Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2002 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

1/25/2008 - ST LOUIS PARK, MN
WHILE DRIVING 10MPH, CAR SUDDENLY STOPS, MOTOR RUNNING NORMALLY. COLLARED PIN IN MASTER CYLINDER FAILED CAUSING BRAKES TO SEIZE WITH ABS AND ASC FAILURE. IF I HAD BEEN ON A FREEWAY, I WOULD SURELY HAVE BEEN BACKENDED OR SKIDDED ON ICE OUT OF CONTROL WITH NO WAY TO RECOVER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

2/9/2007 - HUTCHINSON, MN
- THE CONTACT CALLED REGARDING THE 2002 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT WAS TRAVELING AT 25 MPH WHEN ALL FOUR WHEELS LOCKED. THE ROAD CONDITIONS WERE SLIPPERY. THE VEHICLE DID NOT LOSE POWER. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO FORWARD OR IN REVERSE GEAR. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED ON A FLAT BED TRUCK. THE TOYOTA DEALER DETERMINED THE ABS ACTUATOR FAILED.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

11/19/2006 - BEVERLY HILLS, , FL
SRS AIRBAG LIGHT BLINKING ON. 11/3/06 BROUGHT TO DEALER TO CHECK OUT, PULLED FAILURE CODE B0116 FOR LEFT HAND SQUIB, CHECKED EASILY ACCESSIBLE CONNECTORS ALL OK AT THIS TIME. CLEARED CODE AND RECHECKED OK NOW LIGHT OUT. COST $44.89 TOLD IF LIGHT RETURNS WILL NEED FURTHER DIAGNOSIS. 11/8/06 SRS AIRBAG LIGHT BACK ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/18/2005 - SIMPSONVILLE, SC
HAD DRIVEN ABOUT 10 MILES. STOPPED AT TRAFFIC SIGNAL AND NOTICED SMOKE FILLING PASSENGER COMPARTMENT, THOUGHT IT WAS FROM CAR IN FRONT WHICH HAD EXCESS EXHAUST, ROLLED DOWN WINDOW AND CLEARED AIR. DROVE SEVERAL HUNDRED FEET AND NOTED CAR FILL WITH SMOKE AND ALSO COMING FROM HOOD AREA ,STOPPED LIFTED HOOD TO SEE FLAMES COMING FROM AREA AT FRONT( IE;AT RADIATOR,FAN,ALTERNATOR,ETC.).DIFFICULTY CALLING FD,ANOTHER TRUCK STOPPED AND POURED 5 GAL. OF WATER ON FLAMING AREA, PLASTIC STILL BURNED AND FULLY PUT OUT WITH EXTINGUISHER. NO ONE INJURED,BUT UNABLE TO DRIVE VEHICLE,CALLED TOYOTA OF GREENVILLE TO PICK UP CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

7/25/2005 - SAGAMORE BEACH, MA
2002 TOYOTA AVALON DEVELOPED REPEAT PROBLEMS WITH THE BRAKE EQUIPMENT. AFTER 4,000 OR 5,000 MILES, THE CONSUMER HEARD A STRANGE NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES BEFORE THEY FINALLY AGREED THAT THE ROTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONSUMER STATED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS DUE FOR ITS 30,000 MILE CHECK-UP HE WAS ALWAYS TOLD THE VEHICLE NEEDED BRAKES.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: BUCKLE ASSEMBLY

7/20/2005 - MIDDLE ISLAND, NY
DT: THE CONTACT STATES HE WAS HAVING TROUBLE BUCKLING DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT. UPON INSPECTION OF THE SEAT BELT CONSUMER NOTICED THE BRACKET WAS DISCONNECTED FROM THE BOLT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY THE SERVICE DEALER. T CONSUMER ASKED IF THERE COULD BE SOMETHING DONE TO PREVENT THE BOLT FROM COMING OFF, THE SERVICE DEALER INFORMED HIM THAT IF THE BOLT WAS INSTALLED CORRECTLY AND THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN. CONSUMER FELT THE PUBLIC SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THE BOLT COULD COME OFF FROM THE SEAT BELT BRACKET, CAUSING THE SEAT BELT TO BE UNSAFE. IT SHOULD PERIODICALLY CHECKED TO MAKE SURE THAT THE SEAT BELT BOLT WAS STILL IN PLACE. THE CONSUMER DID NOT WISH TO PROVIDE THE VIN NUMBER.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

7/18/2005 - BATON ROUGE, LA
THE DRIVER'S SIDE INSIDE DOOR HANDLE HAS BEEN BROKEN FOR OVER A MONTH. TO EXIT MY CAR, I HAVE TO ROLL DOWN THE WINDOW AND OPEN THE CAR USING THE OUTSIDE LATCH. AFTER RECENTLY BEING HELD UP IN TRAFFIC BECAUSE OF ANOTHER CAR BECOMING ENGULFED IN FLAMES, I REALIZED THAT IN THE EVENT I WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO EXIT MY CAR QUICKLY. I HAVE TAKEN IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP THREE TIMES FOR REPAIR. THE FIRST TIME IT WAS MISDIAGNOSED. THE SECOND AND THRID TIMES I WAS TOLD THEY WERE SENT THE WRONG PART. I AM NOW WAITING FOR A BACK ORDERED PART.

View Details

WHEELS: RIM

6/3/2005 - ELK GROVE, CA
WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH LEFT REAR TIRE BLEW OUT. PART OF TIRE BECAME SHREDDED WHERE RIM WAS SPLIT. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. DEALERSHIP WAS NOT ABLE TO REPAIR VEHICLE DUE TO LACK OF PERSONNEL. HAD TIRE REPLACED AT COSCO, BUT PROBLEM RECURRED. CONSUMER RETURNED THE TIRE TO COSTCO WHERE THEY DISCOVERED THE ALLOY RIM HAD A SMALL HOLE THAT CAUSED THE TIRE TO LOSE AIR PRESSURE. THE TIRE HAS BEEN A PROBLEM MAINTAINING PROPER AIR PRESSURE EVER SINCE. DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT HONOR WARRANTY AND CHARGED CONSUMER $375.89 TO REPLACE ALLOY RIM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

12/21/2004 - HAVERHILL, MA
ALL FOUR BRAKE ROTORS PREMATURELY WORE OUT AT 46,000 MILES. DEALER WAS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK

8/12/2004 - BURTONSVILLE, MD
ON 8/9 I TOOK MY CAR TO DARCARS FOR FRONT BRAKE SERVICE USING A COUPON FOR $64.95. AGAINST MY CONSENT I WAS CHARGED 368.27 THE ONLY ADDITIONAL WORK I CONSENTED TO WAS AN OIL CHANGE THAT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE THAN $7 AS A RESULT OF THE TYPE OF EXTENDED WARRANTY I HAVE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds