Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2002 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 922 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (80) Equipment (9) Power Train (68) Service Brakes Hydraulic (151) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (3) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (8) Steering (42) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (9) Structure (55) Vehicle Speed Control (281)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (22) Service Brakes (14) Suspension (34) Visibility (19)
Engine (43) Fuel System Other (7) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (53) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (110) Latches Locks Linkages (31) Service Brakes Electric (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/21/2018 - SAN PABLO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2002 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE'S SPEED CONTROL MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP ACCELERATING WHILE TURNING, EVEN WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT APPROACHED A RED LIGHT AND CRASHED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED, BUT WAS NOT COMPLETED BY THE OFFICER. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE REPORT WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE WITHIN TEN DAYS. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED TWO BROKEN ARMS, A FRACTURE TO THE SECOND AND FIFTH RIBS, A DISLOCATED WRIST (SIDE UNKNOWN), A BROKEN RIGHT ANKLE, AND BRUISES TO THE RIGHT LEG. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED IN THE FORM OF SURGERY (BONE RESET). THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS SMASHED INTO THE INTERIOR OF THE OTHER VEHICLE NEAR THE PASSENGER SEAT. A DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/21/2018 - ST. CHARLES, MO
I HAD JUST GOTTEN IN THE CAR IN THE PARKING LOT OF A STORE. TURNED THE CAR ON, PUT MY SEATBELT ON, AND BEGAN ENTERING IN A DESTINATION INTO MY PHONE GPS WHEN BOTH THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THE CAR WAS IN PARK WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND MY HANDS WERE NOT TOUCHING THE STEERING WHEEL. I HAD NOT LEFT THE PARKING SPACE AND NO ONE HIT OR BUMPED THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE NOT CURRENTLY ANY RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE AND I CAN ONLY ASSUME IT WAS AN AIRBAG MALFUNCTION.

View Details

ENGINE

4/24/2018 - OCEANVIEW, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING, SMOKE COULD BE SEEN COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED DURING THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VALVE COVER FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF THE REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2018 - SAFETY HARBOR, FL
I BOUGHT MY 2002 CAMRY NEW. I MAINTAINED IT PROPERLY EVERY STEP OF THE WAY. AT 107K MILES A GURGLING SOUND BEGAN IN THE ENGINE AND ROUGH IDLING, AND THE TEMPERATURE WENT STRAIGHT TO H, TOOK IMMEDIATELY TO MY EXPERIENCED AUTO MECHANIC, HE PUT IN A NEW RADIATOR. WITHIN DAYS THE GURGLING AND ROUGH IDLING BEGAN AGAIN. ONCE AGAIN I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC. AFTER THOROUGHLY CHECKING THE ENGINE (HE EVEN CALLED IN ANOTHER TOP MECHANIC FOR A SECOND OPINION) AND THEN TOLD ME THE BAD NEWS. 2002-06 TOYOTA CAMRY'S HAVE A FLAW IN THE BOLT DESIGN THAT CAUSES THE CYLINDER HEAD TO SEPARATE FROM THE ENGINE BLOCK RESULTING IN THE COOLANT LEAKING TO THE ENGINE. WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR THE SALESMAN SAID CAMRY'S RUN FOR 300K MILES, WELL HE NEGLECTED TO TELL ME THAT AFTER ONLY 107K MILES BECAUSE OF THIS FLAW IN THE ENGINE YOU WILL HAVE A BLOWN HEAD GASKET AND STRIPPED HEAD BOLTS SO THE SEAL IS NOT TIGHT -- SO YOU NEED TO REPLACE THE ENGINE!!!! AFTER LOOKING ONLINE, I SEE THIS IS FAR FROM AN ISOLATED CASE!!! TOYOTA IS WELL AWARE OF THIS ENGINE FLAW. THEY NEED TO PAY FOR THESE VERY EXPENSIVE ENGINE REPLACEMENTS!!!! MY MECHANIC SAID TOYOTA USED STEEL HEAD BOLTS IN AN ALUMINUM ENGINE. VERY BAD! STEEL AND ALUMINUM EXPAND AND CONTRACT AT DIFFERENT RATES, WHICH CAUSES THE PROBLEM!

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2018 - PORTLAND, CT
AT 145,000 MILES THE HEAD GASKET FAILED DUE TO 3 STRIPPED HEAD BOLT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2018 - BASKING RIDGE, NJ
TWO SEPARATE EPISODES OF RAPID UNCONTROLLED ACCELERATION ON 27JAN2018 AND 09FEB2018 RESULTING IN VEHICLE MOVING FORWARD AND ENGINE RUNNING RAPIDLY. FIRST EPISODE OCCURRED WHILE MOVING INTO MY GARAGE CAUSING CAR TO KNOCK DOWN THREE CASES OF WATER AND HITTING STORAGE AREA; SECOND EPISODE OCCURRED WHILE PULLING OUT OF ATM AREA THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED, HAD TO SWEAR LEFT NOT TO HIT ANOTHER CAR, HITTING BANK STOP SIGN. HAD TO PLACE CAR IN NEUTRAL, BRAKES DID NOT SLOW VEHICLE. SECOND EPISODE WITNESSED BY PASSAGE IN FRONT SEAT. AFTER FIRST EPISODE DROVE CARE CAREFULLY LOCALLY AND IT DID NOT REOCCUR, UNTIL APPROXIMATELY TWO WEEKS LATER WHEN SECOND EPISODE OCCURRED AT ATM SITE. WHEN GETTING CAR HOME PLACED CAR IN NEUTRAL BEFORE STOPPING, MADE APPOINTMENT FOR DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT TO CHECK CARE ON 12FEB2018. ABLE TO DRIVE TO DEALERSHIP, SLOWLY AND USING NEUTRAL GEAR PRIOR TO BREAKING. DEALERSHIP, AFTER EXAMINING FOR APPROXIMATELY AN HOUR SAID CAR WAS FINE. NOT HAPPY WITH THIS RESULT SINCE THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG TO CREATE SUCH A FRIGHTENING ACCELERATION. AT DEALERSHIP CALLED TOYOTA CUSTOMER SERVICE TO START REVIEW PROCESS OF THESE EVENTS. IN PROGRESS NOW. TOYOTA HAS SAID CAR WAS INSPECTED (NO ROAD TEST) AND CAR IS SAFE TO DRIVE. I DO NOT FEEL CAR IS SAFE TO DRIVE. I AM COMPLETING THIS COMPLAINT TO MAKE SURE THE ISSUE IS ADDRESSED. I AM THE ONLY OWNER OF THIS CAR SINCE IT WAS NEW AND KNOW THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG THAT EITHER IS UNDISCOVERED OR UNREVEALED. THANK YOU FOR REVIEWING THIS FORM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/14/2018 - CHULA VISTA, CA
DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE HOOD, BRAKES AND EMERGENCY BRAKE FAILED, VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN (NO PEDALS WERE WORKING), CAR CRASHED AND FIRE ENGULFED THE VEHICLE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/14/2018 - CHULA VISTA, CA
DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE HOOD, BRAKES AND EMERGENCY BRAKE FAILED, VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN (NO PEDALS WERE WORKING), CAR CRASHED AND FIRE ENGULFED THE VEHICLE

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/14/2018 - CHULA VISTA, CA
DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE HOOD, BRAKES AND EMERGENCY BRAKE FAILED, VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN (NO PEDALS WERE WORKING), CAR CRASHED AND FIRE ENGULFED THE VEHICLE

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/14/2018 - ESCONDIDO, CA
THE BRAKE SYSTEM IN THIS KIND OF VEHICLE ARE DEFECTIVE. I ALMOST CRASHED ANOTHER CARS BY REAR ENDING THEM WHEN THE BRAKES DID NOT RESPONDED AND WENT ALL THE WAY WITHOUT THE CAR STOPPING. I TOOK THE CAR TO A MECHANIC AND HE REPLACED THE MASTER CYLINDER AND PURGED THE LINES BUT THE PROBLEM PERSISTS; BY THE WAY THE PADS ARE IN MORE THAN 60% LIFE. TOYOTA NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING TO FIX THIS PROBLEM ONCE AND FOR ALL. IT HAS BEEN TOO MUCH LENIENCY FOR THIS MANUFACTURER AND LOTS OF ACCIDENTS DUE TO THIS MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds