Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 162 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (38) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (12) Structure (11) Visibility (12)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/17/2018 - BERKLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE ABS MAIN CONTROL UNIT INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE ABS WAS MALFUNCTIONING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER (VOLKSWAGEN OF OAKLAND, 2740 BROADWAY, OAKLAND, CA 94610) WHO STATED THAT THERE WERE NO ACTIVE RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,605.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/4/2018 - SEATTLE, WA
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION (ABOUT 25 MPH) WHEN A FRONT END COLLISION OCCURRED WHICH RESULTED IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG ACTIVATING ONLY. THE DRIVER SIDE STEERING WHEEL AIRBAG DID NOT ACTIVATE. DRIVER'S FACE HIT THE STEERING WHEEL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/4/2018 - SEATTLE, WA
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION (ABOUT 25 MPH) WHEN A FRONT END COLLISION OCCURRED WHICH RESULTED IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG ACTIVATING ONLY. THE DRIVER SIDE STEERING WHEEL AIRBAG DID NOT ACTIVATE. DRIVER'S FACE HIT THE STEERING WHEEL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/17/2017 - BERKELEY, CA
ABS TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM MALFUNCTIONING, TOLD BY DEALER AND MECHANIC THAT THE CONTROL MODULE IS DEFECTIVE. THE ABS KICKS IN EVEN WHEN NOT BRAKING AND NO LIGHT ON. CAR ABRUPTLY SWERVES AS BRAKES ENGAGE ONE WHEEL ONLY. THE DEALER SAID THERE IS NO RECALL FOR MY VIN NUMBER BUT THE PART IS THE SAME NUMBER AS THE ONE FOR OTHER LISTED RECALLS. I CALLED VW AMERICA AND THEY ARE UNWILLING TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. THE COST TO REPLACE AND REPROGRAM THE NEW MODULE IS $2,000

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2016 - FORT SMITH, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/11/2016 - BEDFORD, KY
THE CAR WAS DRIVEN IN THE MORNING THEN PARKED AT MY HOME. WHEN I WENT TO USE IT AGAIN IT WILL NOT COME OUT OF PARK. THE LIGHT WILL NOT GO OUT SO THAT I CAN PULL THE GEAR SHIFT OUT OF PARK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/10/2016 - SIERRA VISTA, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE CONVERTIBLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH IN THE RAIN, WATER SUDDENLY LEAKED INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE AND ONTO THE DRIVER. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/5/2016 - CHINO, CA
WE PURCHASE OUR 2002 VW BEATLE FROM A PRIVATE 6 YEARS AGO. WE HAVE REPLACED THE FUSE BOX ABOVE THE BATTERY ON 3 PREVIOUS OCCASIONS AS THE BOX SHORTS OUT AND MELTS CAUSING THE CAR TO TURN OFF AND NOT RESTART. THE FIRST TWO TIMES WE HAD REPAIR FACILITIES FIX THE PROBLEM TO THE TUNE OF $500 PLUS EACH TIME. THE 3RD TIME THIS HAPPENED I ORDERED THE PART ON LINE AND DID THE REPAIR MYSELF. WELL IT JUST BURNED OUT AGAIN THIS WEEK WHICH NOW MAKES 4 TIMES IN A 6 YEAR HISTORY THIS HAS OCCURRED. I TALKED WITH VW CONCERNING THIS AND THEY SAID THE CABLE WAS TOO SMALL WHEN VW FIRST MANUFACTURED THE CAR. SO THE 3RD TIME IT WENT OUT I REPLACED THE SO CALLED FAULTY CABLE AS WELL. WELL I GUESS THAT WASN'T THE PROBLEM AS I SAID IT NOW BURNED UP AGAIN AND THAT WAS REPLACING THE CABLE AND GOING TO A LARGER GAGE SIZE WIRE THAT VW SUGGESTED. NOT WHAT SHOULD I JUST EXPECT IT TO HAPPEN AGAIN. NEEDLESS TO SAY I HAVE SEEN THIS SAME COMPLAINT SEVERAL TIMES WHEN IS VW GOING TO STAND UP AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. I KNOW HAVE SPENT OVER $1500 FIXING THE SAME THING NOW FOR THE 4TH TIME. VERY DISAPPOINTING VW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/14/2016 - WEST DUNDEE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY DIED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED SEVERAL OTHER TIMES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000. ...UPDATED 08/15/16 THE CONSUMER STATED THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED AND THE BATTERY WAS CHARGED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/12/2016 - SANTA CLARITA, CA
THE INTERIOR SMELLS STRONGLY OF CRAYONS AND WILL NOT GO AWAY WITH SHAMPOOING, CLEANING AND/OR OTHER METHODS OF ODOR REMOVAL. THE ODOR IS VERY STRONG AND RUBS OFF ON CLOTHING AND SKIN WHILST SEATED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds