SEAT DOES NOT MOVE FORWARD AND BACK. THE DEALER LOOKED AT IT MORE THAN TWICE AND STILL WILL NOT FIX IT. 3. THE STEERING WHEEL DOES NOT TURN SMOOTHLY AND THE DEALER DOES NOT KNOW WHY. 4. THE VEHICLE CONTINUOUSLY TURNS TO THE LEFT, EVEN AFTER ALL NEW, SUPERIOR WHEELS AND TIRES, NEW STRUTS AND TWO FRONT END ALIGNMENTS. THE DEALER: IRA TOYOTA COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG.

View Details

STEERING

11/13/2008 - LYNN, MA
I PURCHASED A CERTIFIED USED CAR FROM IRA TOYOTA AND SINCE I'VE OWNED IT 4 THINGS HAVE NEVER WORKED: 1. THE SEAT BELTS ALWAYS STICK AND HAVE BEEN REPLACED AND STILL DO NOT WORK. 2. THE DRIVER'S SEAT DOES NOT MOVE FORWARD AND BACK. THE DEALER LOOKED AT IT MORE THAN TWICE AND STILL WILL NOT FIX IT. 3. THE STEERING WHEEL DOES NOT TURN SMOOTHLY AND THE DEALER DOES NOT KNOW WHY. 4. THE VEHICLE CONTINUOUSLY TURNS TO THE LEFT, EVEN AFTER ALL NEW, SUPERIOR WHEELS AND TIRES, NEW STRUTS AND TWO FRONT END ALIGNMENTS. THE DEALER: IRA TOYOTA COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/13/2008 - LYNN, MA
I PURCHASED A CERTIFIED USED CAR FROM IRA TOYOTA AND SINCE I'VE OWNED IT 4 THINGS HAVE NEVER WORKED: 1. THE SEAT BELTS ALWAYS STICK AND HAVE BEEN REPLACED AND STILL DO NOT WORK. 2. THE DRIVER'S SEAT DOES NOT MOVE FORWARD AND BACK. THE DEALER LOOKED AT IT MORE THAN TWICE AND STILL WILL NOT FIX IT. 3. THE STEERING WHEEL DOES NOT TURN SMOOTHLY AND THE DEALER DOES NOT KNOW WHY. 4. THE VEHICLE CONTINUOUSLY TURNS TO THE LEFT, EVEN AFTER ALL NEW, SUPERIOR WHEELS AND TIRES, NEW STRUTS AND TWO FRONT END ALIGNMENTS. THE DEALER: IRA TOYOTA COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/23/2008 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
2002 TOYOTA AVALON WITH ENGINE, VSC ON AND VSC OFF CHECK LIGHTS ON. SENSOR REPLACED AND/OR RESET X5. CHRONIC SENSOR MALFUNCTION? 1ST INCIDENT AT APPROX 20,000 MILES. VEHICLE NOW HAS 65,000 MILES.

View Details

STEERING

5/22/2008 - NEW BERLIN, WI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. WHEN THE STEERING IS OPERATIVE, IT IS VERY ERRATIC AND HARD TO CONTROL. THE STEERING WHEEL OVER COMPENSATES AND CAUSED SEVERAL NEAR CRASHES. THE CONTACT TOOK HIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY IDENTIFIED THE FAILURE AS THE STEERING KNUCKLES. THE DEALER ALSO STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT THE DEALER FOR REPAIR. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,213 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE BECAUSE THE VEHICLE IS AT THE DEALER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/2/2008 - HASTINGS, MN
MASTER CYLINDER SEIZED UP AND WAS UNABLE TO MOVE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: MASTER CYLINDER

1/25/2008 - ST LOUIS PARK, MN
WHILE DRIVING 10MPH, CAR SUDDENLY STOPS, MOTOR RUNNING NORMALLY. COLLARED PIN IN MASTER CYLINDER FAILED CAUSING BRAKES TO SEIZE WITH ABS AND ASC FAILURE. IF I HAD BEEN ON A FREEWAY, I WOULD SURELY HAVE BEEN BACKENDED OR SKIDDED ON ICE OUT OF CONTROL WITH NO WAY TO RECOVER.

View Details

SUSPENSION: AUTOMATIC STABILITY CONTROL (ASC)

1/25/2008 - ST LOUIS PARK, MN
WHILE DRIVING 10MPH, CAR SUDDENLY STOPS, MOTOR RUNNING NORMALLY. COLLARED PIN IN MASTER CYLINDER FAILED CAUSING BRAKES TO SEIZE WITH ABS AND ASC FAILURE. IF I HAD BEEN ON A FREEWAY, I WOULD SURELY HAVE BEEN BACKENDED OR SKIDDED ON ICE OUT OF CONTROL WITH NO WAY TO RECOVER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

1/25/2008 - ST LOUIS PARK, MN
WHILE DRIVING 10MPH, CAR SUDDENLY STOPS, MOTOR RUNNING NORMALLY. COLLARED PIN IN MASTER CYLINDER FAILED CAUSING BRAKES TO SEIZE WITH ABS AND ASC FAILURE. IF I HAD BEEN ON A FREEWAY, I WOULD SURELY HAVE BEEN BACKENDED OR SKIDDED ON ICE OUT OF CONTROL WITH NO WAY TO RECOVER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds